Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

padma wrote: »
    1000 for a 2001 toyota camry, nct for two years, no mention of mileage though. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2085258
    looks dog rough tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

1000 for a 2001 toyota camry, nct for two years, no mention of mileage though. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2085258

Think every panel on the passenger side has a dent on it. Again as per usual, a done deal ad with shocking photos.

1100 to buy but how much to get the car looking decent again? a few hundred at least. Hence the asking price i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

admit, its not the prettiest, bad picture, needs a wash and polish, bit of tlc and i'd say she'd be a fine motor. recently passed nct so all the usual stuffs are in shape.

Regarding the camry ad....

What the hell is going through some peoples heads when they decide to put their car on done deal? At least wash the feckin thing before you take pics of it & FFS take a few photos of the interior?! Mileage would be a nice bit of info as well if its not too much trouble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

admit, its not the prettiest, bad picture, needs a wash and polish, bit of tlc and i'd say she'd be a fine motor. recently passed nct so all the usual stuffs are in shape.
    To me the owner couldn't give a rats ass what was wrong with the car.
    No service history, so who know when it was ever serviced. The add actually says a lot about the car in one sense. Which is bad.
    As fonecrusher1 says, why the hell could they not be bothered to even wash the thing?
    It beggars belief sometimes.

Re the Camry, I can see one dent on the passenger side, it's tested for 2 years and the asking price is realistic. If it seemed fine on a test drive and quicl poke around the lack of service history etc wouldn't bother me in the slightest. Mileage and interior pics should be included though.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Re the Camry, I can see one dent on the passenger side, it's tested for 2 years and the asking price is realistic. If it seemed fine on a test drive and quicl poke around the lack of service history etc wouldn't bother me in the slightest. Mileage and interior pics should be included though.

RJ in all fairness it looks like a ball of sh!te from the pics.

Now i could be wrong but if he insists on throwing up poorly constructed ads like that then folks are naturally going be very cagey about taking the time to go look at a car that hasn't even been washed pre photo shoot.

Theres a 'i couldn't be arsed' vibe from the ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Now i could be wrong but if he insists on throwing up poorly constructed ads like that then folks are naturally going be very cagey about taking the time to go look at a car that hasn't even been washed pre photo shoot.

I actually reported that ad. I urge anybody here to do the same with ads that are full of nonsense search words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/2062051

"ANY CONDITION

Need To Sell Your Car / Van / Jeep For Cash And Need To Do It Now ??

Couldnt Be Bothered Getting It Valeted And Serviced And Ready For SaLE

Dont Wanna Deal With The Endless Amount Of Tyre Kickers With No Money ??

Call Us Now, We Have Cash Waiting !

We Want To Buy It TODAY No Matter What Condition !!"

^This is the Camry seller. Imagine what he paid for it if he's able to price it at that...

:p

don't be getting your knickers in a twist, on the passenger side I can see one dent, the bonnet looks like there is a big dent in it too but that could be the crap photo. The reflection of the house on the car doesn't help. If I was looking for a Camry I'd be ringing the lad at least. The asking price is quite small :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

one for RoverJames here , 2 years NCT yummy:)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2032714

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

almanu wrote: »

If it wasnt for the stupid spoiler i'd like that!

Edited to add I actually still like it, may go take a look during the weekend if its still there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

Max Power1 wrote: »
    If it wasnt for the stupid spoiler i'd like that!

Edited to add I actually still like it, may go take a look during the weekend if its still there

it will double as a breakfast bar , ironing board etc......:D

almanu wrote: »

It's priced very well too :) Savage yokes to go around corners.
    That spoiler isn't out of the way on it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2057000

View2-5967464.jpeg

No mention of mileage but it must be over 200k. If its as good as it looks then anything under a grand and you're on the pigs back i'd say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

View2-6093799.jpeg

€1,250
    95000 MILES FROM NEW RECENTLY SERVICED AND VALETED............

TIMING BELT CHANGED...... DRIVING PERFECT

No mention of test .......

54687015.jpg54688766.jpg

525d
    97 BMW 2.5 diesel estate,automatick,met silver,black leathear inter,CD,climat control,electr windows,mirrors,16ins alloy wheels,NCT till 04.12,no tax,good condition.

€1,950

Knock a few bob off, it would make a great work horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

homer90 wrote: »

€1,250

No mention of test .......

But they hoovered it and washed it. :D

Knock a few bob off, it would make a great work horse.

Workhorse :eek:
    Glad to see the recession has left you alone :p

Workhorse :eek:
    Glad to see the recession has left you alone :p

Your right - should have ran it past you first.....

Yes a workhorse........... IMO

About to move house - Could really do with an estate !!

Was only joking old boy, apologies if I offended.
    It looks a very presentable car in the add IMO :D

AH mate, Takes a lot to twist my biscuit... ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

If the engine is not fcuked then this could be quite a little bargain: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2086232

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

another bargain rover diesel, tax, test, lots of goodies, 875 quid

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2088169

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

This looks fairly tidy. NCT until may next year. €900

Full?id=6099710

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Picked up a 1996 Passat TDI saloon yesterday to keep me going for a month or two ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

h3000 wrote: »
    This looks fairly tidy. NCT until may next year. €900

Full?id=6099710

That's bangtidynomics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Onkle wrote: »
    I actually reported that ad. I urge anybody here to do the same with ads that are full of nonsense search words

I do that all the time too, any ads that take the piss with ridiculous search terms. In fairness to DD they come back very quickly with the matter resolved. I e-mailed them once asking about it and they encouraged me to report any ads I see that are abusing the system as it will help eliminate it.

So my advice.....Report report report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

AH mate, Takes a lot to twist my biscuit... ;):D

Awww.... I see a mandate coming
    Mr Magners wrote: »
    I do that all the time too, any ads that take the piss with ridiculous search terms. In fairness to DD they come back very quickly with the matter resolved. I e-mailed them once asking about it and they encouraged me to report any ads I see that are abusing the system as it will help eliminate it.

So my advice.....Report report report.

Yup, I've been at it a while now, Donedeal usually have it sorted within a couple of hours so fair play