Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone ever drunk on an airplane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Sleipnir wrote: »
    When we were told to take our seats for landing two of us were running up and down the aisle making airplane noises and our arms out like wings. Everyone was pissing themselves laughing at us. Who needs an inflight movie where there's an on-board caberet?

Actually everyone was looking at you like you were idiots, its the same logic that makes me better looking and a better dancer when I'm hammered:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I flew to Miami by myself on a BA flight during the summer and the drink was free. The air hostess kept plying me with bottles of wine and then i went onto whiskey. I had to try wash my face and sober up before going to US immigration. Totally forgot about them. I'm sure your man smelled the whiskey off me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Dardania wrote: »
    The previous year in Amsterdam airport, coming back, we emptied our pockets into an uber-joint and then took on the airport - 1 guy went blind, a second guy just kept walking him into people as we were checking in, for the laugh, the 3rd guy went off and bought about 10 hats while I ended up in a bookshop buying aload of newspapers & magazines...not surprisingly we were searched at security (the hats were a give-away) but oh no - no drugs on us;-)

we didnt even get time to make a joint so we just swallowed it. All I remember is sitting at the window seat beside two people, dying to go toilet but afraid to even move...i was destroyed !! plane landed, and kinda woke up...the two people beside me were my best mates :eek:, we were all so smashed we didnt even notice !! ahh the annual Dam trip :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup. I cant sleep on planes so got pretty merry while on the plane to OZ. We were staying over in Singapore for a few days so missing the connecting flight wasn’t a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

masturbate furiously under a blanket

hawt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Kiera wrote: »
    Yup. I cant sleep on planes so got pretty merry while on the plane to OZ. We were staying over in Singapore for a few days so missing the connecting flight wasn’t a problem.
    I'd rather endure a direct flight as sh!tty as it is rather than stopping over in Singapore. I was there for a week on business and it was unbearable. Even at 3am it is still 30 degrees and humid as hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

^^^^^

You left out a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

flew with BA to boston on my j1.4 of us on the plane, 2 girls and me and my best mate.werent sat together to me and my mate sat together.free drinks all the way to boston.drank wine,vodka,beer,the works. we tokk the piss completely, ringin the bell askin for more, walkin down to where the airhostesses were askin for more.eventually they came down with two glasses of water and told us it was for our own good, because going through immigration drunk wouldnt be easy....they were right.we staggered off the plane, the 2 girls goin mental at us, to be grilled by immigration as to why we were drunk, would this be how we'd be behaving in america etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

anyone ever drank urine on a plane?
    Mine? No
    Someone elses?.....Mebbee

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ha, coming back from the states last Easter, I was dreading the flight back...

Myself and a mate had 100 dollars each - In to the airport in the bar, and blew the lot on cocktails.

A drunken stumble onto the flight, and woke up in Dublin. Sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I normally have a few glasses of wine before I fly, I'm now going to do one of those 'Fear of Flying' courses, just think of the money I'll save!!

Im none too keen on flying either. Have enough to brave the plane, not enough to be escorted to the Starbucks.. But saving money for a 'fear of flying course? I think not.

Maybe I like[/] the misery. ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

masturbate furiously under a blanket

Heh.

And aggressively shouting encouragement at yourself would top it off nicely.

I went on a drinking holiday with a few lads a few years back - all good lads with a great sense of humour. We were lucky enough to get a flight full of people half cut and had a great flight. Made some unlikley friends on the flight and bumped into people who recognised us all week and they would end up tagging along with us.

Got a free first class trip to New York years ago and took full advantage of the champers, wine and vodka on offer. Great craic altogether though the hangover was terrible.

Also got carried away on a flight to Cairo once (go KLM with the free booze!)
    Landed there absolutely locked and faced with a very long, very slow moving queue through immigration with a very full bladder. The boyfriend was propping me up when I got to the desk.

Have been to Oz four times and wouldn't drink too much on that trip, it's hellish anyway and you'd be pissed, hungover, sobered up and pissed again before you get there.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Never been drunk on a plane although I've had the mother-of-all hangovers.
    I was flying out to Amsterdam with 2 friends and we'd gotten our exam results the day before. Our flight was at 7am so we decided that we'd go out the night before and then come home, sleep, get up, all sorted. Got the 3am nite link after drinking faaaaaar too much. Home at four, up at five. 2 hour wait, 2 and a half hour flight, hour on a train half an hour on a bus and then 4 days in a tent. Messy.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

A friend (loose term for this guy) was on a flight to Bangkok with two others lads who were asleep. He was ordering double whiskeys for all 3 of them telling her the other two were for them.

He drank around 10 doubles and they say every drink is doubled that high up.

He was touching the face of the guy in front of him between the seats and telling the stewards/ess's that he was going to smoke and there is nothing they could do about it. The other two just pulled up the blankets and pretended to be asleep.

He was taken to the jump seat in the galley and tied into it. He fell asleep and everyone using the toilet had to tip toe past him.

FVCKING KNOB!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Berty wrote: »
    He drank around 10 doubles and they say every drink is doubled that high up.

There's a lot of ignorance surrounding spirits, and as a result people always get ripped off with them.

1 standard spirit measure is 35.5ml, say at 37.5%, that's 1.3 units

A pint is 568ml, say of Miller at 4.7%, that's 2.6 units.

So, a double is the same as a single pint, they're not that amazing :rolleyes:

mp3guy wrote: »
    There's a lot of ignorance surrounding spirits, and as a result people always get ripped off with them.

The little spirit bottles you get on a plane contain a double measure. Add that to recycled air on a plane and you're fooked.

Anyone who's ever been drinking in a Vegas casino will testify that once you leave that super-charged oxyggenated area the alcohol hits you like a train.

BTW I know how to spell oxyggen but it's asterisked out on this forum so have to misspell it!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

mp3guy wrote: »

Free drink isnt amazing. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messy Missy

i cannot fly unless im very drunk due to my fear of flying

Ah, join the club! I'm absolutely terrified of flying. Every time I have to get on a plane is a total nightmare for whoever is traveling with me: I cry for the whole duration of the flight, scratch my arms, wriggle in my seat... Not even talking to the Captain and visiting the cockpit during one of my recent flights helped me cop on.

Three of my closest friends work for the national airline and told me that instead of popping Valium like a maniac I should drink some wine, because 1 drink on the ground equals to 4 drinks up there, due to pressure diferences.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

it would be rude not to get free drink if it was offered to you. i think customs might find it highly suspicious you giving an irish passport and standing up straight.
    though they only have beer or wine - so if you,re not a beer drinker then its wine for you or the spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Last year was going to Cambridge with the college basketball team. Our flight got delayed a whopping 7 hours, and so we spent the time getting locked in Dublin Airport's brand new Terminal D. It was great craic, the place was empty for the last 2/3 hours, and fun involving moving sidewalks and luggage trolleys ensued. When we finally got on the plane, at about 11:30pm, it was empty since a lot of the passengers had seemingly gone home rather than bothering to wait. I put up the armrests in a row of 3 seats, lay down on them and went to sleep (thinking about it now, I probably would have had to sit up and put on my seatbelt while the plane was taking off, but that part of my memory is blank). Anyways, I woke up as we were landing, and it was the most comfortable flight of my life. Wasn't so great the next morning though, we had a match at 9:30am. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Only when i can see the plane I am boarding in sight will I have a beer although alcohol dehydrates so only 1 ;)