Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Onkle wrote: »
    Awww.... I see a mandate coming

:D:D
    Yeah, just discussing if we are going to take the Rover, or my Jammer !!
    Onkle wrote: »
    Yup, I've been at it a while now, Donedeal usually have it sorted within a couple of hours so fair play

Reported one last night.....

They pulled the 100 or so key words on the add. However, the add had them back on within 15 min..... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

andyseadog wrote: »
    another bargain rover diesel, tax, test, lots of goodies, 875 quid

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2088169

& More obnoxious parking forum >>>>>>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I'm liking this......but its too dear ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1980573

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Looks immaculate and a full service history on a 22 year old car is a great find.

It's overpriced but not by much, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I'm liking this......but its too dear ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1980573

......And thats with the price reduced !!

Its a minter by all accounts...

I drove one of them 525i back in 2004, 'twas a 1989 reg too, savage yoke in fairness, drove like a new car. Was only €1500 or so iirc back then. Was doing Cork to Dublin twice a week most weeks at the time so didn't buy it :o Silly me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,675 ✭✭✭mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

mondeo wrote: »

Meh,

Child is too close to the car(hate those bastards on those stupid bikes)
    Driver side rear door looks a little roof, needs a close up.
    Car is not exactly clean. Get a freakin brush to those alloys man.

Warrants much closer inspection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭pcardin

This used to be bangernomics (sort of)...

http://www.gumtree.ie/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/bmw-730-30-automatic/76435993

but with every next owner it is getting dearer...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2017777

...and dearer.... :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2081191

3 owners since late march and increase in price nearly three times. Might be around 10k mark till the end of Year. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Berty wrote: »
    Meh,

Child is too close to the car(hate those bastards on those stupid bikes :))
    Driver side rear door looks a little roof, needs a close up.
    Car is not exactly clean. Get a freakin brush to those alloys man.

Warrants much closer inspection.

Smiley perhaps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

pcardin wrote: »
    This used to be bangernomics (sort of)...

http://www.gumtree.ie/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/bmw-730-30-automatic/76435993

but with every next owner it is getting dearer...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2017777

...and dearer.... :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2081191

3 owners since late march and increase in price nearly three times. Might be around 10k mark till the end of Year. :D
    Getting progressively dirtier on the outside too!

Wonder was the auto-box issue mentioned in the first advert actually sorted, or have the subsequent adverts just neglected to mention it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Top Dog wrote: »
    Getting progressively dirtier on the outside too!

Wonder was the auto-box issue mentioned in the first advert actually sorted, or have the subsequent adverts just neglected to mention it?
    Doubt it, hence the quick offload by each owner.
    Probablly feels ok on the test drive, but during the first two weeks of ownership you can imagine the feeling of "oh no, what have I gone and bought...??" as it hunts up and down the gearbox looking for the right gears.
    I can just hear the mecahnic for each owner now......"look, get rid of it while you still can and while there is a bit of NCT left"

Its a bag of bavarian shyte...........LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,398 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Berty wrote: »
    Child is too close to the car (hate those bastards on those stupid bikes).
    Bed . . . wrong side . . . out of . . got . . ? Or what? :confused:

Not your ornery onager

cadaliac wrote: »
    Doubt it, hence the quick offload by each owner.
    Probablly feels ok on the test drive, but during the first two weeks of ownership you can imagine the feeling of "oh no, what have I gone and bought...??" as it hunts up and down the gearbox looking for the right gears.
    I can just hear the mecahnic for each owner now......"look, get rid of it while you still can and while there is a bit of NCT left"
    I forgot the smilie to indicate my sarcasm - I agree entirely with you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

A surfmobile for 500 euro + a battery

media?xwm=y&id=11775666&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201113201779255

ok ...so it's petrol ...but if you only use it at weekends ....

peasant wrote: »
    A surfmobile for 500 euro + a battery

media?xwm=y&id=11775666&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201113201779255

ok ...so it's petrol ...but if you only use it at weekends ....

+ and DOE test and possible some expensive fixing.........NAaaaaaaaaaaaaa...........:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

And automatic? Its as rare as rocking horse sh1te!!

MidlandsM wrote: »
    + and DOE test and possible some expensive fixing.........NAaaaaaaaaaaaaa...........:pac:
    Advert says it needs NCT ... though that means passenger vehicle tax on a 2.5! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Dreamers lunatics section
    >

Hmmm

Slip in a Celica GT4 engine and you'd have a proper sleeper on your hands! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,398 ✭✭✭✭Esel

^ "full time 4WD" - interesting all right!

Not your ornery onager

squod wrote: »
    Dreamers lunatics section
    >

early 90's jap reliability, lots of goodies being the japanese import model, 4wd for our new found snowy winters, good economy.... if i got it for a grand i'd be well pleased.

granted its a bit of a donkey of a thing with a lumpy engine and cack paint, but it has plenty of merits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

early 90's jap reliability, lots of goodies being the japanese import model, 4wd for our new found snowy winters, good economy.... if i got it for a grand i'd be well pleased.

granted its a bit of a donkey of a thing with a lumpy engine and cack paint, but it has plenty of merits.

It's a bucket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

It's a bucket.

A bucket it may be, but it's a perfect basic for a nice sleeper project !!!!

Done right, this would be a scooby destroyer!!! Big help from the feather weight chassis!

Edit: i wouln't fancy a 100k-0 in 2 meters in this :)

It's a bucket.

if someone put a skoda badge on it, people would be coming in their droves for it! if it weren't for the flaking paint on the bonnet, its a difficult car to fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

A friend of mine is after getting an S320 LWB (95), tested for 6 months (The fella who I sold my E200 to).

It's black, ex-ministerial, full black leather, every extra (bar sat nav) double glazed windows etc.

I drove it yesterday and my god it has made me so very very tempted to buy one. The only problem is I've a slight incline into my estate and I couldn't manage more than 9mpg coming up the hill! That said it cost him 15€ to drive from Portarlington down to Limerick :) I'll try get pics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

a corolla, looks in good condition, weonder what are the small bits needed done on it. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2094440

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

padma wrote: »
    a corolla, looks in good condition, weonder what are the small bits needed done on it. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2094440

Jeez, he could have took a bucket and sponge to it before taking close ups of the wheels, could be worth a look at €500.