Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Out of Focus and off topic...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

That's cool. What are you planning to do with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,233 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Finally get some decent indoors shots of the baby :)

And learn about bokeh!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

AnCatDubh wrote: »
    Eircom appear to be having dns issues !!!AGAIN!!!

Anyhow - a discussion happening over here - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055473363

Some DNS work arounds for people to try.

I thought it was just me. I had just done some tinkering on the computer to fix a hard drive issue and thought I'd done something to my internets. All is rosy now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

Why did the chicken cross the Möbius strip?

To get to the same side. :D:D:D

Well I hadn't heard it before.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭l pearse

......Funny! :D

Have a look @ theses alleged reasons from famous people 'Why did the chicken cross the road'?

http://www.weirdity.com/jokes/chicken.shtml

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

How many kerrymen dose it take to change a light bulb???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

None, Kerry looks better in the dark?

whyulittle wrote: »
    None, Kerry looks better in the dark?

One to change the bulb four others to reminise on how grand the aul bulb was :)

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Nisio

landyman wrote: »
    How many kerrymen dose it take to change a light bulb???

One to change the light bulb and 50 to march down the street with burning torches!

jackie-healy-rae_large.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Seeing as jokes are part of the menu:

There were two nuns...
    One of them was known as Sister Mathematical (SM),
    and the other one was known as Sister Logical (SL).
    It is getting dark and they are still far away from the
    convent.

SM: Have you noticed that a man has been following
    us for the past 38 and a half minutes? I wonder what
    he wants.

SL: It's logical. He wants to rape us.

SM: Oh, no! At this rate he will reach us in 15 minutes
    at the most! What can we do?

SL: The only logical thing to do, of course, is to
    walk faster.

SM: It's not working.

SL: Of course it's not working. The man did the only
    logical thing. He started to walk faster, too.

SM: So, what shall we do? At this rate he will reach
    us in one minute.

SL: The only logical thing we can do is split. You go
    that way and I'll go this way. He cannot follow us both.

So the man decided to follow Sister Logical.

Sister Mathematical arrives at the convent and is
    worried about what has happened to Sister Logical.

Then Sister Logical arrives.

SM: Sister Logical! Thank God you are here!
    Tell me what happened!

SL: The only logical thing happened. The man
    couldn't follow us both, so he followed me

SM: Yes, yes! But what happened then?

SL: The only logical thing happened. I started to
    run as fast as I could and he started to run as
    fast as he could.

SM: And?

SL: The only logical thing happened. He reached me.

SM: Oh, dear! What did you do?

SL: The only logical thing to do. I lifted my dress up.

SM: Oh, Sister! What did the man do?

SL: The only logical thing to do. He pulled down his pants.

SM: Oh, no! What happened then?

SL: Isn't it logical, Sister?

A nun with her dress up can run faster than
    man with his pants down.

And for those of you who thought it would be dirty,
    say two Hail Marys!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

Light bulb jokes abound...

How many psychologists does it take to change a light bulb?

A blonde bangard pulls over another blonde on the road.....

Bangard: you were driving over the speed limit. May i see your licence??

Blonde: emm em em whats that??

Bangard: you know, your identification.

Blonde: em ill have a look.....

(Blonde rummages through her stuff and glove-box)

(Blonde opens wallet and looks at the mirror in the wallet)

Blonde: ooh i found one! Look!

(Shows bangard the mirror)

Bangard: god, i didnt know you were a gard!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

These jokes are so bad I think they've given me cancer :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

The best way how to look at the D3.

ThOnda wrote: »
    The best way how to look at the D3.

Or the 5d mk2..... :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

trooney wrote: »
    Light bulb jokes abound...

How many psychologists does it take to change a light bulb?

Only one ..... but the Lightbulb really has to want to change. action-smiley-015.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

like the old joke about how many boards photography forum users it takes to change a lightbulb...

the bulb never gets changed because theyre all moaning about wattage, bulb shape, if it's a bayonet or a screw in, the imperfections in the ambient light the lampshade will create, what the rating of the bulb is in degrees kelvin, what the best kind of bulb to buy for €3 is, where to get it, how to get it, what means of transport to use to get the bulb to the light fitting, to turn it clockwise or anti-clockwise, how many volts used to light it, what colour fuse goes into the plug and finally the person that originally suggested changing the bulb comes back to talk about what a great suggestion it was in the first place... if they're not banned at that stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

so you're going to change the light bulb you forgot about upgrading it to CFL and what was wrong with the original light bulb in the first place

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭CraggyIslander

rymus wrote: »
    like the old joke about how many boards photography forum users it takes to change a lightbulb...

the bulb never gets changed because theyre all moaning about wattage, bulb shape, if it's a bayonet or a screw in, the imperfections in the ambient light the lampshade will create, what the rating of the bulb is in degrees kelvin, what the best kind of bulb to buy for €3 is, where to get it, how to get it, what means of transport to use to get the bulb to the light fitting, to turn it clockwise or anti-clockwise, how many volts used to light it, what colour fuse goes into the plug and finally the person that originally suggested changing the bulb comes back to talk about what a great suggestion it was in the first place... if they're not banned at that stage.

You forgot the boardsie that wondered if it should have TTL support :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Just picked up a 3 Months old rarely used 40D with a Canon EF-S 15-55 IS USM and Canon EF75-300mm F/4-5.6 III USM for 700 Euro.

Considering I was going to go to Jessops at the weekend and pick up the Kit pack minus the 75-300 lens for 789 STG I consider my buy to be a bargain!

yay!

I bought a Sigma 10-20 second hand to day. As an avid fan of Ken Rockwell how much do you think I need to donate to him to get over the guilt of buying a non Ken Rockwell approved lens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

New Camera and no compact flash card :(

Bummer

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭CraggyIslander

Nisio wrote: »
    I bought a Sigma 10-20 second hand to day. As an avid fan of Ken Rockwell how much do you think I need to donate to him to get over the guilt of buying a non Ken Rockwell approved lens?

2c :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Nothing. The 10-20 is a lens fully endorsed by Calina.

Ok lads whats yer favourite guinnes add??

Calina wrote: »
    Nothing. The 10-20 is a lens fully endorsed by Calina.

A new lens and it rained! and it's still raining! :mad:
    Landyman wrote:
    Ok lads whats yer favourite guinnes add??

Do you remember the famous surfing one with the old man waiting waiting waiting then the perfect wave arrives with the white horses foaming horses and the cool dum da dum dum background track?

They did a follow on add years later (I watched it in the storehouse; haven't seen it on tv) shot in the same style where a bunch of young lads are doing the same thing but as they reach the water with the surf boards they get their feet wet you can kinda see them thinking "Fcuk that's cold" and they leg it back up the beach.

A new lens and it rained! and it's still raining! :mad:

Do you remember the famous surfing one with the old man waiting waiting waiting then the perfect wave arrives with the white horses foaming horses and the cool dum da dum dum background track?

My favourite was the one where yer man was dancing round the pint waiting for it to settle. Classic! Da-na na, da-na na, da-na na

We had one in Australia, when they were first promoting Guinness, which was well weird.

If I remember it was a guy running around a sports field looking in different directions. he then came up to the camera & said "I like to watch" in a really wierd & disturbing voice. No logo, no brand, nothing. Of course everyone was atlking about it wondering what it meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

thats a blast from the past... here y'are
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69MpLiYhsXw

and for all the rest of ye
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zcdDg30VBgo

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭l pearse

Ads.......What do you think of the new Cadbury's ad? v. funny.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=TVblWq3tDwY&feature=related

It's weird though that the recent Cadbury's ads have had NOTHING to do with chocolate....eg. Gorilla playing the drums
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=BvJ6Z8TNaKs

& before that there was the one with the rally in an airport!!!!!
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=_YkV4a6WZ-U

explain please.