Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coddle

• 21-01-2009 2:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

Howya lads.

Apologies if this was done before.

Anyone know any old pubs in Dublin that serve up Coddle?

I know there is a restaurant in Temple Bar that does it but I'd rather not go to a tourist trap, it might be a last resort though.

I've googled it and scanned through old posts but can't see anything relating to it, all I'm getting is recipies, which I can easily whip up myself but unfortunately I don't have Guiness on tap in my gaff.

Edit: Coddle Hunt '09 The Story so Far...

Gallaghers in Temple Bar
    Boars Head on Capel St.
    Crossbar in Harolds Cross
    The Pale on High St. Christchurch
    Cafe in Smithfield beside Delaney's Pub

Thaedydals Gaff...Scrumptious :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the boars head on capel street do it *i think*. i do it where i work sometimes too

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

i do it where i work sometimes too

Tell us more :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

the boars head on capel street do it *i think*. i do it where i work sometimes too

spam.

Reported.

Also...
    Fajitas! wrote: »

wtf?

It dosn't come served with blaa's you know :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

No if your using spam to make coddle you're doing it wrong :P

Damn I am going to have to make some for dinner soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭chrussell

I love coddle!!!! My grandad used to make it for me....my mouth is watering here just thinkin of it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Gallaghers in Temple Bar do it and do it very well. Great little restaurant for traditional irish and dublin foods.

OP, add Thaedydal's gaf to your list. :pac:
    Thaedydal wrote: »
    Damn I am going to have to make some for dinner soon.

Can I come round?

Des wrote: »
    Can I come round?

Would that woman of yours not make you a bitta coddle ?

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Would that woman of yours not make you a bitta coddle ?

what? she's from wickla, wouldn't have a clue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

My two cents worth..only use kearns sausages for coddle.

what? she's from wickla, wouldn't have a clue.

That's shocking altogether.
    Sure there's some in the bar atm if you want some.
    I shall have to send her a note on how to make coddle so.

Fajitas! wrote: »

crossbar in harolds cross

Oh, you are the chef there?

Any time I've been in that place, the food has been top notch.

Highly recommended.

Oh, you are the chef there?

Any time I've been in that place, the food has been top notch.

Highly recommended.

i am, thanks for the kind words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP there's a cafe across from the O.N.E. hostel in Smithfield (side Delaneys pub) which do a coddle too.

Other than that, I had a coddle in The Pale (Christchurch) but that was about two years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I think there's a place on Meath Street that does it, I'll have a look on my way home.
    I make it myself once every two weeks or so. My lady is from Donegal and never heard of it untill I broadened her horizons. When we are up visiting her family they ask us to make it for them, they all love it now too:)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Degsy wrote: »
    My two cents worth..only use kearns sausages for coddle.
    The only sausages my daughter will eat! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

The only sausages my daughter will eat! :)

Not even superquinn ones WTF?!

Big fan of coddle myself it is always requested when I'm home

Woden wrote: »

I hate Superquinn sausages.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Woden wrote: »

Tasteless muck..its gotta be kearns'!!

im going to do it this saturday in work, if anyone is around come in and have some, ill be doing it for FREE

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,541 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

im going to do it this saturday in work, if anyone is around come in and have some, ill be doing it for FREE

I'm polishing my shoes in excitement already (not a Victorian euphemism). Only up the road and I'll fill up with the cheap petrol across the road too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Cheers for the replies people :)

Free coddle! cheers admiralofthefleet don't think I'm at much this Sat so might pop in.

Completely forgot about The Pale think that was the last spot in Dublin I had some.

Somebody said Meath St. to me aswell but couldn't remember the pub.

To Coddle! May the legend never die!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

It dosn't come served with blaa's you know :D

You know, my dear Des... You might just have given me a fantastic idea... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Degsy wrote: »
    Tasteless muck..its gotta be kearns'!!
    Too right, best sausages available by a country mile. Superquinn me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

SOLD!

Don't think I've ever had Kearns, Where are they sold? I'll have to see what tastes so good that people call Superquinners tasteless muck.

Are you trying to get fired?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,541 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Don't think I've ever had Kearns, Where are they sold? I'll have to see what tastes so good that people call Superquinners tasteless muck.

Sold everywhere. I agree the best by a yard. Although the Supervalue Leek and Pepper are sterling sausies too.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭simonw

Smyths in phibsboro do it as far as i know