Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

unkel wrote: »
    Ah c'mon now. Life is for living, not just surviving. What would you buy / what's the best bargain - beans on toast for €1 or lobster for €2? :D

I don't like Lobster so maybe I will have two portions of beans for €2. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

driving perfect, nearly new tyres all round
    driving perfect nearly, new tyres all round

Punctuation can be al the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭feelites

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1766073

something ideal to compare
    which one is the banger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

The car appears to be missing either the front fog light or the entire lower grille(if fog light not standard).

I'm always wary of people's description of "few marks" as one mark is too many on my own cars and other people see nothing with scratches and dents all over it and may say "few".

Looks a little rough though. You could still clean it for a picture for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,625 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Berty wrote: »
    I don't like Lobster

It's an acquired taste ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Accord/1.8-S/201030198982155/advert?channel=CARS

Ok its not vtec but its only got 100k on it & looks very tidy. Theres many more miles left in this machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Big money for what it is tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

A spotless accord with 100k?? Jaysus your hard to please!!!:D He'd probably take 1500 cash.

ok its 11 years old but the mileage is lowish. The brother's 2000 accord has 170k on it.

A spotless accord with 100k?? Jaysus your hard to please!!!:D He'd probably take 1500 cash.

ok its 11 years old but the mileage is lowish. The brother's 2000 accord has 170k on it.

Spotless or not, it's nothing special and 11 years old. Those non VTEC Accords are painfully slow too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Uh-oh! is bangernomics heading for a split??!!.... there has been mutterings of discontent on the actual meaning of the term.

Bangernomics - luxonomics (the likes of old A8's/lexus430/7series/s-class etc
    Bangernomics - cheap motoring for under a 1000 euro. (anything goes)

Good idea or would it wreck the thread?

It can be both, but that Escort would need to be €500 to make it bangernomics. It's all about what else you could get for the same money. Price must compensate for inadequacies and the escort was a poor offering when new and hasn't improved with age. To add perspective, it was the fact that the escort was a mainstay of that class of car that made the fiat bravo/brava seem groundbreaking when they were launched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I personally think this thread is directed more towards Luxonomics. Bangernomics is all very well, but you have to draw the line somewhere, and an Escort is taking the piss imo. I'd rather buy a Sierra. The Escort is just shite.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnddd back on topic.. :D

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201031199114020

Tox

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

ToxicPaddy wrote: »

Tox

Good Toxic, but you'd find them maxima yokes all lot cheaper for that year private and there's a few around as no one wants them only bangernomic loolahs like us.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

If you got that Ecsort for 750 or 800 it would be perfect. Tested for two years, not an arse bog spec and it's an estate. Good workhorse.

Also, I may or may have not had a few pints in me when I posted it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,092 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Tox

She's not bad but I have spotted a couple of next shape Maximas for around the €1500 mark and they have the 2 litre engine so a little easier on the tax side and kitted out better inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Good Toxic, but you'd find them maxima yokes all lot cheaper for that year private and there's a few around as no one wants them only bangernomic loolahs like us.:D
    She's not bad but I have spotted a couple of next shape Maximas for around the €1500 mark and they have the 2 litre engine so a little easier on the tax side and kitted out better inside.

That Maxima is 899 with a brand spanking new NCT ...bangers don't come much more "nomics" than that (except for the road tax)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Tox
    Tax is a killer - great prospective taxi though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

macroman wrote: »
    Tax is a killer - great prospective taxi though

Do taxis get a huge discount on petrol or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

RichyX wrote: »
    Do taxis get a huge discount on petrol or something?

No but they get 78 euro tax per year!

Merry Christmas to the bangernomics regulars anyhow!

Indeed, brilliant thread and great craic :D Happy Christmas to ye :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

RoverJames wrote: »
    Indeed, brilliant thread and great craic :D Happy Christmas to ye :)
    Snap - makes gret reading and entertainment. Happy Christmas to you all.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭v240gltse

ah this thread keeps me going all those cars for so LITTLE money, gotta resist:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

No but they get 78 euro tax per year!

Will the 9 year rule not stop a 98 car from ever becoming a taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

RichyX wrote: »
    Will the 9 year rule not stop a 98 car from ever becoming a taxi?

I assume so. I reckon that 3.0 maxima is heading for the parts bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Happy Christmas lads, this has to be my favourite motors thread by far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭bigroad

This is a very interesting forum.I dont think i will ever spend any more then 3k on a car ever again bangeranomics all the way.All we can hope for is the new government will put road tax on fuel.It wont suit everybody not even me but all i ever wanted was a big dirty v8.Happy christmas to all and we look forward to the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

kermitpwee wrote: »

Not bad at all, apparently they are not bad mpg wise at all. Drab looking yoke though that one. Neighbour had a black lowered one years back, was badged a 190 village, looked :cool:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

For the people saying the Escort is a crap car, has any of those people ever OWNED a Escort Mk6?

The Escort is a fantastic car for cheap motoring. Mine has the old pushrod Kent (HCS) engine, and it's incredibly reliable (starts in any weather). In the 2½ years I've owned it, it's never broke down on me. I know someone who has another Escort with the same engine and it's actually done nearly 300,000 miles.

Parts are cheap (even in Ford dealerships), they're easy to maintain, and anyone with a bit of DIY knowledge can fix/service them.

And as for people saying a Focus' is a better investment, the Zetec engines, while they are good, are far more complex and thus more difficult to DIY fix.

Too much snobbery on this forum. :rolleyes:

Max_Damage wrote: »
    For the people saying the Escort is a crap car, has any of those people ever OWNED a Escort Mk6?

The Escort is a fantastic car for cheap motoring. Mine has the old pushrod Kent (HCS) engine, and it's incredibly reliable (starts in any weather). In the 2½ years I've owned it, it's never broke down on me. I know someone who has another Escort with the same engine and it's actually done nearly 300,000 miles.

Parts are cheap (even in Ford dealerships), they're easy to maintain, and anyone with a bit of DIY knowledge can fix/service them.

And as for people saying a Focus' is a better investment, the Zetec engines, while they are good, are far more complex and thus more difficult to DIY fix.

Too much snobbery on this forum. :rolleyes:

I had one, I hated it to the very core. I had a few problems with it in the time I owned it, it was a horrible car to drive. It broke down at the side of the N7, I took my stereo out and thumbed a lift home then rang a scrappy who took it away for me.

MK1 Focus is a far superior car in every way, I don't buy into the 'not for the DIYer' argument myself, chances are if you can take care of an Escort you can take care of a Focus