Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ban UFC/MMA from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Well I suppose that without the access to the English leagues these failures have to do something to make a few bob I guess.

What will it be next I wonder,cordon off an area in the Glen of Imaal and give two of them rifles.

These goons will do anything for a bit of exposure and hard man image I suppose.

i wish i read further on i didnt realise you were a troll too sorry my bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

PeakOutput wrote: »
    i wish i read further on i didnt realise you were a troll too sorry my bad

lol yeah fell like a fool for rising to his bait XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

I would also take a good hard look at the geezers who run it.

I didnt read the whole thread so I have no idea if anyone has pulled you up on this.

But eh.. why?

Chris89 wrote: »
    I didnt read the whole thread so I have no idea if anyone has pulled you up on this.

But eh.. why?

probably saw the announcer for cage rage, he looks the epitome of a shady cockney gangsta

It would seem you have been called out, my mistake.

you narrow minded idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

But eh.. why?

As they are brillant business men they bought UFC for $7 million and it is now worth a billion. I guess?

Sm0ke wrote: »
    probably saw the announcer for cage rage, he looks the epitome of a shady cockney gangsta

I hear that, I am glad cage rage is gone, those two slaphead idiot presenters were literally playing the whole hardman gangster image. and that announcer belongs at a car boot sale flogging AA batteries.

Apparently one of the bald saps has his own show now.
    Hope he is involved in some form of mishap.

brute force

thats why you are a troll because you have an uninformed opinion that you know is inflammatory to people who enjoy and understand the sport

what other sports do you find barbaric out of curiosity?

some points from one single proponent of the sport

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtKx41UdCj0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSGg7hlQHDI&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgO7iob2KHM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_BlX8PmTe0&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I read in a New York paper that there were a number of investigations "ongoing" about various apsects concerning the sport.

How national or local I don't know but there seemed to be some controversy lurking in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I wanna stop reading this troll feeding but i cant :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It would seem you have been called out, my mistake.

you narrow minded idiot.
    Banned for abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

So if the don't like the concept ,they are retarded.

Is that your point. Are they not entitled to an opinion like anyone else??
    Ever hear the kind of crap people phone into Joe with?

Especially that woman complaining that the SIlly Sally clown arrived late to her kids party. SHOCK HORROR MAN THE BARRICADES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

People fought on the streets before UFC.Just because scumbags who fight happen to watch these "bloodsports" people are quick to blame these sports.

I would rather people would join a club,boxing or MMA and displaying their skills in a controlled enviorment rather than outside a chipper on a saturday night.
    Chuck Lidell is a qualified accountant
    Forrest griffen was a police officer as was Andre Arlovski
    Bj Penn comes from a very wealthy family and has no need to compete.
    Chris Lytle was/is a firefighter
    Thats those I know, There's plenty more out there

If you think that there are no scumbags involved in any of these sports, then you are just deluding yourself.

A few months ago my cousin's sons bet the crap out of some guy.
    One of them was a champion boxer in his age group a couple of years ago and still boxes. The other won a scholarship to a college in America for his athletic skills.
    Had the guy they kicked the crap out of not been a coke dealer, I would have given both of them a swift kick in the nuts (and then ran a mile before they kicked the crap out of me).

As for MMA/UFC, I'm not really a fan.
    I prefer pro wrestling.
    Yeah, the winner is predetermined and there is some choreography involved, but some of the stunts they pull off are amazing.

Should MMA be banned?
    Absolutely not.
    If they want to kick the crap out of each other in a ring then let them.

Will it cause kids to try the same?
    Probably, but no more so than news reports of soldiers shooting each other (I'm talking about so called friendly fire here. You know, when the yanks blow the crap out of the brits because they (the yanks) are incompetent buffons), COD, WOW, UT, Mario jumping on turtles, Marylin Manson looking like death warmed up, Tom & Jerry cartoons, Peter Griffin and a big chicken having a fight, local GAA teams and their supporters having a mill up on the pitch, Y2K, Y2J, Sky news, the internet, news papers reports of wars, CT forum regulars and their scare tactics, Dubya nad his scare tactics, Brown and his scare tactics, Michael Moore and his scare tactics, Aliens sticking probes up people's arses, Metallica, KISS, sex, drugs and rock & roll and so forth.

I wanna stop reading this troll feeding but i cant :(

Why do you call people who disagree with your opinion a troll??

This is not , I say again not UFC/MMA forum.

This is a general forum.

I just cannot get a handle on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steve.Pseudonym

I read in a New York paper that there were a number of investigations "ongoing" about various apsects concerning FlutterinBantam.

How national or local I don't know but there seemed to be some controversy lurking in the background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I read in a New York paper that there were a number of investigations "ongoing" about various apsects concerning the sport.

That is the most vague arguement I have seen put forward on here in a long time. No real information, but just the right amount of ungrounded accusation to raise suspicion and cast doubt on the subject to those who aren't informed on the subject. Well done.

I can't help but notice that you haven't directly responded to any of the questions put to you in this thread, you're just spouting cliches and inflammatory viewpoints without backing them up in any way and avoiding discussion.

If you're not trolling, never join a debating team, but you might have a good future if you take up politics

I am glad cage rage is gone, those two slaphead idiot presenters were literally playing the whole hardman gangster image. and that announcer belongs at a car boot sale flogging AA batteries.

Apparently one of the bald saps has his own show now.
    Hope he is involved in some form of mishap.

omfg

that gave me the biggest fit of giggles ever! sigified XD

Ding. Wow, you shut us down.

The reason investigations are "ongoing" is because there is a serious drive to get MMA legalised in New York and obviously the commission would have to research it before it approves this. of course you chose to see "investigations ongoing" and take what you would from it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

A quick question Flutt, have you listened to the podcast of today's show?

If you think that there are no scumbags involved in any of these sports, then you are just deluding yourself.

A few months ago my cousin's sons bet the crap out of some guy.
    One of them was a champion boxer in his age group a couple of years ago and still boxes. The other won a scholarship to a college in America for his athletic skills.
    Had the guy they kicked the crap out of not been a coke dealer, I would have given both of them a swift kick in the nuts (and then ran a mile before they kicked the crap out of me).

And then you have Joey Barton and the likes.

orestes wrote: »
    That is the most vague arguement I have seen put forward on here in a long time. No real information, but just the right amount of ungrounded accusation to raise suspicion and cast doubt on the subject to those who aren't informed on the subject. Well done.

I can't help but notice that you haven't directly responded to any of the questions put to you in this thread, you're just spouting cliches and inflammatory viewpoints without backing them up in any way and avoiding discussion.

If you're not trolling, never join a debating team, but you might have a good future if you take up politics

Contrary viewpoints,in my opinion.

If you find my opinions inflammatory well I can't help that my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Contrary viewpoints,in my opinion.

If you find my opinions inflammatory well I can't help that my friend.

Fair enough, but can you back up those viewpoints by answering the questions that people have posed in this thread about them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steve.Pseudonym

Don't bother, he's obviously taking the piss, he just wants to see how worked up he can get people.

Don't feed the troll.

An File wrote: »
    A quick question Flutt, have you listened to the podcast of today's show?

Duffy ?? not to a podcast but I heard it live??

Right this is going to be a long post.

These "investigations" are related to the ongoing attempt to get MMA sactioned in New York state (primarily due to a large fan base and MSG for an event). Theres no controversy related to this, more reflection on how much it has changed since it was originally banned. The answer= an unbelieveable amount.

When MMA began in the US (im not counting vale tudo in brazil and the pancrase tournaments), the 1st UFC was basically created as a showcase for Gracie Jiu-Jitsu to prove that its not always gonna be the biggest strongest person who wins a fight.

Were the initial events barbaric? Yes.
    This was mainly because instead of having it regulated, the original UFC owners decided to market it as what you seem to be classing it as. No holds barred, anything goes bloodsport. This got them nowhere but banned in all states and kicked off TV. Basically they were goin down the tube.

If I remember right UFC 28 was the first event to use the Unifed Rule of Mixed Martial Arts (Read here) which the UFC and majority of MMA promotions around the world use(japans rules can be a bit different since no athletic comission). By this stage though the original owners were done so it was bought by Dana White and the Fertitta brothers who still own it today.

Youre entitled to your opinion flutterin and you dont have to like the sport but Id recommend you read the history and regulations before jumping to conclusions regarding how "shady" it is, comparing it to meatheads fighting on grafton street with swords (as mentioned previously the majority of these competitors are college educated, former olympians and come from all walks of life). This is a new sport in its current form so its easy targeted but your just coming off like a joe duffy caller troll no matter what you seem to be thinking you sound like.

Hmmm shorter then I thought. Must be tired

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Grand, so you heard the show.
    Did it not strike you just how ignorant the anti-MMA arguments really were? Not one of the callers could come up with an accurate fact to support their opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Naaa...it shouldn't be banned. There are plenty of equally violent/hyped up sports out there that people don't get so worked up about.

I don't watch or follow it myself. The only two times I did watch it, I had drink taken and couldn't stop laughing throughout the whole match.

Why do you call people who disagree with your opinion a troll??

i told you why i call you a troll you chose to ignore it conveniently enough

If you think someone is trolling, then report the post or just STFU.

Someone disagreeing with you does not constitute trolling.

I do not believe FB is trolling.

If you think someone is trolling, then report the post or just STFU.

Someone disagreeing with you does not constitute trolling.

I do not believe FB is trolling.

unfounded uninformed inflammatory posts are the definition of trolling

he isnt making any arguments he is just reeling off a series of uninformed opinions.

fb please back up any of your assertions with fact and prove us all wrong

Right this is going to be a long post.

These "investigations" are related to the ongoing attempt to get MMA sactioned in New York state (primarily due to a large fan base and MSG for an event). Theres no controversy related to this, more reflection on how much it has changed since it was originally banned. The answer= an unbelieveable amount.

When MMA began in the US (im not counting vale tudo in brazil and the pancrase tournaments), the 1st UFC was basically created as a showcase for Gracie Jiu-Jitsu to prove that its not always gonna be the biggest strongest person who wins a fight.

Were the initial events barbaric? Yes.
    This was mainly because instead of having it regulated, the original UFC owners decided to market it as what you seem to be classing it as. No holds barred, anything goes bloodsport. This got them nowhere but banned in all states and kicked off TV. Basically they were goin down the tube.

If I remember right UFC 28 was the first event to use the Unifed Rule of Mixed Martial Arts (Read here) which the UFC and majority of MMA promotions around the world use(japans rules can be a bit different since no athletic comission). By this stage though the original owners were done so it was bought by Dana White and the Fertitta brothers who still own it today.

Youre entitled to your opinion flutterin and you dont have to like the sport but Id recommend you read the history and regulations before jumping to conclusions regarding how "shady" it is, comparing it to meatheads fighting on grafton street with swords (as mentioned previously the majority of these competitors are college educated, former olympians and come from all walks of life). This is a new sport in its current form so its easy targeted but your just coming off like a joe duffy caller troll no matter what you seem to be thinking you sound like.

Hmmm shorter then I thought. Must be tired

Now thats a sensible post well written and reasoned.

I can only believe what I read , as we all can,so i will check out the history etc.
    Forget about the sword thing,what i was trying to get across was that maybe sport like this could influence meatheads watching to get stuck in outside the chipper when they are grogged.

One objection: people who call Duffy whatever your opinion of them are not trolling.They have opinions which you and I certainly don't agree with ,but they are entitled as much as we are to express them.
    Just because they call Duffy the are not retards or trolls,in their own mind they are right.

Now thats a sensible post well written and reasoned.

I can only believe what I read , as we all can,so i will check out the history etc.
    Forget about the sword thing,what i was trying to get across was that maybe sport like this could influence meatheads watching to get stuck in outside the chipper when they are grogged.

One objection: people who call Duffy whatever your opinion of them are not trolling.They have opinions which you and I certainly don't agree with ,but they are entitled as much as we are to express them.
    Just because they call Duffy the are not retards or trolls,in their own mind they are right.
    True. I retract my duffy generalisation. In this case I felt it relevant since from what I heard on the podcast, the majority of those calling seem to have had their entire opinion on MMA caused by that episode of Friends. (Tank Abbott:rolleyes:). To me they gave a troll opinion on the show by giving out about what they dont understand.

Edit: I also see what you mean about meatheads outside the chipper ( and unfortunately I have seen it myself. Guys shouting theyre cage fighters and causing serious injury to both themselves and others attempting to copy what theyve seen) but this will always exist. Wrestling, boxing, movies, games and TV will always influence idiots like this. If not MMA theyll be shouting theyre jackie chan or a power ranger (guilty of that 1 myself :D).

he isnt making any arguments he is just reeling off a series of uninformed opinions.

well said. Also back to the "failures" comment, how is that not trolling? thats not opinion thats simply a put down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

The thoughts of seeing someone try to get a bloke in a triangle outside the chipper is brilliant :pac:

Poccington wrote: »
    The thoughts of seeing someone try to get a bloke in a triangle outside the chipper is brilliant :pac:

LOL
    You'd be stabbed by the time you'd got your feet up in the air! :D

An File wrote: »
    Grand, so you heard the show.
    Did it not strike you just how ignorant the anti-MMA arguments really were? Not one of the callers could come up with an accurate fact to support their opinions.

To be honest I was only half listening.

One thing I do remember . Some geezer had his daughter involved in the sport.

Now I don't know what "facts" you want but as far as I am concerned it is not a suitable sport for girls and she was thinking of going to Japan to get involved professionally.

I don't like it, I think it is brutal and to an extent degrading.

Thats my opinion .

Poccington wrote: »
    Ive only seen very bad kimuras:eek:

To be honest I was only half listening.

One thing I do remember . Some geezer had his daughter involved in the sport.

Now I don't know what "facts" you want but as far as I am concerned it is not a suitable sport for girls and she was thinking of going to Japan to get involved professionally.

I don't like it, I think it is brutal and to an extent degrading.

Thats my opinion .
    Ive always looked at womens MMA the opposite.
    I cant see whats degrading when its theyre choice to put in the time and effort to train & learn as hard as any man and compete.

Women like Gina Carano, Christine Santos & even our own Aisling Daly have talent and its their right to fight.

Id recommend looking up Aisling Dalys interview on the Late Late show some time back. She put up her points about everything very well (actually anyone have a linky? cant find one)

Now I don't know what "facts" you want but as far as I am concerned it is not a suitable sport for girls

some man fluttering

good night

Listen, this is AH.
    Snyper gave a valid reason for posting this thread here.

If this was the MMA or PW forum then this thread would have been locked a long time ago.
    However this is neither of those forums.

In AH you are allowed to say that you think MMA should be banned.

Also, people need to leave Tank Abbot alone. He was 3 count's number 1 fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Chuck Lidell is a qualified accountant
    Forrest griffen was a police officer as was Andre Arlovski
    Bj Penn comes from a very wealthy family and has no need to compete.
    Chris Lytle was/is a firefighter
    Thats those I know, There's plenty more out there

Tank Abbott (this guy, for the uninitiated) has a degree in history

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Flutter would you accept an invite to visit an MMA club and have a chat/meet with the lads and coaches?.

Btw, I don't think your trolling. But I do think your coming at this from a total ignorance of the sport.

While an MMA bout might look violent to the untrained eye, or the ignorant. And as a result that same eye might see a bunch of knuckle heads try knock seven colours of sh*t out of each other.. But what you don't see is that no Martial Arts club, or indeed an MMA club can replicate street violence.

We don't train to hurt or kill each other. At the end of a bout, or training session we're all mates. The 'winner' win's the bout on superior techniques he/she has applied against their opponent, not because he took out a weapon and injuried the guy, or caught them with a sly kick in the bollox or head butt (Terry is from Leixlip, he's well versed in these I'm sure ;) ). And this goes for all styles of Martial Arts, from Boxing through Kickboxing to Judo, Muay Thai to Greco roman wrestling. The difference is MMA, or UFC is all those disciplines combined.

So Flutter, would you consider visiting a club in your area to see this wonderful sport for yourself and then make a judgement on it from a somewhat educated POV?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dave! wrote: »

Thats all in the past!.

Well that's the way it goes then.

people are different and opinions are different.

When is the MMA on Setanta so as I can get a further look at it?

May not change my opinion, but after this discussion ,it deserves another look.

Dave! wrote: »
    He was also 3 count's number 1 fan. Don't forget that.
    Mairt wrote: »
    Flutter would you accept an invite to visit an MMA club and have a chat/meet with the lads and coaches?.

Btw, I don't think your trolling. But I do think your coming at this from a total ignorance of the sport.

While an MMA bout might look violent to the untrained eye, or the ignorant. And as a result that same eye might see a bunch of knuckle heads try knock seven colours of sh*t out of each other.. But what you don't see is that no Martial Arts club, or indeed an MMA club can replicate street violence.

We don't train to hurt or kill each other. At the end of a bout, or training session we're all mates. The 'winner' win's the bout on superior techniques he/she has applied against their opponent, not because he took out a weapon and injuried the guy, or caught them with a sly kick in the bollox or head butt (Terry is from Leixlip, he's well versed in these I'm sure ;) ). And this goes for all styles of Martial Arts, from Boxing through Kickboxing to Judo, Muay Thai to Greco roman wrestling. The difference is MMA, or UFC is all those disciplines combined.

So Flutter, would you consider visiting a club in your area to see this wonderful sport for yourself and then make a judgement on it from a somewhat educated POV?.

All too well.

Well that's the way it goes then.

people are different and opinions are different.

When is the MMA on Setanta so as I can get a further look at it?

May not change my opinion, but after this discussion ,it deserves another look.
    If you have Setanta 1 the dublin event is on sat evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Not a fan of the sport at all but any calls for it to be banned are ridiculous and the comments on the Joe Duffy show are typical of the backward busy body generation that still exists in Ireland.

Disappointing

Mairt wrote: »

Mairt,
    I will certainly make it my business to get more informed about MMA based on your post there.I accept that if you say it is a wonderful sport, then it must have something I am missing, leave me to study it for a week or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

These people are training extremely hard to partake in MMA, it's highly skilled towards basic martial arts.

Who are those idiot's to call for it to be banned? They probably never stepped inside a gym before nevermind have the balls to enter MMA!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Not a fan of the sport at all but any calls for it to be banned are ridiculous and the comments on the Joe Duffy show are typical of the backward busy body generation that still exists in Ireland.

Disappointing

Disappointing from you, those are the kind of comments that wind these threads up.

Too late now,I frikken submit!!!