Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Boys from Brazil - Da Silva Twins

• 28-01-2009 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭

Morning Lads,

Just listening to Guardian podcast there and they made an interesting if not funny point. As we know the two lads are very difficult to tell apart, so for example not that it would happen but if Rafael got suspended and Fabio took his place it would be extremely difficult to tell them apart. The question is how do we differ them from each other.

See for yourself , its not easy (Naturally if you have seen the pic before you'll know which is which):

610x.jpg

Just wondering has this happened before with such identical twins in footie?

De Boers always looked a like but for some reason you could always tell them apart as Frank was a bit more built than Ronald.

jo98.jul.ajax.jpg

Anyways I just found it funny when they mentioned it on the podcast this morning :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

Fabio is married and has a taped up wedding ring is the way to tell them apart. They also play different positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

apoch632 wrote: »
    Fabio is married and has a taped up wedding ring is the way to tell them apart.

Hahaha. I think if they were to pull a scheme like that, they might have the cop on to remove the ring. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

apoch632 wrote: »
    Fabio is married and has a taped up wedding ring is the way to tell them apart. They also play different positions
    Is this a joke, is he really married? He is 19 FFS :S

Chong wrote: »

He is 18 and yes married.

Here is website on them

http://www.fabioandrafael.com/

Boggles wrote: »

Here is website on them

My bad , 19 this July , I see it now.

18 and married jaysus!

My bad , 19 this July , I see it now.

18 and married jaysus!

I wouldn't worry too much about it. Tis only a matter of time before the lads decide to have a night out in Leeds, it will be all over then. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,454 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

From redcafe...

tell 'em apart

sfufih.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Rafa told me that even if United did pull a stunt like they wouldnt get punished

On a kinda related note, anyone remember the chelsea game where makalele commited a foul, and as the ref had his back turned to him (talking to terry i think) maka walked away and pushed SWP (I think) to the position he had been standing in. Ref turned round and booked SWP. was ammused at the time, I think SWP got his card exponged too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Rafa told me that even if United did pull a stunt like they wouldnt get punished

FHACT:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Rafael's the one who won't get farmed out on loan.

No reason why he won't be the 1st choice right back next season. Lethal going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Why is this in it's own thread?

why not?

The question in the OP is: Just wondering has this happened before with such identical twins in footie?

That is not specific to United.

People are becoming a real pain in this forum for this kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Boggles wrote: »

Here is website on them

The layout of the first sentence followed by that link nearly looks like they are married to each other on first glance :pac:

There was a Thailand vs Lebanon game the other week reported in the Indo where there was some confusion with twins or something. I think one Thai twin commited a nasty foul on one of the Lebanese, and the guy then accidently took his revenge on the wrong twin later on :p

Think the wrong one may have got booked at one point and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

From redcafe...

tell 'em apart

sfufih.jpg

Just for the sake of a guess I'm going to say Fabio, Rafael, fabio

Exactly, Its not a speciifically about United, even though question relates to 2 united players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,999 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Unearthly wrote: »
    Just for the sake of a guess I'm going to say Fabio, Rafael, fabio
    I'll go Rafael, Rafael, Fabio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Raphael, Raphael, Raphael :pac: Im right, arent i?

I think you are

prem badges....

Unearthly wrote: »
    I think you are

prem badges....
    Fabio, Rafael, Rafael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

If yous had of used your brains C is obviously Rafael. Throw in on the right hand side ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Silly thread TBH

Highsider wrote: »
    Silly thread TBH
    Thats what its meant to be :rolleyes: I said it from the outset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Highsider wrote: »
    Silly thread TBH

Don't like it, don't post in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

SantryRed wrote: »
    If yous had of used your brains C is obviously Rafael. Throw in on the right hand side ;)

Damn how did I not cop that :pac:

Pffft

Clearly you only noticed that after you seen it was revealed as Rafael :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

he could have been throwing backwards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Remember the ref confusing Seedorf and Davids a few years back, think it was Juve v Ajax, booked Seedorf in first half and tried to send Davids off for second yellow in the second (or vice versa)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

In future report the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Anyways, this does deserve its own thread.

I don't watch United a lot but everytime I have Rafael has looked impressive. And Fabio also looked good against Spurs.

I doubt there's every been twins who play on different sides of the pitch though. THat's very weird :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Did Kleberson not come over at a similar age with a 14 year old wife in tow or somesuch?

Stekelly wrote: »
    Did Kleberson not come over at a similar age with a 14 year old wife in tow or somesuch?
    Jaysus , good ol kleberson wasnt the lads age, he was 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jaysus , good ol kleberson wasnt the lads age, he was 24.

That just makes the underage wife thing worse.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

funny enough was talking about this today re kelberson.

his missus was 15 and leeds tried to sign him but she wasnt legal. he had to wait until she was 16 to try again. then united signed him.

i met the d silvas last week in manchester and both had their missus with them. tasty burds no doubt.