Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

seriously like, why do we cheat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭dontcallmecrazy

we were together a year and a half, we were renting, it wasn the same night, maybe a week and a bit later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

People cheat because they are selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I think people have been watching too much television. You all make relationships out to be so complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

we were together a year and a half, we were renting, it wasn the same night, maybe a week and a bit later.

Ah Jesus, you didn't cheat on the guy.. and if there was a 'waiting period' a week and a half is more than generous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Was it with his brother / sister or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Fair enough but if he was seeing her for, say 10 years. They have a falling out and he thinks she should move out (I'm guessing he owns the house).
    He has every right to be pissed off with her if she goes out that night and gets off with someone.
    There may not be a waiting period - but if my girlfriend told me it was over and started kissing someone right away, I'd punch her right in the ovaries*!!!

*(That is to say I'd be pretty upset with her)
    Thats bollox!

He kicked her out, he wanted to break up. Tough bloody shít! She can do what she likes.

thanks girls/guys, your comments are giving me that little extra nudge i need to keep the chin up.

Was it with his brother / sister or something?

no, god no. ew

Kiera wrote: »
    Thats bollox!

He kicked her out, he wanted to break up. Tough bloody shít! She can do what she likes.

Not arguing with that, but it'd explain why he was pissed off with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

but why do we cheat, but there must be some actual explanation?
    I think a simple maths equation explains it logically.
    N = A whole number greater than 1.

N(Vagina) > Vagina

EDIT: Or in your case OP, replace vagina with Willy.

Doesn't mean he has a right to be.
    He's actually p*ssed off with himself that he made a rash decision by dumping her and everythings changed now coz she kissed someone else. He's annoyed with himself and trying to make her feel guilty. She has nothing to feel guilty about. I have no sympathy for him. /rant

Because he's playing the "poor me" card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Why would you even be on a break unless you really hated the fùcker? In which case you should dump his ass.

You go girl.

turgon wrote: »
    Why would you even be on a break unless you really hated the fùcker? In which case you should dump his ass.

You go girl.
    I bet you clicked you fingers from side to side after typing that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

We can has ex bashing forum? pretty please.

Would be great craic in fairness :pac:

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Doesn't mean he has a right to be.
    He's actually p*ssed off with himself that he made a rash decision by dumping her and everythings changed now coz she kissed someone else. He's annoyed with himself and trying to make her feel guilty. She has nothing to feel guilty about. I have no sympathy for him. /rant

It may not have been a rash decision to dump her, she could have been getting off with all sorts while they were going out, and then she goes and gets off with someone else while they were on a break.
    Or she could have some sort of a chemical dependancy, and he threw her out after the last intervention failed...
    It's obvious he valued the relationship a lot more than she did... While he was trying to salvage the relationship she was out messing around with other guys.

Although he should have spent his time trying to get off with someone else instead of bitching about here doing it...

themadchef wrote: »

+10000 Great idea!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Would be great craic in fairness

Great idea!!!

Name?

or at least a sticky int he LL?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Tourrettes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

A man is only a faithful as his options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Bad idea imo. The mods would get sick to the back teeth of people constantly asking for their threads to be deleted when it turns out they do in fact love the selfish ***** with his ******* I'm too good for you attitude and his pencil **** and his absolute **** of a mother after all.

javaboy wrote: »
    Bad idea imo. The mods would get sick to the back teeth of people constantly asking for their threads to be deleted when it turns out they do in fact love the selfish ***** with his ******* I'm too good for you attitude and his pencil **** and his absolute **** of a mother after all.
    I'd bitch about you in it. My ex-friend who changed when he became a mod :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Man, you're crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I'd bitch about you in it. My ex-friend who changed when he became a mod :(
    Gawd I hope that never happens to me .......change that is .

so i kissed somebody else while me and him were ON A BREAK he considers this cheating, fair enough.

but why do we cheat, i know all the usual - missing something in the realtionship etc etc.

but there must be some actual explanation?

i just want to know so i dont go doing it again.

"Wanna blowjob like?"

"ok, like, Is this considered cheating like?"

"No, like"

"Nice one, go ahead then like"

latchyco wrote: »
    Gawd I hope that never happens to me .......change that is .
    It would only be for the better in your case :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

rarnes1 wrote: »
    "Wanna blowjob like?"

"ok, like, Is this considered cheating like?"

"No, like"

"Nice one, go ahead then like"

Ah the Bill Clinton school of thought.

she could have been getting off with all sorts while they were going out, and then she goes and gets off with someone else while they were on a break.

Where did you get that from?! She'd hardly admit a snog while they were broken up* if she was off cheating on him the whole time!

*I dont buy this "on a break" lark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

We cheat because far away fannys smell nicer

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Where did you get that from?! [/SIZE]

I read between the lines... Once a cheater...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It would only be for the better in your case :p
    teapot calling the kettle black. bladda bladda blah :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Then ill mod and rule with an iron clad no delete policy.
    All relationships will be forever fecked and I will be the new eternal lord of all their misery :pac:

or ill get lynched and bow to peer pressure*

*thats much more likely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Blue-Eyed

ON A BREAK

Flashback from Friends incoming. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

I am a male and i think what he did was stupid. he broke up with you and kicked you out onto ur ass and then after a fair amount of time you moved on and scored whoever you wanted.

He then decided he had made big mistake and wanted you back. You were amazingly honest and told him what happened. (How many of us wouldn't say?!). And then he has the gall (hope thats right usage of word) to give out/hate you??!!

I call BS

As previous poster said, he sounds like an idiot and someone you are better off without. Move on with your life and enjoy it. And if i ever see ya round ill buy ya a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I leave for a couple of hours and ye all go soft.

He's a wimp, its Friday night, you claim to be of age, hot and vulnerable,

Get out there and give some lad the easy score of his life!

He wont cry about it either if you dont text him afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Fock the ex. The mind-games he expected the OP to go along with barely scratch the surface. He played God with where she lived aswell.

And he claims this kiss was cheating while being on a 'break' he asked for? Ask my árse.

What did he want a break for? A break is greedy, and basically means 'Im going to give something else a shot, and Im gona keep you handy in case it doesnt work out'.

Let the focker fall between two stools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

People cheat because humans engage in myopic discounting. They take the easy option NOW instead of acting for their long term happiness. I other words, they're weak willed cnunts, disgusting selfish hedonists.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People cheat because humans engage in myopic discounting. They take the easy option NOW instead of acting for their long term happiness. I other words, they're weak willed cnunts, disgusting selfish hedonists.
    Bitter much?:D But yes I actually agree with you for the most part. Most or a lot of people are self centered. So long as the balance is ok or they're getting their quick fix, then they won't cheat. The second it becomes harder or they get an itch down below, they'll jump. Temptation belongs to all of us, but acting on that is what marks out the people who think beyond their own immediate needs.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Wibbs wrote: »
    Bitter much?:D

Nah, am only a young fella! :D Know a good bit of psychology though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

so i kissed somebody else while me and him were ON A BREAK he considers this cheating, fair enough.

but why do we cheat, i know all the usual - missing something in the realtionship etc etc.

I don't cheat. You did, welcome to dirtystopperville. Population; you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Kold wrote: »
    I don't cheat. You did, welcome to dirtystopperville. Population; you.
    Read rest of thread for full story, we did. Welcome to jumptoconclusionsville. Population; you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wibbs wrote: »
    Bitter much?:D But yes I actually agree with you for the most part. Most or a lot of people are self centered. So long as the balance is ok or they're getting their quick fix, then they won't cheat. The second it becomes harder or they get an itch down below, they'll jump. Temptation belongs to all of us, but acting on that is what marks out the people who think beyond their own immediate needs.

Have to agree, we are all self centred but there seems to be some people who will satisfy that itch, others will have no problem resisting it.

Many relationships have there bad patches, it's up to the individual how they behave.

OP, I can't see you did anything wrong.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Its not cheating if you drop the hand.

Eating is not cheating.

Its only cheating if shes over the age of 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Domo230 wrote: »
    Some of us are having trouble getting the one, let alone 2 or more to cheat with.

your honesty is admirable

Did I walk in on an episode of Friends? :confused:

There is no such thing as a break btw. It's usually a trap. You fell for it.

Referring to the friends episode.Ross was in the right and it was Rachel's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

This is much better then PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Because we're fvcking idiots thats why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

I love the fact you come on AH expecting a serious answer:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Read rest of thread for full story, we did. Welcome to jumptoconclusionsville. Population; you.

She mustn't like the guy all that much if it takes her a week to get over him and kiss another guy. Then she changes her mind and goes back to him. Not particularly respectable behaviour imo. She has admitted to cheating with the OP, no matter what you deem it as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Kold wrote: »
    She has admitted to cheating
    Which is what hes convinced her. If the shoe was on the other foot, he'd call her irrational and probably get away with it.

He fúcks her out, then expects her to come running back. Its ok for him to be disappointed, but laying on the guilt?

I wouldnt entertain the tool.