Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squats, Squats, Squats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

- Squats felt pretty good today. Some of the reps were a bit sloppy, but they felt strong overall. I think my 3 rep PR is 190, so I was happy with todays numbers. Next week, I'll work up to a 3rm, hopefully 200+
    - Pressing was alright, but my elbows were sore from training in the snow yesterday, so they were a bit tougher than I hoped
    - I am probably going to have to restrict my deadlifting to 1 heavy set per week, because of my hand - it seems I have a ganglion cyst in the palm of my hand, but I'm going to hold off until after the nationals before I get anything done to it

Squat - 1RM: 225kg
    20kg x 2 x 6
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3

160kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    187.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 83% of 1RM
    187.5kg x 3 reps x 2 sets @ 9 RPE - 83% of 1RM

Reverse Mini Press - 1RM: 150kg
    20kg x 2 x 8
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5

105kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 70% of 1RM
    125kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 83% of 1RM
    125kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 83% of 1RM
    120kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 80% of 1RM

Floor Press - 1RM: 122.5kg
    60kg x 8

80kg x 8 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 65% of 1RM
    80kg x 8 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 65% of 1RM
    80kg x 8 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 65% of 1RM

Ab Pulldown
    2 x 15

- Fairly pleased with my benching - 4x3 with 107.5 is a pretty big PR for me. Next week, I will start working up to one heavy set, I should be able to handle 112.5x3.
    - Deads were ok, hand is still sore though. Not going to do too much more heavy pulling before the nationals - 245x1 next week, and 235x2 the week after, and tat will be about it. Not too bothered that my DL training hasn't been great, my 1rm seems to respond as well to squat training as it does to DL training.

Bench - 1RM: 135kg
    20kg x 2 x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 5

90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 67% of 1RM
    107.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 80% of 1RM
    107.5kg x 3 reps x 2 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 80% of 1RM
    107.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 80% of 1RM

CGBP - 1RM: 118kg
    85kg x 5 reps x 2 sets @ 8 RPE - 72% of 1RM
    90kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 76% of 1RM

Deadlift - 1RM: 255kg
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3

180kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 70% of 1RM
    215kg x 4 reps x 1 sets @ 9.5 RPE - 84% of 1RM

3ct Pause Squat - 1RM: 157kg
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5

100kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 62% of 1RM
    120kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 74% of 1RM
    120kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 74% of 1RM
    100kg x 7 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 62% of 1RM

BB Row
    60kg x 20
    75kg x 15

Might start lgging my cardio/football training stuff, if I can remember it al

Tonight
    - 2 laps warmup
    - 5 mins jog / dynamic stretching
    - 15 mins sprints
    - another 3 laps when everyone else was doing more sprints b/c I'm a lazy goalkeeper
    - 30 mins keeper drills - lots of jumping around, tiring stuff

- Good all-round session too. Squat were pretty good, I need to get used to getting 190+ on my back on a regular basis again, had some trouble keeping my head up today.
    - Inclines were really fast and easy, Im thinking 100x3 next week maybe.
    - Tried a new set up with the GMs, I might have been squatting them up a bit, but my main focus was forcing my hips through (like a DL lockout)

Squat - 1RM: 223kg
    20kg x 2 x 8
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3

160kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 72% of 1RM
    180kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 81% of 1RM
    180kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 81% of 1RM
    190kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM
    190kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9.5 RPE - 85% of 1RM

Incline Bench - 1RM: 112.5kg
    20kg x 2 x 8
    40kg x 8

60kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 6.5 RPE - 55% of 1RM
    80kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    80kg x 5 reps x 5 sets @ 8 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 80% of 1RM
    90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 80% of 1RM

Suspended GM - 1RM: 152kg
    60kg x 5

100kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 66% of 1RM
    107.5kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    112.5kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 74% of 1RM
    112.5kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 74% of 1RM

Standing AB fallout
    2 x 8

Pulldowns
    2 x 15

Heres a vid of squats and GMs. Quality is a bit crappy

- Got 2 good PRs today, squat technique was pretty awful though, I couldn't get set up right, and I was all oer the place. Next squat day, I'll do multiple singles at ~200kg, just to practice walking out, setting up and handling heavier weight.
    - Close Grip was good, there was probably another rep there too. Was planning on doing some Floor Presses after, but my elbow was a starting to hurt

Squat - 1RM: 225kg
    20kg x 2 x 5
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3

160kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 7 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    180kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 80% of 1RM
    202.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 10 RPE - 90% of 1RM PR
    180kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 80% of 1RM

CGBP - 1RM: 118kg
    20kg x 2 x8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5

80kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 68% of 1RM
    100kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM PR
    87.5kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 75% of 1RM

Standing Ab Pulldown
    3 x 15

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

podge57 wrote: »
    202.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 10 RPE - 90% of 1RM PR

Fcuk. Very impressive. 500lbs squat gonna fly up soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

yea fair play paul! that puts your 1rm near 220!

Kev M wrote: »
    Fcuk. Very impressive. 500lbs squat gonna fly up soon!
    yea fair play paul! that puts your 1rm near 220!

cheers lads, if everyhting goes to plan, 220 should be my final attempt at the nationals, so hopefully 500lbs isn't too far away either :)

sure itl be grand! by the way paul, any progress on the shirted benching?

I've only ever used it once, the only reason I bought it because I got it cheap on ebay.

No plans to use it in the near future, lots of raw goals I want to hit first :D

- Never thought I'd say it, but I love benching and hate deadlifting atm. Hit another bench PR today, and 125kg is looking like a real possibility at the nationals. Deadlifts on the other hand were rubbish - no leg drive, and my hand was in bits again. Im putting it partly down to a bad day, but its also due to the fact that I haven't had a decent DL session in about a month

Bench - 1RM: 132kg
    20kg x 2 x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 4 reps x 1 sets @ 6.5 RPE - 61% of 1RM
    100kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 76% of 1RM
    112.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM PR
    100kg x 4 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 76% of 1RM

Deadlift - 1RM: -
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    180kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 83% of 1RM
    220kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 93% of 1RM
    245kg x 0 reps x 2 sets @ 10 RPE - 0% of 1RM

Towel Press - 1RM: 132kg
    60kg x 8
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5 reps x 2 sets @ 8 RPE - 74% of 1RM
    100kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 74% of 1RM

Suspended GM - 1RM: 165kg
    100kg x 7 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 61% of 1RM
    120kg x 4 reps x 2 sets @ 8 RPE - 73% of 1RM
    140kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM

- Squats felt much better today. The main things I did differently were not pointing my toes out as much, and not letting my knees track laterally. The 4 singles were pretty smooth. Probably gonna open with 200 at the nationals

20kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 2
    180kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 81% of 1RM
    200kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 90% of 1RM
    200kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 9.5 RPE - 90% of 1RM
    200kg x 1 reps x 2 sets @ 9 RPE - 90% of 1RM

3ct Pause Squat - 1RM: 168kg
    100kg x 6 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 59% of 1RM
    120kg x 4 reps x 2 sets @ 8 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    140kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 83% of 1RM

Incline Bench - 1RM: 111kg
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 72% of 1RM
    90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 81% of 1RM
    95kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

podge57 wrote: »
    Hit another bench PR today, and 125kg is looking like a real possibility at the nationals.

Bench - 1RM: 132kg
    112.5kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 85% of 1RM PR

Good work on the bench - it really seems to be coming on now. 125kg would be sweet.

What is a towel press? Bench with towel around the bar?

i think its similar to a board press, you have the towel folded up under your t-shirt or something, not too sure tho

BossArky wrote: »
    Good work on the bench - it really seems to be coming on now. 125kg would be sweet.

What is a towel press? Bench with towel around the bar?

thanks, its about time I put up a decent bench, and it seems to be going fairly well atm

Cardio hit the nail on the head with the towel press, I had planned to use a board, but couldnt find mine, so I just rolled up a towel instead

- Didn't go crazy with anything today - going for 210x2 on Saturday, so trying to conserve myself a bit. Squats felt pretty good though
    - CG was good too, was probably good for 4-5 reps on the first 2 sets

420kg x 6
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 72% of 1RM
    185kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 83% of 1RM
    200kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 90% of 1RM

CGBP - 1RM: 113kg
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 70% of 1RM
    90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 79% of 1RM
    100kg x 2 reps x 2 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 88% of 1RM
    100kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 88% of 1RM

T Bar Row - 1RM: 95kg
    40kg x 8
    55kg x 8 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 56% of 1RM
    60kg x 8 reps x 2 sets @ 8 RPE - 66% of 1RM

Face Pulls
    2 x 15

185 and 200 sets

Windows Movie Maker was being a massive pain in the ass, hence the watermark

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

How are you getting your estimated maxes on your lifts? It's probably mega easy to workout but I'm too lazy.

Hanley wrote: »
    How are you getting your estimated maxes on your lifts? It's probably mega easy to workout but I'm too lazy.

I'm not too sure tbh

I just plug in the weight, reps and RPE here (http://www.reactivetrainingsystems.com/applications/workoutlog) and it gives out the information. Its calculated based on your heaviest set of the day. I dont pay much attention to them, but as long as they are going up, its good I suppose

edit: just realised I had 233 down as my est. squat max, that was a typo!

- Happy with everything today. First time in weeks I could DL properly - my hand seems to be holding up ok atm. Benching was good too, I paused the first rep of each set, and I ended up getting a double with current 1 rep PR.
    - Today was my last heavy DL session, next week I will just do some speed pulls to keep fresh, and double my bench opener (112)

Deadlift - 1RM: 250kg
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    180kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 72% of 1RM
    220kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 88% of 1RM
    232.5kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 9.5 RPE - 93% of 1RM PR

Bench - 1RM: 127kg
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 70% of 1RM
    100kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 78% of 1RM
    115kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 90% of 1RM PR

3ct Pause Squat - 1RM: 153kg
    60kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    100kg x 6 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 66% of 1RM
    100kg x 6 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 66% of 1RM
    120kg x 4 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 79% of 1RM

BB Curl
    3 x 10 (35kg)

Haha, some guy keeps sending me crazy messages on youtube

On a video of me doing Good Mornings

"thats not squatting thats just bending over. Arch your back and keep your head and chest up before you end up in hospital."

and then (about benching)

"Dont arch your back! Keep it flat dude. Between your squatting and your benching you will end up like the hunchback. Take good advive from someone who is twice your age"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Nice deadlifts!

Had another football match tonight, which makes it 4 in 10 days. We drew tonight, but still unbeaten this season.

After the nationals, Im going to take it easy for 4-5 weeks, focus on football and get my fitness up a bit. Still going to lift, just sort of an extended deload as I've been training hard for 7-8 months running, and I dont plan to compete again until the worlds in novemeber (i think)

- Last heavy squat day today, and it was pretty good. 210x2 is a big PR - it was a bit of an ugly set, I wasnt tight enough on the first rep, and it was really slow, but the 2nd rep was a bit better.

Squat - 1RM: 226kg
    20kg x 2 x 5
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 2 x3
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 3 reps x 1 sets @ 7.5 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    190kg x 1 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 84% of 1RM
    210kg x 2 reps x 1 sets @ 9.5 RPE - 93% of 1RM PR

Incline Bench - 1RM: 116kg
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 68% of 1RM
    90kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 9 RPE - 77% of 1RM

Floor Press - 1RM: 126kg
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 8
    90kg x 5 reps x 1 sets @ 8 RPE - 71% of 1RM
    100kg x 4 reps x 1 sets @ 8.5 RPE - 79% of 1RM

Lat Pulldowns
    2 x 20

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Jeez the first rep was an absolute shocker!!! The second looked really strong dude. Nice going.

Hanley wrote: »
    Jeez the first rep was an absolute shocker!!! The second looked really strong dude. Nice going.

yeah, the first rep was fairly horrific. I thought about racking it then, but I knew I had just made a complete balls of it, and it wasn't a strength issue, so I went for the second.

My technique is really inconsistant when squatting, but hopefully it'll go alright in 2 weeks

Wow, this just gets better and better. I know my squats arent pretty, but bear in mind this guy is still talking about a video of me doing GMs

Maybe I should go to Educogym and get them to check my form

Google 'how to squat' then press 'find on this page' and enter 'head up, chest up, back straight. You dont bounce up and down like a ****in duck. I am a qualified personal trainer. Use the net to learn, not to try and prove your better than someone. I wouldnt allow anyone to squat like that in MY GYM. Now if you dont shut up I will get all my girls to slag the **** out of you on your SQ,MG page. I have that one on my facebook wall under the title 'how not to squat' 2 comments so far are from girls. 1st says "what is that twat doing?" 2nd one "my thoughts exactly Martina thats bound to hurt but not his legs" 1st comment is from a client of mine and the second is from Eileen a personal trainer from Educogym. Now she knows how to squat. shes been doing it since you were in your nappies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

link please! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Parsley wrote: »
    link please! :pac:

+1 i'm setting up a second youtube account as we speak...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Thirded, I love a bit of youtube trolling.