Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squats, Squats, Squats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

- DL's were good - for the 4th successive wave, I got 7 reps. I can never seem to break 7, but I cant complain when the weight is going up and the reps stay the same. I think this probably is a tied PR with 190x6.
    - The assistance work was great, the high reps really worked my lower back and hams alot

Deads
    60kg x 8
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    162.5kg x 5
    185kg x 7 Joint PR

Hyper w/Plate Behind Head
    BW x 20
    +10kg x 12
    +10kg x 12
    +10kg x 12

GM
    80kg x 10
    80kg x 10
    80kg x 10

- Very pleased with my benching today - a big PR and the first time ive ever got over 10 reps on any of the main 5/3/1 sets. Back in wave 2 I got the same weight for 8 reps. The bar was shooting up really easily, I think the 1-arm presses and dips are really helping my bench.
    - Got a good BW dip PR too, also bringing back BB rows, they complement deads better than pulldowns do. Today I was just making sure my form was ok

Bench
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 5
    62.5kg x 5
    72.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 11 PR
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8

BB Row
    70kg x 12
    80kg x 9
    80kg x 9
    85kg x 7

Dips
    BW x 26 PR
    BW x 16
    BW x 14

Face Pulls
    25kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 10

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

podge57 wrote: »
    -also bringing back BB rows, they complement deads better than pulldowns do.

But what about your V-taper!

Also nice work, PRs all over the place now it seems.

- Great session - i decided today was the day to try and reach my goal of squatting 4 plates/400lbs before i turn 20. I was really motivated and focused today, and knew i would get it. Felt strong on the 145 set - was good for 8+ reps which would have been a pr. 160 and 170 were easy, and then i ground out 182.5 for a 10kg pr, and a 22.5kg gym pr
    - I was so focused to squat, i forgot to plan my assistance, so having spent over an hour in the squat rack, i didnt want to do anything too intense

Squat
    20kg x 8
    60kg x 6
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    112.5kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    145kg x 4
    160kg x 1
    170kg x 1
    182.5kg x 1 PR

Standing AB Pulldown
    20kg x 20
    25kg x 15
    25kg x 15
    30kg x 12

Leg Extension
    70kg x 12
    75kg x 12
    75kg x 12

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Good man!!! 182.5kg was my final squat before I turned 20 as well!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Savage squatting lad!!!!! what BW are you now?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Great work Podge. You're feckin flyin it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

serious number, awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Impressive! Hope I can squat that by my 20th bday... Four and a bit months!

Hanley wrote: »
    Good man!!! 182.5kg was my final squat before I turned 20 as well!!!

Thanks - I set that goal for myself around my 19th birthday - i was squatting 140x2 then, so im happy with the progress since then. If i can get anywhere near your level of progress in the next few years, ill be a happy man :D
    Savage squatting lad!!!!! what BW are you now?
    kevpants wrote: »
    Great work Podge. You're feckin flyin it!
    serious number, awesome!

Thanks fellas, im 99kg now - im having to eat bucket-loads to keep gaining due to all the football im playing atm

Parsley wrote: »
    Impressive! Hope I can squat that by my 20th bday... Four and a bit months!

Thanks - good luck with the goal - its a pretty big milestone (for me anyway), and would be seriously impressive at your BW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Thats some serious going lad...fair play too ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Thats some serious going lad...fair play too ya!

Awesome squatting dude.

thanks lads. :D

had a pretty good military/upper session tonight, will type it up in the morning because im really tired....

Notes
    - Yesterday was good - pr on dips, and military presses were ok too. I dont think its a coincidence that as I can add more weight to dips, my bench increases. Also reset the MP weight because 1- I didnt do them last week, 2- I am useless at them

Military
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 3
    52.5kg x 3
    57.5kg x 6

Dips
    +14kg x 12
    +18kg x 10
    +24kg x 8 PR
    +26kg x 7 PR

One Arm DB Press
    16kg x 12
    20kg x 10
    22kg x 7

Tri Pushdown
    35kg x 15
    35kg x 15
    35kg x 15

DB Row
    38kg x 15
    42kg x 12
    46kg x 9

- Today was one of those "pick your battles" days. Ive been really busy this week, and havent got enough rest, so i didnt go all out. Deads were still fairly tough, but I had another rep or 2 in me. Will be benching 2moro too, so wanted to save myself for that too.

Deads
    60kg x 8
    100kg x 5
    152.5kg x 3
    172.5kg x 3
    195kg x 4

Hyper
    +10kg x 12
    +10kg x 12
    +10kg x 12

SLDL
    80kg x 12
    100kg x 10
    100kg x 10

- Today was alright - in the context of 82.5x11 last week, it was fairly poor, but before that my pr was 90x6, so it was ok. I was feeling pretty crappy and tired today, I have an eye infection and some mosquito bites - so i didnt do much assistance again today. Im glad this week is over, its been pretty tough.
    - Im going to stretch next week out into my deload week, so i can recover a bit more.

Bench
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 5
    67.5kg x 3
    77.5kg x 3
    87.5kg x 7

BB Rows
    82.5kg x 10
    92.5kg x 8
    92.5kg x 8

Dips
    BW x 24
    BW x 18
    BW x 15

- Today was awful - I was sweating a lot during the squats, and just felt bad. On the 152.5 set, the first rep was so bad that i just racked it. I went to the changing room, and realised I had a rash all over my upper torso, which wasnt there when i started. Not sure what caused it, but my limited medical acumen told me to stop.
    - Gonna deload this week instead of next, because i am very busy this week, whereas next week I dont really have anything to do

Squat
    20kg x 10
    60kg x 6
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    122.5kg x 5
    137.5kg x 3
    152.5kg x 1

- Today was pretty good - havent set foot in the gym since last monday, so didnt know what to expect. No pr, but i wasnt expecting one - Ive been working alot lately (mainly lifting boxes) and lost a few lbs from a stomach virus. Did some extra squat sets to work on form. Also gonna do 3x5 squats on dl days at a light-ish weight, because i feel i need to get the bar on my back more often to stop my form getting sloppy
    - Ab pulldowns were great, really felt them, and i used the ez bar for lunges because my shoulders couldnt take any more of a beating.

Squat
    20kg x 8
    60kg x 6
    100kg x 4
    122.5kg x 5
    137.5kg x 3
    155kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    100kg x 5

EZ Bar Lunges
    30kg x 20
    40kg x 18
    47.5kg x 16

Standing Ab Pulldown
    22.5kg x 20
    25kg x 15
    27.5kg x 12
    27.5kg x 12

DB Shrugs
    38kg's x 15
    42kg's x 12
    46kg's x 10

- Today was good - military presses were useless as always, but everything else was good. Got a good dip PR and the rows felt good too

Military
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    45kg x 5
    52.5kg x 3
    62.5kg x 3
    47.5kg x 8
    47.5kg x 8

Dips
    +14kg x 12
    +18kg x 10
    +22kg x 8
    +28kg x 6 PR

DB Row
    38kg x 12
    50kg x 5
    34kg x 24

One Set Each of:
    Rolling DB extension
    BB Curl
    Dip Machine
    Pullups

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

just compared your numbers from january to now.
    some very good progress there

How'd that single lift comp go for ya?

I'm into powerlifting myself and am following the Wendler programme at the moment

where'd you find out about the comp?

just compared your numbers from january to now.
    some very good progress there

How'd that single lift comp go for ya?

I'm into powerlifting myself and am following the Wendler programme at the moment

where'd you find out about the comp?

Hey, thanks for checking out my journal

the single lifts comp was poor lift-wise, but i learned an awful lot, and then at the nationals 9 weeks later, i set about 25kg's worth of pr's

So far, 5/3/1 has been great for me, no complaints.

Heres the idfpa page, i dont think there will be any more comps in ireland until next year though

http://www.idfpa.plus.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

thanks for the reply.
    my journal is here if you;re interested.

http://www.teamtestforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=2292&start=465

yeah, 5/3/1 is definitely the way forward

thanks for the reply.
    my journal is here if you;re interested.

http://www.teamtestforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=2292&start=465

yeah, 5/3/1 is definitely the way forward

nice journal you have some pretty good numbers there

- Today was decent - got a small pr, but i should have had another rep. First 2 reps, setup was perfect, but on the 3rd, i rushed it and made it tougher than it should have been. I was also lifting boxes for 7 hours today, so im sure that had an effect. Back on Jan 1, I got 205x1 which was a pr at the time
    - Decent assistance stuff too, will try to bench at some stage 2moro.

Deads
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    162.5kg x 5
    185kg x 3
    205kg x 3 PR

DB Side Bend
    30kg x 20
    38kg x 15
    38kg x 12

Seated GM
    45kg x 10
    50kg x 8
    50kg x 8

Hamstring Curl
    55kg x 10
    55kg x 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Are you gonna be a junior next year>>>?

yup, in about 3 minutes i will be a junior :D

happy birthday!!!!! i guess.

ha, thanks - feels a bit odd not being a teenager anymore tho

- Very poor session - i was rushed and benching so soon after dling was not a good idea. Just have to move on tho

Bench
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    72.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 3
    92.5kg x 3

Dips

BB Row
    80kg x 10
    80kg x 10
    90kg x 7

Incline BB
    52.5kg x 6
    52.5kg x 6
    52.5kg x 6

put it down to the birthday mate :P. thats what id do anyway lol, just for training today you get big props :D