Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan Megathread!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

i would not wish a visit from the taxman on my worst enemy
    but for this shower in RTE i would make an exception

Maybe being a fianna-fail groupie is no longer keeping him out of the tax net like it did to his friend bono for long enough:D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Not a word about Bonny this morning but Lottie gets a mention:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭bilko1234

And "She's Absolooootly Beauooootifull" drooled sausauge lips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭airhorn

Lottie.....where did they come up with them names in all fairness:D

Did ye hear the head on him getting bigger & bigger when that Fine gael eejit was telling him to run for George Lee's old seat...... the only seat that lad is good for is the toilet seat after stuffing his face with 4 hotdogs.

There's no doubt he's loving this George Lee fiasco given he's buddys with the corrupt cnuts thats running the country, Fine Fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Hi Gerry o/

Nurses uniform,a soft core porn film,14 year old boys

remind me what these things have got to do with losing weight:confused:

Listening to him talk about them makes you vomit,thereby losing weight.
    Fcucking sleazy old bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

If Ryan is such an expert on losing weight, why is he the size of Greenland? I've heard it said that RTE pay him the 600k on the instructions of the CIA, so he will stay in Ireland. This is to act as a counterbalance should subversives persuade all the people in China to jump up and down at the same time. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭dicknorris

Its quite simple really do what I do don't listen to this twit :P

dicknorris wrote: »
    Its quite simple really do what I do don't listen to this twit :P
    Well it's actually not quite that simple, is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

bilko1234 wrote: »
    Well it's actually not quite that simple, is it?

Why not?

The Muppet wrote: »
    Why not?
    Well, very basically, if WE choose not to listen, then the only people who WILL tune in are the star struck housewives (Oooohhh,Gerry!), who for the most part lap up (and put up with) his lasciviousness and prurience because (I presume)it makes them feel great to be talking to a STAR!
    So, to counteract that, this is the only forum that exists which gives an alternative opinion on Gerry's daily output, as he doesn't let voices/texts/emails which conflict with his own opinions on air(I know, I've tried so many times.)
    So it's VERY important for us to vent on this forum as it's the last bastion for free speech and lets anyone who wishes to read it know that the whole world is not madly in love with Gerry Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

airhorn wrote: »
    Lottie.....where did they come up with them names in all fairness:D

Did ye hear the head on him getting bigger & bigger when that Fine gael eejit was telling him to run for George Lee's old seat......
    the only seat that lad is good for is the toilet seat after stuffing his face with 4 hotdogs.
    There's no doubt he's loving this George Lee fiasco given he's buddys with the corrupt cnuts thats running the country, Fine Fail.

A bit like Elvis? Except that Elvis was talented and the other is a bloated buffoon.

bilko1234 wrote: »
    Well, very basically, if WE choose not to listen, then the only people who WILL tune in are the star struck housewives (Oooohhh,Gerry!), who for the most part lap up (and put up with) his lasciviousness and prurience because (I presume)it makes them feel great to be talking to a STAR!
    So, to counteract that, this is the only forum that exists which gives an alternative opinion on Gerry's daily output, as he doesn't let voices/texts/emails which conflict with his own opinions on air(I know, I've tried so many times.)
    So it's VERY important for us to vent on this forum as it's the last bastion for free speech and lets anyone who wishes to read it know that the whole world is not madly in love with Gerry Ryan.

I'd tune in and I'm neither a housewife of startstuck as would many others if you bothered to inform yourself. The JNLR's are regularly published.

Really the sort of stuff being posted here is a poor reflection on the forum and its users, You wouldn't go about (shouting profanaties when out in public so why do it some of you think it's ok to do it on a public discussion forum. It's all just a joke but it's really not funny.

I work in the radio industry and have often recommeded this forum to Media students on work placement etc as up until recently it didn't have the nasty spiteful comments that were prevelent on the other popular Irish radio forum., I won't be doing so any more.

I'll bow out of here now and let you saddos get on with your spiteful vendetta.

I'd tune in and I'm neither a housewife of startstuck as would many others if you bothered to inform yourself. The JNLR's are regularly published.

Really the sort of stuff being posted here is a poor reflection on the forum and its users, You wouldn't go about (shouting profanaties when out in public so why do it some of you think it's ok to do it on a public discussion forum. It's all just a joke but it's really not funny.

I work in the radio industry and have often recommeded this forum to Media students on work placement etc as up until recently it didn't have the nasty spiteful comments that were prevelent on the other popular Irish radio forum., I won't be doing so any more.

Well since your in the radio industry or supposed to be anyways whats your opinion on this: something he said a few weeks ago.

He was talking to two therapists this morning about (don’t you know) sex and kids, when some yummy mummy rang in, clearly besotted to be talking to Gerry and eager to demonstrate how liberal she was regarding this subject.
    She explained that her 4 year old daughter was taking pleasure from rubbing herself “down there” and wondered what she should do.
    Well, Gerry took control of this conversation by trumpeting:
    "This is completely natural. She is pleasuring herself because it’s a normal thing for young girls to do. It may be inappropriate if she was masturbating herself at a party in your house, so advise her to go up to her bedroom if she’s doing this… as she will do when she gets older".

You wouldn't go about (shouting profanaties when out in public so why do it some of you think it's ok to do it on a public discussion forum

Believe it or not this forum is quite strictly moderated so "shouting profanities" isnt really a common practise here.
    Also using this forum and the internet generally would suggest a certain adulthood amongst the users(certainly most would be post school leaving age)...you with me?
    But with Gerry we are subjected to HIM "shouting profanities"...early in the morning when children could be listening..long before the television watershed for swearing and discussing sexual matters.
    Added to all that the man does it with NO style or finess and largely devoid of humour or intelligence...people find it iffensive that this man highjacks conversations and turns them into discussions on teenage sex,bodily parts,masturbation,going to the toilet,penis size, and dozens of other likewise sleazy topics that would be more suitable for a programme aimed at mentally retarded and virginal teenagers.
    The fact that housewives digest this drivel at all says a lot about the national psyche...the fact that this crass,obnoxious oaf has been allowed to flog his puerile nonsense for 21 years courtesy of the national broadcaster is an insult to the people who pay his wages and an insult to the country's intelligence.

She is pleasuring herself because it’s a normal thing for young girls to do. It may be inappropriate if she was masturbating herself at a party

The girl is 4 years of age....anybody who makes the link between a 4 year old and masturbation should go and talk to a doctor.
    The man makes me sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

The irony of your parting shot kind of weakens your argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭boarddotie

Degsy wrote: »
    The girl is 4 years of age....anybody who makes the link between a 4 year old and masturbation should go and talk to a doctor.
    The man makes me sick.

I think you will find that infant and childhood sexuality is well known in development psychology and something like 'rubbing up against things etc' at 4 years of age is as natural as masturbation at aged 14.

So he was saying that is a natural stage in the development from childhood to adolesence.

Believe it or not this forum is quite strictly moderated so "shouting profanities" isnt really a common practise here.
    Also using this forum and the internet generally would suggest a certain adulthood amongst the users(certainly most would be post school leaving age)...you with me?
    But with Gerry we are subjected to HIM "shouting profanities"...early in the morning when children could be listening..long before the television watershed for swearing and discussing sexual matters.
    Added to all that the man does it with NO style or finess and largely devoid of humour or intelligence...people find it iffensive that this man highjacks conversations and turns them into discussions on teenage sex,bodily parts,masturbation,going to the toilet,penis size, and dozens of other likewise sleazy topics that would be more suitable for a programme aimed at mentally retarded and virginal teenagers.
    The fact that housewives digest this drivel at all says a lot about the national psyche...the fact that this crass,obnoxious oaf has been allowed to flog his puerile nonsense for 21 years courtesy of the national broadcaster is an insult to the people who pay his wages and an insult to the country's intelligence.

Is calling someone a "Fcucking sleazy old bastard" a profanity now or not.

Only adults use the internet, what planet are you on?

So you have a problem with adults talking about sex on the radio, that doesn't mean everyone else has yet you insist on continuing spouting your bile in public. He host a talks show, The listeners determine the topics, that's the whole idea behind the thing. Sex has always been discussed on radio and T.V. because people are interested in it. What's the most searched word on Google? The days of keeping it in the bedroom are long gone, you''ll have to get with the times.

How condescending of you to the women (housewifes) of the country, sure god love them they haven't a brain themselves to form an opinion of their own.

The issue I have on this forum is the vulgar languaue used to criticise certain people, you can be critical without resorting to profanaties which as I said earlier only portray this forum in bad light. This is a public place and imo it's still unacceptable to behave in such a fashion in public.

You're living in the dark ages, this centurys version of gay and the nighty brigade if you like.

The man makes me sick.

Perhaps you should do a little research on the subject before making such stupid statements.

The issue i have on this forum is the vulgar languaue used to criticise certain people, you can be critical without resoting to profanaties which as i said earlier only portray this forum in bad light. This is a public place and imo it's still unacceptable to behave in such a fashion in public.

If you have issues with the forum dont read it, simple, & tell Gerry that too besides yapping on about whats posted on here to Mark Little, we're entitled to our opinion just as much as you even though you do seem to be in the minority when it comes to Mr Ryan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

The issue i have on this forum is the vulgar languaue used to criticise certain people, you can be critical without resoting to profanaties which as i said earlier only portray this forum in bad light. This is a public place and imo it's still unacceptable to behave in such a fashion in public.

Welcome back to the forum, Muppet. I have missed your contributions.

As to the tone of the criticisms here, I think the thread is well moderated. If you have problems with specific posts, why not report them?

As to the public discussion of sex, I agree with you entirely. But I don't think the issue is with the fact of GR discussing sexual topics, so much as the sniggering or prurient tone that he often adopts, and the fact that it sometimes seems to stem from a compulsion of his own rather than a genuine interest in what the caller is saying.

I'd be interested to hear your reaction to specific instances. The "meta" nature of the current discussion doesn't seem likely to convince anyone of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 storybud1

he has a great face for radio

If you have issues with the forum dont read it, simple,

How Ironic.
    Welcome back to the forum, Muppet. I have missed your contributions.

As to the tone of the criticisms here, I think the thread is well moderated. If you have problems with specific posts, why not report them?

As to the public discussion of sex, I agree with you entirely. But I don't think the issue is with the fact of GR discussing sexual topics, so much as the sniggering or prurient tone that he often adopts, and the fact that it sometimes seems to stem from a compulsion of his own rather than a genuine interest in what the caller is saying.

I'd be interested to hear your reaction to specific instances. The "meta" nature of the current discussion doesn't seem likely to convince anyone of anything.

Maybe you are correct but the fact the topic is being discussed at all appears to rankle with Degsy in particular. Perhaps it's just the way he articulates his opinion.
    degsy wrote:

I'm not trying to convince anyone of anything, I'm expressing my opinion just like everyone else except without the vulgarity. Is there a need for the that here do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

I'm not trying to convince anyone of anything, I'm expressing my opinion just like everyone else except without the vulgarity. Is there a need for the that here do you think?

I've a very high tolerance for vulgarity, to be honest. I come of vulgar people.

I like this thread a lot, and ironically it makes me listen to the show more often than I otherwise would. I don't think Gerry Ryan would be, or should be, genuinely offended by it.

If Degsy keeps up with the hilarious salesman job, I may even buy the autobiography.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

You may have a point about people referring to presenters in the forum in a derogartory manner, but then you resorted to the same thing yourself by calling other posters "saddos".

But I don't think the issue is with the fact of GR discussing sexual topics, so much as the sniggering or prurient tone that he often adopts, and the fact that it sometimes seems to stem from a compulsion of his own rather than a genuine interest in what the caller is saying.

Quite true Meeja, like the morning he was interviewing the Irish Doctor that does be on Channel 4's 'Embaressing bodies' all was going grand untill he decided to ask her ''how did she feel when a hunky 20 year old young man came in for an examination down below'' there was a silence untill she asked how do you mean ''well do you feel alittle exicted looking at his manhood'' Gerry said..... it was obvious that the doctor was stunned while she tried to wriggle her way out of it. & that was before 10.30 am in the morning on national radio.

And then Muppet is on here preaching about the vulgarity in this thread.

deadhead13 wrote: »
    You may have a point about people referring to presenters in the forum in a derogartory manner, but then you resorted to the same thing yourself by calling other posters "saddos".

Saddo is a vulgar term is it, In which dictionary?

Main Entry:
    saddo
    Part of Speech:
    n
    Definition:
    a contemptible person, a loser; a nerd
    Usage:
    British colloquial

So people commenting on the Gerry Ryan thread are been criticized for being vulgar in their responses to the perverted crap they hear on his show

is this a wind up?