Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copper Faced Jacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

I feel so bad that any time I went I was so drunk that I was probably the only one at the place that didn't get laid.. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Cheerilee wrote: »
    Night Owls in Ranelagh is now Superquinn :D decent spot for what exactly?? fight watching?? there were always fights outside that place every weekend...
    Hahaha... no wonder i couldn't remember-i kept cracking my head...
    Was there once, interesting spot! Anyone remember Tramco and then the Palace... Some "classy" spots alright :D

who007 wrote: »
    I feel so bad that any time I went I was so drunk that I was probably the only one at the place that didn't get laid..

You and me....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A survey few years back reveales that Coppers is the number 1 Dublin nightclub for selling vending machine condoms...a lot of posh waking going on..:D

Coppers as a pulling joint??:confused:

Yeah absolutely if quality is not a priority and you want to snog "Mags the thick ankled teacher/nurse/garda from Mayo":D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Classy. And you are proud of this why exactly?:rolleyes:

What exactly is there not to be proud of? The guy spent the night on the couch? Im sure the view is spectacular from where you're sitting.

3 girls went out, had a great night. One random bloke spent the night on the couch...

What part exactly do you feel i should be ashamed of? Clearly i dont see it.

MIN2511 wrote: »

You and me....

I had thought of a smart answer to that whn I assumed "Min" and a tweetie bird meant you were female but thought better of it when it occured to me you may be a 6'4" rugby player in touch with his femininity! :)

who007 wrote: »
    I had thought of a smart answer to that whn I assumed "Min" and a tweetie bird meant you were female but thought better of it when it occured to me you may be a 6'4" rugby player in touch with his femininity! :)
    hahahaha.... nah all female the last time i checked :D

tbh i wouldn't score in Coppers anyways... oh i have never had a one nighter so i am safe there too :)

hahahaha.... nah all female the last time i checked :D

tbh i wouldn't score in Coppers anyways... oh i have never had a one nighter so i am safe there too :)

Yeah that's prob why I didn't get laid that night - you were the only single girl there and you ignored my drunken mutterings and glazed over eyes! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Archimedes wrote: »
    A simple "Its awfully smug up here" would have sufficed, thanks.
    x2?

I actually want to know what you do.... Or what you consider as a cool night club

No pun intended :)
    Not much to be honest, being a person fed up of drinking living in a country whose younger population which has such a reliance upon alcohol to 'socialise', there's not much for me to do. On the continent and elsewhere the aim isnt to get drunk when heading out, I wish that was the way here. Hopefully we will grow up soon. Cant understand how people dont get sick of gettin locked most weekends to be honest.

And as for me? well being a person which a fair bit of intertwining between my social life and music, well im not exactly spoiled for choice in this city. Im in the process of totally admitting defeat and getting the **** out of this country asap. (still doing degree course you see)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

could someone please blow up this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 kennymccormick

Not much to be honest, being a person fed up of drinking living in a country whose younger population which has such a reliance upon alcohol to 'socialise', there's not much for me to do. On the continent and elsewhere the aim isnt to get drunk when heading out, I wish that was the way here. Hopefully we will grow up soon. Cant understand how people dont get sick of gettin locked most weekends to be honest.

And as for me? well being a person which a fair bit of intertwining between my social life and music, well im not exactly spoiled for choice in this city. Im in the process of totally admitting defeat and getting the **** out of this country asap. (still doing degree course you see)

seriously LOL at you. you clearly have no mates so you have time to think about this crap. just looking at all your posts there, you seem like some knobend and tbh a complete loser who should be on suicide watch. ****in hell jesus wept.

here genius how do you know what everyone gets up to? as archimedes said how does it feel on that high horse of yours?

class a clown. listen eriksen once a loser always a loser, moving to somewhere on the continent aint goin to change **** for you. LMAO

can u even speak another language? zomng

• Registered Users Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

I think its a great laugh altogether. Only place in Ireland you are guaranteed to see someone doing the "dancing priest".

Place is like the afters of a traveller wedding. Crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,347 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

BrightEyes wrote: »
    It takes in on average €9,000 a night. One of the busiest in Europe
    This isn't true at all. It takes in far far more than this.

Its yearly figures were posted recently, its turnover is like 12million.
    Which is c.30k when divided by 365
    BrightEyes wrote: »
    That is phenomenal takings for a night!
    Its not great tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 39,347 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

pre-tax profit €6.6 million/revenues €13 million This is a 250k a week or 35k a night (spread over 365 days so actual figures are higher)

€9 million came from the licensed trade
    €2.5 million from door receipts,
    €666,200 from accommodation receipts
    €251,000 from cloakroom receipts.

employment costs are €2.5 million btw

seriously LOL at you. you clearly have no mates so you have time to think about this crap. just looking at all your posts there, you seem like some knobend and tbh a complete loser who should be on suicide watch. ****in hell jesus wept.

here genius how do you know what everyone gets up to? as archimedes said how does it feel on that high horse of yours?

class a clown. listen eriksen once a loser always a loser, moving to somewhere on the continent aint goin to change **** for you. LMAO

can u even speak another language? zomng
    Friends? Now were getting a bit into 13yr old mode. I do, but ideas of socialising contrast to say the least.

So now I take it the Irish dont rely on drink, and im a sad loner for not embracing our false alcoholic culture. Also, your arguing against all this drunken ****e thatg happens in our typical night club, so the masses are in it for the odd tipple here and these and refrain from drinking more than enough beer. And yeah, i do acknowlegde, that you will counter generalisations throught 'now, not everybody' as you dont have much else to say.

But about why im doing this, well, its just that im pissed off with the falseless, needing, mundane irish public when it comes to socialising (in the popular sense). Do people not get sick of going out and getting pissed on a weekly basis after they hit 21 odd?

cheers,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ILOff

Its a crazy crazy joint. It is full of knuckle dragging drunks. And thats just the women. The amount of alcohol consumed is ridiculous or maybe thats just the standard amount in every Irish niteclub. I hate the place but some people think it is Heaven.

I definitely think Culchies aren't happy unless they bar is completely jammed and they have to queue in its all a bonus.
    E.g Coppers, McGowans, Flannerys and Rody Bolands

ILOff wrote: »
    Its a crazy crazy joint. It is full of knuckle dragging drunks. And thats just the women. The amount of alcohol consumed is ridiculous or maybe thats just the standard amount in every Irish niteclub. I hate the place but some people think it is Heaven.

I definitely think Culchies aren't happy unless they bar is completely jammed and they have to queue in its all a bonus.
    E.g Coppers, McGowans, Flannerys and Rody Bolands
    If only my rant was as clear and concise as yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

ILOff wrote: »

Nah man, Heaven is far worse. It's in Blanch ffs! :pac:

So any one going to CFJ tonight... I might pop in

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

my mates are in town and headin there later, cant go myself.

Am at home, contemplating if i should go out...

Very broke! But would love to have a good laugh which i always get in CFJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Cant stand the place personnally, but each to their own. I laugh at the "get off your high horse" brigade though.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Ainekav

well I love coppers. Its great craic, theres less skinny blonde bitches in the loos who make everyone else feel whale-like, theres even LESS little ignorant and pompous d4 rugby jocks, and they play such classics as the hills of donegal and maniac 2000!!! What more would you want- the place is just a laugh... now dont get me wrong the price is a bit steep, the beer is horrendous and the men are like leeches. but its the most fun place to go in dublin for a good aul messy night out. I recently went to burn in Stillorgan and that godawful bondi in the city and spent the entire night fighting the queue into the ladies (You're so vainnnnnnn) or marvelling at the stupidity of the young d4 crowd... at least in coppers people you don't know will have the craic with ya! theres my 2c worth

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

Ainekav wrote: »
    ...they play such classics as the hills of donegal and maniac 2000!!!

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

"Mags the thick ankled teacher/nurse/garda from Mayo":D:D

I lol'd:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zach morris

theres less skinny blonde bitches

they play such classics as the hills of donegal and maniac 2000!!!

the beer is horrendous

And, you're pro coppers?

at least in coppers people you don't know will have the craic with ya! theres my 2c worth
    You can have craic with most people, it just sounds like you don't want to have any dealings with the "ignorant and pompus" dublin crowd. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

, theres even LESS little ignorant and pompous d4 rugby jocks

Eh the Leinster rugby team drinks there regularly

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Jeez some people really do get hung up on things too easily here..

Coppers is/or used to be one of the few spots in dublin where you werent surrounded by pompous little gits/wannabes who think they are somebody because daddy/mammy had a few quid or drunken scumbags who'd glass you as soon as look at you..

You could simply go there with some mates and have a laugh.. that was the appeal of the place.. it wasnt stuck up, wasnt full of scumbags and sure if you were so inclined, could pick someone up easily enough as most people there were plastered drunk..

The reason its so popular with Gardai, most being from outside Dublin, is because its around the corner from Flannerys, another popular pub with the Gardai and they all used to get in for free, most without having to flash the badge.. so needless to say they always had a few mates with em, then their mates would go etc and suddenly you had a huge amount of people going simply because their mates went there. Hence the place being full of non dubs..

Sure its a dump, beer is crap and staff couldnt pull a pint to save their lives, but it works, so why fix whats not broken??

Too many pubs have what works but the owners get greedy and change things, suddenly the appeal is gone and so are the customers.. :rolleyes:

I'd say the figures in the other thread are very conservative.. :D

Tox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 dennymac

coppers can only be described as an experience that has to be had. i've been going there for years... every night i'm out i hear the statement "we're not going to copper no matter what happens" but come 2am the homing becon is on and i'm suddenly in coppers...

the place is always busy... 99.9% of the punters are there to have a laugh and get drunk... i've never once seen a fight in there and there are very few pompus twats in there either which is always nice.

and being in one of the greatest sh!tholes of a city in the country its nice to be able to go out and know your not gonna be stabbed/shot/mugged/assraped...

but on the other hand variety is the spice of life... everyone is different so only you can make up your own mind about the place...

ooo and if i was the dude that owned coppers i wouldn't give a hairy sh!te what anyone taught of the place as i'd be too busy rolling around in ye're money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭wannabepr

So Guys What Age Is Coppers??
    I Hear everything from over 18 to over 20 to over 21?? Can someone set me straight?