Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

vectra wrote: »
    This would be my pick out of your bunch Vecta.

I cannot believe the lack of effort put into adverts at times..The photos of this car and the description are not exactly endearing - a quick power hose, details of the milage a 3 extra photos would go a long way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,472 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Anyone looking to part with €700 :cool:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2361162

Full?id=7228188

Pity there's no leather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,566 ✭✭✭✭vectra

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Pity there's no leather

Leather comes at an extra cost :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2358016

Full?id=7215164

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Vectra you must have high speed broadband, I can't keep up with all cars you are dishing up tonight:pac:

Not really. 8mb only.
    Looking at getting 24mb upgrade :pac:

eugene, eircom rejigged their pricing there, 24mb same price as 8mb advanced was. Unlikely you'll get 24mb though but you can check what speed your line takes on eircom site.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    eugene, eircom rejigged their pricing there, 24mb same price as 8mb advanced was. Unlikely you'll get 24mb though but you can check what speed your line takes on eircom site.

Can''t find where to test.
    Have you got a link please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Leather comes at an extra cost :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2358016

I would love one of these yokes. That one looks nice, anything bad that can happen them????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,627 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Can''t find where to test.
    Have you got a link please?

Speedtest.net is the most reliable out there :)

I have 30mb with UPC, soon to be upgraded to 50mb free of charge. Always get full speed with UPC :)

unkel wrote: »

I have 30mb with UPC, soon to be upgraded to 50mb free of charge. Always get full speed with UPC :)

Speedtest only tells you your bb speed.. Not what speed your line can handle :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

According to that I've 7mb, can't imagine what 50 is like :eek:

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I would love one of these yokes. That one looks nice, anything bad that can happen them????

No idea,
    I would consider one for my next motor though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

No idea,
    I would consider one for my next motor though :pac:
    class looking cars imo.. and a brilliant motor for micra money!

Speedtest only tells you your bb speed.. Not what speed your line can handle :o

Go to eircom site, then to the ngb section, there's a bit where you can see if your area has ngb. Put in your phone number and it'll give you the line rating.
    Fwiw, upc 100mb is still cheaper than eircom 24mb and you still get dsp line rental allowance. Upc may not be where you live though.

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off topic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

unkel wrote: »

Smug fecker. Can't get UPC in my area, and Magnet are awful. We have 10mb but I can't even watch Youtube videos in one go.

Oh these horrifying first world problems...

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

According to that I've 7mb, can't imagine what 50 is like :eek:

Well instead of goin' lookin; for porn , porn comes lookin' for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I have the later model but I think these ones are pretty reliable as well. Obviously maybe some suspension worries at this stage. I've driven one and they are fairly good to go as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1716171
    2.9l volvo, nct Feb 2012 ex Swedish govt car? 91000 mls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

nom nom nom.

Proper bangernomics.

...........35mpg..........This is a rare prestige car with very low maintenance and running costs. worth over 3,000 [book value not relevant these are sought after by enthusiasts } .............very low maintenance, exceptional road holding and presence. used as Swedish govt state car.
    .Reluctant sale ,any test welcome. FINAL reduction euro 1,295 ,giveaway price 087 2310982 serious calls, no texts

some bits of the add are looney, book market not relevent and it's worth over €3000 :rolleyes:
    Exceptional road holding, in a straight line maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

4 months tax & 1 year NCT.

Knock a few euro off the asking and its a fair old barge if its straight..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2019787

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    My mate had one of them, its was an offical gov car. It was an awful bucket of muck, slow, thirsty and had a couple of quite dangerous faults. The electrics had a habit of dying at motorway speeds.
    Not this one.
    Ad says it's "very relaxing"! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

My mate had one of them, its was an offical gov car. It was an awful bucket of muck, slow, thirsty and had a couple of quite dangerous faults. The electrics had a habit of dying at motorway speeds.

I had a 95 one of these and I didnt find it slow,thirsty a little but still got 250 miles to a tank of petrol around town and I never had any electrical problems with it.
    I loved it

This one looks clean but is way over priced (IMO)

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

RoverJames wrote: »
    some bits of the add are looney, book market not relevent and it's worth over €3000 :rolleyes:
    Exceptional road holding, in a straight line maybe.

It is definitely worth over three grand, the seller just don't wanna take advantage and is obviously a member of a christian faith and full of it's charity.

full of it anyway.

I have the later model but I think these ones are pretty reliable as well. Obviously maybe some suspension worries at this stage. I've driven one and they are fairly good to go as well.

Thanks Padraig I see a load of GS 300`S on Donedeal for around the 1200 mark. They are a savage Luxobarge for small money. I think a few of them give gearbox trouble. Ill start a thread on one when my piggy bank is full..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I don't know about the 760, but the 960/S90 was a marvellous car. It had a lovely smooth Porsche developed 204bhp straight six and was built in a period when Volvo quality was at its highest. I think your mate might have just had a lemon.

The seller of the above S90 is talking bollocks by the way. Yes, it most likely was a government car in its home country, but isn't that the way with all flagship cars? I also remember it being for sale last year for 700 quid without an NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Thanks Padraig I see a load of GS 300`S on Donedeal for around the 1200 mark. They are a savage Luxobarge for small money. I think a few of them give gearbox trouble. Ill start a thread on one when my piggy bank is full..:)
    warranty direct's breakdown stats for that model list 0% transmission faults!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I dunno, the GS doesn't seem to be as reliable as the LS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Intresting I the few I seen have problem with gearbox listed. Maybe its the same ad I am looking at..:D