Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

cadaliac wrote: »
    Are You serious?
    If that car has big miles on it, the car could be end of life. It could cost plenty to keep on the road.
    Just because it has a valid NCT doesn't mean it won't cost anything to keep running.
    Mileage is a very real and important factor when buying a car, whether it be 2 or 20 years old.
    I like well maintained high milers myself but mileage is of course a huge factor for me. Especially when I do a lot of miles myself.

Mileage is only a concern when buying something thats fairly fresh, when it comes to bangernomic's condition over mileage is the key.

Back last year i bought a high mileage Avensis 03 with 314K miles for bangernomic money its still on the road now, its now covered 360K miles only thing its needed is a wishbone coil pack and thats it. A car that nobody would of went near regardless of condition, but purely based one mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

unkel wrote: »
    You must have missed that I thanked the post before I replied ;)

I was just curious what the mileage would be, that's all...

My first guess was "probably somewhere between 200k and 500k" - if anyone finds out, please post back here :)

Well then you were not entirely serious/overly concerned by the miles, so you've answered my question and it's all good.

On the subject of NCT, i don't really give a crap about NCT as long as the car is in good order as i don't trust the NCT at all, far too much variance, too much corruption and ignorant, poorly trained, disinterested testers in many centres. I worked in the motor business in the area of leasing, hire and maintenance over the last 10 years and also have bought and sold second hand cars since i was around 13 due to my father also having been in the business, so i got into it too naturally enough. Have got hundreds of cars tested and been around cars to have seen enough repairs, servicing etc to know good from bad, i can tell a good sound car easily and while i'm nto a mechanic i have good knowledge of the mechanics of a car and have the opportunity to consult with a good mechanic if i need to so as a result i do not worry about NCT, only to the extent that it's nice to have it on the window selling a car as people put blind faith in it, and it's also nice not to have the gardai on your back about it. But i've seen enough variation from centre to centrre to never fully trust it again.

Anyway ,

here's one option for cheap motoring:

under a grand, dull, boring, plian, utterly reliable, easy to live with dependable transport. Corolla
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2291678

another option good for a young driver or someone wanting a nifty runaround great for city driving:

Seat arosa
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2257650

And for someone looking for a cheap and massive car great for eating up miles in comort.
    Omega estate

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2190477

practical diesel family car:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2301832

golf diesel estate, cheap, great diesel engines, great mpg, nice bit of space in the back and very sturdy so a good family car or cheap load lugger

And lastly a big lazy diesel cruiser

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2299345

mercedes 300 diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,631 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    On the subject of NCT, i don't really give a crap about NCT as long as the car is in good order as i don't trust the NCT at all

For someone with your experience it seems very unwise to not care whether or not a car has a (long) valid NCT? :confused:

Many a bangernomics car without an NCT that fails on e.g. emissions is a write-off...

For someone with your experience it seems very unwise to not care whether or not a car has a (long) valid NCT? :confused:

Many a bangernomics car without an NCT that fails on e.g. emissions is a write-off...

I care if it passes the nct if i want to sell it, and as i said it's good to have it on the window to keep the gards off your back, but i don't believe the NCT cert being on a car is in anyway a guarantee of suitable mechanical condition. I simply don't trust the test standards so for me it's not top priority. But if i'm confident enough in the car to buy it, i'll be pretty confident that it's good enough to pass any reasonable test easily enough. For my own personal use i'd rather buy a car that's a good honest sound car that may need a few minor adjustments to pass that silly and poorly supervised test, but is in perfectly good working order to be used than something that scraped past because of testers not paying that much attention or due to bribery, knowing the right people or just plain luck on the day. And, as i'm sure many other boards people have done i've often made a reasonable bit by buying perfectly good cars that people have given up on because they couldnt sort out something like a set of brake pads and a few bushings etc and had been quoted silly money to fix then getting it sorted out and selling.

Some cars pass the test that really shouldn't and some fail on a minor stupid thing and then people throw them away in horror thinking it can't possibly ever be saved just because it failed on something small.

I never said i would just go out and buy and car without nct just for the hell of it or anything but i don't hold other people's blind faith in the NCT as definiive proof of condition/ fitness for purpose.

However, the cars i listed above, do have nct for those concerned about it.

anyway this is distracting from the purpose of the thread far more than originally intended so PM me instead if you want to have a long conversation about it, not that i particularly feel like it

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

out of all the cool and interesting stuff sold on the japanese market why in gods name would you import a e46 318i automatic
    maybe just to be different

the bolt wrote: »
    maybe just to be different

maybe it was cheap/ part of a good deal with some other stuff, or perhaps whoever did it was just misguided. It does seem a little pointless though unless there was a very good reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I Was VB wrote: »
    Back last year i bought a high mileage Avensis 03 with 314K miles for bangernomic money its still on the road now, its now covered 360K miles only thing its needed is a wishbone coil pack and thats it. A car that nobody would of went near regardless of condition, but purely based one mileage.

What's going to happen to that now you've got the Superb?

With 360k, I presume it's become a bit of a 'wedding ring'?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

VolvoMan wrote: »
    What's going to happen to that now you've got the Superb?

With 360k, I presume it's become a bit of a 'wedding ring'?

Keep it, no point in selling it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2301717
    taxed and ncted, all for 295,

i don't believe the NCT cert being on a car is in anyway a guarantee of suitable mechanical condition.

Who said it was? :)

I'd rather not drive around in a car without a valid NCT cert though, risking a €1,500 fine and 5 penalty points!

(If I were a guard, I'd strictly enforce this - it would bring some much needed money into the state coffers and as soon as people realised it was taken seriously, a lot of death traps would be off the road for good)

argosy2006 wrote: »

€240 now. For a car with tax and test. I don't think we've ever seen a taxed and tested car for this low an amount. You're holding the official BCOTW record :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Now thats value

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2263765

long nct , new belt, good tyres,
    and only a 1.6 engine,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

another option good for a young driver or someone wanting a nifty runaround great for city driving:

Seat arosa
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2257650

Usually I hate small cars like that but it does indeed look well. Say it would be decent on insurance for someone young (like mise) aswell. :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2302642

with an nct like that its worth 500 all day long , looks mint to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

There's nowt wrong with that!... must be dreaming... is it really on done deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That's a very clean looking Polo!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Feck, thats some deal...........:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Question for all Bangernomics gurus... I'm about to run out of NCT on my Corsa and would like another car. Do I buy one for €700 and hope it holds together or do I keep saving?

Confab wrote: »
    Question for all Bangernomics gurus... I'm about to run out of NCT on my Corsa and would like another car. Do I buy one for €700 and hope it holds together or do I keep saving?

What're you looking/hoping to get? How bad is the Corsa?

How bad is the Corsa?

23mpg bad, NCT up in mid July and it won't pass.
    What're you looking/hoping to get?

I don't need a car urgently but it's very handy to have. I'm looking for something Focus-like, max 1.6 FWD because I'm on a provisional. Don't mind the brand as long as it's not Opel. Ideally slightly fun to drive but not really necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Has it been resprayed?

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Has it been resprayed?

It does look very red for a '97. Wheel arches are red too. But who'd bother respraying that piece of junk?

Confab wrote: »

Buy one for €700 that will hold together and that should make €500 back in 6 months time :) There isn't really much hoping involved if you are wise when buying. The Prelude, ole Merc and Rover Coupe I bought were all cheap but all went into 300/350 mile per week routine shortly after I got them. And the Coupe gave plenty warning the box was w&nked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

RoverJames wrote: »
    Buy one for €700 that will hold together and that should make €500 back in 6 months time :) There isn't really much hoping involved if you are wise when buying. The Prelude, ole Merc and Rover Coupe I bought were all cheap but all went into 300/350 mile per week routine shortly after I got them. And the Coupe gave plenty warning the box was w&nked.

A guy at work just bought a perfectly sound 99 Zafira on Saturday for.......€100. FFS, how the hell did I miss that ?

If you used it once, to go to Dublin Airport (from Galway), on a one-way trip, it'd be cheaper than a taxi ride !!

Hell, if the engine fell out of it tomorrow, it'd worth more than that.

They Are Out There !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Has it been resprayed?

looks like it just was waxed and valeted as tyres are shiny to from a product,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

€240 now. For a car with tax and test. I don't think we've ever seen a taxed and tested car for this low an amount. You're holding the official BCOTW record :)
    I'm curious as to what kind of repair this needs?
    Might be some serious problems.

Edit:
    I just found this:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2302636
    I know its priced a bit high for a non turbo but you should be able to take it home for less than asking.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

WIN!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2227664

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

WIN!

Including 3 months tax, bargain!

WIN!

2001? Jesus H Christ what the hell is wrong with it? I'd buy it just to look at it!