Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer v Poker - The Rematch (Sun Feb 22nd, Leicester Celtic, Kick Off: 4pm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If I'd have known earlier I defo would have played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Unfortunately what I thought might happen has happened.
    I have a League game at 3.30 next Sunday so I can't play.
    Gonna need someone to take over the team for me here lads, get the money off everyone on our team etc.

Any takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Boo-urns

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Boo-urns

I know, I'm pretty pissed at it.
    We never have league games on a sunday.
    But the IHA wants the leagues wrapped up early this year so we have to make a few double weekends between now and the end of the season.

Fcuking bollox

:mad:

Means we're down a good player too.

Awww shucks...

Yous should hopefully be ok for numbers, if not im sure someone can wrangle a mate in?

Well either way it's a spanner in the works, from an organisational point of view as much as anything else.

I'll continue to organise it etc.

I'll just need someone on the day to collect money and hand it over, which was easy enough to do last time, everyone had it to hand

Collecting money is the easy part. You need someone to manage the team and that on the day now. Call subs etc

Well I'm hoping someone who played last time will step up and take responsibility for it

Frisbee wrote: »
    Well I'm hoping someone who played last time will step up and take responsibility for it

UL Laura. Won't be as good a game without you. GL in your match though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

If no one else is willing to do it, i'll help with the management on the day. You could almost certainly get someone better then me, as i'm more Adams then Ferguson, but sure i'd give it a go if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

If I were you guys Id definitely get someone who was there the last day, he will at least be somewhat familiar with the team.

Unlucky about not making it Frisbee, gives your team a lot less options imo.

Jayzis lads people are dropping like flies.
    KaG has done his thigh so he's unavailable aswell.

Kiith if you could take over that would be great alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

If I can make it I can play outfield if needed.

So, atm our squad looks as follows? (correct me if i'm leaving someone out)

dfx
    colly10
    BastardPrince
    Voltwad
    Xavi6
    mayordenis
    SantryRed
    tribulus
    Galvasean
    Dub13
    LeixlipRed
    Kiith

We could definitly use another few subs. I'll be the first to admit that i probably wont last the 2 hours.

I'll have had a match the day before so not sure I'd be good for 90 mins. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is spongy and bruised and all that sort of nonsense :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Kiith wrote: »
    So, atm our squad looks as follows? (correct me if i'm leaving someone out)

dfx
    colly10
    BastardPrince
    Voltwad
    Xavi6
    mayordenis
    SantryRed
    tribulus
    Galvasean
    Dub13
    LeixlipRed
    Kiith

We could definitly use another few subs. I'll be the first to admit that i probably wont last the 2 hours.

My mate Geoff will play again

Left Back he is.

I'll call him in about an hour to confirm

Some of the boards lads might play if we need numbers.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Some of the boards lads might play if we need numbers.

We do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭colly10

ditpoker wrote: »
    <---- volunteers to be a turn coat bastard!! services for sale! I am a football hooker, like julia roberts in Escape to Victory!

Might just take ye up on that, were looking very short on numbers at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'll play for either side, i'll most likely be starting on the bench but will come on for either side.

I just sent a PM to ditpoker there. Will let you know if/when i hear back from him.
    shoutman wrote: »
    I'll play for either side, i'll most likely be starting on the bench but will come on for either side.
    What position do you play in? We can definitly use the numbers, so you can play for us if you want.

Yeah as Cillian said I have bollixed my thigh yet again.

Really need to go to a physio because it just keeps reoccurring. Best of luck to both teams.

The GAA forum were looking to get a team together and there was some interest so I dropped a post in there asking if any of them fancy a game. I'm sure we'll get one or two more.

Galvasean has dropped out aswell lads...

Frisbee wrote: »
    Galvasean has dropped out aswell lads...

My mate Geoff is definitely in.

Des wrote: »
    My mate Geoff is definitely in.

Cheers Des

dfx
    colly10
    BastardPrince
    Voltwad
    Xavi6
    mayordenis
    SantryRed
    tribulus
    PCPhoto
    Dub13
    LeixlipRed
    Kiith

Plus Des' mate gives us 13. ditpoker/shoutman are maybes.

The GAA forum were looking to get a team together

A football team or a gah team?

They've been threatening to "get a team together" for eighteen months now, some of them challenged Boardeaux to a 2-match-series, one of gah, one of football.

They never got it together though.

Absolutely hilarious if the gah heads are trying to get a football team together though :D

Yeah a soccer team. There were about 8 or 9 really interested so thought we might be able to get at least one.

On a side note, anyone needing a lift out from the northside then just let me know.

Dibs on a lift - I'm coming in fr Finglas.

Would MrJS not play?

Dibs on a lift - I'm coming in fr Finglas.

I'll spin out that way. I'm away from tomorrow til Saturday so I'll sort out at a time and that at the beers.
    Would MrJS not play?

I've asked him but he's not sure if he's away down the country.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

what are we looking for ringers or something?

No ringers. Everyone's a boardsie (except Des' mate)

He has been a member of the Boardeaux squad for the past three season's though, so he kind of is.

Well there you go then. Sorted.

Where does he play btw?

I'll spin out that way.
    Nice wan
    Where does he play btw?

LB or CH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

On a side note, anyone needing a lift out from the northside then just let me know.

I think you said you're D11? If I get a 17A and get off at the flats somewhere can you pick me up maybe?

tribulus wrote: »
    I think you said you're D11? If I get a 17A and get off at the flats somewhere can you pick me up maybe?

What flats?

Get the 17A all the way to the end, I'll meet you there, and Xavi can pick us up there.

Where do you live btw?

tribulus wrote: »

I'm D15 but can head out that way no bother.

Any busses going from town? My lift isnt playing this time around. I'm in D8.

Kiith wrote: »
    Any busses going from town? My lift isnt playing this time around. I'm in D8.

Not sure but if you get the 122 to the Navan Road I can pick you up as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

What flats?

Get the 17A all the way to the end, I'll meet you there, and Xavi can pick us up there.

Where do you live btw?

I meant the few remaining blocks of flats in Ballymun. Though collecting both of us together is a better idea, I'll wait by the big church then. I live beside Baldoyle.

Thanks Xavi.

No problem.

Where exactly will I see use?

How do I get here by public transport?

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    How do I get here by public transport?

The 16A or the 17 go to Nutgrove Shopping Centre from Dame Street. The pitch is just behind the shopping centre. Takes about 15/20 minutes.

Sure i'll just get this as well. I'm on Meath Street, so its only a 10 minute walk to the stop at Dame Street.

Actually the 17 doesn't go near town so it'll have to be the 16A from O'Connell/George's Street.

http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Nutgrove%20Shopping%20Centre&SelectedRoute=16a

Keep in mind that the route starts out at the airport so could take a while to get to the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'm quite fit but the poker forum games were the first time i played 11 a side football.

I played MC and LB primarily for them. My big weakness is that I have a pretty poor touch and am not very comfortable on the ball so probably get rid of the ball too easily. I do think I'm getting better with every match played though.