Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time the polish went home

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Bloody Immigrants! :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Seanies32 wrote: »
    My mother's family are Donegal natives; on my father's side you find a mix of Catholic Irish, Presbyterian Scottish, and Anglican English. And my American girlfriend has a mixture of Russian, Spanish, Italian, and Swiss ancestry. So we're a perfect example of the racial potpourri you're always giving out about!
    Bloody Immigrants! :D
    Bloody nth generation immigrants.

O'Morris wrote: »
    Contrary to the PC myth, the Irish are not "a mix of many races" and we're not all the descendants of previous waves of immigrants who came here in the last 2,000 years. Our history on this island goes back at least 10,000 years.

Can you explain that, I'm confused! How are we not a "mix of many races" and not all descendants of immigrants from the last 2,000 years?
    O'Morris wrote:
    By the way, as a Donegal fella, there's a good chance you're a direct descendant of Niall of the Nine Hostages.

Aye, a great forefather to have. :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

So you are saying someone on your fathers side took the soup and slept with a left footer. Oh ths shame of it.
    On the other hand maybe they were forced and some awful Scot and Englishman took advantage of the poor girls.
    Even better your family might have converted some of the heathens and shown them the light. :D

I knew you got your right wing tendencies from some awful foreigners ;)
    You should go to mass everyday and ask forgiveness for those sinful desires :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭O'Morris

djpbarry wrote:
    The population of Iceland is about 7% non-Icelandic.

The Icelandics are among the most inbred people on the planet and that 7% non-Icelandic population is probably made up of recent arrivals. If inbreeding was a bad thing and it makes people weak then how come the Icelandics are among the best educated, healthiest and strongest people in the world?

djpbarry wrote:
    Doesn’t it? In that case, perhaps you could answer the direct questions that have been asked of you which pertain to the subject of ancestors/descendents?

Old Mac will always give a straight answer to any ceist he's asked. Fire any question you want at me old boyfriend and I'll guarantee a straight answer.

Camelot wrote:
    Well actually, according to episode 'one' the east coast of Ireland is about as Irish as Mahatma Ghandi's left nipple, as wave after wave of newcomers have left their genetic markers over millenia

The majority of people in Leinster are of the same pre-Celtic stock as the rest of us. There is a single one of the four provinces in which a majority of the population isn't descended from the indigenous pre-Celtic stock of the British isles. That includes the orangemen in the north. You people are of the same stock as the rest of us.

Camelot wrote:
    even Diarmuid Gavin discovered that his ancestors hail from the East of England & central Europe (the Alps) before that . . .

He didn't discover that. He knew beforehand that his ancestors were from east Scotland and the testing just confirmed that.

Camelot wrote:
    The Irish are a mix of several races Viknigs/Anglo Normans/Britons being high on the list,

That's not true. The Irish are not "a mix of several races". If we were a mix of several different races why didn't Diarmuid Gavin tell us that on the programme? He didn't even mention the Vikings and the Normans. The reality is that the Normans, Celts and Vikings left only a very small imprint on the Irish gene-pool, not enough for us to honestly claim to be a mix of Celts and Viking and Normans.

Camelot wrote:
    and I was surprised to learn that although there has been human activity on Britain for 700.000 years

That doesn't mean that the British are descended from people who first settled the island 700,000 years ago.

Camelot wrote:
    there have only been Humans in Ireland for 10.000 years (max)!

Only 10,000 years? Is that all? Sure we're practically just off the boat.

Camelot wrote:
    and we still didnt get a categoricle answer to where thay came from (probably the Basque region of Spain via Britain) ) The west of Ireland has a high proportion of the Basque genetic marker.

It doesn't really make much difference where we came from. The important finding was how long we have been on the island. The genetic evidence shows that most Irish people are the descendants to the first settlers of the island who came here 10,000 years ago.

It's not just people in the west of Ireland that have that genetic marker either. A majority of Irish men throughout the country have the market, it's just more concentrated in the west.

jmayo wrote:
    Now using O'Morris own theory of Irish purity, if he doesn't hail from the Western part of Ireland

O'Morris is from the county of the plain of the yews like yourself. I'm of the old stock.

Not that it makes much difference where a man comes from or what his ancestry is. I am of 100% Irish stock though.

jmayo wrote:
    since he is not true Irish like us over in the West.

As a man of the west myself I don't feel any more Irish than people in any other part of the country.

What do you mean by that? I've never given out about that kind of thing. Why do you people continually misrepresent what I've written to try to make me look like some kind of nazi. It doesn't matter a damn to me what race a man is. As long his croi is with Ireland that's the most important thing.

Seanies32 wrote:
    Can you explain that, I'm confused! How are we not a "mix of many races"

If we were a mix of many races don't you think the Blood of the Irish programme would have mentioned that? There was an obvious PC "We is all Africans" angle throughout the programme so don't you think if there was any evidence that we were a "mix of many races" that they would have been quick to reinforce that PC myth? They didn't even mention the Vikings or the Normans and they made only passing reference to the Celts.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,078 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Icelandics are among the most inbred people on the planet and that 7% non-Icelandic population is probably made up of recent arrivals. If inbreeding was a bad thing and it makes people weak then how come the Icelandics are among the best educated, healthiest and strongest people in the world?

Old Mac will always give a straight answer to any ceist he's asked. Fire any question you want at me old boyfriend and I'll guarantee a straight answer.

The majority of people in Leinster are of the same pre-Celtic stock as the rest of us. There is a single one of the four provinces in which a majority of the population isn't descended from the indigenous pre-Celtic stock of the British isles. That includes the orangemen in the north. You people are of the same stock as the rest of us.

He didn't discover that. He knew beforehand that his ancestors were from east Scotland and the testing just confirmed that.

That's not true. The Irish are not "a mix of several races". If we were a mix of several different races why didn't Diarmuid Gavin tell us that on the programme? He didn't even mention the Vikings and the Normans. The reality is that the Normans, Celts and Vikings left only a very small imprint on the Irish gene-pool, not enough for us to honestly claim to be a mix of Celts and Viking and Normans.

That doesn't mean that the British are descended from people who first settled the island 700,000 years ago.

Only 10,000 years? Is that all? Sure we're practically just off the boat.

It doesn't really make much difference where we came from. The important finding was how long we have been on the island. The genetic evidence shows that most Irish people are the descendants to the first settlers of the island who came here 10,000 years ago.

It's not just people in the west of Ireland that have that genetic marker either. A majority of Irish men throughout the country have the market, it's just more concentrated in the west.

O'Morris is from the county of the plain of the yews like yourself. I'm of the old stock.

Not that it makes much difference where a man comes from or what his ancestry is. I am of 100% Irish stock though.

As a man of the west myself I don't feel any more Irish than people in any other part of the country.

What do you mean by that? I've never given out about that kind of thing. Why do you people continually misrepresent what I've written to try to make me look like some kind of nazi. It doesn't matter a damn to me what race a man is. As long his croi is with Ireland that's the most important thing.

If we were a mix of many races don't you think the Blood of the Irish programme would have mentioned that? There was an obvious PC "We is all Africans" angle throughout the programme so don't you think if there was any evidence that we were a "mix of many races" that they would have been quick to reinforce that PC myth? They didn't even mention the Vikings or the Normans and they made only passing reference to the Celts.

It would be ironic were you to discover that your ancestors were got at by the Normans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Part One of the documantary 'Blood of the Irish' described how the eastern part of this island was hit by wave after wave of invader thus contributing to the gene pool ~ this sounds plausable to me ..........

The oldest DNA from the oldest bone descovered was only 3.500 years old according to Diarmuid ~ and it was this DNA from this bone that Dairmuid used as his marker to insinuate that many inhabitants of the west were from this ancestor, but it doesnt explain where the original inhabitants of this island came from 9.000/ 10.000 years ago.

In ten thousand years time people will look back & see that the 'Poles' left their genetic marker here also.

Hasn't done their economy much good!

O'Morris wrote:

That's because the Vikings or Normans wasn't the focus of the programme! They where concentrating on 10,000 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Still waiting on this repeated question to be answered:

Leaves the question open of whether you would consider ThirdFox as Irish as a naturally born Irishman, or yourself (brought up in China) as Chinese as a naturally born Chinaman

Is a 'ethnically Irish' woman of Irish genetic stock moreso?

And I note you edited out the follow-up question - is a 'ethnically Irish' woman of Irish genetic stock more acceptable?

So at this stage I would have to suggest that you're telling porkies.

It does not conflict if ethnicity is purely cultural. If we choose to accept this and ignore that ethnicity is in part racially defined (in most dictionary definitions), it still does not explain his apparent obsession with racial genetics in this and other threads and his refusal to answer whether he would consider someone racially Irish to be more Irish than one who is simply culturally so.

This, O'Morris, is why you are viewed as a racialist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I was recently informed that Polish people look very different in the last 60 years due to German occupation! (lots of tall well built Arian looking Poles) since WWII apparently.

Dunno if this is true, but it seems plausable to me, which surely leads to the conclusion that if Ireland was occupied for (not 60 years) but 800 years then . . . .

Unless the Brits suffered from erectile dysfunction en mass :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Roscommon is Ireland's most inbred county. It also has Ireland's highest proportion of school leavers who go on to third-level education. Coincidence?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,078 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Húrin wrote: »
    Roscommon is Ireland's most inbred county. It also has Ireland's highest proportion of school leavers who go on to third-level education. Coincidence?

Two heads are better than one?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Two heads are better than one?

Nice.

Which of your heads came up with that thought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Rebeller

its the single bigest issue in this country right now

And there was me thinking that the "single bigest (sic) issue" facing us was the fact that we have a clueless, corrupt shower of gombeen cretins, headed up by a more than likely alcoholic, in charge of steering us out of a train wreck accident which they themselves caused.

Stupid me thinking that the social and economic bankruptcy of the state featuring a back-to-the-1980s budget deficit and sleveen cutbacks was the bigest (as you put it) issue.
    and yet not one T.D will speak out

Don't you worry your sun-filled head trailer-trash boy; the (FF) politicians will all be lining up to point the finger of blame at dose fariners to deflect any anger from themselves.
    This is our country, Irish jobs for Irish people first.

Only one problem with your policy.

Most of our jobs were in fact created by nasty fariners in the form of rapacious multinational corporations so they're not really "Irish" jobs per se. Maybe we should turf out HP and Intel too so we can implement your well thought out, articulately expressed clearly visionary economic policy?
    ...limiting social welfare benifits to immigrants to a max of 6 months

Why stop there? Why not extend such a limit toOirish Social Welfare recipients?:rolleyes:

You certainly live up to your user name trailer(trash)parkboy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Camelot wrote: »
    I was recently informed that Polish people look very different in the last 60 years due to German occupation! (lots of tall well built Arian looking Poles) since WWII apparently.

Dunno if this is true, but it seems plausable to me, which surely leads to the conclusion that if Ireland was occupied for (not 60 years) but 800 years then . . . .

Just all those in the Pale and garrison towns:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭Geogregor

Camelot wrote: »

Who told you that bull****it?
    They were to busy killing us to leave nay significant mark on Polish popultaion.

Geogregor wrote: »
    Who told you that bull****it?
    They were to busy killing us to leave nay significant mark on Polish popultaion.

I suggest Geogregor that you make an arrangement with 10 of your big fair haired mates and the above poster, to let him explain why he thinks they are they result of an illicit encouter bwtween a Nazi and their grannies.

donegal and corinthian, I'm not going to waste any more time replying to your posts about racialism. It's just not a subject I have any interest in and this thread is not about whether I'm a racialist, it's about whether the Poles should leave now that our economy is in a recession. I've repeatedly stated that race is not an issue for me and if you were to just bother to read what I've written you would understand that my focus is on ethnicity and national identity. Race doesn't enter into it.

Now can we please get this thread back on topic.
    Rebeller wrote:
    And there was me thinking that the "single bigest (sic) issue" facing us was the fact that we have a clueless, corrupt shower of gombeen cretins, headed up by a more than likely alcoholic, in charge of steering us out of a train wreck accident which they themselves caused.

Would you not agree that one of the most short-sighted and ill-judged decisions made by those cluseless, corrupt shower of gombeen cretins was the decision to open our labour markets to the east Europeans at a time when most other EU countries sensibly decided to restrict access? Wouldn't the problem of unemployment be much easier to deal with if we didn't have so many people in the country competing for a smaller number of jobs?

Rebeller wrote:
    Stupid me thinking that the social and economic bankruptcy of the state featuring a back-to-the-1980s budget deficit and sleveen cutbacks was the bigest (as you put it) issue.

The budget deficit and the cutbacks are short-term problems and will likely be resolved within the next decade. Mass immigration on the other hand will have huge long-term consequences for this country and it will determine the kind of country that Ireland will be in a hundred years from now.

Rebeller wrote:
    Don't you worry your sun-filled head trailer-trash boy; the (FF) politicians will all be lining up to point the finger of blame at dose fariners to deflect any anger from themselves.

Not likely. No politician would dare risk his career by getting on the wrong side of the media. Any politician who comes out and says that he thinks immigration is too high will be called a racist, it's that simple. Even the most uneducated county councillors from the most backward parts of Donegal are intelligent enough to understand that. Look at how that Leo Varadcar gent was called a racist by a senior member of the cabinet just for having proposed paying non-nationals on the dole to return home.

Rebeller wrote:
    Most of our jobs were in fact created by nasty fariners in the form of rapacious multinational corporations

Do you have a source for that? The last I heard, US multinationals employ around 100,000 people in this country. That doesn't include the people employed by other foreign multinationals but even if you increase the total to 200,000 that still only represents a small fraction of the entire workforce.

Rebeller wrote:
    Why stop there? Why not extend such a limit toOirish Social Welfare recipients?

There should be a limit on all social welfare recipients regardless of their nationality. The limit should be based on the length of time that the recipient has been working and paying taxes though. Someone who has worked for 5 years should be entitled to twice as much social welfare as someone who has only worked here for 2 years. I think the limit should be around 3 months for every year that they have worked.

donegal and corinthian, I'm not going to waste any more time replying to your posts about racialism. It's just not a subject I have any interest in and this thread is not about whether I'm a racialist, it's about whether the Poles should leave now that our economy is in a recession. I've repeatedly stated that race is not an issue for me and if you were to just bother to read what I've written you would understand that my focus is on ethnicity and national identity. Race doesn't enter into it.
    How about you respond to the evidence presented that indicates that you are?

Indeed, whatever happened to your claim that "old Mac will always give a straight answer to any ceist he's asked"? You appear to be doing the opposite.
    Now can we please get this thread back on topic.
    I would think that your underlying agenda is very relevant to the discussion, especially if your honesty about this is in question.

Would you not agree that one of the most short-sighted and ill-judged decisions made by those cluseless, corrupt shower of gombeen cretins was the decision to open our labour markets to the east Europeans at a time when most other EU countries sensibly decided to restrict access? Wouldn't the problem of unemployment be much easier to deal with if we didn't have so many people in the country competing for a smaller number of jobs?

In hindsight it was. The Govt., banks, developers, car sales business, property buyers, consumers etc. all ballsed up from 01 onwards.

To enable that incorrect policy and spending, extra labour was needed. We had full employment so to fulfill the huge demand on Labour, Immigration fulfilled it.

My problem isn't with your reasoning, it's the kick them out now attitude due to OUR Irresponsibility in so many ways and areas.
    O'Morris wrote:
    There should be a limit on all social welfare recipients regardless of their nationality. The limit should be based on the length of time that the recipient has been working and paying taxes though. Someone who has worked for 5 years should be entitled to twice as much social welfare as someone who has only worked here for 2 years. I think the limit should be around 3 months for every year that they have worked.

That will contribute to Irish emigration too.

How about you respond to the evidence presented that indicates that you are?

No evidence indicates that I am a racialist. You're just twisting what I've written because you find it easier to attack a strawman than to accurately represent the points I've made and then reply to them. I'm an ethnic nationalist and I want to preserve Ireland as an ethnically Irish country.

I would think that your underlying agenda is very relevant to the discussion, especially if your honesty about this is in question.

I've made no secret of my underlying agenda. I want Ireland to still be an ethnically Irish country in a hundred years from now. That doesn't mean that I define ethnicity in racial terms or that I want us to discriminate against Irish people of non-Irish ancestry. I want all Irish citizens to be treated equally.

Now can you please stop derailing this thread.

Seanies32 wrote:
    My problem isn't with your reasoning, it's the kick them out now attitude due to OUR Irresponsibility in so many ways and areas.

I'm not saying that we should kick them out. I think the focus should be on reducing the number of people entering the country, not on removing the people here already.

It's very prevalent though. Basically we are finished with yas, feck off!

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭iwo

I'm not saying that we should kick them out. I think the focus should be on reducing the number of people entering the country, not on removing the people here already.[/quote]

Maybe Australians and USA government should do the same for Irish people going there? Do you UNERSTAND word EU?? You either accept it or not. U can not pick only good thing about EU...It was nice when you got money from EU and you could travel and work in all Europe. Now you would like to change it for other countries such us Poland? Doesnt suit you any more?

No evidence indicates that I am a racialist. You're just twisting what I've written because you find it easier to attack a strawman than to accurately represent the points I've made and then reply to them. I'm an ethnic nationalist and I want to preserve Ireland as an ethnically Irish country.
    I note you have dismissed, rather than rebutting the evidence presented.

I also note that you persist to avoid answering the very direct question that was asked of you - repeatedly - even though you have falsely claimed that you would answer a question if asked.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

No evidence indicates that I am a racialist.
    I beg to differ. On another thread, you told me that, due to my ancestry, I was not really Irish, as true Irish people can (apparently) trace all of their ancestors back to prehistory (which is obviously laughable):
    If you have French and Danish (as distinct from Norman and Viking) ancestors then you can't claim to a typical Irishman. Most Irish people that I know, including myself, have all Irish ancestors all the way back to prehistory.
    You have also stated that Irish men should be "encouraged" to procreate with Irish women, which logically means they should be "discouraged" (I cringe to think what that means) from having children with non-Irish women:
    I would prefer "encouraged" rather than "forced". Patriotic people like myself consider it our duty to have big families with ethnic Irish women to keep the flame of the gael burning into the 22nd.
    The logical conclusion from this is that you do not consider people from non-Irish backgrounds to be truly Irish, i.e. you are discriminating based on ancestry (to put it mildly).