Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Clearly - but even for small money these days you don't need to resort to piles like that.:rolleyes:

I lol'd! That take the biscuit for the biggest pile of scrap for €250 quid! It's not even worth the 30 quid a scrapyard would give!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Absolute heap. Worst car of the thread perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Some of us don't give a flying shíte about what other people think on the road. ;)

You would get something a lot more respectable for less money that ball of sh1te..

daRobot wrote: »
    Absolute heap. Worst car of the thread perhaps?

Can't remember anything worse anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Here's a Mk4 van to go with it :) :
    Full?id=4587426

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1709863

Those old 1.6L diesel engine in them are also unbreakable, plus they're known to achieve up to 70mpg too! Beats any hybrid!

^ christ lads we really are drifting into Bangernomics with that!!!

Someone restore normality.:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1631082

For 2 grand :eek::eek::eek: Nyom nyom nyom nyom!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

/\ - thats a lot of car!

And a bit of tax and a lot of test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Yeah but it was hardly "£" 120k new in 2000...

ytareh wrote: »
    Yeah but it was hardly "£" 120k new in 2000...

I think we'll get over that :rolleyes::P

Had a savage chuckle thanks to those Escort van replies :pac:
    In a totally non gay way - I love ye dudes :D

(no offence to any gay chaps about, or lesbians either for that matter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

Here's a Mk4 van to go with it :) :
    Full?id=4587426

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1709863

Those old 1.6L diesel engine in them are also unbreakable, plus they're known to achieve up to 70mpg too! Beats any hybrid!

Now now lads!
    Banger she may be,but every car has its following and it deserves its place in this thread.
    cheap donor car for my own yoke maybe!

hairyman wrote: »
    Now now lads!
    Banger she may be,but every car has its following and it deserves its place in this thread.
    cheap donor car for my own yoke maybe!

Mmm... Yes... Lots of bits worthwhile taking off that! :P

mechanically,,yes of course.

body wise!!!!!
    not a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Bits that that have not already fallen off :D

I wouldn't expect a dog to take shelter in that heap of sh1te.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I wouldn't expect a dog to take shelter in that heap of sh1te.

Each to their own mate,,:)

I for one like the old mk4's.

There is no doubt that it needs a lot of money for the NCT,so in a way it can't be a run-able banger,but id buy it for resto work.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1644669

€750, 00, 50mpg, over 12 months test, loads of miles I would think though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

yep, but still a cheap decent car.

Geat car,,those L series diesel lumps are excellent.

yep, but still a cheap decent car.
    Geat car,,those L series diesel lumps are excellent.

I sold a 1997 Rover 400 diesel 18 months ago for €770, was rough enough compared to the 45, the 45 looks excelent value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭pcardin

Agree. This is a good find. Good car for small money.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭adamshred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

adamshred wrote: »
    Indeed - I love this bit:
    "please don't forget this is not a nissan micra is a AUDI A8"
    ha ha ha

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭adamshred

Haha yeah I suppose he has a point! It is a helluva lot of car for the money :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Full?id=4057421

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1572307

This one looks a good'un with Full Audi Service history.

I'd be interested in this, except that it's unfortunately a pre-facelift model.

Not wishing to flame any of you guys, and the A8 is an epic bit of engineering.

However, Is the whole point of a cheap banger not supposed to mean that its also a credible and cheap daily runner, even in its 2.8L V6 form its hardly what one could call a shoestring runner.

Fine car though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,615 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

However, Is the whole point of a cheap banger not supposed to mean that its also a credible and cheap daily runner

Nope!

For someone doing average mileage, that A8 would be cheaper to run (total cost of ownership) than a 2 year old Corolla. That's the whole point about bangernomics. Lots of car for very little money, even if they cost a little bit more to run...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Well, it could mean that as well, given that it's a made up word - but it would make for a very dull thread if it was just a list of cheap A to B cars.