Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange car

• 11-01-2009 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭

I was bored around 1am last night so I decided I'd do a little bit of shopping in Tesco. After being perplexed by the retarded self service checkout I left the store scratching my head and went off to get some petrol.

On my way back to the apartment I decided I'd head down to the little beach near Renmore to have a look at the distance lights of Salthill across the bay. Parked the car and though I might as well get out and have a stroll on the beach since the tide was out.

Anyway I get down to the water and I see this car slowly driving up and down the road where my car is parked. It parks up 100 feet away from my car.

I walk back and get into my car ready to head home, and this car comes over to mine, stops with it's headlights shining into my window, turns and goes back to where it was parked.

What the hell is with that? Can a guy not walkin on a beach at 2am in the morning in bad weather without causing suspision??

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Unmarked Garda patrol?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Stan Collymore?

lol in fairness you do sound well dodgy! :L

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

ukgalwaymcguire????

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Robbo wrote: »
    Stan Collymore?

For sure lol. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

lol in fairness you do sound well doggy! :L

Fixed that for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Can a guy not walkin on a beach at 2am in the morning in bad weather without causing suspision??

Not really. It was probably an unmarked Garda car checking if people were doing things in the car. Like sex, or drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭swimgal08

2am renmore beech :cool: how could that not sound suspicious??:cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

swimgal08 wrote: »

ha ha true!!! sketchaaaay!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Jaysus lad, if anyone saw ya they'd think ya were down there lookin for a bit of brown love - Be glad you didn't go down to Blackrock for a 'stroll' you'd be walking back like a duck :eek:

As for the car, could be anything:
    Gardai
    Gay bashers
    Swingers? :D
    Some guy lookin for gay love

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

swimgal08 wrote: »

+1 - all sorts of dodgy stuff going on in places like this, I hope it was the Gardai checking u out and if so I'm glad! I was down at Rusheen Bay today, the amount of cans and used condoms and other debris around the place was unreal. I might give the pub a miss and start heading there at weekends instead, it looks like its where the craic is at :p

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭SalteeDog

Balllyloughane beach - I've heard tell of nighttime drugs transactions there in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

What is the world coming to. Can't take an innocent stretch of the legs without surveillance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

What is the world coming to. Can't take an innocent stretch of the legs without surveillance.

In fairness Ireland isn't bad at all as a surveillance society if you look at the likes of the UK, where there is one CCTV camera for every 14 people and massive monitoring of travel, communication, credit card info, shopping habits, everything you can think of. Doubtlessly Ireland will catch up someday, in the meantime we can thank our incompetent government for failing to cast an Orwellian eye on everything we do! :)

I have no doubt that you were just taking an innocent stretch of the legs but the thing is you were doing it at a time and location where people are much more likely to be doing dodgy things.

So can we start the rumours now?

I heard galwayrush is a gay drugdealer who goes to beaches looking for brown love :pac:

JohnCleary wrote: »
    So can we start the rumours now?

I heard galwayrush is a gay drugdealer who goes to beaches looking for brown love :pac:

Yeah I heard that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Galwayrush gave away DELL to the Polish.......

Ye didn't hear it from me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

Surely it's the local dogging spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭swimgal08

i heard he was lookin for porn ???

weird.. but to be honest, you probably looked alot stranger than the car at that time of morning.

what make do you remember?

I think that could be one of the dogging areas in Galway, and was probably looking for some "fun"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Guards probably. I go fishing at Silverstrand a fair bit, they're often down there checking and shining lights around - makes me feel a bit safer anyway, some strange goings on down there!

I think that could be one of the dogging areas in Galway, and was probably looking for some "fun"

I always thought dogging referred only to the people who were looking. i.e. they take their dog on a walk as a cover for looking at people screw in parked cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I always thought dogging referred only to the people who were looking. i.e. they take their dog on a walk as a cover for looking at people screw in parked cars.

Jeez, ye younger folk get up to some weird stuff these days. In my day dogging referred to, well, just taking the dog !!

Duiske wrote: »
    In my day dogging referred to, well, just taking the dog !!

From behind? :pac:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Guards probably. I go fishing at Silverstrand a fair bit, they're often down there checking and shining lights around - makes me feel a bit safer anyway, some strange goings on down there!
    Jaez would ya not just let them ride in peace? :p
    From behind? :pac:
    Epic lolz

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Jaez would ya not just let them ride in peace? :p

Its not doggers or lovers lane couples I'd be worried about! Cars moving around, parking up then moving again, men wandering around and lurking in corners for God knows what... :eek:
    Then there's the fuckers who park up and shine their full beams on you when you're fishing on the beach... :mad:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Its not doggers or lovers lane couples I'd be worried about! Cars moving around, parking up then moving again, men wandering around and lurking in corners for God knows what... :eek:
    Probably a bit of Zzippy arse! :D
    Then there's the fuckers who park up and shine their full beams on you when you're fishing on the beach... :mad:
    Ah sure nothin wrong with a bit of lampin' :pac: