Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

What are the Cougar like to drive?

They are based on a Mondeo so really they shouldn't be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

VolvoMan wrote: »
    They are based on a Mondeo so really they shouldn't be that bad.

Agreed.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Cougar_(Europe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The Cougar's passenger door is out of alignment (lower by about 1cm). Wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Confab wrote: »
    The Cougar's passenger door is out of alignment (lower by about 1cm). Wonder why?
    Caused by the dent in the wing maybe? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I was in an yard today and saw a 735 (or possibly 740?) 1997

Its going to be squashed in a while.. Any one want an engine , leather interior , anything . Pm me for details .Louth

Regards Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,627 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Long NCT and only a grand. What are the Cougar like to drive?

I like the looks of them but apparently they are awful to drive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

unkel wrote: »
    I like the looks of them but apparently they are awful to drive?
    They're awful to stop anyway from what I've heard! (altho not sure if it was the 2.0 or the 2.5)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

rugbyman wrote: »
    I was in an yard today and saw a 735 (or possibly 740?) 1997

Its going to be squashed in a while.. Any one want an engine , leather interior , anything . Pm me for details .Louth

Regards Rugbyman

If it's blue I'll take the two doors :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Forest Fire

MidlandsM wrote: »
    shyte........:D

but shure, its value!

Dunno what it is about Ford's...they just look so bland and insipid. I mean, what is it about the styling that spells YAWN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

why do people cover the plates on their adverts? i always think they've something to hide from the 'motorcheck' websites so get put off them rather fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

If it's blue I'll take the two doors :P

just had a brief look. think its dark green. will look again.

Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,627 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    why do people cover the plates on their adverts?

Yeah I never get that either. You'd drive on the public road with both plates for everybody to see, so why not show them in your ads?

rugbyman wrote: »
    just had a brief look. think its dark green. will look again.

Rugbyman

Probably take them anyway, let me know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

unkel wrote: »
    Yeah I never get that either. You'd drive on the public road with both plates for everybody to see, so why not show them in your ads?

• So Nigerians cant take your advert and clone it. (I motor checked a scam car once and it cost me moneyz)
    • If a car is modified and has undeclared modifications
    • Paranoia
    • Everybody else does it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    why do people cover the plates on their adverts? i always think they've something to hide from the 'motorcheck' websites so get put off them rather fast.

I rang about an Aegean Blue E39 530d in Galway last week and the seller wouldnt give me the reg to do a history check!

kceire wrote: »
    I rang about an Aegean Blue E39 530d in Galway last week and the seller wouldnt give me the reg to do a history check!

That's odd! What did they say?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

LOL.......what a dickhead!:confused::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Oh yes, bask in its glorious sh!tness :D

Short tax which likely suggests short test but my guess says its owner cant afford a 2 litre car anymore and it probably needs no more than day to day stuff to pass i.e tyres etc. Auto too for a grand.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2349704

Full?id=7180752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

That is PROPER bangernomics!! An 8 year old, spacious, reliable and comfortable bus for a grand. It says new NCT as well.

It'll drive like a boat and has zero charisma or entertainment factor but if all you want is an A to B yoke, it'd be hard to beat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I love that Merc. But it just doesn't look comfortable for tall people to drive. The steering wheel is usually very low down?

I love those mercs too.

Plus there fitted with an oil pressure gauge. An incredibly useful gauge imo. Never understood why more cars didn't have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Oh yes, bask in its glorious sh!tness :D

Full?id=7180752

What a hunk of Korean bangernomics - Apparently better built than its Hyundai Sonata half brother - Good if you want people to point at you and say - 'He could afford a 14 year old Beemer, but still bought that piece of poo'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

TrailerBob wrote: »
    Good if you want people to point at you and say - 'Give us a lift home ya racistDublin taxi driver'

Fixed it for you

It'll drive like a boat and has zero charisma or entertainment factor but if all you want is an A to B yoke, it'd be hard to beat

It could also appear to be a new model E-Class to the untrained eye:

Full?id=7180752

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSUHxRZp6A_3rSOzlo4-n2cEj9YW_uwpaUbmY3GBg89H_r2_5f7BQ&t=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

VolvoMan wrote: »
    It could also appear to be a new model E-Class to the untrained eye:

Full?id=7180752

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSUHxRZp6A_3rSOzlo4-n2cEj9YW_uwpaUbmY3GBg89H_r2_5f7BQ&t=1
    Ah here, that's pushing the boundaries a fair bit!!

Maybe I could've chosen a better picture, but the headlamps definitely have a resemblance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭mcw92

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

That's odd! What did they say?

me - Hi, is the 530d still for sale?
    him - Yes it is.
    me - Can i have the reg to do a mortorcheck report?
    him - Well i dont really want to give out the reg.
    me - Well how do you expect people to verify the cars history?
    him - yeah i understand but i dont really want to give out the reg.
    me - thanks, and i hung up before he got the chance to say another word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,712 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Already sold:confused:

Age 9 hours
    Sold 2 hours ago

Not bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

me - Hi, is the 530d still for sale?
    him - Yes it is.
    me - Can i have the reg to do a mortorcheck report?
    him - Well i dont really want to give out the reg.
    me - Well how do you expect people to verify the cars history?
    him - yeah i understand but i dont really want to give out the reg.
    me - thanks, and i hung up before he got the chance to say another word.

thats fcuking classic......
    what a nutcase...