Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,904 ✭✭✭patrickc

Hiace. wrote: »
    Depends how you drive em.

Like most petrols of this size, keep the revs as low as possible, and keep a light right foot and you should get about 35-38 mpg. Unless you're doing a lot of miles (say 15k plus) it competes well enough with a diesel, as there is less maintenance and less to go wrong, You'll also get a cleaner lower mileage car for far less bucks. You'll also have more power on tap for when you do need it to overtake etc.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    The 1.9td is much better for overtaking.

had it and loved it, I do about 20k a year now. looks a nice clean car though. erm will see thanks lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The 1.9td is much better for overtaking.
    There was another thread today with people commiserating each other over that being a Renault unit, but by all other accounts the diesel seems to be a fine engine alright. The 1.8 petrol should be fine if it's the Volvo engine rather than the Mitsubishi 1.8. The brother had a 1.6 one (volvo engine I think) that put in quarter of a million miles with no mad expenses despite him not being too bothered about dipsticks,coolant or anything else.

Drove a 1.8 Mitsubishi GDI S40 myself once - most tappety petrol engine EVER.
    Buy one if you like machine gun sound effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

langdang wrote: »
    Drove a 1.8 Mitsubishi GDI S40 myself once - most tappety petrol engine EVER.
    Buy one if you like machine gun sound effects.

Worse than this?

scar10.jpg

si_guru wrote: »
    Worse than this?

scar10.jpg

Before my time unfortunately.
    I did have a FIAT that developed an oil blockage due to previous owner's maintenance - it fecked up a tappet and was for a while marginally more noisy than your average Mitsubishi GDI....

Before my time unfortunately.

On the plus side we can blame the work dodging frogs, who somehow managed to badly design the oily bits between 3 hour lunch breaks, bouts of blockading Calais and endless public holidays.

00019bab-314.jpg
    C'est la vie, non?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Worse than this?

scar10.jpg

I had one of these. great car. I was in Bangernomics before the web was invented.
    paid 100 punts for it. big comfy seats,electric windows, rattly engine.

when the gearbox went, another ,which came free with the car,was fitted in half an hour by my nephew,

Big ad at the time, still repeated by 50 plusers, was "saw your Solara outside the Hotel/Mart/Massage parlour/etc"

Regards,Rugbyman

Ah, thats a good start to the day!

There was another thread today with people commiserating each other over that being a Renault unit, but by all other accounts the diesel seems to be a fine engine alright. ..............

Renault diesels wouldn't be at all bad, far from it really.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Renault diesels wouldn't be at all bad, far from it really.
    Yeah, a 1.9TD S40 would be a handy bangernomics motor, especially if it was well spec'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

scar10.jpg

The fact that these were launched in the mid seventies and don't look it proves how well designed they were.
    Yeah, a 1.9TD S40 would be a handy bangernomics motor, especially if it was well spec'd.

Not a diesel, but I think this is quite cheap and quite classy for the money: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2485052

160k is nothing on the Volvo engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

VolvoMan wrote: »
    The fact that these were launched in the mid seventies and don't look it proves how well designed they were.

Not a diesel, but I think this is quite cheap and quite classy for the money: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2485052

160k is nothing on the Volvo engines.

Sorry, but they look very much like they were launched in the 70's. :)

But, in relation to the s40, I drove one just like that one with 130k miles on the clock and it felt like sh1t.
    Big wooly gearbox, worn out seats (ok, they were not leather), vague steering, bad brakes and general tiredness throughout the car.
    Of course some cars are better kept than others but I really don't know what the deal is with s40's. I just don't think they wear their miles well.
    Now, i must say that the engine was pulling very well and had no issues, but a car like that with over 160k on the clock, I would rather leave it after me thanks.

cadaliac wrote: »
    But, in relation to the s40, I drove one just like that one with 130k miles on the clock and it felt like sh1t.
    Big wooly gearbox, worn out seats (ok, they were not leather), vague steering, bad brakes and general tiredness throughout the car.
    Of course some cars are better kept than others but I really don't know what the deal is with s40's. I just don't think they wear their miles well.
    Now, i must say that the engine was pulling very well and had no issues, but a car like that with over 160k on the clock, I would rather leave it after me thanks.
    Saw several clocked ones in a previous bangernomics exercise, maybe it was closer to 310 than 130 ;)

Of course.... the brits did the design work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I think they could pass for a car launched between at least early to mid 80's.

The S40/V40 were more comfortable than sporty. If you value sharp steering and dynamic handling then there is no doubt you will be disappointed.

I personally think they are a very nice car considering they are based on a Mitsubishi Carisma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,625 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I think they could pass for a car launched between at least early to mid 80's.

On the other hand early to mid 80's Japanese cars and Volvos usually look like they they were launched in the mid 70s ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

'96 polo, no tax or NCT but has to be worth a look .......asking €299

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2482622

It's back!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2487732

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

....ahhhhhhhhhh .....fair play.......arthur daley would be proud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Well spotted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Bring this home for 6 or 700 quid and you're laughing. Heavy running costs but a car for life.....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2305803

View2-7195922.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭muppeteer

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2487515
    View2-7763329.jpeg
    BMW 523I 1997 AUTOMATIC GREY METALLIC WITH GREY CLOTH INTERIOR FOUR NEW TYRES NCT TILL 2/12 TAXED TILL 10/11

€499

Lot of car for 499, shame it's also a lot of tax:)

First time poster here.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2487177

No tax or nct though. Looks fantastic for the price i think

shaaane wrote: »
    First time poster here.

I can remember the VP of my company having one of these in 2000/2001.. 1st time I'd seen a TV in car! I love that shape too.. still looks great.

Superb motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

muppeteer wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2487515
    View2-7763329.jpeg

€499

Lot of car for 499, shame it's also a lot of tax:)

You could get a 286 bhp 4.4l V8 lump of the same year and model for less money. With manual gearbox even :)

6 months NCT, no tax, no pictures, but well, it's actually a bargain, if the car is ok.

'97 BMW 540i, 450 quid.
    http://dublin.gumtree.ie/c-Cars-and-vehicles-for-Sale-cars-bmw-540i-W0QQAdIdZ303918679

/M

I can remember the VP of my company having one of these in 2000/2001.. 1st time I'd seen a TV in car! I love that shape too.. still looks great.

Superb motor.

I'd nearly have it as a drive way ornament!

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭muppeteer

Marlow wrote: »
    You could get a 286 bhp 4.4l V8 lump of the same year and model for less money. With manual gearbox even :)

6 months NCT, no tax, no pictures, but well, it's actually a bargain, if the car is ok.

'97 BMW 540i, 450 quid.
    http://dublin.gumtree.ie/c-Cars-and-vehicles-for-Sale-cars-bmw-540i-W0QQAdIdZ303918679

/M

Wow, i guess big engines are just killing the prices on these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

muppeteer wrote: »
    Wow, i guess big engines are just killing the prices on these.

Well, the fuel consumption is the same as the 523i, so in that regard, you might opt for the V8 lump. The tax obviously is more than 3 times, what the car cost.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

shaaane wrote: »
    First time poster here.

Thats some first post...:D

Thats a savage machine for 1200 euro..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Marlow wrote: »

'97 BMW 540i, 450 quid.

/M

I would be so tempted to but that run it until the NCT is up and then sell. Get to drive a V8 for six months too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,417 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If all is well with that audi A6, it would be a handy machine for when the snow comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,472 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That A6 has golf wheels :D