Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

Some poeple eat good food, some people eat processed food. The reason for choosing one and not the other is usually a lack of culinary skills and a misconception that good food has to be expensive. I hate the "Oh well don't you love yourself cooking with wine" attitude.

wasnt being serious - i was comparing it to my own student days when i barely knew how to open a tin of beans. it was meant in light heartedness and certainly not as a criticism or insult. hence the 'cheeky' smiley. chill out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    I can't show the source but I read that alcohol is more affordable in Ireland now then it's ever been, it used to be a luxury know its an everyday item

I think I read it used to cost a day's pay to get a bottle of whisky, now it takes a little over an hour to earn a cheap bottle. The same is true for most consumer products, tho. And Irish people drink much less than they did 10 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I got caught with the trolley trick the other day. I motioned to a fella who was returning his trolley by holding up a euro coin. He never said a word just let the trolley go and with a little smirk took the euro from me. I thought his reaction a little weird until I returned the trolley and there in the slot was some Portugese-looking coin. I didn't mind being conned as there were no trolleys left anyway, it was the smirk that stuck with me though. It was like he had just conned me out of a large inheritance!

Portugese eh? Damn them and their Portugese Euro's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

goose2005 wrote: »
    I think I read it used to cost a day's pay to get a bottle of whisky, now it takes a little over an hour to earn a cheap bottle. The same is true for most consumer products, tho. And Irish people drink much less than they did 10 years ago.

and yet so many of us are "broke" :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

corktina wrote: »
    Portugese eh? Damn them and their Portugese Euro's!

Portugese coin, not Portugese Euro! Do you have fapping induced eyesight detrioration?

145-645.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Portugese coin, not Portugese Euro! Do you have fapping induced eyesight detrioration?

145-645.jpg

on balance i think my post was funnier than yours
    :D only a picture of the ACTUAL coin in the actual trolley would swing it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

145-645.jpg
    There are a few other countries (...granted non-euro zone members) that have some very 1 or 2 euro-esq looking coins as well. I think South Africa and Thailand. Worth almost nothing. Routinely shoved into vending machines. I am sure they are used in trolley bays too when possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

corktina wrote: »
    on balance i think my post was funnier than yours
    :D only a picture of the ACTUAL coin in the actual trolley would swing it

On balance I fear you may be right, especially as I am only reading your username now and realise it is unlikely that Tina can fap at all let alone excessively!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Jesus will you all stop blabbering. On with the stinge!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I saw a lady parking in the pay and display car park just as I was leaving.

"Do you want a ticket?" I asked her, handing out mine.

"Yes please she said" smiling.

"No worries, if you go to that machine over there you can buy one exactly like this one" I said, showing her mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

I saw a lady parking in the pay and display car park just as I was leaving.

"Do you want a ticket?" I asked her, handing out mine.

"Yes please she said" smiling.

"No worries, if you go to that machine over there you can buy one exactly like this one" I said, showing her mine.

I don't get it... you offered her something, she accepted, you said "haha, just kidding"?

Apologies if I don't understand what you mean here. It sounds like you were just being annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Newaglish wrote: »
    I don't get it... you offered her something, she accepted, you said "haha, just kidding"?

Apologies if I don't understand what you mean here. It sounds like you were just being annoying.
    I don't get it either :confused: Sometimes if you have time on your ticket and are feeling generous you give it to the first person you see driving into the carpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Jokes are wasted on internet people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I think it was meant to be a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

but aren't jokes meant to be funny?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

What's going on with this thread? Too much talk of wine and people getting snarky at crap jokes!

On with the stinge!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Birneybau wrote: »
    What's going on with this thread? Too much talk of wine and people getting snarky at crap jokes!

On with the stinge!

Couldn't agree more! Right, to get the thread back on track;

Shared a three story townhouse with 5 people years ago. I had a lovely room, with en-suite. Lived with a particularly tight girl, (who also had an en-suite) but she was normally pretty harmless and kept to herself.

Anyway, I went up home for a week around Christmas/ New Year. My flatmate stayed put for the Festive period. Arrived back late enough one night, and almost went straight to bed. Couple of hours later, woke up, and when I sat up, saw yer wan going to the jacks in my ensuite. Frightened the life out of her.'Oh, I didn't realise you were home already, sorry.'

Checked the next morning, and she had gone through a ton of toilet roll in my absence. Too effing tight to buy her own bog roll, so she was using mine the whole tme I was gone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Couldn't agree more! Right, to get the thread back on track;

Shared a three story townhouse with 5 people years ago. I had a lovely room, with en-suite. Lived with a particularly tight girl, (who also had an en-suite) but she was normally pretty harmless and kept to herself.

Anyway, I went up home for a week around Christmas/ New Year. My flatmate stayed put for the Festive period. Arrived back late enough one night, and almost went straight to bed. Couple of hours later, woke up, and when I sat up, saw yer wan going to the jacks in my ensuite. Frightened the life out of her.'Oh, I didn't realise you were home already, sorry.'

Checked the next morning, and she had gone through a ton of toilet roll in my absence. Too effing tight to buy her own bog roll, so she was using mine the whole tme I was gone

Oh thats good, shared a house with someone who used try and break the bills down by amount of days she spent in the place per month, bearing in mind she used to go home every weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

JillyQ wrote: »
    Oh thats good, shared a house with someone who used try and break the bills down by amount of days she spent in the place per month, bearing in mind she used to go home every weekend

Oh, that reminds me of a guy I used to live with. There were five of us living in an apartment on campus and the heating and hot water were on a timer. I was the only person who stayed most weekends and yer man used to go in and turn the heating and hot water off, EVERY WEEKEND. Because I obviously didn't need to shower or have any warmth.

I wouldn't mind, but seeing as I was the only person staying, I had deliberately set the timers for less (hot water for only 15 minutes in the morning vs 1 hour when we were all there), less heating in the evenings, but no, I was expected to freeze. As soon as he left every week I would go in after him and turn it back on, and as soon as he came back I'd tell him to stop doing it.

Of course, when he started staying up for weekends around exams the heating and water was allowed to stay on.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

At this time of year, only date girls called Natalie, Carol, Holly or Eve. Chances are their birthday is around Christmas and you won't have to shell out for a present until then, by which time they will probably have packed you in.

And yes I know someone who broke it off just before Christmas to get out of giving a present. And then got back together.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,848 ✭✭✭✭L1011

At this time of year, only date girls called Natalie, Carol, Holly or Eve. Chances are their birthday is around Christmas and you won't have to shell out for a present until then, by which time they will probably have packed you in.

You missed Noelle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

MYOB wrote: »
    You missed Noelle.

The first?

JillyQ wrote: »
    This isn't my story but my friend's. She was in a house share with two other people. One of the girls let her boyfriend move in for roughly six weeks and he didn't contribute anything towards bills. At Christmas she went home for two weeks and when the next electricity bill came in she tried to claim that she should pay less, as she had been there less. My friend is a very easy going, nonconfrontational type of person who just wants a quiet life. She actually asked me if yer one had a point and I flat out told her that she was a mug if she let that girl pay less. The girl ended up begrudingly paying her share but always maintained that she was being screwed over :rolleyes: The cheek of some people boggles my ming at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

There's a woman I've seen around here who seems to bring a shopping bags worth of rubbish out with her and puts it into the on street bin.

My sister was babysitting in a hotel last night. She was thirsty so went down to the bar to get a pint of MiWadi. She was charged €2.40 by the owner. Unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

She left the childer?

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

There's a woman I've seen around here who seems to bring a shopping bags worth of rubbish out with her and puts it into the on street bin.

That hotel must be struggling if the owner was dishing out the miwadi !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    My sister was babysitting in a hotel last night. She was thirsty so went down to the bar to get a pint of MiWadi. She was charged €2.40 by the owner. Unbelievable.

Very normal, not sure what you're complaining about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I know - a babysitter going to a bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

A joiner I used to work with a few years ago shopfitting around the UK used to resharpen his used Stanley knife blades on his oilstone.
    We were travelling around and I had a old VW camper but he used to doss down in his Escort van rather than pay for digs, which we got an allowance for anyway.
    This guy was in his fifties and not short of a few bob either, plus we were getting good money.
    Tight b@stard.