Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Elections in Kerry 2009

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

dmeehan wrote: »
    billboards already, i thought they weren't allowed to put any up until 30 days before the election??

That's what I thought too but Sean Kelly has his promo on the billboard facing the outlet centre with the last week & nobody seems to be bothered either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Meanwhile in Kerry, apart from building hotels, multi-storey car-parks, God knows how many new houses and office-buildings, what else was going on? What were our local representatives and government agencies doing to entice industry into the county? Not a lot by all accounts.

Meanwhile in North Kerry, most of the people here are used to dealing with recession, because there's probably always been one here in varying degrees.

Kerrys big problem is that all development has been Tourist driven, 600k for a house in Dingle or Kenmare that lay empty for 10 months did not give us sustainable employment. :eek:

Industry has closed ALL over the county and our politicans have gone to ground, still waffling on and not an idea in their brains except to rehash old ideas and talk about it.

Remember Commercial rates increased in Kerry this year :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Meanwhile in North Kerry, most of the people here are used to dealing with recession, because there's probably always been one here in varying degrees.

IMO the celtic tiger never really hit most of us in Kerry. We all prospered from higher tax allowance ETC.

But right now hubby & me are looking at over €1000-00 pm reduction in income after the last budget & emergency budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭FRANKENFURTER

dh0661 wrote: »
    IMO the celtic tiger never really hit most of us in Kerry. We all prospered from higher tax allowance ETC.

But right now hubby & me are looking at over €1000-00 pm reduction in income after the last budget & emergency budget.
    but with the cost of living coming down so sharply if you shop around it should help ease the pressure......remember to ask for discount no matter what your buying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 kate1001

Does anyone know where I can get a list of candidates for the Listowel Area?

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Hasschu

but with the cost of living coming down so sharply if you shop around it should help ease the pressure......remember to ask for discount no matter what your buying

Land and property prices rose to levels that made millionaires out of anyone with a couple of acres and a modest house. As Dublin sucked people in from the country it created labour shortages in Kerry that made life very good for people with any kind of salable skill. As the cost of labour rose it killed manufacturing. Our beloved politicians god bless them enriched themselves as they stoked the fires that fed the property and construction bubble. Now as the recession hits hard it would be advisable to remember that we get the government we vote for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Interyurauldone

Hasschu wrote: »
    Land and property prices rose to levels that made millionaires out of anyone with a couple of acres and a modest house. As Dublin sucked people in from the country it created labour shortages in Kerry that made life very good for people with any kind of salable skill. As the cost of labour rose it killed manufacturing. Our beloved politicians god bless them enriched themselves as they stoked the fires that fed the property and construction bubble. Now as the recession hits hard it would be advisable to remember that we get the government we vote for.

Well said Hasschu, i couldn't agree with you more!

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Bizgno

His voters must think that he's the Messiah, God help us all.:eek:
    Are u serious? that gombeen Jackie Healy Rae is earning €287k a year? I remember Matt Cooper from The Last Word interviewing him about his expenses and value for money. Jackie's reply was that from the moment he sits into the car in the morning he is spending money, that he is working 24/7 and the people from South Kerry would not deny him his few pound. Try asking them now Jackie!

Looking at the content of flyers coming in the door from Tralee Council Kerry County Coucil candidates would be laughable if it wasn't so serious. Norma Foley, FF just has a headshot with a vote 1 slogan. No mention of what she has done as an individual for Tralee and what her platform is this time round. Arthur Spring, Labour, a first timer has aspirational stuff such as will seek to retain jobs and creat new ones, how? I understand that a flyer is designed to pique ones interest but where do I go to find out more about Mr. Spring's aspirations?

Unfortunately, I have not had an opportunity to challenge any of the candidates as yet on the door step. I think www.micandidate.eu is a great idea. However canidates don't seem to be engaging with the service and only bare info is posted.. There are no policy platforms, no achievements etc posted. Which is disappointing.

I would have expected younger candidates like Mr Spring to be campaigning online. At least then I would have an opportunity to engage and find out more about him before casting my vote.

Does anyone have any other ideas on how to find out more about candidates? Also can someone explain to me what powers urban councillors have & what powers County Councillors have? Again does anyone have a link that points to how local goverment works and explains a councillors role in that system? Is it just me or do our local politicians do a poor job in explaining all this. Maybe this lack of understanding accounts for apathy amongst voters and poor voting decisions?

I am at a stage where I want to find out how this country of ours works at a local level, such is my frustration. I want change and want to participate but I am struggling to understand what's good and what's bad about the current system. And in terms of distinguishing between the candidates I'd like to be able to see attendance records, voting records, key Individual achievements, Policies - background to policies etc. I am not expecting West Wing informatics just accessibility and acountability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

The global recession screwed the world economy, but the Irish government's lack of economic control during the boom-years made sure that ours was double-screwed.

I agree. The North Kerry area has been a place lacking good skilled kobs for years. Coupled with the plant closures of kantoher and castlemahon in Newcastlewest a few years ago this recession has made life even more difficult for many residents in Kerry.

For myself I had to move out of the kingdom in order to get a good job in electronics as the lack of quality jobs in that area was a big concern for me. Counties such as ours have been forgotten by the government several times.

So what can these local election do for us? For a start we need to invest more money in promoting Kerry as a high skilled workforce. That is my main concern. Infrastructure needs to be improved. Roads(Castleisland bypass, Tralee bypass, Abbeyfeale, Newcastlewest and Adare bypass), rail and broadband are very poor in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭rash

Bizgno wrote: »
    I think www.micandidate.eu is a great idea. However canidates don't seem to be engaging with the service and only bare info is posted.. There are no policy platforms, no achievements etc posted. Which is disappointing.

I think micandidate had the potential to be a great site however it has not got great reviews, http://www.irishelection.com/04/micandidateeu-the-full-analysis/ candidates have complained of being in the incorrect Constituencies etc.
    Look at the John O'Donoghue that's running for Killarney TC.
    http://micandidate.ie/constituency.aspx?id=349
    John must not be happy with being the Ceann Comhairle.
    Also the site only launched in mid April, it should have been launched 12 months ago as candidates at this stage are too busy canvassing.
    The site does offer a free section to candidates, but the candidates cannot directly amend their profiles, they have to email support.
    All in all, i cannot blame candidates for not investing their time in a service that has been so late into the market.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

rash wrote: »
    I think micandidate had the potential to be a great site however it has not got great reviews, http://www.irishelection.com/04/micandidateeu-the-full-analysis/ candidates have complained of being in the incorrect Constituencies etc.
    Look at the John O'Donoghue that's running for Killarney TC.
    http://micandidate.ie/constituency.aspx?id=349
    John must not be happy with being the Ceann Comhairle.
    Also the site only launched in mid April, it should have been launched 12 months ago as candidates at this stage are too busy canvassing.
    The site does offer a free section to candidates, but the candidates cannot directly amend their profiles, they have to email support.
    All in all, i cannot blame candidates for not investing their time in a service that has been so late into the market.

You know for me that John O'Donoghue error sums up the site to be honest

We also have the County Development Board. I want you to read the following. These are not my words, they are the words of the County Development Board, taken from their website:
    "The Board is one of 34 Boards established throughout the country following a recommendation from the Interdepartmental Task Force on the need to coordinate local level service delivery within a policy framework at local level."
    I have read this paragraph at least five times and I cannot figure out what it means. This is just one example of the type of gobbledegook used by quango-like groups that we do not need. We have reports full of this claptrap. More significantly, of the 37 members currently listed on their website, just one comes from the private/business sector. This compares to eight councillors, none of whom, in my view, know a whole lot about job creation.
    The County Development Board established Meitheal Chiarraí. It promised to, "ensure speedy and effective response mechanisms to attract foreign direct investment and new business start-ups and upskilling". Here's my question: Where are the jobs?

Speaking of the county development board. Its' chairman Tom Fleming has an advert in the Kerryman this week pg 20. his tagline is as follows "To succeed we must innovate. As Chairman of the County Development Board I am focussed on the levers of change to bring enterprise in Kerry to a new Level"

Explain that to me someone. More platitudes, I've gone on to Fianna Fail website only thing posted is Tom's photo. Checked out the Kerry Count Development Board website along with Meitheal Chiarrai Plan. All Aspirational stuff, a 10 year plan (2002-2011). They even had a prioritised action plan for 2006-2008. The Economic section was highlighted as a priority and that KEATS (Kerry Enterprise Action Taskforce AKA Quango) would be looking after same. Cannot find KEATs section on their website to find out more. Only mention of Tom Fleming is that he chaired board in 2001, he's not down as a member. He may well be the Chairperson for 2009 but who knows when site was last updated.

The abiding sense I'm left with is that Meitheal Chiarrai has not amounted to much. Saw no mention of milestones, achievements or anything that would underwrite it.

There was nothing concrete in it. A plan's purpose is to point the way from A to B. With timelines and outcomes defined so that you know you have arrived. By that definition this was never a plan. Don't see much pride in that Mr Fleming. Highlighting your status as Chairperson sounds great and pointing to a priority economic plan might mean something if I could figure out what it has delivered.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭dmeehan

can you post the links to the county dev board and meitheal ciarrí
    thanks.

can you post the links to the county dev board and meitheal ciarrí
    thanks.
    County Board URL is http://www.kerrycdb.ie/

& Meitheal Chiarrai URL is http://www.kerrycdb.ie/meitheal.asp

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Lovely writer

Bizgno wrote: »
    County Board URL is http://www.kerrycdb.ie/

& Meitheal Chiarrai URL is http://www.kerrycdb.ie/meitheal.asp

Maybe we should have a new entity called "quango Chiarraí".

I am sure some of the members of the other boards would be delighted with another talking shop.

:D :pac:

here are the current results from my poll on the local elections in Kerry:
    Fianna Fail 28%
    Labour 23%
    Fine Gael 21%
    Independant 14%
    Green Party 7%
    Sinn Fein 7%

and for anyone who hasnt already cast their vote here is the link: http://kerrynews.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/poll-local-elections-2009/

and thanks to those who have voted!

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭rash

anyone see Sheila Caseys Ad in the Killarney Outlook "NO NEED NO LONGER NO DUNG" ....... not sure if she's referring to herself or the Jarveys

rash wrote: »
    anyone see Sheila Caseys Ad in the Killarney Outlook "NO NEED NO LONGER NO DUNG" ....... not sure if she's referring to herself or the Jarveys
    hahah haahahahahaha ahahahaha thank you ineeded a laugh:D

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Lovely writer

This morning FF had a Churchgate collection in Listowel. In the past there used to be an intimidating group around the tables. This morning there were very very few collecting and very few contributing.

Were they surrounded by Riot police?:D

I got a leaflet through my door from a FF hopeful on Friday with a big "Time for Change" heading!!

How is a vote for FF a vote for change!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I got a leaflet through my door from a FF hopeful on Friday with a big "Time for Change" heading!!

That's just comedy gold - Care to share a name?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,053 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Depends what they mean by change. Are they going to give us some of our money back?:confused:

With so many people posting anti finna fail everywhere it makes me wonder how they have being vote into power for almost 25 years make one wonder are we a nation of hypocryts:P

• Registered Users Posts: 24,053 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

With so many people posting anti finna fail everywhere it makes me wonder how they have being vote into power for almost 25 years make one wonder are we a nation of hypocryts:P

Not me. I'm a smug bastard who never voted for them in my entire voting life.:P I'm not owning up to the other ones I never voted for either.:pac:

is there any socialist candidates any where in kerry....was at the killarney races yesterday and i guy i know who is suck in ff slipped two passes for todays races into my hand and looked me in the eye and says ull remember me in june.....hahha by god i will i thought to myself ..i thin the saddest part of the locals s the lackof new candidates in killarney town its very depressing........still no candidate from ballyspillane they could elect two if they done it right.....

That's just comedy gold - Care to share a name?

Ronan Callely is his name. He's running in the clontaf ward of the dublin city council. I'll see if i can get a pic of his poster up here, the FF logo is much smaller then the logo in other FF posters.

When i got he's leaflet through the door i presumed it was the FF election slogan but apparently he's one of the only people using "a time for change" as his slogan!! I wonder why :D!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 kate1001

Living a couple of miles outside Listowel area and yet to have a FF candidate knock on my door. I had Liam Purtill last Saturday and Tim Buckley a couple of weeks ago, Robert Beasley and Pat leahy have also called. Has this happened to anyone else around Kerry - suspect they'll be a big push from the FF candidates over the coming weeks. An interesting few weeks ahead.

The kerryman in the past has published a scorecard on the sitting councillors anyone know if this is due out for this election.

kate1001 wrote: »
    Living a couple of miles outside Listowel area and yet to have a FF candidate knock on my door. I had Liam Purtill last Saturday and Tim Buckley a couple of weeks ago, Robert Beasley and Pat leahy have also called. Has this happened to anyone else around Kerry - suspect they'll be a big push from the FF candidates over the coming weeks. An interesting few weeks ahead.

The kerryman in the past has published a scorecard on the sitting councillors anyone know if this is due out for this election.
    very poor media coverage all round on the electios and its candidates i think it is down to apathy from the public........ff sitting councillors are getting away very light indeed.......must say i hope john o dunoghue survives the cull.......

did you see john o'donoghues ad in the killarney advertiser/outlook
    all of what he "promises" to do (promote killarney, music, etc) are all part of his job in the brehon

'spose at least he isnt bull****ting like a lot of the others with promises like increase garda numbers in killarney etc. what a crock

did you see john o'donoghues ad in the killarney advertiser/outlook
    all of what he "promises" to do (promote killarney, music, etc) are all part of his job in the brehon

'spose at least he isnt bull****ting like a lot of the others with promises like increase garda numbers in killarney etc. what a crock
    its very bad the list of candidates is depressing to say the least.......hope some yong blood would make it this time pity browne didnt run hed make trouble if nothing else:mad: