Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats Your Earliest Memory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i got 4 but i cant determine what time frame sorry :)
    My mother pushing me in a pram to the post office

my grand da dieing and not noing wtf was going on

Me getting a cheap ass gun from pound city for my 5/6/7 birthday

Getting my first crush and rejecting her about 100 times even tho she wanted me too? Doesnt make sence now, but ye i did end up making up for it , if u no what i mean

those 4 things really stand out in my childhood,

nice thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

My earliest memory is being at mass with my Mother and Granny. I was sitting there bored off my t1ts (was about 4 or 5) and happened to look across the aisle at the other row of pews. My uncle Paddy was sitting there with my cousin Una who was around the same age as me. She was on the floor crawling around between peoples legs and pews and generally looking like she was having a hell of a lot more fun then me. So I decided I'll have some of that and got down and started messing about. Whatever way i looked over at Una I got it into my head that she had squeezed through the legs of the pew a gap of approx 4/5 inches. She obviously had not but i decided I was doing it. So I got into the main aisle way, went down on my hands and knees and shoved my head through the 4/5 inch gap. It quickly dawned on me that this was as far as I could go so I pulled back. However my two ears trapped me in and I could not get out. So my body was out in the aisle way while my head was stuck in the legs of the pew. Naturally I started to bellow at the top of my lungs for mammy to help me. This was in the middle of mass circa 1984 with a tyranical cranky old fecker of a priest called father Harte. My mortified mother and Granny sat there stoney faced ignoring my frustrated roars for help while Fr Harte repeatedly stopped mass to demeand from the alter that someone quieten that child! Mass dragged on for the full hour and 20 minutes (but it must have seemed like years to my mother and granny) and they then had to sit there while the congregation stepped over my prostrate legs and lower torso as they left the church and smile as they got dirty looks from some of the more zealous religious types. When the church was finally empty the got up grabbed a leg each and hauled me free without any concern for my ears. I spent the next week with red lugs and was not brought to mass again for several years.

One of my mothers earlier memories of me (apart from above) was pushing me around the basilica in Knock in my chair while I screamed "FúCK" at the top of my voice. I was about 2 and had picked up a bad word from someone. The more they sushed me and tried to keep me quiet the more I roared. Houses of God and a young me never really seemed to work......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Earliest memory?

Having money - after next week it will become a vague memory!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Walking with my sister and our dog up by the secondary school.

Some idiot teenage boy trying to smother me with a pillow.

Being in hospital and talking to a surgeon called Billy who was playing with my teddy frog that sang Christmas songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Lying flat on my back in a cot or pram or something, arms and legs waving in the air and crying. A door opened and someone, probably my mother lifted me up and took me into another room where a woman with long dark hair nursed me for a while (think this must've been my auntie Nora 'cos she was meant to have long hair yrs ago). I was put back into the cot in the other room when I'd calmed down. I remember not being able to think clearly or speak but I knew I wanted up and to be cuddled. I can remember the smell of plaster, the smell you get in a new house. The house i was reared in was newly built and we moved into it from my nanny's when I was a year old so this memory was probably when I was barely over that 'cos I know I wasn't able to pull myself up to stand. Has anyone else an earlier memory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Eh honestly it is probably... My Ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

cant remember anything, so my earliest memory was now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

Strangely enough it was my aunt giving out to me for scratching my ass.
    I think I was like 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ann22 wrote: »
    Lying flat on my back in a cot or pram or something, arms and legs waving in the air and crying. A door opened and someone, probably my mother lifted me up and took me into another room where a woman with long dark hair nursed me for a while (think this must've been my auntie Nora 'cos she was meant to have long hair yrs ago). I was put back into the cot in the other room when I'd calmed down. I remember not being able to think clearly or speak but I knew I wanted up and to be cuddled. I can remember the smell of plaster, the smell you get in a new house. The house i was reared in was newly built and we moved into it from my nanny's when I was a year old so this memory was probably when I was barely over that 'cos I know I wasn't able to pull myself up to stand. Has anyone else an earlier memory?

Something similar, getting a toy when I was in the cot.

Was in a pretty new Garda barracks though!

Cue AH Jokes!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Sticking a tiny piece of lego up me nose and trying to pry it loose with a pencil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Actually breaking one of the rungs on my cot.
    About 3 I think.
    I escaped , and was put right back in.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Tripping over a kerb on hols in Mayo when I was 1.5 year old. I remember balling my eyes out. Boom! Beat that. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Walking with my sister and our dog up by the secondary school.

Some idiot teenage boy trying to smother me with a pillow.

Being in hospital and talking to a surgeon called Billy who was playing with my teddy frog that sang Christmas songs.

Are those three seperate events? Or were you walking with your sister and dog by the secondary school, when some idiot teenage boy tried to smother you with a pillow and as a result you ended up in hospital?

Had to ask, wasnt sure :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I remember being pushed off a little wall by by snot nosed cousin when I was about 3...

I was in so much pain they took me to the Doc who said, 'there's nothing wrong with her, she's just looking for attention (I remember thinking, Prat what does he know) ..

After a day or 2 of manouvering around on my arse they took me to a different Doc who confirmed my leg was broken in 2 places..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Eating pennies that were meant to go into the collection basket in Mass. Small coins taste so good when you're two , for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

watching the sound of music in the adelphi with me ma and da in 1965...shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Mingey wrote: »
    Mine is sitting on a potty eating letters from scrabble. I think it is anyway.
    1972. I'm in my pram looking into the kitchen watching my mother making scones and from my bottle I'm chugging back an orange drink so chemical and sugary that it will be banned for human consuption in 15 years' time by the EU.

I know I'll be having Hoops for tea. Life is good, so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Walking home from playschool alone, wouldn't happen now.
    I was 3.
    I'd been bold and when I was leaving the lady in charge gave me a £1 note and told me "here's a note for your mammy".
    I thought it was a note about my boldness so I shoved it down a drain
    on the walk home.

I can remember quite alot from playschool and I remember my brother's christening, also when I was 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I remember my brother kicking me with a roundhouse kick striaght on the nose. I was apparently the 2 year old ever knocked the **** out by a Chuck Norris wannabe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Two scumbags repeatedly bouncing my head off a kerb when I was about 3. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

I remember my brother kicking me with a roundhouse kick striaght on the nose. I was apparently the 2 year old ever knocked the **** out by a Chuck Norris wannabe.
    huh,bruce lee kicked chuck norrises ass in 1972

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Are those three seperate events? Or were you walking with your sister and dog by the secondary school, when some idiot teenage boy tried to smother you with a pillow and as a result you ended up in hospital?

Had to ask, wasnt sure :cool:.

Yeah, three seperate events.

Was about 5 when we were walking the dog.

About ten when that guy tried to smother me.

About 8/9 in the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

being pushed in a pram down to the beach front in scarborough-mind you this was in a passed life -the woman who was pushing me was in victorian clothes and so was the two young ladies with her -further research dates this about the 1850s---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I remember being laid down on a blue blanket on the sittingroom floor. I must have been tiny, I don't remember actually moving from the blanket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

I remember my dad holding me in his arms standing on a wall at the graveyard where my grandad (his dad) is buried. It's one of those walls with the steps built in on either side and the gate's always locked. He was pointing at and showing me a plane in the sky - he reckons I was between 6-18 months old at that stage. It was really sunny.

Also remember crawling around my cot in my room, there was a purple carpet and teddy bears on the wallpaper. Probably between 1 and 2 here.

My grandad (mam's side) died when I was 2, just before my brother was born. I remember distinctly watching him drink tea in his chair as I sat on the floor looking up at him. He always drank it with the spoon in the mug :) he was very ill for a long time before he died so I must've been quite young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

I remember being in hospital and wondering why I didn't recognise the expression on my mothers face. I think it was worry or fear.

Then I was put on a moving bed and wheeled into an operating theatre, and I remember this man telling me that I would go asleep and when I woke up I'd be fine.
    I would have been three, so its not that early a memory.

He lied, I was very sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

My first memory was Italia 90 and the weeks leading up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I have a lot of memories from relitivly young age. I have loads more but I know that these ones are some of my earliest because my aunt moved to america when I was 19 months and in all of these she was still there.

1. Sitting on my aunts lap and she would hide her face with her hair and play peek a boo, I thought it was great craic.

2. Being angry when my mother put me down for a nap in my cot and climbing out, I walked into the kitchen and only started crying when I saw my mother. She got such a fright that she didn't ever put me in the cot again.

3. Getting a bath in the kitchen sink and puking in the water and being disappointed when my mam took me out.

4. My grandad was doing a crossword and I saw that he was sitting on my special chair. He stood up to get a pen and I took the chair, I then watched him in horror as he went to sit down, I wanted to tell him but I couldn't find the words. He fell and whacked his head and my granny gave out to me for ages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Berty wrote: »
    2 1/2 years old in the Isle of Man swimming complex deciding what I wanted from the vending machine. If only I could reach or have had money or a full set of teeth.

Ah yes... I remember "Aquadrome" which was part of "Summerland" in Douglas. Got the old horse drawn tram along the promenade to it.

And the other place that closed down, up the hill around the corner from it... "something city?".... had a huge slide and you just paid once and could continue running up and down the slide with the canvas sack and slide down until your lungs hurt and you collapsed with exhaustion. ( would've been late 1970s / early 80's )

I've had past life regression, so my earliest memory is of being chased by saber tooth tiger through a forest on mainland Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Sitting watching My bro play Sonic in our old council house in Blanchardstown!!..i was about 2/3 and i was angry cause i wanted to watch power rangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Sitting in my high chair trying to talk. I remember being really frustrated because I could understand everyone else but they couldn't understand me. Someone was talking to me (my mother I think) and I kept trying to talk back and she just was not getting it, so I started bawling. The bitch probably knew exactly what I was saying too.
    Edit: Actually, how early a memory is that?? What age do babies start talking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 hannah-j

i stole a lolly from a magazine when I was four...

yum

drumsticks were the bestest!!

xxxxxx:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭echter

I can't remember,

but the earliest dream I can remember was when Gary Barlow was lighting fireworks on my landing because it was my birthday and he gave me a polly pocket as a present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

Sulking at my aunt's wedding because I wanted to be flowergirl! I was soooo jealous of my cousin :p. I remember my aunt promising me around the same time that I could be flowergirl at her wedding. I think I was 2 at the time... I have a lot of memories of being around 2 or 3!