Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Radio 1

• 15-01-2009 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭

tune in, its all going off with Joe Duffy and the anti MMA brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Right he is calling them 'cage boxers' thats the 1st thing I have heard :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

gas stuff, you'd swear the fighters were forced into mma at gun point...

Still not referenced it as mma calling it 'cage fighting' and Mick Dowling and Barry McGuigan don't like it (maybe thats because it's not boring and corrupt) ......

This is great stuff

Now it reminds a Woman caller of 2 dogs in a ring 'fighting to the Death' and she says that there is always doctors at boxing and thats why boxing is safer.
    This is such anti-mma BullSh!t.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Im waiting to go on, hopefully they let me!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Boxing guys are just worried about their ratings.

If boxing builds on 2008 which was one of the best years in while they'll be OK.

cowzerp wrote: »

Please do, I hope you get on and set these fools straight.

Now Wayne McCullagh has taken a 'punch too many' cos he supports MMA

• Registered Users Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

richie is now on from andy's club.

are you Richie?

No, he done a good job, im still waiting..
    i've a few points to add!

at least some sort of balance came in towards the end...

Ah well, no joy for me, i did not get on.

going to mention a few points i was going to make.

weight of gloves, 10 oz in boxing and 4oz in mma but actually a lot of the weight in a boxing glove is in the wrist and the actual weight difference between the knuckle part of the glove is very little.

Boxing is the most dangerous part of MMA due to head shots so its not the best comparison to use for slagging off MMA, Boxing is far more dangerous than mma, im suprised no 1 mentioned this.

The UFC is licensed by the Nevada Boxing state commision.

Also there was not enough emphasis on the refs controlling the fights and looking after fighter safety, ritchie covered it but it could have been pushed more.

I was also going to stress how much training is put into escaping the mount that joe kept going back to and how if you did not escape quick the fight will be over before any serious injury occurs..

overall it was not that bad, Mccullogh is a bit shiit at been questioned, mcguigan came across very well and im glad he never knocked mma..

anyway-roll on Saturday..

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

missed this, what sort of thing was being said?? How did Richie sound and did you get on it Paul?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Cant wait for the podcast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Judomad wrote: »
    missed this, what sort of thing was being said?? How did Richie sound and did you get on it Paul?

Usual shower of aul ones that caught a minute on telly one night and decided that it was *select from following* vile, like dog fighting, vicious, like a street fight, vicious...etc etc.

some really uninformed opinions and they wouldnt listen to reason, basically they formed an opinion based on limited knowledge and that's it and anybody involved is mad for not agreeing with them.

The first guy was lying through his teeth to get his view across, he said that 10 people have died in the ufc, wayne challenged him and said give us the link now and we call all look it up...the guy said it was on the UFC website!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

The UFC is licensed by the Nevada Boxing state commision.

think its the, Nevada State Athletic Commission

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Joe kept quite whenever the anti group were knifing the ****e out of (mma) human cockfighting, and then he kept trying to force the girl who was trying to justify it into a corner, wayne mccullagh done a good job on the bbc show b4 xmas but was painful to listen to 2day, Glad to hear how barry didnt through dirt at it (with his careers at cooking, rally car racing, singing and tv its only seems his obvious next career), pity some1 didnt mention Mohammed Ali when they were talking about wat these fighters will b like in 10-20 years.Now I have that off my chest im away back to work roll on sat!!!!!

Dana's youtube for today should be him listening to it :D

dave80 wrote: »
    think its the, Nevada State Athletic Commission

Your missing the point, they said what commision would allow ufc etc...
    the same 1 that commisions boxing.

Your missing the point, they said what commision would allow ufc etc...
    the same 1 that commisions boxing.

Nevada State Athletic Commission commisions boxing

Zuffa embraces regulation and WANTS regulation for their UK fights.

rovert wrote: »
    Nevada State Athletic Commission commisions boxing

Zuffa embraces regulation and WANTS regulation for their UK fights.

I dont see where the argument lies! there should be none but you seem to be trying!

Im just saying there is no such thing as the Nevada Boxing State commision. It is the Nevada State Athletic Commission
    Nevada State Athletic Commission (NSAC), regulates all contests and exhibitions of unarmed combat within the state of Nevada, including licensure and supervision of promoters, boxers, professional wrestlers, kickboxers, mixed martial arts fighters, seconds, ring officials, managers, and matchmakers. The commission is the final authority on licensing matters, having the ability to approve, deny, revoke, or suspend all licenses for unarmed combat. Because of Nevada's role as a center for combat sports, the NSAC is regarded as the preeminent state athletic commission in the United States

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

I am puzzled as to how anybody could thing that boxing is safer than MMA. If a boxer gets knocked to the canvas, he is given a count to get back up and continue fighting, MMA example 1, the Liddel vs. Evans fight, when Chuck was knocked down, he was not going to be given a chance to get back up, second MMA point, if fighter A is knocked to the canvas, and fighter B goes down to finish him, the fight lasts as long as fighter A can defend himself, after that the ref stops it, no questions asked.

The point that was brought up on the 10 people having been killed reminds me of an article that was in the Sunday World many years ago that quoted a similar figure and mentioned that an Irish guy had been killed in some eastern european no holds barred, bare knuckle event, nothing to do with MMA or the UFC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

rovert wrote: »
    Im just saying there is no such thing as the Nevada Boxing State commision. It is the Nevada State Athletic Commission

thats all i was saying too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2009/pc/pod-v-150109-46m22s-liveline.mp3

hilarious altogether :D

The medical evidence on boxing is well known. Both the British Medical Association and the World Medical Association have called for a ban on boxing. The latter stating “boxing is a dangerous sport. Unlike most other sports, its basic intent is to produce bodily harm in the opponent. Boxing can result in death and produces an alarming incidence of chronic brain injury. For this reason, the World Medical Association recommends that boxing be banned.” In 1991, eleven national medical associations (including Ireland) confirmed their opposition to boxing and a wish to see the sport banned.

Notwithstanding the merits and drawbacks of the arguments as to whether MMA could be safer than boxing in chapter 3, the following is the medical evidence on MMA. In the first ever report of the incidence of injury in MMA competitions, which was carried out by the John Hopkins University, it was concluded that “the overall injury rate in MMA competitions is now similar to other combat sports, including boxing. Knockout rates are lower in MMA competitions than in boxing. This suggests a reduced risk of traumatic brain injury in MMA competitions when compared to other events involving striking.” The reason for this is that as already explained, securing a submission is the second most common means of finishing an MMA bout. “This unique characteristic, combined with more options of attack when competing, is thought to help explain a knockout proportion in MMA competitions that is almost half of the reported 11.3% of professional boxing matches in Nevada.” In the same vein, “with MMA competitions, the opportunity to attack the extremities with arm bars and leg locks and the possibility of extended periods of grappling could serve to lessen the risk of traumatic brain injury.” The report also finds that the rate of TKO’s are similar between boxing and MMA.

Contrastingly, the British Journal of Sports Medicine found that in MMA “the proportion of matches stopped because of blunt head trauma exceeded that documented in other studies of combat sports, including boxing and kickboxing.” Perhaps the reason for such a discrepancy would seem to come from the fact that this report was based on MMA bouts between 1993 and 2003 on events that took place in the U.S. and Japan, whereas the latter article concerned only events that took in place in Nevada after 2001, by which stage the UFC had re-invented itself with a keen emphasis on safety. The study also found that head impact was a salient medical issue.

The same journal also found that there is a risk of cervical injury from four common manoeuvres in MMA. The techniques in question are forms of takedowns i.e. a move designed to put an opponent on the floor and come from both judo and jiu-jitsu. It was found that two manoeuvres (hip-toss and souplesse) “revealed strong correlations with rear end motor vehicle impact injuries” while the other two (suplex and guillotine choke drop) suggested a strong risk of injury. It concluded that “there is a significant risk of whiplash injuries in this sport, and there are no safety regulations to address these concerns.”

Finally, and most importantly it would seem, the British Medical Association has called for a ban on MMA on two occasions. In March 2000, the BMA opposed MMA as it was then with few rules citing that a lack of regulation was exposing participants to serious injury. The BMA’s science and ethics advisor Dr. Bill O’ Neill stated “there is clearly an intention to inflict injury on one’s opponent in total fighting and that includes serious and significant brain damage.” The BMA have also called for a ban on MMA as it exists today with more stringent rules and safety regulations. In September 2007, the BMA issued another call to ban “no-holds fighting” as they put it. Dr. Vivienne Nathanson, BMA science and ethics advisor made the BMA’s views on MMA perfectly clear. “This kind of competition hardly constitutes a sport. The days of gladiator fights are over and we should not be looking to resurrect them.” She continued “ultimate fighting can be extremely brutal. As doctors we cannot stand by while violent fighting tournaments are allowed to take place.”

The BMA also concentrated on MMA in its latest publication on boxing. The report begins “The BMA has renewed its call for action against boxing because of the growing commercialisation of no-holds barred fighting events (euphemistically called mixed martial arts), which have the sole aim to cause physical harm and injury to an opponent until they are unable to continue: the primary goal being to knock the opponent unconscious.” As we have seen, the primary goal is not to knock the opponent unconscious. The BMA explains in no uncertain terms the dangers which are present in MMA.

“Because of its no-holds barred nature, the UFC fighters are open to a myriad of injuries, including subdural haematoma, thought to be the most common cause of fatalities in boxing. In addition to fractures, tears, sprains of the ligaments and muscles, primarily knees, shoulders and ankles, there is also the risk of subclinical electroencephalographic perturbations due to the use of neck-holding manoeuvres. Injuries sustained in full-contact fighting arts, in particular martial grappling arts and professional MMA competitions have not been well catalogued in peer-reviewed medical and scientific research methods. There is however, some evidence of increased risk of brain and joint injuries; with brain injuries more common in striking sports while joint injuries are more common in grappling sports.”

The report then goes on to mention the death of Douglas Degde in 1998, at the time the only reported death in MMA. The BMA explains that the fact there has been only one death should be put into context as MMA is still in its infancy. However, what the report did not mention is that the death of Douglas Degde took place in an unregulated, unsanctioned bare-knuckle contest in the Ukraine with the victim reportedly having a medical condition and being unable to fight in the U.S.A. on that ground. It was “little more than an organised bar fight” said a spokesperson for the UFC.

Since the publication of the BMA report however, the first death in licensed, regulated MMA has occurred, that of Sam Vasquez on 30th November 2007 in Houston, U.S.A. Vasquez who was licensed to compete by the Texas Boxing and Wrestling Program received numerous blows to the head from Vince Libardi in what was his third professional MMA bout in the Renegades Extreme Fighting organisation. After the fight, Vasquez suffered a stroke and blood clots in his brain and underwent surgery to remove these. He died 6 weeks after the contest. Executive director of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Bill Kuntz said afterwards that the event was conducted in compliance with all procedures. It should be noted then that Gardiner was incorrect when he said in 2006 that “serious injuries are not uncommon and some deaths have occurred, as they have in boxing.”

sources:
    British Medical Association “The Boxing Debate” (1993) London : British Medical Association
    www.wma.net/e/policy/b6.htm
    Bledsoe et al, “Incidence of Injury in Professional Mixed Martial Arts Competitions” John Hopkins University School of Medicine, Journal of Sports Science and Medicine (2006) 136-142 p. 141
    Buse, G.J. “No holds barred sport fighting: a 10 year review of mixed martial arts competition” British Journal of Sports Medicine (2006) 40, 169-172 p.171
    Kochhar et al, “Risk of cervical injuries in mixed martial arts” British Journal of Sports Medicine (2005) 39, 444-447 p.444
    Boxing – an update from the Board of Science” www.bma.co.org

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭ch252

Joe: Explain what the ultimate fighting cage fighting championship is...

Caller:
    -doesn't seem to be any real rules
    -it has been banned in America

Here is the podcast, http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2009/pc/pod-v-150109-46m22s-liveline.mp3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

He should just be taken off air.

* on a different note which one of ye miserable begrudgin b*stards was listening in to his show to hear this in the first place :pac:

I got a test message to say it was on, honest :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭Goose81

Did anyone else think wayne mccullough didnt do the best job defending it?
    I know Joe Duffy is a prat and barely let him speak,letting those gob****es spouting crap talk intead.

If I was Wayne I would have filled joe in on the rules straight off.He didnt and basically left it up to a bunch of clowns to try to shout over each other what they thought the rules were.

This resulted in listeners to the show thinking ufc is about a no holes barred fight in a cage.

Also,I would have loved to have asked jimmy mcgee or whoever the boxing commentator was who was bashing UFC, did he see the Cotto v Maliginaggi fight,because that was as brutal a fight as I have ever seen in any fighting sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

Goose81 wrote: »
    This resulted in listeners to the show thinking ufc is about a no holes holds barred fight in a cage.

Fixed that for ya (I hope). :D

Well, if Wayne's job is PR then he fluffed his lines badly. Of course, Duffy's unwillingness to control the rabble left him having to shout over them to get a word in. That show is bloody infuriating, apparently any lunatic can go on and make the most ridiculous claims without anything to back them up.

Agnes from Donabate: "Joe, sure they do eat the bodies of the poor young fellas what does be killed in the cage, so they do."

Joe: "Sure, sure. That's awwwwful Agnes. And would ya think they would cook them Agnes, or eat the unfortunate chaps raw?"*

*Conversation may be fictional.