Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copper Faced Jacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I don't believe that! I hope you don't either

aye, im deady serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

for all the complaints about the place, its the most popular club in town if not the country.name any club in ireland that is busy 7 days a week without even having to put drink promos on.plenty of spots in town put cheap deals on monday-thursday for students.2-3 euro a drink and yet coppers is still full of students paying full price for a drink.love it or hate it-theyre doin something right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

df1985 wrote: »
    for all the complaints about the place, its the most popular club in town if not the country.name any club in ireland that is busy 7 days a week without even having to put drink promos on.plenty of spots in town put cheap deals on monday-thursday for students.2-3 euro a drink and yet coppers is still full of students paying full price for a drink.love it or hate it-theyre doin something right.
    It takes in on average €9,000 a night. One of the busiest in Europe

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

aye, im deady serious.
    I believe ya;)

Definitely! :D
    BrightEyes wrote: »
    It takes in on average €9,000 a night. One of the busiest in Europe
    Is that all? I would have thought more:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

yup, a barnyard full of idiots needing more than enough alcohol to 'socialise' with each other. Surely a reflection of this awful country

sheepishness.

Good nightclubs dont exist in Ireland. Just horrible seedy places like the one we speak of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

yup, a barnyard full of idiots needing more than enough alcohol to 'socialise' with each other. Surely a reflection of this awful country

clown

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

there was a thread about it recently in afterhours, coppers made a quarter of a million last year on the cloakroom alone.the place is a goldmine!

EDIT: here it is.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58577627

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Is that all? I would have thought more:confused:

That is phenomenal takings for a night!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Best club in Ireland. Never, ever had a bad night there.

It'll be the first spot I hit when I get home next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Not really.
    I know bars that $15k on a weekend night is poor and bars that always do $25k-$30k min.

Never thought of the money tbh... I would have thought more but thats decent 63k per week-not bad!
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Best club in Ireland. Never, ever had a bad night there.

It'll be the first spot I hit when I get home next week.
    Me neither, it's always been fun!
    sheepishness.

Good nightclubs dont exist in Ireland. Just horrible seedy places like the one we speak of.

Here we go again! What do you classify as good nightclubs? We have Krystle, Tonic, Coppers, D2, The Church(aka Keatings), the Palace to name a few. I frequent a few and they are good.
    Been to clubs in NYC, Boston, Atlanta, London, Aberdeen, Birmingham etc and they are good but i suppose home is always were the heart is!:)
    Rabies wrote: »
    Not really.
    I know bars that $15k on a weekend night is poor and bars that always do $25k-$30k min.
    Conver that to euro in the good ol days and that would be €20k and i can bet Coppers make that on a Friday/Saturday night... It's a tenner to get in, and the place is bloody packed i would think at least 450 people if not more plus drinks... Spend on average €50 per night... iif we do the math(based on 450 people) thats about €27k...

clown
    Why am I a clown? please explain

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

450 people i'd be surprised if it's not at least double not tripple that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

1600 is max capacity afaik

Here we go again! What do you classify as good nightclubs? We have Krystle, Tonic, Coppers, D2, The Church(aka Keatings), the Palace to name a few. I frequent a few and they are good.
    Been to clubs in NYC, Boston, Atlanta, London, Aberdeen, Birmingham etc and they are good but i suppose home is always were the heart is!:)

Well, I suppose my idea of socialising isnt going out listening to the same songs I just heard being played in the taxi on the way in looking at big groups of girls / lads dancing in a rather segregated manner whilst in between going up to the bar and knocking back a double vodka etc etc.....

I enjoy an atmosphere in a place, coppers is the same as any ****ty dublin nightclub, only that through its rep, it attracts the crowd, therefore, sheep. Horrible place, pure attraction for the prototype

Fair enough.... each to their own tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Well, I suppose my idea of socialising isnt going out listening to the same songs I just heard being played in the taxi on the way in looking at big groups of girls / lads dancing in a rather segregated manner whilst in between going up to the bar and knocking back a double vodka etc etc.....

I enjoy an atmosphere in a place, coppers is the same as any ****ty dublin nightclub, only that through its rep, it attracts the crowd, therefore, sheep. Horrible place, pure attraction for the prototype

So what is it actually like up there then?

Archimedes wrote: »
    So what is it actually like up there then?
    I dont get why you reply to what ive said by just pulling the 'get off your high horse' card. I guess you dont have much else you can say to me.

So I guess by acknowledging the terribly mundane predictable crap of your average nightclub leaves me stuck up my own arse? I dont think its that way, its just your perhaps just another crowd follower, admires the place thats biggest, you remind me of my mates who enjoy going to the same place weekend in/out gettin pissed.... Gets boring for some after the first few times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I dont get why you reply to what ive said by just pulling the 'get off your high horse' card. I guess you dont have much else you can say to me.

So I guess by acknowledging the terribly mundane predictable crap of your average nightclub leaves me stuck up my own arse? I dont think its that way, its just your perhaps just another crowd follower, admires the place thats biggest, you remind me of my mates who enjoy going to the same place weekend in/out gettin pissed.... Gets boring for some after the first few times

A simple "Its awfully smug up here" would have sufficed, thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I was there once, maybe 7 years ago, and had some really wrote off fat yolks approach me and my mate. I had gone out after being dragged out by my mate and didn't want to go anywhere never mind that kip. Left promptly, the pint of beer I ordered could be the worst one i've ever had. In hindsight though I should've lashed one of those fat yolks out of it for the craic.

I actually want to know what you do.... Or what you consider as a cool night club

No pun intended :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

It was the mid 90s, a crisp spring Sunday morning, I was walking around with my head pounding from the combination of dehydration and the thump thump of the Venger boys(or someone similar) still pounding in my ears, I had just managed to slip out the front door of some strangers house who I'd never met before and whose bed was my place of rest for the previous 4 or 5 hours, I just remembered waking up to greet a strange mustard coloured lampshade hanging out of the ceiling with what looked like a scarlet pair of drawers hanging out of them. I turned to the left nervously and slightly lifted the blanket from the head of my bellowing bedfellow, I couldn't see her eyes as her whole face was covered by a confliguration of red and purple hair, her body was pale and contained so many freckles I thought I could make out the face of Jesus on her shoulder. For the life of me I couldn't remember how or when this red snoozing stranger came into my life or how I came to be in her tiny bedroom . SO I quiety left the room picking up items of clothing as I left, I couldn't locate my superman underwear so I decided to leave them where they fell in battle. I lifted the latch on the front door and found myself in the middle of some huge housing estate with endless hosues and dead ends everywhere, I walked for hours and not being in the posession of a mobile phone I was stranded and dying from a hangover, I decided to head back to my red stranger but I had walked so far I didn't know where the fk I was. Eventually I found a busstop and right at the top of the half torn schedule I saw the name FIN and nothing else, I panicked inside thinking it might be Finglas but I didn't see any horses or burnt out cars so I felt a little safer. Eventually I flagged down a taximan who came driving through the morning mist like some heroic saviour. I sat in the back of his warm cab half asleep and still half intoxicated , suddenly I felt a slight itch down by the captains quarters so I lifted my trousers to make a furtive inspection. To my horror I noticed something rubbery covering my manhood. Yes, It was still there. WTF. I gasped in horror and disgust. I told the driver to postpone the trip and let me out as I wanted to throw up very soon. I ran out of the cab and into a side enterance of a shop, to my relief (or rather lack of) the dickmac was empty/unused. I eventually mnade it home, kind of half disappointed that maybe I didn't perform on the occasion, I blamed it on the booze and settled into making the mother of all fry ups. I placed my hand into my pocket to retrieve a lighter to lit the gas, when I pulled out a pack of dickmacs with THREE missing. Suddenly I didn't feel so bad and spent the rest of the day watching the highlights of the US masters and soccer intermittently sleeping off my fryup and hangover and desperately trying to remember my amorous night spent with a red headed stranger from Copper face jacks

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i have never been tbh i dont even know where it is.

i feel like i am missing out on so much :rolleyes:

i have never been tbh i dont even know where it is.

i feel like i am missing out on so much :rolleyes:
    I think we all have to go to these places to experience for ourselves... First time i went i loved it! Was a regular too

Don't listen to what people say, go and experience it for yourself

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Don't listen to what people say, go and experience it for yourself

no, you're grand thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I used to love coppers, we called it sucky face Jacks. It was like a cattle mart. If you wanted to pull, that was the place to go.

End if the night, 3 of us (girls) getting into a taxi after a shed load of drink and all the mooching we could stand random bloke decides he's coming home with us :D, jumps into taxi.. "do you want me?" no, how bout you?" lol so funny at the time. Then he says, " sure yee can take turns yee have all night to decide :D" lol. Jesus to think we let him stay on the couch!

Is night owls in Ranelagh still going? That was a decent spot too.

I would DEFINATELY go back and would recommend people experience coppers at least once!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Christ I hope not...I would like to think that how we as a nation treat our most vunerable is a refelction of our society..not some crappy little nightclub full of drunken idiots with GAA jerseys on.

It reeks of desperation but then again so does Leggs in a different sort of way..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

themadchef wrote: »
    I used to love coppers, we called it sucky face Jacks. It was like a cattle mart. If you wanted to pull, that was the place to go.

End if the night, 3 of us (girls) getting into a taxi after a shed load of drink and all the mooching we could stand random bloke decides he's coming home with us :D, jumps into taxi.. "do you want me?" no, how bout you?" lol so funny at the time. Then he says, " sure yee can take turns yee have all night to decide :D" lol. Jesus to think we let him stay on the couch!

I would DEFINATELY go back and would recommend people experience coppers at least once!

Classy. And you are proud of this why exactly?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

themadchef wrote: »

Night Owls in Ranelagh is now Superquinn :D decent spot for what exactly?? fight watching?? there were always fights outside that place every weekend...