Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help!! Nervous German Shepherd

• 23-01-2009 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hi all, I've just adopted a GSD from a rescue centre and she is very very nervous. She's not aggressive in any way, will flight rather than fight. She doesn't even bark, is just hiding under the kitchen table the whole time, is eating and drinking just fine. I brought her for a walk and she is perfect on the lead, very responsive and obedient but brought her back home and straight back under the table she went. has anyone any advise on how I can help her overcome her nervousness? I have experience with GSDs, ie training and general care as I grew up with 2 of them but neither of them were nervous. She's about 2 years old, the girl from rescue told me she was just tied up and left to fend for herself and was almost starved to death by the time they rescued her. she's been in care for about 2 months and has put on some weight but still has a bit more to go. any advise would be gratefully appreciated. Thanks

Bo.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭MsFifers

She's lovely! And well done on taking in a rescue! :D

How long have you had her? It sounds like she is still very new. I think you will just need to give her time, it could take weeks for her to learn to trust you, and to realise you are going to be a constant in her life.

I have read as well, that with nervous dogs you have to be careful not to "baby" them, as this would reinforce their behaviour. eg don't pet or fuss over her if she is hiding or acting afraid.

Keep us posted - I bet she'll be a happy, confident dog in no time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Well done for rescuing this poor girl.

I would just echo the previous post really, don't baby her, just carry on with your normal day to day business, she'll soon come to realise that there is nothing to fear and come out from her hiding place.

I took one of my dogs to training years ago, and during a session a man walked into the hall, all of the dogs started barking, and us owners were stroking our dogs and saying things like "its alright, he's not going to hurt you". The trainer pointed out that the dogs didn't understand the words, just that they barked, and we rewarded them by stroking them and speaking to them in a really nice tone. So they would continue to bark at strangers if we continued with that behaviour. That was my first realisation that training is actually as much about training the person, as it is the dog.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

She's probably had little to no socialisation, she may never have even been in a house before, just left on a chain in the garden.
    Time will be the healer here.
    Once she realises that she has nothing to fear she will be fine.
    A family friend adopted a Dalmatian from the pound, he'd been found straying, and he was the same. Tail between the legs, just froze if he was petted, afraid of everything. Now he's the happiest, bounciest dog you've ever met and his tail never stops wagging!!

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭hadook

Kindness, consistency and time should help her a lot. She'll come around in her own time -> once she's realised that she's safe, that you care etc she'll start to trust you and you've done it all before from then on in. :)

If she's continually hiding under the kitchen table have you considered getting her a crate, covering it with blankets and leaving the door open to make it into her den? It'd be her safe spot, somewhere to be watch you from while feeling safe (under the kitchen table can be a awkward place to have a large dog :D ).

Poor dog, glad to hear she's landed on her feet. Hopefully she'll recognise that soon too.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

The misfortune. The rescue dog I adopted back in October had the very same symptoms. He is a terrier though and instead of the table he would run into a tiny space between the washing machine and the cupboard and he would hide under the cupboard. It is only about 4 inches high and we couldn't get near him. Everytime a male relative/friend walked into the house he would run under this cupboard until they had left. When my partner came into the house he would do the same and after about an hour or so he would slowly come out. It took about 6 weeks before he stopped doing this.

I have to echo what the others have said. Leave him go under the table and let him come out in his own time. This is his safe place. In time he will come round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭~Thalia~

Aw - She is lovely, I saw her on Irishanimals.com I have a shep girl who is also very nervous and always was even from when she was a small pup (she was rescued at 10 weeks buit the damage had been done to her at that stage). My dog still goes under the table 2 years later, it's just someplace she feels comfortable and safe.

Maybe you could get a crate for Bo where you could put her bed in and cover it up with blankets so it's nice and safe and den like, someplace she can be alone and comfy?

Best thing for it it to just ignore it, don't over compensate by petting her when she is scared cos then you are just re-confirming that she has reason to be frightened. She will come to you in her own time. My girl spent her first 5 days in our house under a coffee table. I would sit close by on the couch but ignore her and not attempt to pet or engage her in play. Slowly but very surely I would be sitting there watching TV and not paying her any attention asn next thing I knew this little black face would peer from around the couch as much as to say "Oh you are still there? just checking" :)

Trust me she will come round when she knows she has nothing to fear and you are providing her with a great home and food and walks and care.

Very best of luck and make sure to keep us updated and pm me if you want any further info or just to share nevous doggie stories (I'm only on here about once a week these days but I will get back to you)

Good luck! :)

Sorry: Just seen HAdook's advice on the crate after posting this, wasn't copying just echoing! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ellkay

hadook wrote: »
    have you considered getting her a crate, covering it with blankets and leaving the door open to make it into her den?
    I bought her a crate today she loves it. when i came back from the shops she came out to greet me although very cautiously but with a slight wag to her tail. i gave her a rub and off she went back under the table. then soon as i had her crate set up i just took her gently by the collar and she went into it no probs. Thanks for the advise everyone, its given me a lot of hope. I was so worried I'd never get through to her. I only have her 5 days now and already I'm starting to see a difference.
    Also I'm totally guilty of petting her while she's under the table but stopped soon as i read the posts, that's probably why she came out to greet me today! Thanks again everyone, its nice to read about other peoples rescue cases. All the advise I've been given is top notch and I'm putting it all to practice!!

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fishfoodie

Echoing what others have said, Fair play to you for adopting !

Hopefully in a year or so's time I'll have a place of my own & can follow in your footsteps & adopt a GSD & hopefully another dog as well.

Please keep us updated with photos as well as status, the problems you are facing are probably the most common with abused dogs who have the good fortune to end up being adopted & your experiences will help a lot of others !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭sorella

wonderul to hear of dogs being rescued.

We are still trying to help our rescued collie get over four years of abuse. It takes time and patience, but so great when the dog shows her love.

We know never to pat her on the head as clearly she has been hit. And we take care where we move our feet; I once moved a rug nearer her with a foot and she blenched. So she has been kicked

Her terror in thunderstorms, a breed characteristic - is exaggerated as she was tied up ouside 24/7

But she is full of affection; sits at my feet sometimes with a paw held up ; and sings and dances when I am preparing her food...rolls ecstatically in the grass....

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭p28559

i rescued a terrier cross a few years ago...took him about a month to settle in and maybe realise that he wasnt going to get chucked out...give the GS time and attention as per the other posts and you will both be grand

Also - and we work in animal rescue - sometimes the total damage can never be fully undone. They are what they have been made. Our collie cowers and lies flat if we pick up the lead even, and that will never change now. The pain in her eyes....Accept the limitations and love regardless. Not their fault.

hey all just a little update, in the last 2 days Bo has really come out of her shell, she's still quite nervous but she spends a lot less time in her crate. she's so playful now and will come when called (so long as there are no strangers in the house at the time) I've even started some obedience training and she is doing fab, will now sit, lie down and go to her bed on command. she picked it up so quick that I'm thinking she may have had some training already. only problem we have with her now is that she won't go out the garden alone and even when I'm out there with her she runs back into the house, goes into her crate for a second then straight back out to me, stays for about a minute then back in and back out... I wonder is this because she's scared I might lock her out? anyone any suggestions? I've tried closing the back door while I'm out there but this clearly stresses her out and that's the last thing i want to do right now. also I leave the door open most of the day to see if she might wander out but instead she just comes to me, nudges me and runs and sits by the door waiting for me to come. this is probably normal for a nervous dog but as I've said, i don't have experience in this matter so any advise welcome. Cheers

Needs to be safe inside and with YOU. natural for a rescue dog. Our collie has days the same still, and we have had her two years now.

Enjoy it:) She loves you so much for saving her. Accept that love.
    ellkay wrote: »
    hey all just a little update, in the last 2 days Bo has really come out of her shell, she's still quite nervous but she spends a lot less time in her crate. she's so playful now and will come when called (so long as there are no strangers in the house at the time) I've even started some obedience training and she is doing fab, will now sit, lie down and go to her bed on command. she picked it up so quick that I'm thinking she may have had some training already. only problem we have with her now is that she won't go out the garden alone and even when I'm out there with her she runs back into the house, goes into her crate for a second then straight back out to me, stays for about a minute then back in and back out... I wonder is this because she's scared I might lock her out? anyone any suggestions? I've tried closing the back door while I'm out there but this clearly stresses her out and that's the last thing i want to do right now. also I leave the door open most of the day to see if she might wander out but instead she just comes to me, nudges me and runs and sits by the door waiting for me to come. this is probably normal for a nervous dog but as I've said, i don't have experience in this matter so any advise welcome. Cheers

Hey Sorella, cheers for the post, good to know that if she doesnt grow out of it that it's not something i'm doing wrong!! Puts my mind at rest!

Our collie has days she glues herself to me still. but at other times she is rumbustious.

It is like our own traumas; can take years.

The less fuss we make, the better.

Let her set the pace; but at the same time be firm re her training.
    ellkay wrote: »
    Hey Sorella, cheers for the post, good to know that if she doesnt grow out of it that it's not something i'm doing wrong!! Puts my mind at rest!