Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,611 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The main Rover dealer (and one with the best reputation in the Dublin area) told me 2 years ago that my car had HGF

I have an invoice to prove it!

Twas just lazy diagnostics based purely on the fact that the coolant was not great and the fact that I mentioned the car overheated once a few weeks previously

After a bit of research I reckoned my coolant temp sensor might have been dodgy. Bought a new one (BMW part :)) for €15 delivered and the problem was sorted

Mentioning the K-series engine triggers an immediate pavlov reaction of "HGF!" in pretty much anybody. Punters in the pub and qualified mechanics alike :D

Ok yes if the HG is just weeping a little oil externally like the can do on these and PSA engines then no, you don't need to have it skimmed. But that type of HG failure is in the vast minority.

... don't they lose coolant too though in cases, not uncommon without ever getting to cooking territory if the owner is a coolant checker. THe t series was more inclined to do the external oil weep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Some cool bangernomics .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2767027

View2-8918013.jpeg

DL plate probably suggests its a clocked ,rusty, ringer that was once an insurance right off ......but what the hell hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Quazzie wrote: »
    Have you tried to click the image?
    What do you think?
    brophy wrote: »
    "Esel" that's a live image click it will bring ya to the dondeal page for the car with more images.
    Not a live image from my end....
    Trojan wrote: »
    It'd be useful for boards, and for us web geeks who are interested in these things, to know exactly what specs you guys are having trouble clicking through to the ads on. Are you experiencing problems on desktops, or is it on mobile (particularly touch?)? What OS and browser combos?
    Desktop: Windows XP, Firefox 8.0.1
    Laptop: Windows Vista, Firefox 8.0.1

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Esel wrote: »
    What do you think?

What add ons are you using in firefox?

Meanwhile, Polo with NCT and tax, 450. A phone call would find out the rest.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2768195

viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=8922732&ad=2768195

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Some cool bangernomics .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2767027

View2-8918013.jpeg

DL plate probably suggests its a clocked ,rusty, ringer that was once an insurance right off ......but what the hell hey!

For a grand more you could have this.

Personal fav of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

barura wrote: »

Thats really good actually but whats wrong with it i wonder. Saw a white one with no nct for €700 http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2738513

JJJJNR wrote: »
    For a grand more you could have this.

Personal fav of mine.

With the superstrut suspension no NCT is a worry though. Great cars though.

KittyKat wrote: »
    Thats really good actually but whats wrong with it i wonder. Saw a white one with no nct for €700 http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2738513
    Lasy advertiser, I'd say. I drive a Polo I got for 350 with 9 months NCT that I got a few months back. Bit of rust but nothing really exceptional. It will last me til March at least, and hopefully longer if not much work needs to be done for the NCT. :)

Anywho, 700 for that car? You'd probably beat them down on the price to 450 if it has no NCT. 500 at the most. Those engines go forever (999cc not the 1043cc!), but noone likes em for some reason. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭Esel

About 21 add-ons - too many to list, and don't want to derail the thread any further. Can't see any of them being the problem, though.

For instance, your pic link above works fine, because it opens a page with a 'Click here to return to ad' link.

A simple link to a .jpg though, like many posted here, just opens the JPG and there is no way to 'click back' to anything....

THanks for caring, btw! :D

Not your ornery onager

Lasy advertiser, I'd say. I drive a Polo I got for 350 with 9 months NCT that I got a few months back. Bit of rust but nothing really exceptional. It will last me til March at least, and hopefully longer if not much work needs to be done for the NCT. :)

Anywho, 700 for that car? You'd probably beat them down on the price to 450 if it has no NCT. 500 at the most. Those engines go forever (999cc not the 1043cc!), but noone likes em for some reason. :(

Sound for the info. :) Id say you would make a profit on the polo if you sell it on next year. Anyones thoughts on this one?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2433350

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

RoverJames wrote: »
    With the superstrut suspension no NCT is a worry though. Great cars though.

*car has nct but no tax

About 21 add-ons - too many to list, and don't want to derail the thread any further. Can't see any of them being the problem, though.

For instance, your pic link above works fine, because it opens a page with a 'Click here to return to ad' link.

A simple link to a .jpg though, like many posted here, just opens the JPG and there is no way to 'click back' to anything....

THanks for caring, btw! :D
    21 add ons will more than likely break clicking an image to be honest. I use adblock plus and I can't use adverts.ie without disabling it. Just some food for thought!

Bet you use greasemonkey, right? :P

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2768399

Nice diesel motoring, could bargin a few shillings off as well I'd bet.

View2-8923535.jpeg

KittyKat wrote: »
    Sound for the info. :) Id say you would make a profit on the polo if you sell it on next year. Anyones thoughts on this one?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2433350
    Get the car for 500euro, sell off the alloys and get 4 new tyres on steelies to replace it, NCT, pretty snazzy motoring there if you ask me! :D

Thanks for the info! :D I love this thread! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Full?id=8884154

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2759353?cid=2759353&

NCT 11-2012. Seems clean enough, but no mention of mileage.

€595

Rarely see 3 door astras. I noticed the toyota passenger seat. :D The fecker has the steering wheel blocking the speedo in the pic so cant see the mileage. Looks really clean alright! :)

If I knew it would last a few months without any hassle, I'd make them an offer on it and sell it on again in march or so when I leave this isle again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

What do you think?

No problems here. Start Firefox in "Firefox Safe Mode" and see if you still get those symptoms. I'm guessing it's the extensions.

--

I know ~0 about cars, but even I know that Rovers are well known for HGF :)

My uncle's 440 (I think that's the right model) blew it after 3 or 4 years.

Trojan wrote: »

I know ~0 about cars, but even I know that Rovers are well known for HGF :)

My uncle's 440 (I think that's the right model) blew it after 3 or 4 years.

It wasn't a 440 anyway :)
    It might have been a 414, 414, 418 or a 420.

If owners are anyway mechanically sympathetic they would notice either a coolant loss or the temp gauge rising and the damage would be minimal.

Root cause can often be a leaking inlet manifold or water pump that results in coolant loss and then a cooked engine. HG gets the blame straight away, it's often not that clearcut. The K series doesn't like being cooked.

The way folks blab on about Rovers being well known for HG failure many folk reckon that every one of the Ks is likely to fail tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

As above, as on most cars, the head gasket failure is a SYMPTOM of other issues which the owner has failed to address.

A family friend has a 00 rover 25 from new and its now in or around the 100k mark with no issues at all....but then he's the type that will be out on a sunday morning topping up levels etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

A family friend has a 00 rover 25 from new and its now in or around the 100k mark with no issues at all....but then he's the type that will be out on a sunday morning topping up levels etc

[humour] Well if it is a K-series.. he'll be out Monday morning too. ..and Tuesday, Wednesday... [/humour]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

cloneslad wrote: »
    Full?id=8884154

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2759353?cid=2759353&

NCT 11-2012. Seems clean enough, but no mention of mileage.

€595

You're concerned about mileage on a 97 astra that you'd be hoping t get for €500 or less as pretty much a throwaway car? That's nuts....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

That jigs the memory - it was a 414. His brother in law got an identical car - they got a deal - both of them had HG issues around the same time.

Anyway, I digress, apologies for pulling thread off-topic. I know it's on the edge of the bangernomics ideal with over €1k and no test/tax:

1fc1c1c2db5852e08ffc380475e26336ff1d27461e66f0830c60127971e08344.jpg

2003 MG ZR 1.4L Petrol 5 door
    No tax or NCT
    75k miles
    Head Gasket and water pump, timing belt have all been replaced. (have receipt)

€1,200

http://www.adverts.ie/car/mg/zr/2003-mg-zr-for-sale/1146372

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    You're concerned about mileage on a 97 astra that you'd be hoping t get for €500 or less as pretty much a throwaway car? That's nuts....:confused:

Bangernomics, it's not for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

No its's not.
    If the car has 220,000 miles I wouldn't bother my ass with it.
    If it had 120,000 miles on it - it would be a dinger at that price.

Whether or not you like it. It does matter.

To me personally, it would be down to the condition of the car. After all there is a threshold or life span of an engine and car. 200k is about it for most imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Nixer Jim

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2710209
    View2-8724618.jpeg

Now back to my lunch. It's sunny in Dublin you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yoke for the winter?

This yoke

Full?id=8927495

NCT till end of Jan. 400 notes

Bravo

Full?id=8926095

Seems too cheap...

This Volvo

Full?id=8918456

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

RoverJames wrote: »
    IF a k series hadn't overheated why skim it? K series specialists don't recommend skimming them unless the car overheated, many k series cars have had head gasket weeps spotted by the owner and the head sorted without skimming being required.

True, I don't see the point in skimming undamaged head, its good to go as long as it hasn't been damaged because of the heat (overheat event), that's why it's vital to keep your fluids on top levels in sports cars like mg and honda.

Small advice, if you're engine overheated and you're about to do the head gasket and the head itself, do some measurements on the engine block, heat is a powerful force that can bend any metal as it turns out =]

sorry for offtopic btw

I was just stating that the mileage wasn't given for those who can't be bothered clicking links.

Me? I'm not overly concerned (depending on just how high the mileage is), If it was well over 200k then I'd be worried because it's being driven around monaghan, where the roads are pretty bad, so not only will the engine have problems, so will various other parts.

€500 is nothing for a car, but it would still be €500 lost should the car decide to die after a week or so.