Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Ok apologies in advance for including this;- This may not be exactly applicable to this thread but its only 700 quid

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/2260194

I presume these jeeps at this age have more cons than pros. Could it turn out to be an expensive 700 euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Ok apologies in advance for including this;- This may not be exactly applicable to this thread but its only 700 quid

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/2260194

I presume these jeeps at this age have more cons than pros. Could it turn out to be an expensive 700 euro?
    The 2.5 is the less reliable (timing belt) and more sluggish version of the Pajero. Fairly reliable all the same though if looked after - just the pump seals have a tendancy to go on them which is an annoying job.

Plus it says its a commercial but its on UK plates in the pics so might have the hassle of getting it cleared too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

^^ 2.5 = run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Dr_Kolossus

Very nice looking 728i http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2263314 under 2k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

YAWN

Is there anything else going to get posted in this thread other than 728's

-Needs for nothing except two front wings :confused:
    -Seller states there are 156k kms on it but the odometer picture shows 139960k miles
    -no mention of NCT

It should struggle to make a grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I think the ad should read more like:
    Average condition and has only been used as a weekend car despite clocking up high mileage which I'm confused about.

This car needs for nothing except 2 front wings and lots of other work.
    Everywhere I go I get asked why do I keep it in a condition where it needs two new front wings

It has been checked for error codes only 2 weeks ago to remove all the warning lights and had the mileage adjust hence why I'm confused somewhat*

First to see will ask is this the same car I advertised on Donedeal

May not reflect actual car but sick of dodgy 728's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

mike65 wrote: »
    Feeling brave?

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201121388346830

Feeling eastern euopean is more like it

ha! The only V8 I've seen in the flesh was indeed on eastern plates - to wit

Dsc02076.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,418 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What the hell is that? Never seen one of those.

Looks like a C3 Audi 100 slowly morphing intp c4 audi 100

Its the Audi V8 (no other name) (1988-1994) the companies first true super saloon (and DTM racer) which was powered by 2 golf GTi engines welded together (so to speak), permanent 4 wheel drive, autobox as standard all the bits you could wish for and as rare as hens teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,633 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I doubt it will be coming to Ireland, Mike :)

Very interesting car and extremely rare, but that one is far from mint. And it will cost more than €2k to get it cleared. And you'll still pay €1,566 tax for another 11 years before it will go on classic tax :D

Why if it hadn't been for those pesky public servants....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2058797

Nct out in August, buts lots of fun for the money!

Full?id=5984319

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

Why if it hadn't been for those pesky public servants....!

Review here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY84a6mG3Ls&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,633 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Nct out in August, buts lots of fun for the money!

A lot of money for just two months of fun. The cynic in me suspects there's a reason your man didn't get it NCTd before the cut off date to give it a nice 26 month NCT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

The Nct means little in terms of mechanical integrity, its not the be all and end all. The UK MOT inspires more confidence actually imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Automatic!! :eek: Frankly i'd rather sell snow to a eskimo than try and sell that thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I Was VB wrote: »
    Automatic!! :eek: Frankly i'd rather sell snow to a eskimo than try and sell that thing.

Jaysus! I didn't even see that, ewww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

unkel wrote: »
    A lot of money for just two months of fun. The cynic in me suspects there's a reason your man didn't get it NCTd before the cut off date to give it a nice 26 month NCT...

damn right. most of performance cars dont have ncts for a reason :rolleyes:. that reason is emitions...

its auto too... i thought you could get one of those in manual for not that different money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Automatics are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,472 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If that's the INVECS II gearbox out of the FTO then it'll be great for an automatic. learns your driving style and adjusts the smoothness/aggression of gearshifts accordingly. also has Tipronic mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If that's the INVECS II gearbox out of the FTO then it'll be great for an automatic. learns your driving style and adjusts the smoothness/aggression of gearshifts accordingly. also has Tipronic mode.

retrofit paddle shifters would be an option then

Jaysus! I didn't even see that, ewww.

He even left blank the space where it says transmission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Smoker .....maybe in more ways than one but he says its recently tested. Big note for a mega barge, you cant go wrong,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2265277

View2-6831116.jpeg

So Uncool its cool. C'mon, someone here's got to buy this :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2019787

View2-5813512.jpeg

Saab Ed wrote: »

View2-5813512.jpeg

Taxed for 5 1/2 months, €500 back for it in December and it was more or less free driving.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Taxed for 5 1/2 months, €500 back for it in December and it was more or less free driving.

If it was'nt fot the fact that there's currently a project Saab in the front garden, a starlet being driven by my mate so to have somewhere to store it and a bid just put on a VW camper , I'd be buying this. Along with my daily drive plus the wifes car there'd be just nowhere to put it nevermind the fact she'd kill me :D Man I'd love that yoke.

Saab Ed wrote: »

View2-5813512.jpeg

Now thats more like it!!! Always prefered them to the Saloons, and the thing is its the skoda octavia of its day on boot space, the question is now how many skoda octavias can you fit in the boot of a 240 estate.