Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

That is tempting. Very tempting.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

How could you go wrong? I know there's no test but jesus....

My only worry with a car like that would be that it's a clocked ex taxi. Juding by the interior in the pics I seriously doubt that. If I was in the market for a car the lack of NCT wouldn't stop me looking at it, if she was straight I'd gamble on it.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Nice looking s40 with a couple of months tax and 18 months test. A grand would probably take it away.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2466325

My only worry with a car like that would be that it's a clocked ex taxi. Juding by the interior in the pics I seriously doubt that. If I was in the market for a car the lack of NCT wouldn't stop me looking at it, if she was straight I'd gamble on it.

Go for it and post picture here, if it's still there that is.

If my MKIV Golf GTi annoys me again this week I just might. I need to punt it on first though otherwise.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Had two of these little dymanos in my time. Absolute bean tin lacking in style, substance or carisma, but man did I love them. great engine, solid gearbox and brakes were deadly too.

Ah well, if not for anything else, we can always run them down a field and jump over a road with'em. Cheap kicks for that sort of craic :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIoYiDGdlTI

/M

VEHICLE
    Vehicle Registration Number 00D94917
    Vehicle Details NISSAN / MAXIMA
    Change Of Vehicle Ownership
    Transferred to an Individual on :

Notified on : 30/07/2011

05/08/2011
    Vehicle Registration Certificate
    Most recent Vehicle Registration Certificate issued on : 12/08/2011

On second thoughts... Maybe whomever has it bought it and realised there's something major wrong with it...

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

kieranfitz wrote: »

They all look a bit shagged to me!

I mean the Passat looks rough enough, although it does have NCT.

The 406 doesn't mention NCT.

And the Golf looks pretty terrible! I certainly wouldn't part with 800 for it! I know there's bargaining but still.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

The passats the pick of the bunch, for ease of moving on, and the ability to clock up astonishing milage. Overpriced tho'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Now I really like this

735i
    Price: € 1,550

Full?id=6833816

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

h3000 wrote: »
    Now I really like this

735i

Not the best colour for a 7. Nice all the same for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

homer90 wrote: »
    Not the best colour for a 7. Nice all the same for the money.

No mention of anything on the windscreen to keep the gardai at bay but at that price you could break it and get most or all of the money back if it wouldn't pass a test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I quite like the colour of that 7'er, it looks well, and has a nice set of alloys. Someone buy it please;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

They all look a bit shagged to me!
    And the Golf looks pretty terrible! I certainly wouldn't part with 800 for it! I know there's bargaining but still.

I know the owner of the Golf and believe me its had a hard life...;)

Lend me 1500 quid for that 7 er and I will buy it..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

I quite like the colour of that 7'er, it looks well, and has a nice set of alloys. Someone buy it please;)

here is a nice one

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2327515

jimmynokia wrote: »

Wheels are kack.. Whats with the cardboard on the plates I hate that.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Wheels are kack.. Whats with the cardboard on the plates I hate that.

19 inch alpina! what do you want bus wheels LOL:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Nice? Looks skangered to me! :eek:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Nice? Looks skangered to me! :eek:

EACH TO THEIR OWN:eek:

19 inch alpina! what do you want bus wheels LOL:D

They would be prettier at least. Black glass allround too..

Are you sure it wasnt the Skangermobile thread you meant to post it in..:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

h3000 wrote: »
    Now I really like this

735i

Full?id=6833816

If there's a bit of NCT on it that's fantastic value IMO. I wouldn't let mine go for less than €2.5k. In fact I wouldn't even bother selling mine for that as there's nothing as nice out there that I could pick up for that money.

I don't like the E65 wheels on it though.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    They would be prettier at least. Black glass allround too..

Are you sure it wasnt the Skangermobile thread you meant to post it in..:pac::pac:

A skangermobile is a micra dressed up as a skyline with a clown sporting a cap driving with the window half way down and his crappy stereo bursting the crappy speakers WITH silly hubs two dice hanging from the mirror and a sticker in the back window saying turbo LOL:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

So guys I jumped back into the bangernomics ring myself today and brought this home today. 2002, tested for a year with a couple of months tax. Its Vector spec so it has near enough everything for a 9-5 of this vintage. Nice tan leather too. Its near enough mint and the glovebox is full of receipts including a sump off and a chemical clean only last month. It wants for nothing, there's even 2 brand new Dunlop 17" tyres up front. All this for 1400 quid and I'm well chuffed :)

PS - Could one of the mods please convert the computer speak to an actuall picture as I have no idea how this is done. Thanks in advance, Ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,566 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Saab Ed wrote: »
    So guys I jumped back into the bangernomics ring myself today and brought this home today.

Looks bloody nice..
    Well done and well wear..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Boom! :D

172305.jpg

Nice car btw

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭krank

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2441070 Lovely looking. No mention of tax but could be worth a shot if negotiated down to a grand.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2337560 If only it didn't have 'some dents' and was taxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Saab Ed wrote: »
    So guys I jumped back into the bangernomics ring myself today and brought this home today. 2002, tested for a year with a couple of months tax. Its Vector spec so it has near enough everything for a 9-5 of this vintage. Nice tan leather too. Its near enough mint and the glovebox is full of receipts including a sump off and a chemical clean only last month. It wants for nothing, there's even 2 brand new Dunlop 17" tyres up front. All this for 1400 quid and I'm well chuffed :)

PS - Could one of the mods please convert the computer speak to an actuall picture as I have no idea how this is done. Thanks in advance, Ed.

Very nice...I almost pulled the trigger on that a couple of weeks ago when I spotted it on another motoring forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura