Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that i'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

What a description and photos :eek::eek:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=141105430488

Wonder what it would fetch here, probably be advertised as 'suitable for diesel conversion' :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Capri wrote: »
    What a description and photos :eek::eek:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=141105430488

Wonder what it would fetch here, probably be advertised as 'suitable for diesel conversion' :mad: :(

I had to stop reading, I got a headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

aujopimur wrote: »
    I had to stop reading, I got a headache.

I think that was the idea so that you would be blinded to the patchwork quilt paint job!

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

red sean wrote: »
    [HTML]Quote: CAR LOOKS AND SOUNDS CLASS, SAVAGE HEAD TURNER!!

“”NO JOY RIDERS/TIME WASTERS OR DREAMERS WILL BE TOLERATED””

"PRICE REDUCED!!" PLEASE NO MORE TIME WASTERS AND TALES OF YESTERYEAR!!

NO SWAPS OR P/X , CASH SALE ONLY

SERIOUS AMOUNT OF INTEREST AND CALLS(here and abroad) BUT YET TO BE VIEWED!!!FIRST SERIOUS VIEWER WILL BUY!!

NO TEXTS OR WITHHELD NO.S WILL BE ANSWERED!

Price: € 5,800 [/HTML]
    Well a Fiat Cortina/Ford Mirafiori is bound to be a serious head turner!:rolleyes:
    I'd say the tales of yesteryear were telling him about how the Mk1 was a lovely car before he made a prikk of it!

Here's a REAL one (except for the 'Lotus' stripes - WTF do they insist on the Lotus stripes :mad::mad: minus the stripes it might get the money, but with them :rolleyes: )

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mk1-cortina-1500gt/5967503

Or maybe just get a Mk V http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/ford-cortina-markv-for-parts-or-repair/5966769

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Here's a REAL one (except for the 'Lotus' stripes - WTF do they insist on the Lotus stripes :mad::mad: minus the stripes it might get the money, but with them :rolleyes: )

Or maybe just get a Mk V http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/ford-cortina-markv-for-parts-or-repair/5966769
    And the wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

maybe he just painted like that to compliment the paint work on the house and garagehttp://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mk1-cortina-1500gt/5967503

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭oceanman

Here's a REAL one (except for the 'Lotus' stripes - WTF do they insist on the Lotus stripes :mad::mad: minus the stripes it might get the money,

ha, only about twelve grand overpriced!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I certainly won't be buying this CLASSIC bargain

Sold two weeks ago for £600
    http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C443782

Today it's price has increased to €3000. I've no problem with someone wanting to mark it up and make a profit but HOW MUCH :eek:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/renault-11-gtl-1983/5971889

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

ba_barabus wrote: »

Today it's price has increased to €3000. I've no problem with someone wanting to mark it up and make a profit but HOW MUCH :eek:

The sky is the limit. It was a bargain in the first ad and sold quite cheaply by trade, possibly to get rid of it easy.

With the way things are going here, he's gonna get that sort of money. Quite a few people forking out for vintage tax type vehicles now, as everything else gets too expensive.

And just because you know, what he paid for it, doesn't mean that he has to sell it at that price. It's up to him, what he wants to sell it for and if he does so, fair play to him. Demand and supply.

/M

1.4 renault 11 GTL. brilliant condition. Totally original car with 62000 miles.
    Stack of reciepts and old mots to prove. even have original bill of sale.

it is in immaculate condition,even under the bonnet is like new. No rust underneath.

driving perfectly.interior is perfect.

never seen a cleaner 1983 car. garaged all its life.

just had new brakes in the back and changed the wheel bearings as well. dont have to worry about timing belt, 1 years mot & 6 months tax in UK.

200e vrt and 56 euro/ year tax if changed to irish plate. I can arrange that if necessary.

Very, very light on fuel. I spent £50 on petrol to come from london.

very comfortable car to drive and everything works as it should.

cobra alarm that also works.

This car can be used as an everyday car or as a show car for classic or vintage. It really is in such good condition. First to see will buy.

NO TIME WASTERS PLEASE.. I will be bringing this car back to UK in the next couple of weeks if it doesnt sell. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Price: € 2,950

You'd think he'd throw in the €256 reg fee if he made €2k on it, but there again he may just be bringing it back to London because there's few would buy a Renault 11 even if you paid them :P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭oceanman

ba_barabus wrote: »

even at the original 600 it was still overpriced for a renualt 11

oceanman wrote: »
    even at the original 600 it was still overpriced for a renualt 11

Again. Matter of opinion. If you check pricing for similar cars on the continent, you pay vastly more. It sells at whatever it's worth to someone.

The irish rock bottom 2nd hand car pricing doesn't apply anywhere else, I've lived.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    Again. Matter of opinion. If you check pricing for similar cars on the continent, you pay vastly more. It sells at whatever it's worth to someone.

The irish rock bottom 2nd hand car pricing doesn't apply anywhere else, I've lived.

/M

€2K FOR AN 84 R11 IN FEZ, MOROCCO :P

SOMEBODY loves them :ohttp://www.renault-9-11.fr/

STILL only worth €990 in France :Dhttp://www.lacentrale.fr/auto-occasion-annonce-20519914.html

THAT'S FOR SURE - bottom of the pile yet there's no rush of buyers from o/seas :confused::confused:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

I feel no need for a R11, but I wouldn't mind an R11 Electronic. (Wibble wibble, pills please doc :pac:)

600 sheets was cheap from a dealer. I remember seeing a low mileage, mint 1982 R4 at a dealer in the late nineties and they were sniffing after 3k stg back then.

macplaxton wrote: »
    I feel no need for a R11, but I wouldn't mind an R11 Electronic. (Wibble wibble, pills please doc :pac:)

600 sheets was cheap from a dealer. I remember seeing a low mileage, mint 1982 R4 at a dealer in the late nineties and they were sniffing after 3k stg back then.

BUT, IMHO , an R4 and the R11 are two totally different machines. Tho I do have a hankering for an RX4 Megane - pick them up for buttins now
    http://www.mycarsupermarket.co.uk/database_images/4vmq5ildc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

seriously? how cheap is cheap,

you can get a decent Avantime for under £3k.

I liked the scenic but the 4x4 version just seemed a bit stupid

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

BUT, IMHO , an R4 and the R11 are two totally different machines.

Granted, but it was just an old car (16 or 17 years old) at the time and R4s were never fetching 3k stg in 1998.

The point is, most dealers would have been sniffing around to get more than a grand for that R11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Bigus

Chickens coming home to roost,

SL taxi merc back up again now asking 5400

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/classic-car-mercedes-300-sl-auto/5873944
    24149141.jpeg

24149146.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭w124man

Mercedes 190 .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190e-2-0-american-spec/5974311

American spec with RHD and Euro headlights!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

w124man wrote: »
    Mercedes 190 .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190e-2-0-american-spec/5974311

Nice car though, if it was diesel i'd have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

€2K FOR AN 84 R11 IN FEZ, MOROCCO :P

SOMEBODY loves them :ohttp://www.renault-9-11.fr/

STILL only worth €990 in France :Dhttp://www.lacentrale.fr/auto-occasion-annonce-20519914.html

THAT'S FOR SURE - bottom of the pile yet there's no rush of buyers from o/seas :confused::confused:

Looks like a business opportunity there for someone, buy in France and take to Morrocco. Do they have a rip-off VRT system in Morocco there or would you have to trade in a camel or something?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Bigus wrote: »
    Chickens coming home to roost,

SL taxi merc back up again now asking 5400
    How much was that asking last time around? I seem to remember €3000?

you can get a decent Avantime for under £3k.

Wouldn't take one even if paid a €Million :mad:

buy in France and take to Morrocco

Customs duties probably prohibitive :(

Nice car though, if it was diesel i'd have it.
    'American spec' with RHD and Euro headlights!!

Just a plain 190, maybe from UK at most - if it were diesel it'd be so expensive that any savings would be swallowed up :P

How much was that asking last time around? I seem to remember €3000?
    That SL taxi has been up and down more times than a w....'s k.....'s :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kyote00

The Fiat twin cam was a much better engine than the original lotus block ---- at least you could drive around without clouds of blue smoke out the back.....
    red sean wrote: »
    [HTML]Quote: CAR LOOKS AND SOUNDS CLASS, SAVAGE HEAD TURNER!!

“”NO JOY RIDERS/TIME WASTERS OR DREAMERS WILL BE TOLERATED””

"PRICE REDUCED!!" PLEASE NO MORE TIME WASTERS AND TALES OF YESTERYEAR!!

NO SWAPS OR P/X , CASH SALE ONLY

SERIOUS AMOUNT OF INTEREST AND CALLS(here and abroad) BUT YET TO BE VIEWED!!!FIRST SERIOUS VIEWER WILL BUY!!

NO TEXTS OR WITHHELD NO.S WILL BE ANSWERED!

Price: € 5,800 [/HTML]
    Well a Fiat Cortina/Ford Mirafiori is bound to be a serious head turner!:rolleyes:
    I'd say the tales of yesteryear were telling him about how the Mk1 was a lovely car before he made a prikk of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

kyote00 wrote: »
    The Fiat twin cam was a much better engine than the original lotus block ---- at least you could drive around without clouds of blue smoke out the back.....
    Wouldn't disagree with you, but it should be in a Fiat!

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

Strong money but those heated electric seats are rare in an Irish car.
    Dunno where he's getting "American Spec" from. It's the right colour too.
    Stone cold daily driver. Miss mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/dark-blue-mercedes-e220-coupe/5956726

Another beut. I hazard their rela AMG wheels to match the factory added AMG rear spoiler. Nice car small money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Looks like a business opportunity there for someone, buy in France and take to Morrocco. Do they have a rip-off VRT system in Morocco there or would you have to trade in a camel or something?? :D

Customs duty on a 15 year old Merc 190D was over €4000 about 6 years ago. The yassemble cars in Morocco, so it's there to protect their own industry. Customs are crazy expensive for ordinary cars, most luxury cars get in at "special rates". Tanger port is full of them awaiting their "special price".

That Merc 190 is an excellent buy, I think he means American Spec by the fact that it has the spec that is typically associated with US cars. Rare to see a 190 as well specced as that anywhere in Europe. Doesn't seem to have A/C though.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Customs duty on a 15 year old Merc 190D was over €4000 about 6 years ago. The yassemble cars in Morocco, so it's there to protect their own industry. Customs are crazy expensive for ordinary cars, most luxury cars get in at "special rates". Tanger port is full of them awaiting their "special price".

That Merc 190 is an excellent buy, I think he means American Spec by the fact that it has the spec that is typically associated with US cars. Rare to see a 190 as well specced as that anywhere in Europe. Doesn't seem to have A/C though.

Re customs duty, thought I had a foolproof way of making €20k, bring my S-class to another country (- that I have a residency permit for so import duty free ) and sell it - but when I checked the small print they'll let me bring it in tax free but if I sold it to a local, he'd have to pay the tax :o:o

this car is the american spec with no rust
    - THAT'S what American spec is - no rust :P If you got chassis no. then any Merc dealer can print off a spec sheet giving details of options fitted / country spec etc.
    Heated seats / no a/c is Scandanavian spec, and they have headlight wipers fitted Maybe an Irish diplomat posted to Scandanavia bought a RHD tax-free to bring back ??
    (Thinking of RHD US-spec, a lot of Subaru's came here in the 90's from the US - they were used by US Mail to deliver post by hand from the drivers seat to the mail boxes on the road outside the rural houses - unlikely the USPS used Merc 190's with leather for that ! )

Thinking of RHD US-spec, a lot of Subaru's came here in the 90's from the US - they were used by US Mail to deliver post by hand from the drivers seat to the mail boxes on the road outside the rural houses - unlikely the USPS used Merc 190's with leather for that !

Aye. Mercs would be unlikely. Mate of mine has a Toyota Camry Estate in the family though, that was US spec ex-postal.

They can be identified very easily. It usually says "Objects in mirror may are closer than they appear" on the side mirror :)

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Re customs duty, thought I had a foolproof way of making €20k, bring my S-class to another country (- that I have a residency permit for so import duty free ) and sell it - but when I checked the small print they'll let me bring it in tax free but if I sold it to a local, he'd have to pay the tax :o:o

- THAT'S what American spec is - no rust :P If you got chassis no. then any Merc dealer can print off a spec sheet giving details of options fitted / country spec etc.
    Heated seats / no a/c is Scandanavian spec, and they have headlight wipers fitted Maybe an Irish diplomat posted to Scandanavia bought a RHD tax-free to bring back ??
    (Thinking of RHD US-spec, a lot of Subaru's came here in the 90's from the US - they were used by US Mail to deliver post by hand from the drivers seat to the mail boxes on the road outside the rural houses - unlikely the USPS used Merc 190's with leather for that ! )

I have one of those Subaru Legacy estate's, post van from New York state.4 wheel drive great on snow etc, but no ABS means stopping not so easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

w124man wrote: »
    Mercedes 190 .....

something about that car caused me to look twice - i went to view that down in Cork when it was for sale by the previous owner towards the end of May this year. I'd been on the hunt for a 190 auto, and this was the first non-import i had seen. Rust issues were practically absent, but there was a large dent in the drivers door which the seller had neglected to mention. The current owner seems to have rectified this, but there still seems to be a bit of a ripple in the one of the photos, though that shouldn't put anyone off at that price.
    There were a number of other interior issues that made me not to pursue this one further, but perhaps the current seller has sorted these out. Highly specced and original Irish 190, worth a shot. American spec, definitely not.

Oh, i picked up a 1.8 auto myself recently ;) just having a few little jobs done, pics to follow in due course

Eleven thousand dollars for the Cherokee! Are they well in the head!

I suspect Ireland is the cheapest market for cars in the world - great if you have a Trade plate but feck all use if you have to tax big stuff :(

Speaking of 'well in the head' - this Gintas chap seems to believe in Leprachauns and pots of gold :rolleyes: :mad:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/moskvic-400-opel/5995976

THIS would be a more honest purchase
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-600-1967-original-irish-car/5994025

I suspect Ireland is the cheapest market for cars in the world - great if you have a Trade plate but feck all use if you have to tax big stuff :(

Speaking of 'well in the head' - this Gintas chap seems to believe in Leprachauns and pots of gold :rolleyes: :mad:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/moskvic-400-opel/5995976

THIS would be a more honest purchase
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-600-1967-original-irish-car/5994025

Actually I quite liKe the look of that, the camouflage suits it well. What is it, a flat twin? no price showing

4 cyl flathead http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moskvitch_400-420

Of course there's no price showing, he waiting to see how much profit he can make on his €400 investment :P:P

Parts for sale http://en.avtoclassika.com/cars/moskvich-400-420/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

strangely enough that 'camouflage' pattern puts me on mind of burberry, so surely some scumbag out there wants it

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vw-scirocco-1987-quick-sale-need-it/5781760

This Sirocco looks nice for the money. Considering the price Mk1 and 2 Golf and Jetta's are making.

4 cyl flathead http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moskvitch_400-420

Of course there's no price showing, he waiting to see how much profit he can make on his €400 investment :P:P

Parts for sale http://en.avtoclassika.com/cars/moskvich-400-420/

A price has been set - €5000 :eek::eek::P

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/moskvic-400-opel-kadett-1943/6001165

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭homingbird

The rear axle looks like its pushed out of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

I was full sure this had been scrapped..
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/classic-car/6001858
    Iv seen far better banger raced...
    Spose it's got nice wheels...

tc20 wrote: »
    something about that car caused me to look twice - i went to view that down in Cork when it was for sale by the previous owner towards the end of May this year. I'd been on the hunt for a 190 auto, and this was the first non-import i had seen. Rust issues were practically absent, but there was a large dent in the drivers door which the seller had neglected to mention. The current owner seems to have rectified this, but there still seems to be a bit of a ripple in the one of the photos, though that shouldn't put anyone off at that price.
    There were a number of other interior issues that made me not to pursue this one further, but perhaps the current seller has sorted these out. Highly specced and original Irish 190, worth a shot. American spec, definitely not.

Oh, i picked up a 1.8 auto myself recently ;) just having a few little jobs done, pics to follow in due course

Remember the 190 Exclusiv http://mercedes-190.co.uk/topic/6704613/1/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

an unusual spec, having factory bodykit, yet cloth and manual windows. I think the AMGs are an aftermarket fit on that one. It does look clean though.
    The 190 I recently bought has an unusual spec too: MB-tex interior, yet manual windows, and the one electric mirror, no sunroof, and (at the time) top of the range Blaupunkt with front speakers only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

daz16 wrote: »

Strong money but those heated electric seats are rare in an Irish car.
    Dunno where he's getting "American Spec" from. It's the right colour too.
    Stone cold daily driver. Miss mine.

............dunno what he's on with the US spec, but its a nice car and I'd pay that price for it if its rust free. That car would last forever !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

tc20 wrote: »
    an unusual spec, having factory bodykit, yet cloth and manual windows. I think the AMGs are an aftermarket fit on that one. It does look clean though.
    The 190 I recently bought has an unusual spec too: MB-tex interior, yet manual windows, and the one electric mirror, no sunroof, and (at the time) top of the range Blaupunkt with front speakers only

............I've seen it. Its been on DD for months, or at least it was on DD as few months back. Looks clean and the kit & wheels look well. Bit pricey but a clean 190E is a superb car. Think I'd try for a better spec though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/rover-p5b-coupe-1971-for-sale/5948332

This would have been a fine machine in its day. Lovely, lovely car.