Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Forum vs. Soccer Forum, Sun 22nd February

• 20-01-2009 12:39am
    Registered Users Posts: 23,567 ✭✭✭✭

Alright lads.
    We challenge you to a rematch.

Sunday 22nd of February

Venue TBC
    I don't know whether someone else wants to organise somewhere or not, but I can get that same pitch again if people want?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

would we be able to get ALSAA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Trippie wrote: »

Ye Alsaa and a piss up in there afterwards, i think Jay said he could get this pitch sorted

• Registered Users Posts: 23,567 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I'm back in college now so don't have as much time on my hands.
    If one of you lads wants to organsie the ALSAA I'd be happy to play there.

Only thing is that it is an absolutely horrible astro pitch.
    Even from a hockey POV it's rated as the worst in Dublin...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

I think Jay said he could get the proper grass pitch that is kept under lock and key

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I'll be away that weekend, but aren't there grass pitches in ALSAA?

If ALSAA is a no go then 100% we should do Leicester again, that or UCD.

I am in for this again. Sure you can't make it RT? You'll be missed man.

I think Jay said he could get the proper grass pitch that is kept under lock and key

That would be fantastic actually!
    If ALSAA is a no go then 100% we should do Leicester again, that or UCD.

I am in for this again. Sure you can't make it RT? You'll be missed man.

Only point I'd make is that the UCD pitch is actually a 9-a-side...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

I am away aswell unfort. The eagle has landed and all that.

Frisbee wrote: »
    That would be fantastic actually!

Only point I'd make is that the UCD pitch is actually a 9-a-side...

Though I prefer grass in order to make absolutely sure the game goes ahead I think Leicester or UCD is better.

UCD is 9-a-side though...

Again, I understand that. Simply making an observation. Besides, are you saying the extra space of an 11-a-side pitch would benefit your team?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

it's not 9 a side, just a small 11 a side. I play Super League there and it's grand. If you want a big pitch in UCD, and it s foooking massive, there's the rugby/GAA astro pitch which has football markings on it and goals which are moved in to make it shorter.

Again, I understand that. Simply making an observation. Besides, are you saying the extra space of an 11-a-side pitch would benefit your team?;)

Sorry was just making sure :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Ye Alsaa and a piss up in there afterwards, i think Jay said he could get this pitch sorted

I will make enquiries closer to the date Fran. ALSAA has great facilities, nice bar and also some decent bar food etc.

Also as the appendix (or lack of) has now healed I would be up for playing a part in this. If Ricky is reading this I can play Centre Half or sweeper.

I take it this will be a Sunday afternoon again yeah

Jayminator wrote: »
    I will make enquiries closer to the date Fran. ALSAA has great facilities, nice bar and also some decent bar food etc.

Also as the appendix (or lack of) has now healed I would be up for playing a part in this. If Ricky is reading this I can play Centre Half or sweeper.

I take it this will be a Sunday afternoon again yeah

Oooh!!! Pressure for positions...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Guys if there's no objections i'll manage our team again........

Post your interest here

Guys if there's no objections i'll manage our team again........

Post your interest here

If it ain't broke etc.

max_power wrote: »
    it's not 9 a side, just a small 11 a side. I play Super League there and it's grand.

Cool, I'm back in college tomorrow so I'll take a mosey over on my lunch and check it out :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

If ALSAA is a problem or booked out I am a member of Sportslink which is just down the road.

Oooh!!! Pressure for positions...

Dont be worrying Keith. I play over 35s so I ll hardly be a threat

Dub13 wrote: »
    If ALSAA is a problem or booked out I am a member of Sportslink which is just down the road.

Is that a hockey astro or artificial grass?

To be honest I am not sure as I mostly just use the pool,but they do have some proper grass pitches.I am sure somebody will no about the all weather pitch.

Cool, I checked the website but it didn't say.
    Cheers man :)

Cool, I checked the website but it didn't say.
    Cheers man :)

I don't mind were we play but its another option its always good to have a few options.

Dont be worrying Keith. I play over 35s so I ll hardly be a threat

So does Careca and he was brilliant at CB. We played every minute though so it'd be nice to have some cover.

I don't mind were we play but its another option its always good to have a few options.

Your dead right man, at least if we have a few options on it we can vote and let the majority decide as I'm sure Leicster was a bit of a trek for some people..

Maybe so but the pitch was perfect imo. Few came further than me I assure you.

So does Careca and he was brilliant at CB. We played every minute though so it'd be nice to have some cover.

45 minutes will do me lovely thank you very much

Sportslink is excellent too and also has a proper Astro full size soccer pitch. Sportslink might be a better option

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Breifne

45 minutes will do me lovely thank you very much

That could be complicated due to the unusual 35 min / 17.5 min / 17.5 min / 35 min schedule. with no less than three changes of ends.