Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

greendrop wrote: »
    Another "friend" reminded me after two months about money that I owed her for bus ticket she bought for me.
    I'm assuming the bus ticket was a city bus and cost less than €2? If so I can't believe she even remembered it, never mind asked you for it.

I bought my friend a coffee the other day, better remember to put it in my little black book of debts incase the scabby cow forgets to pay me back :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 33 greendrop

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I'm assuming the bus ticket was a city bus and cost less than €2? If so I can't believe she even remembered it, never mind asked you for it.

I bought my friend a coffee the other day, better remember to put it in my little black book of debts incase the scabby cow forgets to pay me back :rolleyes:

Yes it was a cheap city bus ticket.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

retalivity wrote: »
    I can see the argument that there is nothing wrong/you are the stinge in each of the 3 scenarios above
    It could go either way and we'd need more information to determine if greendrop is a stinge or just attracts stingy people. Lets break down the scenario's into two possibilities:
    Someone invited me to birthday party.. I brought some food that I cooked, little gift and bottle of vodka.. and I was there for over hour without glass in my hand only to see a "birthday girl" taking one beer after another for herself..
    -stinginess or lack of good manners?
    Scenario 1: It's a bunch of students with a BYOB policy. The op showed up with some sausage rolls, jewellery from Pennys as a gift and a nagin of vodka, expecting to be feed and watered the whole night. Seriously greendrop?

Scenario 2: It was a party where the host gave the impression that food and drink would be provided and anything the guest brought was a welcome gift. The host is an ill mannered scab.

Another "friend" reminded me after two months about money that I owed her for bus ticket she bought for me..

I hate it, I seriously hate it......
    Scenario 1: On a one off, the friend paid for a city bus ticket and remembered about it two months later. Seriously, get over it.

Scenario 2: They were going on a long bus journey and the ticket cost €26.50. Pay up, I'm embarrassed for you that you had to be asked.

-and one more:

Invited a couple some time a go to holiday house I have rented and they didnt pay for anything, even invited them for some food and drink and I don't usually smoke, only sometimes when I drink, so I took maybe up to 5 cigarettes from that girl.. she asked me to give them back before they left because they were running low with money! :/
    After something like this a "friendship" is over to me......
    Scenario 1: Actually no anti-greendrop stinge scenario for this. If they went on a holiday and the only cost was 5 cigarettes, to ask for them back was especially stingy.

Scenario 2: See scenario 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Meant to post a story from my holidays :

I was in a small town in northern Thailand, waiting for my group to be ready to travel north. It's pretty much the last town you pass through before hitting all the small villages where people go to start treking in the jungle. I was drinking from a 1.5L bottle of water that I had just bought, and had been delighted not to have been charged "tourist price", because I pretty much had no choice but to buy it there. While I was drinking a rusty old pick up pulls in and two Danish lads get out of the back of it.

Now, our own transport wasn't the most opulent; it was a pick up truck like theirs (Songthew). There's a whole range of tours and activites you can do in that area, and while ours wasn't the cheapest, it was far from the most expensive too. Despite that, I reckon from the look of the lads that our transport was better than theirs. Our tour company was all about responsible tourism, so we stayed in homestays where the villages got a share of the money, and before leaving our two registered guides (legal requirement in case one gets injured) brought us to the police station to register who we were and where we were going hiking.

Some of the cheaper tours did none of that. Some of them went other routes where the villagers got fook all, and in some cases visited "sanctuarys" where elephants and other animals were abused. From the look our lead guide gave the Dane's guide, I'm betting their's was one of those tours.

So one of them schleps his weary looking, sweaty ass over and plonks himself down next to me. He's wearing a cheap ****ty t-shirt and cheap ****ty flip flops, and I'm betting has none of the (minimal to be fair) gear he needs to go treking in the jungle. He asked me how much the water was, and I told him; it was the equivalent of about 17 cent. He replied : "We're going to have to bargain them down." :eek:

Now, fair enough if you're on a budget, but ffs. The time and effort he was going to spend trying to haggle a few cent discount from a shopkeeper who was probably making sod all on the sale anyway was surely not going to be worth it.

Thankfully my group was ready to go at that point so I didn't spend any more time with his stingy self.....

TL;DR Danish guy wants to haggle for a 17 cent bottle of water and probably had a ****ty holiday.

This kind of stuff always drove me crazy. I was trekking in South America, and saw a group of 10 people arguing really aggressively over collectively having to pay 1 euro extra for the train tickets that had been arranged for them once we got off the mountain. They kept pointing towards what the price that was quoted from a ticket stall further down the road. Now I'm not sure if there were different prices charged for tourists, or of the travel guide was trying to skim a tiny amount off for himself, but its 10 f*cking cent each.

Another time, I was working in Southern Asia for a while. Hung around ex-pats mostly, and none of us were short of a bob or two, particularly compared to the locals. There was one real b*tch from London, who seemed to thrive on shouting at and belittling the locals. Couldn't say to much as I worked with her.

Anyway, once night, we ate and drank in the one plce for a good six hours. Pretty hammered by the end of it. The bill was around 40 euro between 4 of us. I was sorting the bill, and asked, is everyone ok with leaving a tip? the usual? no complaints. Stuck 10% on. The next day when she found out that it was 10%, she went ballistic. I pointed out that she said it was ok the night before, but she argued back that 10%, or 1 euro. She said she'd leave it in London, but 10% was too much for 'these people'. Probably more racist than stingy now that I think of it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Just heard this one from my friend last night.

My friend, also an expat and married to a Dutchman, was using her husband's phone last week and noticed an unknown missed call and an incredibly odd and suspicious sent text message. She showed it to her husband (they trust each other completely, recently married and trying for a baby etc) and he was also baffled... and then remembered lending his phone to a work colleague who claimed their own phone battery was dying. In fact, he remembered lending this guy his phone on quite a few occasions because his battery was always dying or he'd "forgotten" it, and sure enough there were more texts of the same ilk.

So when he went back to work he showed the texts to his boss and the boss called a meeting of the roughly 20 people who work in the same office. He told themtold them what had happened and to check their phones for suspicious texts and missed calls. All but one immediately pulled out their phones, and it turned out that 12 people in that office had had their phones used to book prostitutes.

Worst of it was, one of their colleagues who had already been having some mental health problems had previously discovered these calls and texts to and from prostitutes on his phone that he couldn't remember sending or receiving, and he wasn't into hookers. This had driven him over the edge and he's gone out on the sick to try to sort his head out.

The guilty party was escorted off the premises by security and is being prosecuted by the company, and no doubt causing misery for wife and kids, and all for want of a 5 euro sim card.

My friends are being asked if they want to press charges, too. What would you do?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

My friend, also an expat and married to a Dutchman, was using her husband's phone last week and noticed an unknown missed call and an incredibly odd and suspicious sent text message. She showed it to her husband (they trust each other completely, recently married and trying for a baby etc) and he was also baffled... and then remembered lending his phone to a work colleague who claimed their own phone battery was dying. In fact, he remembered lending this guy his phone on quite a few occasions because his battery was always dying or he'd "forgotten" it, and sure enough there were more texts of the same ilk.

So when he went back to work he showed the texts to his boss and the boss called a meeting of the roughly 20 people who work in the same office. He told themtold them what had happened and to check their phones for suspicious texts and missed calls. All but one immediately pulled out their phones, and it turned out that 12 people in that office had had their phones used to book prostitutes.

Worst of it was, one of their colleagues who had already been having some mental health problems had previously discovered these calls and texts to and from prostitutes on his phone that he couldn't remember sending or receiving, and he wasn't into hookers. This had driven him over the edge and he's gone out on the sick to try to sort his head out.

The guilty party was escorted off the premises by security and is being prosecuted by the company, and no doubt causing misery for wife and kids, and all for want of a 5 euro sim card.

My friends are being asked if they want to press charges, too. What would you do?

That's a very elaborate lie to explain away some prostitutes. Still, go big or go home.

"My battery is dying" is an elaborate lie?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

"My battery is dying" is an elaborate lie?

No, "A guy in work borrowed my phone a few times and sent messages booking prostitutes and it turns out he did it with most of the office's phones as well and now he's been fired and prosecuted" is an elaborate lie.

Ah. Well, if that were actually the case then it would indeed be.

Paddy Cow wrote: »

Scenario 1: It's a bunch of students with a BYOB policy. The op showed up with some sausage rolls, jewellery from Pennys as a gift and a nagin of vodka, expecting to be feed and watered the whole night. Seriously greendrop?

I am over 30, so no -it was proper nice food that I cooked myself, 1l absolute vodka and gift was not expensive but not cheap or tacky either.. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Personally I'd just forget about it. It's quite funny in a way.

Why did he go running straight to the boss? Work phone I take it?

Yep, and he's just uptight like that. That's why he's in favour of pressing charges, which seems like overkill to me. Unless I was the guy out with mental health problems, he certainly should.

I don't think he was being stingy..he was being a devious ****er trying to cover his tracks.

This is more Del Boy than stingy but here goes....

There is this old guy at home..not 100% in head but he makes some money here and there selling old foodstuff. Harmless fella.

But a few years back he went into the local grocer selling rhubarb which the grocer bought and remarked how he had some growing at home himself and would be ripe soon...anyway...said grocer went home that evening to find the said rhubarb gone!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Pressing charges for what using a phone with the owners permission?

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I'm still A Bit shocked Over this & can't really believe it happened.

4 of us Went out to a charity thing - ticket in, Free glasses of wine & finger food , the usual. Met up with a girl whose friend
    Couldn't Make it so we all teamed up & enjoyed the night & went out after to a restaurant for some Food & more booze.
    Great night, good Company etc.

When it came to pay, the bill
    Came To about e40 each sî we all threw in about fifty each.She didn't put in a penny but added up the total & compared it to the bill & said that's about right ! She then said the tip was Too Much & took the couple of euro extra off the plate & put it in her handbag . I'm still
    Getting Over the stinginess!

Terrible thing was, my Maths had gone a Bit south With all The Drink, so I just said
    What about the tip ;
    That's Not enough - she made a big deal out if putting two euro back onto the plate & then left!!! Shocking shabbiness . No wonder she was there alone :0

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Greendrop's post about not being given a drink just screams laziness. "I was there an hour without a drink in hand" - get your own drink ya lazy sod.

n1ck wrote: »
    Greendrop's post about not being given a drink just screams laziness. "I was there an hour without a drink in hand" - get your own drink ya lazy sod.

Hmm, maybe we have different idea about party etiquette... Do you help yourself in other peoples houses? I don't -unless they are my very close friends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I was heading to a music festival with friends in another country. The festival is quite out of the way requiring us to get 3 different trains, a shuttle bus, and walk for ages with all our tents and stuff for the week long festival. Basically, it's a long, long arduous journey, with nearly an hour of walking at the end in the middle of the very hot day. By the time we were pitching out tents we were wrecked and roasting.

The problem with this particular festival is that they don't sell still water at all, you're expected to go to the local town for it (about a 30 minute walk away, plus queueing time into the local corner shop- it's a very small town- which can be another 20-30 minutes when busy).

A couple of acquaintances we knew from home were camping with us in our little Irish quarter of the field, and had gotten there earlier. They were already all set up and had been down and back to the village to pick up a 6 pack of 2 litre bottles of water. We asked, then begged, them for one bottle of water- told them we would replace it when we got a chance to get to the village, or buy it, then offered them the price of the entire 6 bottles for one bottle...but nope. They completely refused to sell/give it to us.

Not sure if this is stinginess or just them being an asshole!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Hmm, maybe we have another idea about party etiquette... Do you help yourself in other peoples houses? I don't -unless they are my very close friends!

You say you brought Vodka, why didn't you drink that?

When I go to a party I bring something for the house and also something for me. So, a crate of beer and a bottle of wine for example. All my mates do the same, we arrive, open a bottle of our own beer and start drinking. Within an hour and with nothing needing to be said we know all the drinks are communal. We have all contributed, no need for worrying about stinge. But then I have good mates.

So Greendrop, I take it these weren't close friends? You sure you didn't give a naggin of Vodka then sit and wait for somebody to give you their Chateaux '42?

Or they simply didn't trust you to replace it.

You say you brought Vodka, why didn't you drink that?

So Greendrop, I take it these weren't close friends? You sure you didn't give a naggin of Vodka then sit and wait for somebody to give you their Chateaux '42?

-read my posts again, it was 1l absolute. And I would do it with my friends as you do it with yours, this person -I just met recently.

Or they simply didn't trust you to replace it.

So then they could have taken the fiver we were trying to give them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭xxerogravity

I'm still A Bit shocked Over this & can't really believe it happened.

4 of us Went out to a charity thing - ticket in, Free glasses of wine & finger food , the usual. Met up with a girl whose friend
    Couldn't Make it so we all teamed up & enjoyed the night & went out after to a restaurant for some Food & more booze.
    Great night, good Company etc.

When it came to pay, the bill
    Came To about e40 each sî we all threw in about fifty each.She didn't put in a penny but added up the total & compared it to the bill & said that's about right ! She then said the tip was Too Much & took the couple of euro extra off the plate & put it in her handbag . I'm still
    Getting Over the stinginess!

Terrible thing was, my Maths had gone a Bit south With all The Drink, so I just said
    What about the tip ;
    That's Not enough - she made a big deal out if putting two euro back onto the plate & then left!!! Shocking shabbiness . No wonder she was there alone :0

I've a friend like that, and he's loaded. Ive tipped as you have over the years, and he takes the tip back so he can pay his exact amount owed. It takes that kind of brass neck it seems, and I avoid him as much as I can now.

So then they could have taken the fiver we were trying to give them.

You couldn't pay me enough to walk 30mins if I didn't want to.

You weren't paying a fiver for a bottle, you were paying a fiver for them to walk into town if they wanted to replace it.

A couple of acquaintances we knew from home were camping with us in our little Irish quarter of the field, and had gotten there earlier. They were already all set up and had been down and back to the village to pick up a 6 pack of 2 litre bottles of water. We asked, then begged, them for one bottle of water- told them we would replace it when we got a chance to get to the village, or buy it, then offered them the price of the entire 6 bottles for one bottle...but nope. They completely refused to sell/give it to us.

I dont think that's stingy. It was their water, they didn't know you, they needed that water, and they didn't want to give it on trust nor did money interest them.

You couldn't pay me enough to walk 30mins if I didn't want to.

You weren't paying a fiver for a bottle, you were paying a fiver for them to walk into town if they wanted to replace it.

Gosh you're fierce pedantic. What's with the trying to poke holes :confused:

At this festival, everyone walks back into town at some stage almost everyday. There's a swimming pool at the other end of the town, and certain people, such as this gentleman, enjoy a non-portaloo crap in the mornings. Queues for the shops are only really really bad when everyone is descending upon the town initially, such as when we got there, they're fine at other times. This couple went a couple of times a day, including to the shop several times, buying more water later in the week anyway.

they didn't know you

They did know us. They may have been aquaintances of mine but they were childhood friends of / current workmates of others in my group.

Well that changes a lot. Screw that, scabby baxtards!

Just out of interest what is this festival? Sounds like a beginner's version of Burning Man.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

JustAThought's story reminded me of one.

My Father in law used to be incredibly stingy, not so much in the last few years. When myself and my now wife moved in together she used to go to her parent house every Sunday for a takeaway, her dad would calculate exactly when my wife had eaten and make her pay for that, sometimes they would split something and he'd make her pay half, I always found that strange as I'd call down to my dads and he'd be offering to pay for my takeaway even if he wasn't eating anything.

Anyway the story is , myself, my wife, her dad and her aunt, Anne, from the States were out for Dinner. Anne insisted on paying the bill as she'd asked us out and hadn't seen them in years. Anyway the bill came, she paid my father in law said he'd get the tip and went to leave €4 the bill was about 120. Anne seemed embarrassed to leave such a small tip and added €20 to the plate, obviously the US customs coming out in her. My father in law was shocked, took the €20 off the plate to give it back to Anne but she insisted on leaving the tip, eventually my Father in law gave in and let Anne leave the tip she wanted, but not before taking his €4 back off the plate.

I always chuckled that he was willing to allow her buy him dinner but not allow her give the tip she wanted to leave.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin