Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,614 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Rear ended???

Nah I'd say just parking damage. Probably a terrible learner driver :D

Mileage is easy enough to find out if it is 123k or 23k (based on previous NCT reports)

No timing belt, ancient engine, but reliable

Good driver

Bargain...

...for another terrible learner driver :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

RoverJames wrote: »
    How can you tell from the pics?

It just doesn't look fresh enough to be a a 23k mile car.

People may argue that unpainted bumpers fade with age, but those ones still look like they've been on a car that has driven at least 100k miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Saab Ed wrote: »
    23,000 Miles :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

A dozzy so long as it hasn't been around the clock and thats really 123,000 miles. 490
    quid less a haggle. Perfect bangernomics.

For the love of god why do people leave L plates up in a photo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,614 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

BX 19 wrote: »
    For the love of god why do people leave L plates up in a photo :(

To show us they were not rear-ended but did the damage themselves while parking? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

almanu wrote: »
    what you got and what are you looking for?

It's a Toyota Corolla 1994 Saloon.
    NCT till March 2013, 76,580 miles on the clock.
    Looking for something nice upto 1.6, bangernomics would be preferred.
    Here's a pic of the Corolla:

5811684461_3bf871deaf.jpg
    Toyota Corolla 1994 by rusty_racer94, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

mondeo wrote: »

probably robbed haha

mondeo wrote: »

Not the cheapest Porsche around but a bargain alright unless there are any nasty hidden surprizes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭mondeo

Not the cheapest Porsche around but a bargain alright unless there are any nasty hidden surprizes.

True, there is always that chance somthing funny is going on that you wont be told about. I think it's worth a look though with the approval of a specialist you could have alot of flash there, I'd love to drive that thing home for a little under 5k :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

this prob has seen its last days but.....http://www.beepbeep.ie/used-cars/car-details.html?car=58765_1418211 :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

5811684461_3bf871deaf.jpg
    Toyota Corolla 1994 by rusty_racer94, on Flickr
    That corolla seems like bangernomics in its own right! what's wrong with it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Not as cheap as normal bangernomics but definitely representing great VFM for a 9 year old 3 series:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/325-I/201128203297020/advert?channel=CARS
    02 325i, 137k, manual, leather, 1900. No cruise control but a really easy retrofit.
    The 2.5 is a sweet engine and good economy is easily possible with the manual box.

barura wrote: »
    That corolla seems like bangernomics in its own right! what's wrong with it? :D

I'm just too embarassed to drive it to school while it's parked among an Altezza and a Type R Civic. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I'm just too embarassed to drive it to school while it's parked among an Altezza and a Type R Civic. :D

Aren't you grand and well about your car choice? Most of us had to walk or cycle to school before the country ever had money. Only one guy had a car when I was in school and that was only because his parents were flush.

You kids don't know you're born. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Beer Baron wrote: »
    One guy had a guy when I was in school and that was only because his parents were flush.

What did he used to do with him?Seems a bit odd :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Being embarrassed? Ah come on! If there is nothing wrong with a car, why change it? Altezza's are naff and Type R's are for robbing stuff. :P

Joking aside, if you wanna change just for keeping up appearances, I think you're not doing it right. At any rate there was a grand enough Golf GTi Mk3 here around a week ago that had fsh and would do you grand. If it's still around perhaps consider that? I dunno, I'm hungover and can't think car at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

What did he used to do with him?Seems a bit odd :D

Damnit. :( It was a boarding school. Surely there was something going on with one or two of them though. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

i would say this would come a lot cheaper than the 995 e asking price, with all that NCT should be worth a punt .

might even do Rusty Racer for the school run:pac::pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2552983

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Ah now... that's a stupid mentality altogether!

Not really when you drop down from a 2nd Generation Avensis.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Not really when you drop down from a 2nd Generation Avensis.

And we all know how much street cred an Avensis demands!

lol, joking aside i think id prefer to drive the Corolla for the retro-ness

You can buy it off me so. :)

ARe you working part time as a doctor or something? And how can school kids afford to buy and run an altezza or a ctr :confused:

RoverJames wrote: »
    ARe you working part time as a doctor or something? And how can school kids afford to buy and run an altezza or a ctr :confused:

I'm only a secondary School kid.
    Them kids with Altezza and Ek9 are from good families. As we speak, the Civic is being rebuilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Jaysus, I'd be lucky if my father would've lent me his car one day a month until I got my own clapped out 1992 Peugeot 106!!

If you can manage it fair play, but don't put yourself under pressure at this stage of your young life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

a friend of mine has bought around 6-7 Shi....."bangeromic" ;) cars over the course of his young life (only 23) and he is currently driving a pos colt, :confused: he is broke from doing it ffs, and heres me still rocking my 2000 fiesta :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

a friend of mine has bought around 6-7 Shi....."bangeromic" ;) cars over the course of his young life (only 23) and he is currently driving a pos colt, :confused: he is broke from doing it ffs, and heres me still rocking my 2000 fiesta :D

He's doing it wrong then.

I got two years out of a 500 Euro accourd and a clutch change.

But then again I do my own work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

oh most definitely, most of the cars where working grand, he just wanted to change them :rolleyes: his current colt is a pos but it gets him from a to b sure and its not a pain in the ass to tax and insure