Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everybodys driving to slow

• 21-01-2009 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭

There's been an ongoing campaign to get people to slow down which is fair enough. I am guilty of driving to fast but I'm trying to change. Other drivers aren't making it easy though.

I don't think driving slow makes you any safer and if you think driving slow automatically makes you safer then your a danger to everyone on the road. I've been doing 100km on main roads only to come up behind someone doing 60km! On a main road! Quickly a cue of people build up behind him and eventually some will just lose it and overtake at any cost.

There should be a national plan where everyone has to do roughly the same speed on public roads like they do in the Netherlands. The roads would be a hell of a lot safer if everyone was on the same page and knew what speed they and everyone else should be doing.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Its not against the law to do 60km/h on a 100km/h limited road and the responsibility on those who opt to overtake lies solely with them.
    What is annoying about it is the fact that in many cases the leading driver is oblivious to the delays they cause and if they aren't then they are showing a distinct lack of courtesy towards other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Far to often ive come across the same problem. People who drive to slowly or at a dangerously slow speed for the road.

If the sign says 100 or 80 and conditions allow you should be doing in or around the indicated speed not 20 0r 30 below!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

kbannon wrote: »
    ...and if they aren't then they are ...
    ...not using their rear-view mirror frequently enough! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The only thing that pisses me off is the rain! On a clear day I'll be home in <30 minutes. If it's raining you can be damn sure it's closer to 50 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Where are these places, Fast and Slowly everyone's driving to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

It does drive (no pun intended) me nuts. Everyday on the way to work theres a section 15 minutes long of main road, 100km/h, 3 minutes into it your stuck behind a mile long tailback due to some car at the front doing 60 and not a care in the world. :mad:

If that was me at the front id be close to sticking a sign on the back window saying sorry for whatever reason im going so slow! And yes ive seen some crazy improvised overtaking spots!

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

what annoys me most is people who insist on braking everytime they meet a car even though there is loads of space between them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Dexters16 wrote: »
    what annoys me most is people who insist on braking everytime they meet a car even though there is loads of space between them!!!
    I hate that, they're worse at night to. They must think the road changes shape after dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

ScumLord wrote: »
    I hate that, they're worse at night to. They must think the road changes shape after dark.

I think some people need to really learn the difference between to, two and too. :D

People who drive too slowly can cause problems, no matter where they are driving to. And if there are two of them, then they are bound to cause a bit of a tailback.

If people drive at a proper speed, with due care, then that will help everyone. Just because the speed limit is 100kph, doesn't mean you must, or even should do 100kph. I've been on some small country roads, where the signposted limit is 80kph, but you'd do well to get past 60kph due to narrow winding roads.

Paulw wrote: »
    I think some people need to really learn the difference between to, two and too. :D

People who drive too slowly can cause problems, no matter where they are driving to. And if there are two of them, then they are bound to cause a bit of a tailback.

If people drive at a proper speed, with due care, then that will help everyone. Just because the speed limit is 100kph, doesn't mean you must, or even should do 100kph. I've been on some small country roads, where the signposted limit is 80kph, but you'd do well to get past 60kph due to narrow winding roads.
    tooché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

The only thing I find more annoying than this is people who confuse to and too. I agree with the general point though: driving too slowly is as dangerous as driving too quickly. It causes other motorists to take unnecessary risks

Damn, Paul beat me to (not two or too) it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

tooché

touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

rgiller wrote: »
    The only thing I find more annoying than this are people who confuse to and too.

Tisk tisk, if you're going to be a grammar Nazi, do your book learnin' first.

If you were doing your driving test and you drove at 50km/hr in a 60km/hr zone, you would get a mark against you, if you kept at it you fail!! The same goes for driving well below 100km/hr in a 100km/hr zone
    I think the driving test calles it progression. You have to keep up with the speed limit.

Paulw wrote: »
    It's not my fault, it's this keyboard, it only has one O on it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭F-Stop

nevermind

Deadzone wrote: »
    touché
    *painfully slow clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't think driving slow makes you any safer and if you think driving slow automatically makes you safer then your a danger to everyone on the road.
    It's not the person in the slow car that dies when you crazy-overtake so they are safer than you ;)

Joking aside, yes they are annoying but then the road is for everyone fit to drive and if someone wants to go slower (60 on a 100 road is taking the pee though) then they are fully entitled to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

Jaysus lads, with all the spelling corrections being made here you'd think someone said "Alpha" Romeo again!

While not illegal, I would see someone who is unable/unwilling to drive at/close to the posted limit in perfect conditions to be incompetent tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

theres one guy from my town and he is notorius for going no more than 20 mph! he gets everyone into such a rage they lose it and fly by him! many a time i came around a corner and had to slam on the brakes to avoid driving into him! i dunno how he hasn't caused a crash...(that im aware of)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭positron

I don't have anything against some one driving slow for whatever reason, but its the person drives right behind the slow car, neither overtaking, nor leaving space for someone else to overtake one car at a time. This driving close to a slow car causes someone to attempt overtaking a number cars in one go and cause accidents. If everyone leaves two / three car spaces between themselves and the car ahead and allow others to overtake them... life would be much easier...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭meesa

deadwood wrote: »
    Where are these places, Fast and Slowly everyone's driving to.

Just left after `Pedant`s alley` :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

theres one guy from my town and he is notorius for going no more than 20 mph! he gets everyone into such a rage they lose it and fly by him! many a time i came around a corner and had to slam on the brakes to avoid driving into him! i dunno how he hasn't caused a crash...(that im aware of)!

To me this would suggest you are driving too fast around the corners. If you can't see what is around the corner you should be adjusting your speed so you can react to anything that might be around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭meesa

I got a speeding fine last week and since then I have been trying to keep inside the limits. But the 50kph limit in some locations
    will just result in road rage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Obviously it's a pain in the arse if you're stuck behind someone doing 60 in a 100 zone when conditions mean they should be able to do 100 but more danger is caused by people who insist on doing 100 or more in the same zone no matter what the conditions are like. It can be pissing rain, snowing, ice warnings out, pea souper fog, and people will fly along at the speed they choose because it's their 'right'.

So a national plan telling people what speed they should be doing won't work here because people won't use common sense to adjust for conditions.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Straight road (Carrigrohane), 100kph for the majority of it yet people insist on trundling along at 50kph. I was behind a car one day doing 60kph, and as we whizz past a garda speed trap, they slow down to 30kph. *boggle*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

If you were doing your driving test and you drove at 50km/hr in a 60km/hr zone, you would get a mark against you, if you kept at it you fail!! The same goes for driving well below 100km/hr in a 100km/hr zone
    I think the driving test calles it progression. You have to keep up with the speed limit.

Yep, not "making progress" is one of the things that can eventually fail you, not sure if it's an immediate fail.

People driving slow is undoubtedly very annoying, but fail enough.. What's more annyoing is there will be a at least two more of the "safety-head crowd" driving their 08/09 Tida/Yaris who will actually tailgate the car infront, also doing 60km/hr - leaving me with not one, but three cars to pass.
    (Okay it's not always a Tida or a Yaris, I'm generalising horrible there but yeah :D)

The other thing that puzzles me is on a motorway, if there's a squad car on the inside lane doing 80km/hr, everybody else in the outside lane immediately slaps on the brakes to match their speed, without moving into the inside lane.
    Always happens when the gardai are doing a cash escort along a motorway, people don't realise that you can still pass at 120km/hr (hell probably 140, they're too busy with what they're at to care).

biko wrote: »
    It's not the person in the slow car that dies when you crazy-overtake so they are safer than you ;)

Joking aside, yes they are annoying but then the road is for everyone fit to drive and if someone wants to go slower (60 on a 100 road is taking the pee though) then they are fully entitled to.
    They are fully entitled to but it is causing problems as most Irish roads are not designed for slow drivers. It's fine on dual carriageways or moterways where you have lanes so the traffic can continue to flow but on a standard road it's instant traffic jam.

Other countries have solutions, every driver is trained to take part in a transport system not just drive car.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

He hasn't caused a crash because he is driving at 20mph whereas evidently everyone who passes him are the ones who decide to take dangerous steps to get past him.
    I'm not condoning his driving but he cannot be blamed for the actions of others. He is the reason why the overtook but not the reason why they overtook on a bend!
    They are fully entitled to but it is causing problems as most Irish roads are not designed for slow drivers. It's fine on dual carriageways or moterways where you have lanes so the traffic can continue to flow but on a standard road it's instant traffic jam.
    Actually Irish roads are former ass and cart tracks so they are designed for slow drivers, not fast driving!
    However, ignorance in drivers (in general) contributes to making driving a hateful act in this country (regardless of the road type)!