Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Using newspaper as toilet roll

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭gronemeyer

akura wrote: »
    Using newspaper as toilet roll

Or socks and washing them so they can be worn again :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

gronemeyer wrote: »

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭gronemeyer

gronemeyer wrote: »

If I seen it done with socks whilst hiking on my travels.... There are some very strange people in this world!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I think he means wiping their ass with socks, washing them, and reusing them.

Not: wearing socks, washing them, and reusing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

thats like saying anyone who has a 2012 ferarri wouldnt have any spare cash after buying it.how many 2011 bmw owners do you know who are poor?

I have many luxury items, but they come with a sacrifice. The sacrifice is the loss of a lot of disposable income

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

cloneslad wrote: »
    Not wearing socks, washing them, and reusing them.

Thats the stingiest thing i've ever heard! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 18 bogmandan

my brother is a fitter,,he asked his boss to get sum rags{i belive u can buy a big bag of rags for 10 euro}
    his boss came out with a bag of old knickers used by his wife,,,mean ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

bogmandan wrote: »
    my brother is a fitter,,he asked his boss to get sum rags{i belive u can buy a big bag of rags for 10 euro}
    I do that too, and I don't even have a wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

did you give them a right good sniff before using them?

he was mean,,but his wife was meaner,,,she wud'nt even buy toilet paper

so if sniffin ****e is ur thing,,i'll try organise a few for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

he was mean,,but his wife was meaner,,,she wud'nt even buy toilet paper

i just did a little vurp

imagine wat sound me brother made,,,,when he pulled them outa the bag,,,i think he siad ****E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I have many luxury items, but they come with a sacrifice. The sacrifice is the loss of a lot of disposable income

If that is the case then you can not afford them and should adjust to live within your means, not do things like the example above.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

If that is the case then you can not afford them and should adjust to live within your means, not do things like the example above.

No, it means that I choose to spend my pocket money on the purchase/running/maintenance of said items, instead of saving said disposable income, or spending it on a holiday

If I could not afford them, said machines would be tied up/not moved/not maintained. I do not sacrifice food/heat in the house in order to purchase/maintain/run these machines, therefore it's not a case of not being able to afford them

Anyhow, back to stingy stories. I don't have any, sorry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Seen this joke.

Thought of this thread.

A Scotsman walks into the Bank of England in Threadneedle Street, Central London and asks for the manager. He tells the manager that he is going to Australia on business for two weeks and needs to borrow £5,000.

The manager tells him that the bank will need some form of security for the loan, so Hamish hands over the keys and documents of new Ferrari parked on the street in front of the bank. He produces the Log Book and everything checks out. The manager agrees to accept the car as collateral for the loan.

The bank's General Manager and its officers all enjoy a good laugh at the rough looking Scotsman for using a £120,000 Ferrari as collateral against a £5000 loan. An employee of the bank then drives the Ferrari into the bank's underground garage and parks it there.

Two weeks later, Hamish returns, repays the £5,000 and the interest, which comes to £15.41.

The manager says, "Sir, we are very happy to have had your business and this transaction has worked out very nicely, but we are a little puzzled. While you were away, we checked you out and found that you are a multi-millionaire. What puzzles us is, why would you bother to borrow £5,000?”

Hamish replies: "Where else in London can I park my car for two weeks for only £15.41 and expect it to be there when I return:"

Ah, the mind of the Scotsman..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

JohnCleary wrote: »
    No, it means that I choose to spend my pocket money on the purchase/running/maintenance of said items, instead of saving said disposable income, or spending it on a holiday

If I could not afford them, said machines would be tied up/not moved/not maintained. I do not sacrifice food/heat in the house in order to purchase/maintain/run these machines, therefore it's not a case of not being able to afford them

Anyhow, back to stingy stories. I don't have any, sorry :(

Then there should be no excuse for Mr. BMW owner above

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Pizzle

Ghandee wrote: »
    Seen this joke.

Thought of this thread.

A Scotsman walks into the Bank of England in Threadneedle Street, Central London and asks for the manager. He tells the manager that he is going to Australia on business for two weeks and needs to borrow £5,000.

The manager tells him that the bank will need some form of security for the loan, so Hamish hands over the keys and documents of new Ferrari parked on the street in front of the bank. He produces the Log Book and everything checks out. The manager agrees to accept the car as collateral for the loan.

The bank's General Manager and its officers all enjoy a good laugh at the rough looking Scotsman for using a £120,000 Ferrari as collateral against a £5000 loan. An employee of the bank then drives the Ferrari into the bank's underground garage and parks it there.

Two weeks later, Hamish returns, repays the £5,000 and the interest, which comes to £15.41.

The manager says, "Sir, we are very happy to have had your business and this transaction has worked out very nicely, but we are a little puzzled. While you were away, we checked you out and found that you are a multi-millionaire. What puzzles us is, why would you bother to borrow £5,000?”

Hamish replies: "Where else in London can I park my car for two weeks for only £15.41 and expect it to be there when I return:"

Ah, the mind of the Scotsman..

A friend of mine tried to convince me that his uncle did the same thing...wouldn't believe me when I told him its a jokes that has been around for years in one form or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,128 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Another case of someone stringing a few dodgy assumptions together and then thinking they know the ins and outs of an acquaintances finances.

Far too superior a response for AH

The reality is his 40k gives him a take home pay of about 2k a month, tenner a week to his mammy, and a monthly bill for online pornography subscriptions of about €1,960. Tough times, bet he was delighted to find that score

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

Where To wrote: »
    I do that too, and I don't even have a wife.

are you like Joe Dolan random women throw knickers at you and u use them for rags...... nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

are you like Joe Dolan random women throw knickers at you and u use them for rags...... nice
    It's amazing what people leave behind them in taxis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Elfinknight

thought of a few more examples of tight people i have experienced.
    was out 1 night with a few m8s, then these 3 brothers 1 of the lads knew joined us, 3 very tight guys, they were buying rounds between themselves, 1st brother buys 3 cokes, then they had finished and the 2nd guy was so tight they were standing there with empty glasses for about an hour until they forced him to buy a round, i watched him to see what he would do, he grabbed a bottle of miwadi off the pub counter and 3 glasses, went into the jacks and came out with 3 miwadis, he diluted the miwadi from the taps in the toilets of the pub.

another time i was in a local garage and the mechanic was dealing with a guy who had got a punchure, he wasnt a local, the mechanic had towed his brand new bmw to the garage and fixed the punchure, then says that will be 5 euro (this was on 2011) the guy says "what 5 euro?thats a bit steep"

next two stories are about the same guy, hes so tight that when hes out with his girlfriend of 8 years they buy their drinks seperately like he goes up buys 1 for himself then she does the same.
    also about 3 years ago he gave female friend of his 12 euro to buy jewllery for his girlfriend for xmas, she got him a bracelet then he says have you any change from the 12 euro?? hes not short of money either.

Seeing as you mentioned punctures, years ago, when I was 15 I was working in a garage part time, working the pumps, fixing punctures, helping the mechanic. that kinda stuff.

Anyway one day one of the local older gentlemen arrived in looking for a puncture to be fixed on the wheel he had in the boot of the car and put it on the car for him.

The wheel had a tube in it so I took it out. The bloody thing was so old it was the type made of pink rubber and had about 20 patches on it already.

So I said to yer man that he'd be better off replacing it, to which I got "Are you mad, That would cost me 8 pounds. there's plenty life in that tube yet." and a complaint to the boss that I was a cheeky f****r. (Thankfully boss knew him better than I did)

Anyway, fixed the puncture and put it on the back passenger side of his car, charged him the 3 pounds and sent him on his way.

Two days later, He was back to me, telling me I'd never make a mechanic because the repair didn't hold and the wheel was going down.

Sure enough, The back passenger wheel was slack. So took it off and went to open it up to fix the tube when I realised it had a TUBELESS valve in it.

He had gotten a puncture in another wheel of the car and switched the two wheels around so that he could get it fixed for free.

And after I confronting him about it, still complained me to the boss for being a smart ass cheeky f****r.

This time Boss told him pay up and F**k Off.

P.S. Just thinking about that F****r now. He must be spinning in his grave- I'm a Mechanic:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The other day at a carboot sale I was selling a rake of water filter jug refills. Usually they sell for a few euros each but I had about 7 of them. I sold the whole lot of them to some lad for 2 pound, then he brings them back cause they were expired

Was in a small electrical shop today and these 2 black beours infront of me, no stranger to a snackbox the pair of them now so all their money probably goes on food spent about 5 minutes giving out about the price of a pair of 60w bulbs, saying they were never that price (1.40 each) and what have you. Then the owner comes along and spots they were actually 110v bulbs and picks up the correct 60w bulb (220v) and these two start cribbing that the bulbs are slightly smaller in size. These bulbs were 1.20 each and they still complaining

• Registered Users Posts: 14,305 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

why were you selling expired water jug refills? Sounds like a stingy way to raise a few pounds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Ronald McDonald is a contender for this thred

Sarah Finch, 19, was fired for gross misconduct for giving extra chocolate topping to a colleague for the 99p ice cream

Before sacking her from her £180-a-week job, McDonald’s described Miss Finch as as an 'exceptional employee'.

'The matter was trivial, in that I provided a fellow employee, who was purchasing a dessert, a generous sprinkling of chocolate pieces

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2208892/Fired-sprinkling-chocolate-McFlurry-McDonald-s-waitress-claims-unfair-dismissal-fast-food-giant-extra-topping-added-dessert.html#ixzz27bTG7Jya
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

retalivity wrote: »
    why were you selling expired water jug refills? Sounds like a stingy way to raise a few pounds!

Just to be rid of them really since I have no jug for them. Eventually got rid of them for 1 gbp to some wan after I told her they were 'a bit ould'. Also they'd chance putting an expiry date on anything these days and you'd still get use out of the expired ones

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

So I said to yer man that he'd be better off replacing it, to which I got "Are you mad, That would cost me 8 pounds. there's plenty life in that tube yet." and a complaint to the boss that I was a cheeky f****r. (Thankfully boss knew him better than I did)

And after I confronting him about it, still complained me to the boss for being a smart ass cheeky f****r.

This time Boss told him pay up and F**k Off.

The stingyness & meanness go hand in hand with these cúnts, I find it's a very good way to suss someone out. If they pay their way etc, should be grand. Anyone who wants it all and will pay for nothing is only out for themselves, they will not give a fúck who they step over as long as they get what they want. I deal with it every day, you are lucky your boss knows the story, people like that could and will make your life very difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭sarah.

I don't understand why ordering the cans was stingey?! :L

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

sligojoek wrote: »
    I thought I'd seen it all, 'till today. I went into the local recycling centre with a car load of stuff. (€4 per car as opposed to €3 per bag to have it collected. I'm stingy too). I saw a bloke in his 60s , very well dressed with a prominent golf club logo on his jumper and a top of the range 2011 5 series BMW. I was unloading my newspapers a few feet away from him when I heard glass breaking. I looked around and saw he had dropped a corn flake box on the ground. Out of the box came two light bulbs a broken glass and three see-through chinese take away cartons packed tight with a load of food waste. He threw four more taped up boxes into the cardboard skip. Hopped into the beemer, drove past the pay kiosk and away.

There's a four lettered word beginning with C to describe that man.

I don't hate people, but I fucking hate that guy you're describing, the worst job I ever had was in a sorting centre, the place where your recycling goes when you wave goodbye to it, and the worst thing about that job was the surprises*, e.g. finding perishable things that people hid in the recycling because they're so bloody clever, several weeks later, when it's practically walking. That arsehole and his ilk made that job so much more soul destroying. People get paid to go through your recycling, so don't make their job worse just because you're tight/lazy and stop giving them all your banking details, not that they use them but come on, who gives strangers their banking details?

*Except surprise monies, people throw out a lot of it, I'm so stingy I kept it.