Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan Megathread!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

humberklog wrote: »
    But I would have to say in disagreement with yourself though. A lot of the negative posts have been way off the mark as regards based, rational, criticism of Ryan's radio ability. First few pages are just basic personal abuse and when Ryan first start going on about Boards with regards to this thread then I could see where any human being would be in dismay. But as a broadcaster of such a show he really should have tried to evolve his opinion by educating himself further.

I don't want to be embarrassing you by throwing bouquets at yourself and tbh, but the thread is brilliantly moderated. When I came on first I thought you were WAY too strict about the personal references. I've changed my mind, because I think it's pushed the thread into being much more closely argued. Degsy's quotes from the book, for example, are satirical gold - all the better for the fact that he lets them speak for themselves, or comments very sparingly.

It's easy to shout "FATTY!", and the mods were right to rule it out - but I really don't think that's what's happening here any more. People's concerns are genuine, and not just off the cuff slagging.

That being said, I hope Leggo stays around, to make some positive arguments.

And now, having complimented an unprecedented four people in one post, I have to go and top up my bile ducts....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Whooooah there now I'm only a lowly Mod of songwriting. I'm just a poster everywhere else.

Fully agree about Degsy's posts...gems.

Oh not having a go at Mods re early nutty posts on thread either...I'm having a go at the posters' posts.

humberklog wrote: »
    Whooooah there now I'm only a lowly Mod of songwriting. I'm just a poster everywhere else.

Fully agree about Degsy's posts...gems.

Oh not having a go at Mods re early nutty threads either...I'm having a go at the posters.

Oh, right. I guess I mean tbh.

As for you, sir, I withdraw my compliments. You are nothing to me, my good man, NOTHING!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I think this thread is indeed going in a more valuable direction recently. What I think people are begining to understand, and indeed express, is our disquiet and indeed perhaps mild outrage, that the state broadcaster should be used as a platform for the egotistical rantings of a person who no longer has his finger on the pulse of the general mood and indeed changed circumstances, of the Irish listener. (Can we blame him for that with a renumeration package like he has? Perhaps not).
    My main objections can be catogorised as follows:
    His constant reference to sexual acts/sexual violence when speaking to callers. Like the incident with that mayor in New Zealand when that toddler went missing.
    Secondly, his attempt to relate to people who have real world problems that he surely can't fathom. I've heard him talking to people who can't pay their mortgage and are waiting for their house to be taken from them....his attempts at relating to these people just don't work. We all know he's on big money(fair play to him, we'd all take it if we could get it), but he should not try to pretend he has any grasp on the realities facing Ireland, it just makes him look like a patronising clown.
    Lastly, his constant reference to U2, Harry Crosbie et al just don't do it for people anymore. If he explained how he got a call from his credit card provider because he missed a few payments, and how he was now trying to avoid the phone, maybe people would look up at the ivory tower he live in and discover that he has come down from it, and moves among the people again. There was a time that he was funny, cutting edge even...but that was long ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

That's a great post, Leggo. I love to see someone who has thought out their position, and is willing to argue it.

That being said, I think you're wrong about this thread. Most of the criticism IS constructive. It may not look like it at first, but the thread is very strictly moderated to remove personal criticisms - about GR's appearance, or whatever. There is a genuine attempt to keep it to legitimate issues, of praise or criticism, and I think that effort is largely successful. I find the posters very thoughtful and funny. Strangely enough, it has made me listen to the show more than I used to.

Funnily enough, the constant criticism of one Ray Foley on boards is how I found myself turned onto his show. Now its perhaps my favourite radio show. But it is strange how even the most damning criticism only 'fuels the fire' so to speak.

My post wasn't even a personal attack on this thread in particular. I clicked on it out of interest after posting on Radiowaves earlier then was shocked to see my name and the aforementioned post referenced. I've read bits and bobs of it every now and then, generally as I do with all radio threads that catch my eye. But I'll admit that I haven't been following it word-for-word.

The post was meant in more general terms than anything else. The specific references to the more vulgar insults were referring moreso to those that I had read on the Facebook group.
    I don't think you're immune from the tendency to criticise rather than praise, if it comes to that. You have been disagreeing with other posters, rather than posting praise of Gerry. I'm not slagging you for that - I think you make valid points - but it does show that criticism maybe comes easier to people than praise. I include myself in that.

I'll even agree with you there. Though my own personal stance on criticising others would be to say, if I don't enjoy it, ignore it mixed with a touch of "He who hasn't sinned..."

It's also made very difficult for those who praise a widely criticised figure to have their voice heard. Not just online, even in the pub if the entire group is against you then you'll either keep your mouth shut or fight a losing battle. Just the way life is I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

leggo wrote: »
    Funnily enough, the constant criticism of one Ray Foley on boards is how I found myself turned onto his show. Now its perhaps my favourite radio show.

Ah Leggo!! You have lost all credibility! Give me GR over Foley ANY day!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Haha jeeesus let's not open up that can of worms...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

operation transfatation is comin up again. fair play gerry. you've got guts.

is it reasonable to play a song for offspring on every birthday ? gerry does it. a nice touch no doubt, but he's indulging himself on the radio again.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

operation transfatation is comin up again. fair play gerry. you've got guts.

is it reasonable to play a song for offspring on every birthday ? gerry does it. a nice touch no doubt, but he's indulging himself on the radio again.

I don't see a problem with that. It was quite sweet actually.

I agree with you. A famous person's kids presumably get a lot of grief. It seems fair enough to give them a nod every now and then.

He's coming fairly well out of OpTrans as well, I think. He's bringing out the vulnerability of the callers very well, with only the occasional slump into the dark side. (Caller mentions having a Vibra-Plate, or something. Gerry: "A vibrator, is it?") Call it a failure to resist the obvious - his besetting vice.

That was embarassing, but he mostly got it right today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭ceepeedee

A famous person's kids presumably get a lot of grief. It seems fair enough to give them a nod every now and then.

Again, I quit listening last week so I'm only getting this second-hand... I guess Gerry's kids do get a lot of grief, but he can play his part in protecting them from that. Playing a tune for them on the radio is sweet, no different from me phoning him and asking for a tune for my kids; except it's his show, so maybe he should have made it more anonymous? Or was the gesture enhanced by telling the public about it?

Oh, and fair play to Leggo for getting involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You don't see presenters with a bit of class - Kenny -mentioning their kids.

Ryan want's his kids on the "showbiz" gravy train and fair enough, but please don't use the facilities paid for in the main by John Q Taxpayer to tout them.

Not at all classy.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Viva Boards according to Mr Ryan this morning:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Viva Boards according to Mr Ryan this morning:eek:

what did he say?

tbh wrote: »
    what did he say?

He was talking about an article in the paper that said that the internet is now being used more for social networking than porn! Then he said "Viva Facebook, Viva Boards, Viva Bebo" or something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

WTF is going on here? This thread has been hijacked by Ryan trolls and shills.
    Fair play, it has been a skilful manoeuvre and has fooled most, but not bmaxi.
    My position is, as always. The Ryan show is brain numbing, aural soft porn aimed at tittilating the unwashed. On the very rare occasion it does deal with an interesting topic the audience is allowed to hear expert views only so far as they agree with the opinions of the host, or indeed only so far as they can make themselves heard over the inane rantings of said host.
    I'll have to moderate my views or risk the wrath of the Gods but if you must tell it then tell it like it is and don't be making excuses for gutter radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

you think this thread is biased TOWARDS the gerry Ryan show?

sweet no doubt and i acknowledge that.

i just dont want other professional presenters feel like they are not so sweet.

that didnt last long he is off again

yer wan drives me nuts.

why does the g man say ONreal when it should be UNreal
    also with wunt for want ......?

i'm surprised ARRR-TEEEE-eee dont pull him up on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

tbh wrote: »
    you think this thread is biased TOWARDS the gerry Ryan show?

I think that in recent days a concerted effort has been made to steer it in that direction.
    Not that I think all posts should be biased against the Ryan show.
    No! I take that back, there is nothing good to be said about such unadulterated twaddle.

bmaxi wrote: »
    I think that in recent days a concerted effort has been made to steer it in that direction.
    Not that I think all posts should be biased against the Ryan show.
    No! I take that back, there is nothing good to be said about such unadulterated twaddle.

personally i think Ryan is trying to sort himself out because he knows we are on to him:D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

(Caller mentions having a Vibra-Plate, or something. Gerry: "A vibrator, is it?")

Please, for the love of all that's rational outside the primary school yard, say that's something you just made up as an example...

sceptre wrote: »
    Please, for the love of all that's rational outside the primary school yard, say that's something you just made up as an example...

You've obviously never listened then, no? :D

sceptre wrote: »

we call that Gerry Ryan Mild around these parts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭icanhearjimi

What the f**k with 'wunt'?
    and 'pay-do-feel'? I never heard anyone only him say it like this.

And get that Looney one off, 'I'm a lay-dee', f**k she's terrible. We dont care what you do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Looky looky..the gauntlet is down!

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Gerry Ryan show has been reduntantly bad for the past five years!ever since he started cashing in on the absurdity of a radio show running a weight loss competition (ul have to trust us folks that yes she has lost five pounds).
    And i start to wretch when he does the sickly moaning in the mic when he drinks or eats anything on air...like some grounded rhino.He is right up there with Rick OShea for verbal annoyance..
    Put GRyan on drivetime and throw millions at Tom Dunne to switch stations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Yesterday the fcucking IDIOT got this idea in his head that he'd heard a peice of music at the end of a song before.
    He played it about a thousand times complete with him humming along to it and NOBODY could identify it..including Sony.
    So he gets this idea in his head its part of some 1920's ragtime song(what a sophisticat he is) and got a musical expert on to back him up and let him talk(and the fact that nobody seemed to give a shiite).
    The expert proceeded to tell him that anybody anywhere can play vaguely similar chords with vaguely similar sounds and it DID NOT mean that he'd heard the song before...Gerry,wouldnt let it lie and after an interminable 5 minutes of his musings about this "tune" he eventually got rid of the expert and continued to babble on in his self-indulgent way about how he was "positive" this was a 1920's ragtime song.
    To think an entire hour or more was devoted to the most banal theme,and one which was based purely on the ignorance and egotism of the host was a grevious waste of time and a sorry excuse for entertainment.
    What happend next?
    Fiona Looney (Random or what) appears and within two seconds they're talking about "balls" and making smutty innuendoes about same.
    A fcucking disgrace that he's allowed away with thie shiit and more to the point he gets paid a kings ransom for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've been trying all week to figure out why GR in that youtube clip with Ramsay looked so familiar. Couldn't place it until today ... this isn't a jibe at the great GR, just a savage co-incidence. Austin Powers fans, I give you the lookalike competition :

attachment.php?attachmentid=94870&stc=1&d=1256924138

Is it just me? Think it's the eyes personally ...