Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Altezza - why so expensive second hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm sure he meant it 170bhp before chipping and remapping which would put it well over a measley 220bhp.

Maybe you spent too much time on maths and not enough on reading in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭buddyboy

I was only out on the beer with him on saturday night!

There is a lot of generalisation going on in this thread TBH. What about the Audi A4's with the S4 kits on them? The ones with the 1.9TDi badge on one side, and RS4 on the other? I've seen some "really nice looking people" drive them too. But does that mean anyone who has one is a sham? Nope.

Or the 1.4 Golfs with 18" S8 Wheels on them? There's been some questionable characters spotted in them too, but i doubt every single person who has one is a sham either.

Granted, there are people out there who happen to drive an Altezza, and they give the car a bad name. But there are those kind of people who drive every car under the sun.

I think this thread is being a bit unfair to the Tezza owners, and the car itself being honest.

I have to agree on that! People throwing out random statements just to stir things up . No matter what the car there is bound to be a few scumbags that happen to drive it and people then brand that car as a " creamers" car. Stupid really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

podgie5 wrote: »
    haha your a funny lad.. 170bhp tdi same as altezza..that like saying a push bike is the same as a motor bike..haha..that the biggest laugh i got all day..

altezza are 220bhp-170bhp(if even that) = 50bhp...differents..not the same..i don't know what school went to mate..but ya should listen to ya teacher more often..

\facepalm/

There goes all my good work anyhow....:rolleyes:

haha your a funny lad.. 170bhp tdi same as altezza..that like saying a push bike is the same as a motor bike..haha..that the biggest laugh i got all day..

altezza are 220bhp-170bhp(if even that) = 50bhp...differents..not the same..i don't know what school went to mate..but ya should listen to ya teacher more often..

207bhp standard on jap fuel Podgie :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 podgie5

I'm sure he meant it 170bhp before chipping and remapping which would put it well over a measley 220bhp.

Maybe you spent too much time on maths and not enough on reading in school.

am ya i did that why i law accountant..and you are..?

need to be able to count for that..haha..as for the reading part ya need that too..so any more smart remarks..?

as for chiping is bring it up by 5-10bhp..
    remaping anothee 20bhp.

still not same as altezza..i give you the honor of adding the figures..haha.

and yes the car won't be able to deal with that extra power for it either..one my friends did what you promose there and now on third engine from doing that mapping and chipping ****..

I am ya alright, that is why i did that why i law, to become an accountant..and you are..? Rob. Nice to meet you.

You need to be able to count for that..haha..as for the reading part ya you need that too..so any more smart remarks..?

I could, but i think i made my point.

Oh. Fixed that for you. Well, its my interpretation of it. Not sure if its english your writing in.

buddyboy wrote: »
    207bhp standard on jap fuel Podgie :p

ya but most altezza are run on ave..fuel (same as plane) or high octane fuel boster which ya can buy in any motor shop add that to irish fuel and ya have same as jap fuel..most high perform cars from japan has to run that way or he engine will **** up..

don't believe me look it up mate.

so yes it 220bhp not 207..mine runs, as well as any other person i know on high octane fuel.

thanks for ya post any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

podgie5 wrote:
    remaping anothee 20bhp.

You realise a TDI is a diesel? Chipping a diesel will get you much more than 10BHP...

Its also the guts of 200KG lighter...and most definitely 207BHP

Are you posting from your law accountant business phone perchance?
    podgie5 wrote:
    mine runs as well as any other person

Think those glasses may be slightly rose-tinted

am ya i did that why i law accountant..and you are..?

need to be able to count for that..haha..as for the reading part ya need that too..so any more smart remarks..?

remaping anothee 20bhp.

still not same as altezza..i give you the honor of adding the figures..haha.

and yes the car won't be able to deal with that extra power for it either..one my friends did what you promose there and now on third engine from doing that mapping and chipping ****..
    I'm a qualified mechanic, so when it comes to cars maybe you should stick to representing the car crash victims and leaving the motors to the lads that know. I have driven Tdi Golfs with over 200bhp and I even know of a 220bhp VW Transporter. So maybe you are getting your bogus figures from previous claims, or claimants but trust me as someone that knows. YOU ARE WRONG.

P.S
    am ya i did that why i law accountant
    isn't a proper sentence. I've read two of your posts so far and both have been EPIC FAILURES.

I could, but i think i made my point.

Oh i. Fixed that this for you. Well, this is its my interpretation of it your comment. Not sure if its this is english your you are writing in.

now go back to class..like a good lad.

"I
    am alright, that is why i law, to become an accountant..and you are..? Rob. Nice to meet you.

You need to be able to count for that..haha..as for the reading part you need that too..so any more smart remarks..?"

"i law to be come accountant"..even when ya try to be smart ya still across as a dumbass..grow up and spend more time in school..ya poor teacher much have a job with you lad..

The door is
    > that way "lad".

Dont let it hit you on the way out yeah? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

i law to be come accountant

I'm a qualified mechanic, so when it comes to cars maybe you should stick to representing the car crash victims and leaving the motors to the lads that know. I have driven Tdi Golfs with over 200bhp and I even know of a 220bhp VW Transporter. So maybe you are getting your bogus figures from previous claims, or claimants but trust me as someone that knows. YOU ARE WRONG.

P.S isn't a proper sentence. I've read two of your posts so far and both have been EPIC FAILURES.

i bet ya are really..

ya i was kinda right short hand..

The door is
    > that way "lad".

Dont let it hit you on the way out yeah? :rolleyes:

i don't know what your looking at but if not a door...since when do they put a door on a website..dumbass..haha

i bet ya are really..

ya i was kinda right short hand..
    Third post.

Just as much FAIL!.

Can you please go away and learn how to construct proper sentences. As for me, you know nothing about me so don't pretend you do. Stop using up precious library bandwidth and go back to study. I recommend this.

ya but most altezza are run on ave..fuel (same as plane) or high octane fuel boster which ya can buy in any motor shop add that to irish fuel and ya have same as jap fuel..most high perform cars from japan has to run that way or he engine will **** up..

don't believe me look it up mate.

so yes it 220bhp not 207..mine runs as well as any other person i know on high octane fuel.

thanks for ya post any way

Only one or two Octane boosters have been proven too actually increase the Octane rating of fuel, mainly Lucas and NF Octane boosters.Anything else like Pro boost etc is about as affective as pissing in your tank after a night out on the razz! Altezza's are mapped to run on 100 Ron fuel as standard so if you fill up using E5 you will be grand and your ecu will be able to retard the timing if needed. So no need for Octane booster in normally aspirated Altezza, your just wasting good money. only way you will see 220 from a N/A altezza using higher Octane fuel is converting your car to run on E85(104 ron). I have dyno results to prove it.

TROLL TROLL TROLL.

If this guy really is an accountant, i bet he works for BOI....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

everybody calm down ...podgie's been shown the door.

He won't be bothering you for the next month

Anyhow...... I think the reason they are so expensive is the fact that there is a certain level of demand for them. Or the fact that people bought one when the goign was good, but now that the recession has hit, they are trying to get their money back. Or at least some of it.

There are some dreamers on carzone too -

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1001388

Its a nice looking car, lowish miles, but at the end of the day it is a 10 year old car.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1201478

Thats a similar car, same mileage (nearly) and there is a 6 grand difference in price?!

Madness.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1201478

Thats a similar car, same mileage (nearly) and there is a 6 grand difference in price?!

The second one may need to be VRT'ed?

Im not sure. It may be that this seller actually knows what he's doing, where as the seller of the first car is just pulling out a figure from the top of his head.

I would imagine its a good reflection in the way the market has gone at the minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

are you one of those cyclists that makes my wonderful days in my nice 4x4 a hell ?
    Please dont tell me your one of them that has a jeep to go shopping in.

Im not sure. It may be that this seller actually knows what he's doing,

He could have typed in a desciption! :pac:

The way he's written "SOLD AS SEEN" made me think it's not registered.
    The other seller is a joker alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Just to further the point that this car has really fallen into the hands of scumbags. I live on the recently by passed Cork to Dublin road near Mitchelstown and every single night i just hear retards over the road doing donuts and revving their cars to the alsolute max. The cars are Toyota Levins and a couple of Altezzas. Every ****ing night i have to listen to these spastics destroy their cars. I hope they die horribly and soon.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

samsemtex wrote: »
    Just to further the point that this car has really fallen into the hands of scumbags. I live on the recently by passed Cork to Dublin road near Mitchelstown and every single night i just hear retards over the road doing donuts and revving their cars to the alsolute max. The cars are Toyota Levins and a couple of Altezzas. Every ****ing night i have to listen to these spastics destroy their cars. I hope they die horribly and soon.:mad:

Record them doing

Get there registrations

Keep a log of when the disturbances occur

Ring the Gardai every time it happens

The recording/reg/logging evidence works, I've read about court case's where scumbags had there licenses taken off them and made resit the test

+1.

Report them and keep reporting them. Someone will get hurt otherwise.

Slightly OT, but did that clown who was in here yesterday PM anyone else or was it just me who had the pleasure of listening to him again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

+1.

Report them and keep reporting them. Someone will get hurt otherwise.

Slightly OT, but did that clown who was in here yesterday PM anyone else or was it just me who had the pleasure of listening to him again?

Yeah i probably should start recording details of when it happens but our local garda station has been reassigned as merely an office of the fermoy station so there are no gardai present at night.

He private messaged you? About what? He came accross as an absolute spastic on this thread and i was only reading it afterwards.

Ah it was harmless. It just proved to me he was a troll.

Just wondering if anyone else got to listen to him is all! Needless to say he didnt get a reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

talking about reporting ...you can report private messages these days, if necessary

peasant wrote: »
    talking about reporting ...you can report private messages these days, if necessary

Thanks Peasant, but i dont think its too bad. If he keeps it up i might tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

samsemtex wrote: »
    Yeah i probably should start recording details of when it happens but our local garda station has been reassigned as merely an office of the fermoy station so there are no gardai present at night.

He private messaged you? About what? He came accross as an absolute spastic on this thread and i was only reading it afterwards.

You should definitely keep records of it for a couple of weeks then, get the registrations on each occasion if possible and if you could get video footage or even photos over a few nights you'd have enough evidence for the gardai to prosecute.

If your local gardai aren't around at night get to the fermoy station maybe once a week and continually report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Just had a read of the thread and my God, what a spa. I just had to change my sig in his honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

qz wrote: »
    Just had a read of the thread and my God, what a spa. I just had to change my sig in his honour.
    Haha, I was havin a read of this yesterday about 5 mins after he got banned, I woulda loved to keep him goin a while longer! Priceless!

Had a look at his profile just there, he's in college and going for the Guards...but I thought he was a Law Accountant?! Haha

Bring back Podge