Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copper Faced Jacks

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭sagat

I have not been to Coppers in 6 years and in that six years I have seen a lot of this world. Traveled to many of it's great cities and isolated watering holes but nowhere, absolutely nowhere on this planet is quite like Coppers.

I always hated the place, begged my mates not to go there, once got sexually assaulted by some drunken culchie bird who I literally had to beat away from me. But right at this moment 6,000 miles from Dublin there's nothing I would love more than to be in there with the boys having a laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

It's 18 AFAIK

I miss that place.... I have to go to Coppers soon...

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

wannabepr wrote: »
    So Guys What Age Is Coppers??
    I Hear everything from over 18 to over 20 to over 21?? Can someone set me straight?

They kind of make it up as they go along!

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Vero

i think it's 18s... I got in when I was 20 and there were also people who where 18 or 19 with me and it wasn't a problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I've always been told it's 21s

No it is 21s...got turned away for trying to smuggle in an underage boardsie.

sagat wrote: »
    I have not been to Coppers in 6 years and in that six years I have seen a lot of this world. Traveled to many of it's great cities and isolated watering holes but nowhere, absolutely nowhere on this planet is quite like Coppers.

I'm not really in a position to say, as I have never ever been! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

dennymac wrote: »
    coppers can only be described as an experience that has to be had. i've been going there for years... every night i'm out i hear the statement "we're not going to copper no matter what happens" but come 2am the homing becon is on and i'm suddenly in coppers...

the place is always busy... 99.9% of the punters are there to have a laugh and get drunk... i've never once seen a fight in there and there are very few pompus twats in there either which is always nice.

and being in one of the greatest sh!tholes of a city in the country its nice to be able to go out and know your not gonna be stabbed/shot/mugged/assraped...

but on the other hand variety is the spice of life... everyone is different so only you can make up your own mind about the place...

ooo and if i was the dude that owned coppers i wouldn't give a hairy sh!te what anyone taught of the place as i'd be too busy rolling around in ye're money :D

how dare you, dublin is one of the greatest cities in the world...youve got some cheek and ignorance to write it off or focus on a minute bad element.. me thinks your paranoid and be better suited to a more rural environment i suggest you hit the road....dont come back!

been to coppers twice...one guy had a piss at the bar, another tried to wear the face off my then gf and lastly a guy smashed into me when i was holding 2 pints when i said 'hey watch it' he tried to bite my ear...firm knee to his nuts sent him on his way...people dont know how to behave in there imo, country degenerates...for the record counrty towns are the ruffest in Ireland...not Dublin not by a long shot!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

dennymac wrote: »
    but come 2am the homing becon is on and i'm suddenly in coppers...

Alcohol makes one stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Piriz wrote: »
    how dare you, dublin is one of the greatest cities in the world...

Eh...no.

Piriz wrote: »
    people dont know how to behave in there imo, country degenerates...for the record counrty towns are the ruffest in Ireland...not Dublin not by a long shot!!!

thumbs up. Ive lived in a country town until I came to college in Dublin. Anytime I head back ,the amount of knuckle draggin useless bastards roaming around the streets pissed drunk really sickens me. When I see this up on Harcourt St, its even worse. Typical drunken Irish idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Last monday night, my girlfriend was approached by a little runt of a fella. I had to laugh when i heard what he said. :rolleyes:

He sat down beside her (i was in the jacks) and says "i'm from Foxrock, do you know where that is?", to which the missus says, "yeah, usually its where the w*nkers come from".

He obviously didnt take the subtle hint, so he says, "I drive a golf, do you know what kind of car that is?" The missus, being awful quick that night, says "yeah, its the kind of car that someone buys when they cant afford an Audi" :D

Now yer man is getting irritated, and he fires off one last parting shot "ok, look, i'll give you one chance to kiss me", at which point i arrived back, with a funny look on my face as if to say "who the f*ck are you, and if you dont get away from my missus, you'll get to see what the back of an ambulance is like" ( i know, alot for a face to say :D)

He scarpered fairly quick after realisin he wasnt gettin anythin only a trip to the doc....

I just think that example personifies coppers. Mind you, if we ever break up, i'll be back tryin his lines.....;):D

Last monday night, my girlfriend was approached by a little runt of a fella. I had to laugh when i heard what he said. :rolleyes:

He sat down beside her (i was in the jacks) and says "i'm from Foxrock, do you know where that is?", to which the missus says, "yeah, usually its where the w*nkers come from".

He obviously didnt take the subtle hint, so he says, "I drive a golf, do you know what kind of car that is?" The missus, being awful quick that night, says "yeah, its the kind of car that someone buys when they cant afford an Audi" :D

Now yer man is getting irritated, and he fires off one last parting shot "ok, look, i'll give you one chance to kiss me", at which point i arrived back, with a funny look on my face as if to say "who the f*ck are you, and if you dont get away from my missus, you'll get to see what the back of an ambulance is like" ( i know, alot for a face to say :D)

He scarpered fairly quick after realisin he wasnt gettin anythin only a trip to the doc....

I just think that example personifies coppers. Mind you, if we ever break up, i'll be back tryin his lines.....;):D
    Resorting to the level of your average uneducated scumbag by expressing the readyness to hit some random fella who hadnt a ****ing clue that that woman was in a relationship. Good man yourself, your really Irish.

To me, if you had sufficient trust in your girlfriend, why would you need to stoop to such a low level and enter into knacker mode with that random fella. Surely, wasnt her atttitude enough to give him the key to **** off anyways.

Resorting to the level of your average uneducated scumbag by expressing the readyness to hit some random fella who hadnt a ****ing clue that that woman was in a relationship. Good man yourself, your really Irish.

To me, if you had sufficient trust in your girlfriend, why would you need to stoop to such a low level and enter into knacker mode with that random fella. Surely, wasnt her atttitude enough to give him the key to **** off anyways.

Being honest, i wasnt really going to resort to hitting him. Giving him the look was enough for him to get the idea, and in general that works in most cases.

I have never been involved in a fight in any nightclub, and i've actually broken up quite a few. And after his first attempt to pull, after clearly being told to f*ck off, he didnt get the idea, maybe he deserved a good thump.

I do trust my girlfriend, and i didnt enter any "mode" with him. I made it clear who i was, and got rid of him, without having to move a muscle. To me, i would imagine that is a better, and smarter option than resorting to violence.

And, judging by your previous posts, you have a serious bee up you hole. If you care to actually read my post again, i do believe it backs up your argument that coppers is a sh*thole, full of tossers.

Being honest, i wasnt really going to resort to hitting him. Giving him the look was enough for him to get the idea, and in general that works in most cases.

I have never been involved in a fight in any nightclub, and i've actually broken up quite a few. And after his first attempt to pull, after clearly being told to f*ck off, he didnt get the idea, maybe he deserved a good thump.

I do trust my girlfriend, and i didnt enter any "mode" with him. I made it clear who i was, and got rid of him, without having to move a muscle. To me, i would imagine that is a better, and smarter option than resorting to violence.

And, judging by your previous posts, you have a serious bee up you hole. If you care to actually read my post again, i do believe it backs up your argument that coppers is a sh*thole, full of tossers.
    So you mention giving him filthys in order to make him feel threatened. That would have only headed down the road if he hadnt siezed the initiative himself (he was most likely locked, and if you were in his place, im sure it wouldnt have been entirely different).

I dont have anything up my hole. I just grew out of getting locked weekend after weekend when I turned 18. People dont seem to understand, but simply say im a snob for acknowledging reality. Not everybody has the same idea of socialising, I wish to do so without being more than a little drunk, as most Irish people aged 18-25 tend to be when out 'on the town'.

Can you back up the whole 'bee up you hole' thing please.

So you mention giving him filthys in order to make him feel threatened. That would have only headed down the road if he hadnt siezed the initiative himself (he was most likely locked, and if you were in his place, im sure it wouldnt have been entirely different).

I dont have anything up my hole. I just grew out of getting locked weekend after weekend when I turned 18. People dont seem to understand, but simply say im a snob for acknowledging reality. Not everybody has the same idea of socialising, I wish to do so without being more than a little drunk, as most Irish people aged 18-25 tend to be when out 'on the town'.

Can you back up the whole 'bee up you hole' thing please.

You've just gone down my throat for a very small reason. I just didnt like your first reply to my post. It suggested you have a problem with anyone who goes into coppers. I dont really go in there too often, only been in maybe 4 or 5 times in the last two years. I agree - its not really a great place to go, and seems to be full of fella's who just go out to pull and get completely locked. I just didnt appreciate the tone.

I was also driving last monday night, so i wasnt drinking, as i havent drank in the last 6 months.

I gave him a look, and he knew straight away - had he not got the idea at that stage, i would have walked away. Im smart enough to know not to get involved in something stupid, and the girlfriend would go banana's if i hit someone over something so small.

I also agree with your socialising point - when i do drink, i prefer to have a 4 or 5 pints, enjoy myself, and walk out of the place, as opposed to being carried out.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Guys, we are talking about CFJ not Drummerboy08 vs Leif Erikson.... :D

This being valentine week they are bound to come up with some cheesy advertisement for the week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

I absolutely adore Coppers.
    Miss it now that I haven't been there a couple of months...

Come on the madness!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Have been talked into going here on Saturday for my 21st..

How big of a mistake have I made?

I absolutely adore Coppers.
    Miss it now that I haven't been there a couple of months...

Come on the madness!

You know there is a Ladies Lounge beers on Thursday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Moonbaby wrote: »
    You know there is a Ladies Lounge beers on Thursday :D

Hah!
    *Skips over to tLL*

Hah!
    *Skips over to tLL*

*Rubs hands gleefully* :D

MIN you in woman!?!