Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,613 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

vibe666 wrote: »
    indeed, but how big is the guys family if it's a "Excellent car and reluctant sale due to increase in family size!"?

i think someone needs a new hobby. :p

The problem with the E38 7-series is that it is more of a 4 seater than a 5 seater. And the middle "seat" in the back only has a lap belt. Not really suitable for more than 2 children so I guess the advertiser has his third child on the way. And yes, I do sound quite experienced in this subject :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Pics please!
    Go on then .... :D

amg.jpg

photo6666.jpg

photo99.jpg

Might as well give a bangernomic up date while im at it....

Love it :D
    The car has just wafted over 2k miles im my ownership, which now stands at 143k, A couple of things needed sorting when I got it (Me being a picky Bastid:D )
    Got a number for ned Kelly in castlecomber in the classic section of boards and took a trip down to pick up a few bits.
    * Sunroof only sliding - sorted with a new switch.
    *Buttons missing on the center console - sorted
    *OEM Jack and wheel Brace - Sorted
    *Original Tool Kit - Sorted
    *Boot Liner -Sorted
    *Replace worn Drivers seat - Sorted (Wanted Leather, Still do :D)
    *Monoblock Boots - Sorted

To Do's
    *Was going to lower it maybe 20 ml or so, but IMO its sitting quite nice.
    *Maybe put a light tint / Smoked on the rear glass ?
    *Sort the crap radio reception.
    *Need to sort out the remote central locking - Need the FOB replaced :( expensive.

Although its not going to break any speed records it really suits my driving style at the mo (80% City)
    To add, its reasonably economical, which is a bit of a shocker - So, as this was only going to be a summer run around, iv just threw on another 3 months tax, So im just going to keep running it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

To say I'm jealous is quite the understatement. I will own one of these or and old Merc 190 some day. Hopefully in the next 12 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Now NCT'd: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1454501

Would some other Volvo head do the honour of buying this?:(

I was talking to a friend of mine, as I knew he was trying to get a Rover Coupe the same as yours back on the road. When I told him how much you sold yours for he nearly cried! Lol

If he had given me the €250 for it he may have actually cried ;)
    No NCT, rotten rear arch, leaking power steering pump, only one working fob (no idea of the EKA code either and with a replacement engine in her the 5AS system may well not be the one what left the factory) and a nasty slap sound off piston number one that two oil changes and very good oil didn't sort. Also a weap from the inlet manifold gasket (although I was throwing in a new LR gasket with her). Still, she was a fine bus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

RoverJames wrote: »
    If he had given me the €250 for it he may have actually cried ;)
    No NCT, rotten rear arch, leaking power steering pump, only one working fob (no idea of the EKA code either and with a replacement engine in her the 5AS system may well not be the one what left the factory) and a nasty slap sound off piston number one that two oil changes and very good oil didn't sort. Also a weap from the inlet manifold gasket (although I was throwing in a new LR gasket with her). Still, she was a fine bus :)

LOL, maybe he's alright with what he has so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

homer90 wrote: »
    Go on then .... :D

amg.jpg

Thats fine looking motor, classy.:)

Can i just ask, there seems to be a lot of admiration for these older mercs. ^

Why are they so sought after? Yeah i know they're built like tanks but what else gets them so much attention?

Thats fine looking motor, classy.:)

You've answered you're own question there! Fine looking motor, classy, and it probably stands him less than €1500... That the depriciation of a sunroof on a Range Rover in the first year LOL

Why are they so sought after? Yeah i know they're built like tanks but what else gets them so much attention?

Build quality is more or less it to be honest, also they are savage comfy and have loads of interior space. Easy to maintain too in most cases, very logically designed. They do look quite timeless too. I had one for a few months, wouldn't be remotely inclined to have another for whatever reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭thewintermute

I too, have been very interested by the admiration of these Merecedes, was in a taxi in Cologne that had 700, 000 miles plus on it. Very impressed.

What's the ideal years, models to keep an eye out for?
    Would really consider getting a solid one for the work commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

What's the ideal years, models to keep an eye out for?
    Would really consider getting a solid one for the work commute.
    For everyday use the W124 series is the one you need. They were made between, say 1986 and 1995. If you want to put some mileage, the Diesel one would be great. Any one would be good, there are no bad Diesel engines in W124. The earlier ones (up to 1993) had 2 valves per cylinder and the later (second half 1993 up) were multivalve engines (as far as I know they were the first multivalve Diesels on the market). So, the models on the UK / Irish market are 250D and 300D for saloon and 250TD and 300TD for the 5-door Estate. After 1993 they were renamed to E250 Diesel and E300 Diesel (saloon and Estate).

Seweryn wrote: »
    there are no bad Diesel engines in W124.

They may not be bad, but a 90bhp normally aspirated 2.5 diesel in a big yoke like a W124 certainly makes for woeful performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

What is this, the feckin' W124 Fan Club? Get a room!

WARNING: The car below is NOT a W124. Fanboys and people who enjoy 80's German pop music (oxymorons really) please look away now.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1553087

Confab wrote: »

WARNING: The car below is NOT a W124. Fanboys and people who enjoy 80's German pop music please look away now.

Eww...

Confab wrote: »

WARNING: The car below is NOT a W124. Fanboys and people who enjoy 80's German pop music (oxymorons really) please look away now.

It's white. It has no NCT and the seller is lying about a full Saab service history. Dunno, I think I'd rather an NCTd honest W124 :p

unkel wrote: »
    the seller is lying about a full Saab service history.

2 services in the last 4 and a half years :eek:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1554679

Full?id=3989955

There ye are lads, 500 euro.

If the arches were badly rusted you could just spray them up yourself. Bangernomics at it's finest there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Strictly speaking its not a bangernomics car but if it came close to 2 grand you'd have to consider it. Air suspension done along with other bits and bobs. Tested for over a year too ...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1561679

Full?id=4017231

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Strictly speaking its not a bangernomics car but if it came close to 2 grand you'd have to consider it. Air suspension done along with other bits and bobs. Tested for over a year too ...

That won't last long I'd imagine! Dog slow, very out dated interior but it's alot of jeep for the money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Wow thats well worth the 2600 if its got history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Somebody help me here, Im looking for a cheap runabout, but looking for the most bang for buck, I'm not in any rush to buy but Ive a Budget of around e800, this has to include some sort of Tax and NCT.
    Due to having a Disease and being "young" Engine size has to be 1.8 and lower. Must be Manual and have some sort of sane MPG.
    Id love a Alfa.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭alias no.9

unkel wrote: »
    It's white. It has no NCT and the seller is lying about a full Saab service history.

He may have a full history of the servicing, that doesn't mean it's been done to schedule ;). In Ireland, full service history usually means the salesman saying "of course it has a service history" and no further follow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Saab Ed wrote: »

[ALARM BELLS] engine has 95,000 miles [/ALARM BELLS]

alias no.9 wrote: »
    He may have a full history of the servicing, that doesn't mean it's been done to schedule ;)

I was referring to the fact that he doesn't have FSSH as he stated :)

media?id=10788179&width=400&height=300

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201036199468388
    700euro spent onNCT,New shocks,good tyres,serviced,20000miles left on timing belt,55mpg,gearbox done.

€850

EDIT Milage is actually 200k+

media?id=9535348&width=400&height=300

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201007196944388

€990

May have been posted already. No mention of Tax/Test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

1994 Volvo 850 2.5 20 valve (5 cylinder), high spec, new tyres, NCT, all for 350 quid: http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/850/GLT-20v/201037199503730/advert?channel=CARS

homer90 wrote: »
    media?id=9535348&width=400&height=300

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201007196944388

€990

May have been posted already. No mention of Tax/Test

One of the pictures shows it's tested until 2011...

Sweet car for the money! Buy it for 900, tax it for three months, drive it and then throw it away :D