Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2112813

new everything, plus a nice cd player, and nct'ed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2291936

taxed till sep, nct'ed for almost another year,
    300 buys it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

^ Now thats cheap motoring.

DINGER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

^ Now thats cheap motoring.
    2 in a row.

DINGER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

argosy2006 wrote: »

Holy crap thats cheap : O

low miles too

Plus the reliable albeit noisy kent engine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2291936

taxed till sep, nct'ed for almost another year,
    300 buys it ?

Could turn a few bob on that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,398 ✭✭✭✭Esel

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I propose this -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2277739

I know its not 1 or 2k, but its a lot of premim german suv with a 4.4 stove for 5k or over ish. what were these new, 90k? or 100 spec'd up? it looks mint, will have a new nct etc......I think Bangernomics is not always about yokes for 1k or 1,500 notes, sometime more....
    Seller needs to sort out his eleventy one fixation!!!! Puts me right off!!!!!! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,398 ✭✭✭✭Esel

When my niece was looking for her first car, I suggested a Ka.

Reply: "They look like a tent on wheels!"

I laughed anyway. :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,631 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Thanks argosy2006. Your posts prove that you can get a decent car with a long-ish NCT for only a few hundred euro. Why even think of spending money on a car without NCT???

And as landyman says, the engine in the Ka is not the most modern engine in the world (understatement of the year :D) but it is reliable and no timing belt to change!

60BHP in a car like a Ford Ka is more than adequate for most people

The Ka and Ibiza are looney cheap. Ka suspiciously so, new clutch and serviced bla bla and asking price is tiny. Strange, nice wheels on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Full?id=6693542
    New NCT, very clean, diesel and An excellent ad too.
    High mileage though, maybe an ex taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

If the car was NCT'ed last week why is it up in April 12 ? Is it not meant to be two years or am I missing something here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭pcardin

RoverJames wrote: »
    Barge with tax you say........
    July, Aug and Sep paid for, Oct won't bring you any worries either.

Actually according to this that car is for sale as non runner. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Full?id=6693542
    New NCT, very clean, diesel and An excellent ad too.
    High mileage though, maybe an ex taxi.

That should be in the dreamers thread, not this.Nice motor, not more than a grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

That Saab looks a fine motor, the only thing I never liked about them is the dash layout. A citreon berlingo would have a move appealing dashboard

jimmyw wrote: »
    That should be in the dreamers thread, not this.Nice motor, not more than a grand.

If I was stuck for a car ATM I'd be taking a trip into deepest, darkest Longford to rescue it! €1400 ain't bad. She's spotless, diesel, NCT'd and high spec. Mileage is a turn-off though.

......... She's spotless........

I wonder how clean it is when all that plastic dressing sh1t on the inside dries a bit :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    I wonder how clean it is when all that plastic dressing sh1t on the inside dries a bit :pac:

Yea, approach the steering wheel with a welding mask such is the glare:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

That Saab looks a fine motor, the only thing I never liked about them is the dash layout. A citreon berlingo would have a move appealing dashboard

I always thought that too, horrible horrible dash!

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Armadillo

I think the seller of the saab is the valeter in this case. Googled the mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

If I was stuck for a car ATM I'd be taking a trip into deepest, darkest Longford to rescue it! €1400 ain't bad. She's spotless, diesel, NCT'd and high spec. Mileage is a turn-off though.

Hence Why she is overpriced.Great condition though otherwise.Saabs wear their mileage well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

cadaliac wrote: »
    As one of the single most uncomfortable and boring cars I ever had the misfortune to sit into, I strongly disagree with you there.
    Apart from very small cars, that flavour corolla has a drivers seat that just doesn't travel back far enough for me (6ft). Let alone for a taller person.
    Comfortable it is not. Reliable yes.
    And, for that price, it fits quite nicely into the bangernomics thread, albeit €200 ~ €300 over priced.

Im 6ft 2 & 17 stone & i find it grand. Ive travelled all over the country in my rolla with not a bother. But i take your point.
    Top Dog wrote: »
    Friend of mine has one for the past few years - and its in the garage on an almost monthly basis with failing coil packs, wiper motors, central locking issues and plenty more. Might take one if it was given to me for free, but thats the only way I'd ever have one.

Christ imagine that a car thats had a few problems!? Oh well thats it, thats me finished with toyota forever now since that one car your friend owns has a few faults....that must mean they're all sh!te.:rolleyes:

Im not really a toyota fanatic or anything lads so i won't be going mad trying to defend them. Each to their own & all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

If the car was NCT'ed last week why is it up in April 12 ? Is it not meant to be two years or am I missing something here ?

NCT's are on a fixed cycle, they don't last 2 years from when it is done, so it's possible the NCT was out for a while.

Just continuing a bit longer with the Toyota facination dicussion

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2107221

Very 'brief' advert, milage or length of NCT not stated, if both were reasonable and the seller would welcome a haggle surely this would be a decent chariot for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭but43r

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2279808

That would be some machine for the money if you could get the garage to put a years NCT on it.

but43r wrote: »

That would be some machine for the money if you could get the garage to put a years NCT on it.

I'd hate having to tax it mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

but43r wrote: »

Therein lies the potential problem. Standard (aside from emissions) NCT fails like balljoints/bushings are massive money on those motors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

E39MSport wrote: »
    Therein lies the potential problem. Standard (aside from emissions) NCT fails like balljoints/bushings are massive money on those motors.

but their are alot of them going for nothing atm, so if you drive an altezza or similar, atleast you can do a 2jz swap for next to nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

2004 RX8 for €1,999, but add says "no reasonable offer turned down", something must be wrong with it????? :confused:

Very low mileage too.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2293983

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Col200sx wrote: »
    2004 RX8 for €1,999, but add says "no reasonable offer turned down", something must be wrong with it????? :confused:

Very low mileage too.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2293983

I'd imagine it's a typo or has a big problem. I was/am considering buying a RX8 but I am always afraid to by one second hand. So much can go wrong if they are not looked after properly.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3