Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web designing & Digital Humanities courses

Options
  • 10-01-2009 8:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

Hi,

What course in Dublin would you recommend as the best and most comprehensive one to learn how to design really good websites? I have some experience in maintaining and developing a website but really I was copying and experimenting with scripts from other sites so just assume that for my present purposes I want to learn about web designing from scratch.

Long-term, I would like to use my knowledge of the humanities (I've just finished a PhD in History) to build really inspiring and informative cultural and educational websites. I believe- and I am certainly open to correction- that this is what has recently become known as the Digital Humanities. At any rate, that meshing of history, culture and technology in the form of establishing and building great websites to inform the public and scholarly community is what I would like to be part of in the coming years.

Where to start? I don't want to do another degree so the multimedia 3-year degree courses are out. Second, I want to be really good at web designing and at the risk of sounding bad I will not settle at some moderate or amateur level: I want to make a good career out of my passions. I want to be the best, and I want to be able to travel with these skills. I have a lot of admiration for good web designers, and I'm infuriated by bad web designers.