Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

Confab wrote: »

drool .. white is the new black for the old white right?

surely this done up would be stunning!!! tax :mad: comfy cruising :D

ps: if somebody here buys it .. please pm ... i'd love to have a look!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

Makings of a fantastic bargain if it is presentable looking:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1820003

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,626 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

maidhc wrote: »
    Makings of a fantastic bargain if it is presentable looking:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1820003

Aye. But as with many cars in this thread, there is no NCT, so potential minefield. The skeptic in me argues as follows: why offer the car without a test for €1,000? Surely if there's nothing much wrong with it, get it sorted and tested and offer the car for €1,500?

I know it could well be genuine that it is awkward to get the car tested - I'm in a very similar situation myself. But that said, a cheap car without an NCT could be a nice attraction setup just to part a fool from his money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Bigus

Ok maybe one for BARGERnomics V12

2 k might buy it

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1722089Some 7 series fans around here

View2-4635555.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,626 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Bigus wrote: »

2 k might buy it

View2-4635555.jpeg

Your linky doesn't work, but here is the car you meant to link to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Bigus wrote: »

2 k might buy it

V12? probably get about 16mpg average? Tax would be ridiculous.....its...incredible. Drool...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

V12? probably get about 16mpg average? Tax would be ridiculous.....its...incredible. Drool...

Tax is the same from 3001cc and up. All 1566/year, doesn't matter how big the engine is or how many cylinders it has.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I'd buy that for the spares but I've promised myself no new cars this year :(

ah, it's a 5.4 - ah well

Someone on here needs to go get that machine !

16mpg average would be not too bad at all really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

unkel wrote: »
    The skeptic in me argues as follows: why offer the car without a test for €1,000?

some just want the cash ='s bargains for us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Marlow wrote: »
    Tax is the same from 3001cc and up. All 1566/year, doesn't matter how big the engine is or how many cylinders it has.

/M

As the man says your better of being hung for a sheep as a lamb.:) Lovley car and looks well kept. I doubt you would buy it for 2k.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    some just want the cash ='s bargains for us!

The essence of buying a car and getting a bargain is buying something no one else will go for. I bet if you look back through the 200 pages of this tread you wont find any low milage Golf TDis with decent tax and test.

What you find are
    1) Cars with no NCT
    2) Cars with big engines
    3) Cars damaged or something less than pristine
    4) Weird marques

... the essence of bangernomics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Infairness, 90% of cars have at least some sort of test on them!

true,but it means nothing that a car might be in test.....the clutch could be fcuked in a car with plenty of NCT left on it. So whilst you'd be legal on the road, you'd be on the side of the road.;)

We know, he was simply responding to a comment that said most of the cars in here have NO test ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Yes but it also means that you don't have to put a test on it, which is better than buying a car without one, which is better bangernomics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭pcardin

The essence of buying a car and getting a bargain is buying something no one else will go for. I bet if you look back through the 200 pages of this tread you wont find any low milage Golf TDis with decent tax and test.

What you find are
    1) Cars with no NCT
    2) Cars with big engines
    3) Cars damaged or something less than pristine
    4) Weird marques

... the essence of bangernomics.

lol...in fairness everything bar VW and BMW (sometimes audi) is concidered as weird marques here in Ireland. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

pcardin wrote: »
    lol...in fairness everything bar VW and BMW (sometimes audi) is concidered as weird marques here in Ireland. :D

That sounds a bit narrow. Toyota and Skoda are also largely common.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭pcardin

Marlow wrote: »
    That sounds a bit narrow. Toyota and Skoda are also largely common.

/M

True. I forgot about toyota. ;) Skoda (and audi) is more or less VW. Skoda is for VW people who want to be different and.....weird. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

This waterford 7 series from a few months back has re-appeared (at more than original price iirc)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1776364

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Just NCT'd, Low mileage, a little too low perhaps.....

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201102200870151

barryfitz wrote: »
    Just NCT'd, Low mileage, a little too low perhaps.....

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201102200870151

Dull & dirty but holy feck thats a lot of car for a grand. Its an old enough yoke though. Cracking bangernomics all the same. It'll do another 95,000 miles easy peasy.

Ok this is lower tier bangernomics but it could be a goodin if the mileage is reasonable? Of course the ad has all the info except the most important bit...the mileage.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1824404

Are they rubbish?

Ok this is lower tier bangernomics but it could be a goodin if the mileage is reasonable? Of course the ad has all the info except the most important bit...the mileage.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1824404

Are they rubbish?

The "Midnight Club" sticker would make me run a mile and not stop to look back.

Love the Lexus.

The "Midnight Club" sticker would make me run a mile and not stop to look back.

Love the Lexus.

Ah c'mon one tiny sticker would put you off a potentially excellent runner? You'd get that for 800 cash i reckon. Well i'd try anyway.:pac:

What would put me off it is the lack of info on mileage. Its probably galactic.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭manta356

langdang wrote: »
    This waterford 7 series from a few months back has re-appeared (at more than original price iirc)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1776364

Probably because it is now Nct'd till Oct 2012.
    Would be a good buy at €1200-€1500 though;)

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Great cars from what I have heard, great for motorway driving.

Citroen xsara's are great for motorway driving???.......I take it were were referring to the Lexus ??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

nice motor, if this running well.. you cant beat it
    and in 2 years it be 48e to tax.... now thats bangernomics
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1794279

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,384 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Copied from the Classic forum's "This week's bargain...." thread.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1825794

Not your ornery onager

robtri wrote: »
    nice motor, if this running well.. you cant beat it
    and in 2 years it be 48e to tax.... now thats bangernomics
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1794279

I thought they stopped the clock ticking on the tax though?

Still cool