Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2049883

yep, dunno, kinda think its growing on me....(the spoiler that is)

alfa.jpeg

But here's the one ya really, really want!:D

156_evo_rear_spoiler.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Either way the seller is a liar, the 1.8t-spark will never be economical in a 156. 5th gear isn't tall enough for motorway cruising and it's too much fun revving the bollix out of them working your way up the gears. I never managed to do better than ~30mpg in nearly 3 years of ownership.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2051611

cheap - 100 quid on spheres happy days

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Either way the seller is a liar, the 1.8t-spark will never be economical in a 156. 5th gear isn't tall enough for motorway cruising and it's too much fun revving the bollix out of them working your way up the gears. I never managed to do better than ~30mpg in nearly 3 years of ownership.

Its all relative....its like estate agent speak...its economical compared to a Hummer.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

650 negotiable Euros for a fridge a washing machine a Corolla with 2 years NCT and low miles ...and it's auto

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2036780

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

peasant wrote: »
    650 negotiable Euros for a fridge a washing machine a Corolla with 2 years NCT and low miles ...and it's auto

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2036780

nice little find there peasant , now if that came for 450 tum tum tum , hi love just taking 450 out of the oul account:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    Its all relative....its like estate agent speak...its economical compared to a Hummer.....:p

It's an absolute, if economy is a consideration, it's the wrong car. It should never be a head purchase, you'd only end up disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Pure bangernomics. Modern TDi engine, low mileage what more could you want.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/felicia/felicia/skoda/538936

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Pure bangernomics. Modern TDi engine, low mileage what more could you want.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/felicia/felicia/skoda/538936

Looks very clean :)

always liked the felicia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Is that not as Sdi or something? Hardly a 90 bhp Tdi O.o Class value if it is.

This belongs to a friend of mine, a dinger of a car and very comfortable.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2053505

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

ok it's not a luxobarge, but its a fine car for a grand, with low mileage but a few dings.http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2033432

Is that not as Sdi or something? Hardly a 90 bhp Tdi O.o Class value if it is.

This belongs to a friend of mine, a dinger of a car and very comfortable.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2053505

I'd imagine its the SDI, still its a right bargain even if it is. The SDI is very reliable :D

landyman wrote: »
    I'd imagine its the SDI, still its a right bargain even if it is. The SDI is very reliable :D

Engine maybe but they're very well known for dodgey gearbox and they cannot be got!

Ah I didn't know that, have no experience of the SDI, only know from the mechanic that the SDI engine is bulletproof

landyman wrote: »
    Ah I didn't know that, have no experience of the SDI, only know from the mechanic that the SDI engine is bulletproof

Aye, you learn as you go along. I was offered a 99 Sdi Golf for 350, went up and drove it and it wouldn't go into fifth. Thought I'd get a box handy but supposedly they're different from the tdis, a quick donedeal search showed a few of them forsale cheapily with dodgey boxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,633 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Pure bangernomics. Modern TDi engine

Modern? Are you joking? That engine is older than Jesus :D

No direct injection, no turbo, 60BHP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

padma wrote: »
    ok it's not a luxobarge, but its a fine car for a grand, with low mileage but a few dings.http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2033432

always loved them yokes...
    have such a sweet spot for them....
    Wrong wrong worng.. i Know... its a car you should hate... but cant help it on those... :o

padma wrote: »

Bangernomics at its best! A low mileage '02 Vectra with long NCT and some tax for less than a grand. Timing belt done too. Bargain!

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭markeymark

Here's an interesting left-field one. A quick car in it's day, looks in decent nick for the price, NCT for a bit...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2007667

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

markeymark wrote: »
    Here's an interesting left-field one. A quick car in it's day, looks in decent nick for the price, NCT for a bit...

that advert has been bumped a lot of times, started off a little over a grand i think, it probably won't hand around too long at 350, unless the chassis is rotten.

The asking price is €350 and there's about €200 worth of tax on it. And some NCT left. Jaysus!!!

I remember the Volcane from back in the day - fairly quick too iirc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I'd nearly be half interested in that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,418 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I'd nearly be half interested in that...

You will surely buy it so:D

mickdw wrote: »
    You will surely buy it so:D

I'd like it, but I secretly know there's not a hope in hell I'd buy it, hence why I used those words.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Back in the day me da got stuck with one of those on a trade in, what i remember was it was a rocket to go! Red, lovely car think he sold it to a father that put his son on his ins policy and was wrote off when going through a flood.

Lovely little things and quite rare (not quite one left in Ireland rare) but to get a good one they're few and far between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

interesting car this....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2013082

am tempted by this

I think those 9-5's are better than some people give them credit for.

Didn't early models have a cooled glove box across the range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Don't see too many of them in white!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

robtri wrote: »
    interesting car this....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2013082

am tempted by this

dont like to see sold as seen cause suggests something deeply wrong but take that out seems a frippin bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Top Dog wrote: »
    Don't see too many of them in white!

Didnt the Gardai have a few of these back in 1998

Just a thought