Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 93 Discussion ***Will Contain Spoilers***

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Campbell M

Seifer wrote: »
    I wasn't there but it's pretty clear from the promo videos that the ufc made in the lead up to the fight.
    Whether accurate or not they basically portrayed Coleman as this lunatic that broke Shogun's arm and then wanted to keep fighting him. And then wanted to fight his camp. The clip where he's talking about standing / stomping on Wanderlai Silva's head isn't exactly flattering to say the least.

There is no doubt Mark is a tough bastard but he is such a bad sport about everything. I was pretty unimpressed with how he handled himself after this fight also. Not much of a sportsman. Carried on like an idiot because the ref stopped the fight (just because he was unconcious:rolleyes:).

I never booed him (I would never boo anyone good/brave enough to step into the octagon) but I guess if you act like that you are not going to make any friends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Campbell M wrote: »
    There is no doubt Mark is a tough bastard but he is such a bad sport about everything. I was pretty unimpressed with how he handled himself after this fight also. Not much of a sportsman. Carried on like an idiot because the ref stopped the fight (just because he was unconcious:rolleyes:).

He wasnt unconcious strictly speaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

rovert wrote: »
    He wasnt unconcious strictly speaking.

Yeah, I rewatched the fight today and he was grabbing Shogun's legs as the ref jumps in.

After rewatching the fight I think Coleman might have won it.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Yeah, I rewatched the fight today and he was grabbing Shogun's legs as the ref jumps in.

I cant blame the ref too much but there was only 15 secs left and I dont think Rua had it in him to finish him/that Coleman would quit in that time.

Yeah, the ref should have let it go on.

I watched the post-match interview with Coleman and he looks utterly gutted. I feel sorry for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Read the rules guys, fighters must defend themselves intelligently at all times, the time left in the round isnt the issue

dunkamania wrote: »
    Read the rules guys, fighters must defend themselves intelligently at all times, the time left in the round isnt the issue

I know the rules and Coleman WAS going for a double leg when the ref stopped the fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Scramble

Coleman defintiely was turning in to Shogun's legs, but it was maybe a split second after the ref had decided to come in. Coleman was pretty slow about it, whether through fatigue or being put down by the uppercut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I know the rules and Coleman WAS going for a double leg when the ref stopped the fight.

no coleman was in autopilot. can't remember who it was now but i remember a guy that got tkoed and start grappling the referee after he stopped it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

did anyone notice Colin Robinson doing security escorting Rich Franklin to the ring? what's that about? is he working for the ufc or the o2?

no coleman was in autopilot. can't remember who it was now but i remember a guy that got tkoed and start grappling the referee after he stopped it.

I agree. By the time the ref jumped in he was starting to grab for the double but for the few seconds before that he was just sitting there getting smacked about. I cant watch it again (because i dont have it) and maybe i would change my mind if i could but that was my opinion from being there.

Remember the Ref couldnt watch the replay either, his concern was mark being hit and not intelligently defending himself.

I agree. By the time the ref jumped in he was starting to grab for the double but for the few seconds before that he was just sitting there getting smacked about. I cant watch it again (because i dont have it) and maybe i would change my mind if i could but that was my opinion from being there.

Remember the Ref couldnt watch the replay either, his concern was mark being hit and not intelligently defending himself.

I watched a replay of the fight yesterday and Coleman seemed ok enough to continue fighting. He goes for the grab before the ref stops the fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

I tend to agree as well. This is all split second stuff and the ref had to make a decision, with his first priorty being fighter safety. I probably would have liked to see it go an extra few seconds (same with the noguiera fight) but i have no big problem with the stoppage..

Whenever the ref stops the fight, he creates a margin of opportunity when the defensive fighter can launch an attack. Its in this split second reprieve that the questionable stoppages usually occur. What usually happens is, in the split second that the ref pulls the offensive fighter off, the defending fighter has a chance to escape and grab a leg or whatever..The likelihood is, in alot of these cases anyway, that if the ref hadnt intervened there would have been no opportunity to escape and the offensive fighter would have kept pummeling away, with his opponent suffering excessive dammage.

In the coleman rua fight, Rua knocks coleman down and lands a punch while colemans on his knees. The ref then intervenes. After the intervention coleman goes to grab the leg. If the ref hadnt of jumped in when he did mark wouldnt have had the opportunity to grab the leg..

The refs can really only go by the rules and at this stage in the fight mark was not intelligently defending himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭Highnoon

Posting my thoughts on this very late so hope I remember all. Was at UFC 93 and had a ball. Wasn't sure if I'd get the radio link thingy and didn't even know about them till I went to buy a program. Thought it might have been a money grabbing scam but parted with my €10 and glad I did. Would recommend them to anyone attending a UFC event in the future. You could here the commentary with Joe and Mike and cornermen between rounds.

Nice spinging back kick by Shiver to win the opener. The Italian Serati had a nightmare of a fight - got ass kicked. Sorry to hear Hathaway being booed - though agree with an earlier post that its expected when fighting a hometown fighter. More of a pantomine booing really and he got a round of applause for the easy victory over Egan. Thought Egan was totally dominated.

Good to see Horn fighting and I was cheering for him. Hates being called Gumby by the way, Heard this on the radio link thingy. Great defensive battle on his part but never looked like winning.

Couldn't beleive Colemans reception (he's not English and Rua isn't Irish ;) ) I was the only one cheering for him I think (not really but thats what it sounded like)Thought he showed great heart and I was screaming at him that he only had 30 seconds left when shortly after the ref stopped it. Coincidentally I've been watching old UFC's and was at no 10 which might explain my support for the man. Alot of respect for the tough fecker after that night though. Would have liked him to finish the fight.

Was cheering Franklyn (beginning to see a pattern here?) Henderson looked good. Thought Franklyn had him in 3rd but then the poke in the eye. A loss is not something anyone wants but I think it worked out well for all. Franklyn wants to concentrate on light heavy and has said he doesn't want to go back in the house so a fight with Bisping at middleweight not really a priority.

Didn't have any crowd problems but did see some person climb into the ring at the very end!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

heres a link to colemans reaction backstage.

http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid1138375875?bctid=8512805001

he's not too happy!

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Cant view that in work,can you sum up what his reactin was ie p1ssed off withthe irhs fans for booing/losing the fight?

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭agardiner22

He was mainly pissed cause there was 15 seconds left and probably thought he had won

Watched Ultimate Talk last night Marshall Zelaznik was thrilled with the show and confirmed the St. Paddy's day idea being flouted. Hattaway showed a lot of class talking very positively about Tom Egan.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭Highnoon

Loved Bruce Buffers little shimmy when he was introducing the fighters. Standing to my right (then spin 180) and point to the right.

Looking a Fighters Only Mag and there's a ad with John Hathaway sponsroing something and it has him as a Middleweight. So I suppose that helps explain why Egan got handled so easily.

Watched Marks reaction after the fight - boy is he pissed off. Was going mad because there was only 15seconds left. Wasn't happy with his cornner for not tellinh him, then says it was his own fault. I was screaming 'only 30 seconds left Mark HANG ON!!!' Feck if only I'd bought the ringside tickets he might have heard me - Sorry :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Buffer's 180 is great, I cant help but smile when he does it. He gets right up in some of the fighters faces when introducing them. I think it was Coleman he was introducing and he was about two feet away waving his cards right in his face. Rogan and Goldberg are great commentators, it could be an awful lot worse. I loved Bas Rutten doing Pride though.

I thought the crowd overall was great, the booing was a bit annoying. Was just to the right of that clown who was shouting at Hathaway. After that fight I didnt see him too much though. There was a group of lads on my row who would all go out together for smokes,drinks and pisses. Bit annoying trying to watch the fight and letting 6 lads move by. There should be alcohol, people who enjoy a few drinks cant be prevented because the minority cant control themselves.
    Overall great night.

*BUMP*

Wasnt sure if I should have made a new topic but I just got the UFC 93 DVD in the post from fightdvd.com to my surprise it is a double disc. The 2nd disc has Fighter Interviews, the Countdown show, Behind the Scenes highlights and the weigh ins show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Perfect fit

Cheers Rovert:) Sounds like a must buy, does it have the prelim(Toms) entrance or jsut the fights?

Fraid not but it does have the prefight hype videos for the prelims. Along with a pre fight interview with Tom filmed I think the day before.

The picture quality is great, all the bonus features are all really long and they have lots of crowd shots etc.

I’ve yet to watch the full PPV on television but the referee was completely right to stop the Coleman fight when he did after watching the bonus footage which showed all of the final punches he took from all angles and in slow motion. The extended footage of a Coleman post fight is pretty harrowing it has to said.

I lol’d at the SPAR bag in Shogun’s locker room I wonder if his lacklustre performance was a result of eating a breakfast roll before the fight.

The DVD on sale here:
    http://www.fightdvd.co.uk/

They are the offical suppliers of UFC merchandise for Europe and shipping is included in the price. So it is a very good deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Was the greatest UFC ever cause I was there. Amazing atmosphere, will have to get the DVD.

I'm heading to 99 in Koln, should be good.