Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Liam Byrne1 weeek ban for off topic and unhelpful posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

For me, when you get a girls number you're usually out with a few drinks, as a previous poster said, and at the time, you think (because of the drinks and everyone's having a good time) you're interested and ask for her number and the next day your head's straight you and you realise you're really not that interested. That's just the way it is for me anyway. I'm not a serial ask-for-her-numberer though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

Hello......... This was the next day..... No drink involved then.... when he asked for it:mad:....As one of my friends says he just not that in to you!!!!....
    P.S.... I would never take a guys number

You should get the book "he just not that into you"...

Anyway if you/ he stayed over he probably felt he should take your number even if he had no intention of ringing.. makes it easier on him, giving you the impression he's interested.. rather than the awkward..bye for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP and others, don't tar all men with one brush just because a handful of them didn't ring you. It's really narrow-minded. They were thoughtless people and unfortunately there are a lot of those, irrespective of gender.

Coincidentally, my flatmate is watching Beyoncé's If I Were a Boy video as I type this - that whole song's lyrics are based on "all adult humans with a penis" are pretty much vile - because a few of them are.

It's rude for a person not to phone when they say they will, but he may genuinely have chickened out. Plus, maybe he wasn't as nice as he appeared to be. If this has happened to you a lot, perhaps you need to consider whether you go for the wrong guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i am a 30 year old guy

In the past i have met women, similar ages to me, who seemed very 'into' me, we both wouldnt be drunk, would take their number (genuine numbers, as we would ring each other at time of exchange). I would text them the next day/s and guess what?? i'm the fool cause they never texted me back.

obviously its true what they say, treat them mean, keep them keen! as this original poster has got up in a heap about the guys not texting.

i guess it's boring for a guy to keep his promise and text, eh girls??

i have given up on women since and not bothering with them. have resorted in getting backwith my ex who i can rely on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some women are just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

I dont think it's boring for a guy to keep his promise and text the next day... infact i think it's a bit exciting, nice to know someone is interested in you. As for the ones that dont reply they're obv not interested

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I consider it a muppet/incompatibility/bad manners filter. I will text the next day in such a situation. If I hear nothing back then I know where I stand. Unless there's a good reason of course.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

P.S.... I would never take a guys number
    With that attitude you deserve what you don't get.
    you would never take a guys number! so basically you only believe in equality between the sexes when it suits you.

Have you never noticed? That's the standard mode of thought for most women these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

OK ...OP

firstly your not alone, you are not the first lady to have felt stung by this!

but you cant tar them all with the one brush.

yess there are a$$holes out there.

BUT you just have to scratch it down to experince and move on.

Hes probably hungover/nervous/not that into you...

whatever the reason..let it go, just learn from it and move on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Altar_Ego_Boy

Why do they pursue you, send you lots of romantic texts, even buy you presents and then, PUFFF, like magic, they disappear and you never hear from them again. :(

Was he called Keyser Soze? :D

(gentle humour...no need for a ban)

Simple Question........

Why does a man take a womans numbers and then never bothers to text or ring?????
    Why don't they just not ask for it in the first place????

Why do girls give you their number and then not reply to your call/texts?

Seriously tho, he:
    -might be shy (in the cold light of day with no alcohol)
    - ,in retrospect, not think you were worth it, or
    -may have obtained your number as a personal trophy

Best not to dwell on it chicken

Oooh - A man who can apologise!

You single? :D:D:D

Hey sister...thats an unfair generalisation there. As bad as us men are, the majority of ego-induced obstacles to good relationships are made by women.

When it comes to intiating personal interactions, its men who most have to put their egos on the line.

Its just not fair i tell you :mad:

Wagon wrote: »
    Let me put a few things into perspective for you here.

Men are human beings. We get nervous too. We can also be afraid of getting shot down and it happens to us a lot. And it's not always a simple "sorry, im not interested" it can be a "go **** yourself you ugly prick" or "you must be joking". Keep that in mind perhaps. Think back, you may have even done that yourself.

The truth of the matter is that you are attracting arseholes and gits up for one nighters because you act like that way yourself. Your comment above made me laugh quite a bit, not because of you being scared of rejection, but because you expect the bloke not to be. It says a lot of on how you see men and unless you cop on here and realise that lads are humans too, you'll keep getting the same scenario again and again. So look past the ones who are dancing down your cacks and have a look along the wall for the quieter type. They aren't losers. They're nervous and nicer blokes who aren't just up for getting their hole.

So don't paint us all with the same brush. It pisses halfway decent lads off. Rather than coming on to the internet and complaining about the entire ither gender, why not look at what's causing it?

PS
    kingofthecastle: it was just a bit of craic. Having said that, I've never had a good time in there.

You said it dude. Wagon for prez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 mezain

If you think men are bad, i'll tell you a good one about a woman who gave me her number not so long ago. All going well, said she liked me, texting away for a few days, then all a sudden she stopped, i sent her a couple of texts asking if there was something wrong, was she still interested, etc. And i ring her once but she doesn't answer. I leave it for a week and send her a text. Next thing i get her friend ringing me telling me to leave her alone and stop harassing her, that she's getting upset becos of it, as is her BOYFRIEND, and is thinking of calling the guards! :rolleyes: Talk about a psychopathic bitch! If guys are bad for not texting back, girls are every bit as bad and even worse

Simple Question........

Why does a man take a womans numbers and then never bothers to text or ring?????
    I'm a 35 year old single man.

Firstly, i'd only ask a woman for her number if i really genuinely liked her, and secondly i would ring or text her, at least during the following week.

Yes, there are men who never bother to text or ring...but we're not all like that by any stretch of the imagination, i'm one of the guys who would bother to respond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭andyournameis

Thanks to everyone for the advice I feel alot better now:D:D...... THE MORAL OF THIS STORY IS ...... If I'm interested in someone I will have to take the next step and take their number... Also I will have to send the first text !!!!:D;):D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Thanks to everyone for the advice I feel alot better now:D:D...... THE MORAL OF THIS STORY IS ...... If I'm interested in someone I will have to take the next step and take their number... Also I will have to send the first text !!!!:D;):D;)

And look along the walls ;) Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

Men like the chase...once they get what they want they loose interest and move on to the next girl...
    Not something I personally agree with..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

SOME Men like the chase...once they get what they want they loose interest and move on to the next girl...

FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

It easier to rebuke by not texting, than rebuking by not asking face to face.

And sometimes girls can be forceful, so watch that. One girl just went ahead and took my phone out of my pocket and gave me her number. So make sure they actually are asking for it and not simply being told to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭deathstarkiller

Men like the chase...once they get what they want they loose interest and move on to the next girl...

I don't believe all men like the chase. I find the chase to be nothing but a frustrating pain in the ass. I'm one of those 'along the walls' types. I was out with a gang of friends on New Years Eve. It was mostly women in the group, 3 of them are single and the only guys there other than myself were boyfriends of the other women. All night the women were constantly being chatted up. They were loving the attention but it just made me feel down cause I know I could never do that. The thoughts of walking up to someone I don't know and trying it on with them is just so alien to me. I always try to make friends first, although I find that doesn't really work and I just end up with a lot of female friends and of them I'd only count two of them as being real friends...and yes I fancy the hell out of one of them. I'm bloody used to it at this stage. :) What was I trying to say??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

Simple Question........

Why do some women give their numbers & when you call they are not interested.
    It's called human nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

I dont like the chase meself....it just seems like an awful lot of hassle! and I could'nt chase my tail if I had one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

It really does depend on whether he ASKS for the number or if the chick just puts it in his phone. I mean I met a guy on a night out a few weeks ago who put his number in my phone without me asking for it, I haven't text him because I'm not interested, if I was interested I'd have asked for his number or given him mine.

Dudess wrote: »
    OP and others, don't tar all men with one brush just because a handful of them didn't ring you. It's really narrow-minded.
    I agree.

As a 35 year old man, it is true to say that some men won't bother to ring or text a girl, but in my view it's the minority of men who would do that...i'll only really ask for a girls number if i genuinely liked her and my male friends would be of the same opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Simple Question........

Simple Answer........

Maybe they've lost their phone....