Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

do you ever get the feeling that some people know about this thread but purposely dont post up a "banger" as they dont want people to see it and buy it themselves? .

I have one that I'm keeping quiet for the moment :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Pierced Off

RoverJames wrote: »
    For €700 it's not a bad buy at all. At 100K miles there should be loads left in her and there's 12 months NCT. You could drive it for the year and only put diesel in it and 'twould be cheap motoring. I hate the things and they are slow standard (fuel pump won't object to a tweaking though ;) ) but it's potentially €700 well spent.

Diesel with 100K on them for €700 with a lash of NCT don't come about too often.
    I drove a Mondy diesel, 2 in fact. First one went up to 245k. A few belts, filter and a couple of gallons of oil is all I ever spent on it. Traded it for the second one, it too went to the moon and back. I was clocking up over 1000 miles a week and although they didn't break speed records get them to 75mph and they'd sit there all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭seriouslywhat

I have one that I'm keeping quiet for the moment :P

haha I knew it!!!!! :D Fair play to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

For €700 it's not a bad buy at all. At 100K miles there should be loads left in her and there's 12 months NCT. You could drive it for the year and only put diesel in it and 'twould be cheap motoring. I hate the things and they are slow standard (fuel pump won't object to a tweaking though ;) ) but it's potentially €700 well spent.

Diesel with 100K on them for €700 with a lash of NCT don't come about too often.
    This is very true
    - however, in this instance, - when was the last time you saw a priest driving a '96 car?
    (or was there something more sinister going on with the hat?) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,904 ✭✭✭patrickc

patrickc wrote: »

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1594945

mondeo diesel with nothing on the back seat but the priests hat !! 850
    Marlow wrote: »
    Well, that Mondeo's diesel engine is an old fashioned diesel. It's slow, but it'll get you there. It's not the most comfortable car to drive and handles crap to say at best, but it's cheap in parts and cheap to maintain.

So if you don't care about handling or speed, thats probably a very affordable car.

Still .. personally ... wouldn't want to get caught in one :)

/M

i found out about the handling already!!

cadaliac wrote: »
    This is very true
    - however, in this instance, - when was the last time you saw a priest driving a '96 car?
    (or was there something more sinister going on with the hat?) :)

bought the mondeo today, shes a grand yoke, body could be better, but the nct was just done this week and back dated, was a grand comforable spin down the M9 there

it'll take a while to get used to the no abs though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

bought the mondeo today, shes a grand yoke, body could be better, but the nct was just done this week and back dated, was a grand comforable spin down the M9 there

Ah well, if you can live with the speed, the car should last you for many miles.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    Ah well, if you can live with the speed, the car should last you for many miles.

/M

she sat at 140k on the motorway grand.. I'll live with that

I am fairly sure the pumps on them are easily tweakdd to give a good lash of extra torque.

will have a look and see what the story is with that so.. not that bothered mind you.

anyone want a saab 900 convertible, with long NCT?

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=223950

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1593773

That looked like a sweet bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭Esel

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1593773

That looked like a sweet bus!
    1 year's NCT and 1 year's tax, too....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

i found out about the handling already!!

it'll take a while to get used to the no abs though

im looking for something exactly like this....gonna be driving 1000km per week now so need something economical, reliable and cheap-cheap....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

esel wrote: »
    1 year's NCT and 1 year's tax, too....

A years tax!?!:eek:

Makes that a very cheap car!

Weird someone throwing €1300 ish tax on a car and selling it within a month, it kills me if their is much petrol/diesel in any yoke I have ever sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Weird someone throwing €1300 ish tax on a car and selling it within a month, it kills me if their is much petrol/diesel in any yoke I have ever sold.

So you dont do that EUR50 in petrol goodwill thing then eh? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,613 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Matt Simis wrote: »
    So you dont do that EUR50 in petrol goodwill thing then eh? :p

In fairness, he did (but maybe not as the traditional good luck note handed over to the purchaser). He had just filled up his car with the guts of EUR100 worth of petrol and then sold it for less than a grand :)

I syphoned petrol outta the Merc :P :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,613 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I syphoned petrol outta the Merc :P :P

I know how it feels tastes, dude :D

unkel wrote: »
    In fairness, he did (but maybe not as the traditional good luck note handed over to the purchaser). He had just filled up his car with the guts of EUR100 worth of petrol and then sold it for less than a grand :)

Yep, €97 in the BMW 15 miles before I sold her and €55 in the Rover Coupe 25 miles before the gearbox went and the ZT had a range of 3 miles according to the dash when I picked her up, that was an expensive 4 days for petrol.

To agree with Matt though, if I had my way there'd be as close to nothing at all in them :pac:

neacy69 wrote: »
    im looking for something exactly like this....gonna be driving 1000km per week now so need something economical, reliable and cheap-cheap....

well if the fiancee had her way I'd be selling it on, what are you doing buying a heap of junk she says, and it's white.

she just doesnt get the bangereconomics principle yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

537187-m3195770.jpg

Clicky....

NCT May 2012, € 1,050

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭frank gooding

Got to be worth 1500

Tax a bit of a nuissance but otherwise should be good for another few miles if the maintenance is up to date.

http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/79/62167779.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

homer90 wrote: »
    537187-m3195770.jpg

Clicky....

NCT May 2012, € 1,050

Eh....... no thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭thewintermute

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1608964

I need a reason not to buy this......

Possibly more than one reason.

VRT will probably be €600.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭thewintermute

VRT will probably be €600.

Touche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Auto box. Otherwise .. lovely car.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1518682

Works out at less than €1500 for an 8yo car with less than 70k!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Iron Hide wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1518682

Works out at less than €1500 for an 8yo car with less than 70k!!!

That's actually a good find - it can be pretty hard to find good value hatchbacks like that.