Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escort Mk1/Mk2/Capri

• 01-02-2009 10:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭

Im looking for an old ford, one of the above prefferably, for around 1500 to 3000e. Limited budget i know but im willing to put in a bit of restoration work for the right car.This'll be my first car and im 17 so im being slaughtered by insurance and probably cant go above a 1.6L engine. If anyone is selling or knows of any1 whos selling or even a few good places to look let me know. A few suggestions wouldnt hurt either.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

You are probably looking at a 4 door MK2 at that money,2 doors are nuts expensive,good capris arent cheap either,you will be looking at a 1600 capri,i doubt you would find a 1300,they are dog slow anyway:)
    Insurance can be tough to get on an older car being a young driver too.
    Best thing is to watch the classifieds,and www.everyfordireland.com

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭The-Ry-Man06

ye a four door is what id be looking for but there so hard to find as every sort of mk2 in anyway resonable condition is being snapped up. The 1600 capri is a bit more affordable but they seem a bit heavy and fairly long to be driving around dublin especially for me whos never driven anything without power steering. Not sure about insurance as some classics are classed as sport models.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 scooby the dog

IVE HAD A FEW IN MY TIME 1600 SPORT 2 DOOR (ORIGINAL) AND 1.6 GHIA 4 DOOR

STILL HAVE BITS & PIECES SOMEWHERE N GARAGE

1.6 GEAR BOX , GLOVE BOX ,ADJUSTABLE DRIVER,S DOOR MIRROR
    1.6 BLOCK (711M6015BA ) HEAD F----D,:mad::mad:
    FULL SET GREEN TINTED GLASS FROM 2 DOOR 1.6 SPORT

THEM WERE THE GOOD OLD DAYS

ye a four door is what id be looking for but there so hard to find as every sort of mk2 in anyway resonable condition is being snapped up. The 1600 capri is a bit more affordable but they seem a bit heavy and fairly long to be driving around dublin especially for me whos never driven anything without power steering. Not sure about insurance as some classics are classed as sport models.
    A capri isnt too heavy to drive really,mine never bothered me much,though every day in dublin traffic might get a bit wearing.
    If you chose a car other than a ford it might be easier to pick one up?

Ye i took a test drive in an opel mata a coupe '71 the other day a real head turner and good price but completely roten underneath. What others would you have in mind apart from the old Golf's which im not too fond of.

IVE HAD A FEW IN MY TIME 1600 SPORT 2 DOOR (ORIGINAL) AND 1.6 GHIA 4 DOOR

STILL HAVE BITS & PIECES SOMEWHERE N GARAGE

1.6 GEAR BOX , GLOVE BOX ,ADJUSTABLE DRIVER,S DOOR MIRROR
    1.6 BLOCK (711M6015BA ) HEAD F----D,:mad::mad:
    FULL SET GREEN TINTED GLASS FROM 2 DOOR 1.6 SPORT

THEM WERE THE GOOD OLD DAYS

Can you imagine if youd held on to them now. i cant find any sort of 2 door 1600 for under 6 thousand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Capri 1600 would be a good option. I had a couple in my time. Insurance shouldnt be too much of a problem. Spares are plentiful and they're DIY friendly too. I never had any probs with the lack of power steering,though I know it can be retro fitted at a cost.
    I have an 82 1600 gt4 in diff sheds across 2 diff counties at the mo. Dunno if I'll ever get round to doing it up though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

AFAIK you wont get insurance on a classic car from any company in Ireland until you're 25. If you know otherwise share the info as a few threads have discussed this previously.

Capri 1600 would be a good option. I had a couple in my time. Insurance shouldnt be too much of a problem. Spares are plentiful and they're DIY friendly too. I never had any probs with the lack of power steering,though I know it can be retro fitted at a cost.
    I have an 82 1600 gt4 in diff sheds across 2 diff counties at the mo. Dunno if I'll ever get round to doing it up though.
    Have you any pics?:)
    A good alternative to the MK2 is the Vauxhall chevette(a much better all round car IMO),or something along those lines?

shagman wrote: »
    AFAIK you wont get insurance on a classic car from any company in Ireland until you're 25. If you know otherwise share the info as a few threads have discussed this previously.

Im not sure. What do you mean by classic first of all. i havnt got a quote for anything over the 30 years which defines a classic but i have got a quote from hibernian(aviva now) for a 1.3 ford escort mk3 1988 and it was 2500 for policy holder and 1500 as named driver and this is without any no claims bonus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Have you any pics?:)?
    No way of doing pics at the mo. No scanner/printer etc. Must start saving the pennies & learnin how to do that stuff...

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Paddy001

www.irishescortcub.com

Few for sale at the moment

Paddy001 wrote: »
    www.irishescortcub.com
    Wrong link.. www.irishescortclub.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

4 door 1100 escort sounds like your best bet.Relatively cheap to buy and you can still make it look like an RS2000 or Mex fairly easily....4 doors arent that popular sio they cost about half what a 2 door does...

check out this one..its a lovely car and is GENUINE Irish and therefore a rarity. Seller is sound too.

http://z8.invisionfree.com/EveryFord_Ireland/index.php?showtopic=7037&hl=

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

I think you'd better check out the whole insurance thing fully though. Most wont insure a car of that age on a regular policy, just 'cos they will quote for an '88 doesn't mean they will for a '78.

As said above you need to be 25 for a classic policy.

I had a 1600 Sport too, first road legal car in my own name. It was white with forest arches and Revolution wheels, Cibie Oscars etc....

To be honest it was a rough car, but I had some craic with it. A good few of my friends at the time had very well sorted Mk2's, 2 with 1740cc motors and all the right bits.

Lovely cars !

try Hibernian I think they will do it....

corktina wrote: »
    4 door 1100 escort sounds like your best bet.Relatively cheap to buy and you can still make it look like an RS2000 or Mex fairly easily....4 doors arent that popular sio they cost about half what a 2 door does...

check out this one..its a lovely car and is GENUINE Irish and therefore a rarity. Seller is sound too.

http://z8.invisionfree.com/EveryFord_Ireland/index.php?showtopic=7037&hl=
    Its a nice car alright,he posts here sometimes too,i never liked the 4 door myself though.
    EscortForSale006.jpg

There's also a 2door LHD shell on IEC for €2500 and you could convert it and build it yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

your choice is quite good plus a decent budget but for that kinda cash you need something complete so id say you'll get a cheap mkIII capper for around 3000 just have to be patient till one pops up... though with the recession scaring the be-jasus out of everyone patience is essential... but worth it in the long run.

you should be able to get a 4dr escort but people are picky when it comes to them and opt for the 2 dr instead

personally 4 doors my pick, but a clean, historically restored one for 3k max...

Best of luck.

€2500 for a shell, I'd take that on and make a nice car out of it, proviuded all the bits were available.

MercMad wrote: »
    €2500 for a shell, I'd take that on and make a nice car out of it, provided all the bits were available.
    Bits should be easy to come by,plenty of lads with escort oily bits stashed away,though getting them to sell might be another story:p!
    I still think the MK2 is overrated though,unless its a well sorted car.

Seems good enough value,i like the colour too
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Capri/200905191629475/advert
    Or maybe this if you can do the work to it..
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Escort/1.1/200851191254432/advert

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

Seems good enough value,i like the colour too
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Capri/200905191629475/advert
    Or maybe this if you can do the work to it..
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Escort/1.1/200851191254432/advert

v nice on the yellow capri, pity its yellow!
    escort... i wouldnd touch anything in Pat Murphys yard unless it was with wire brush and mig and thats only to start off with

• Registered Users Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Blue850

media?id=6258467&large=true

Kadett Coupe on autotrader €3800, restored, 1.2 engine, Manta engines will fit. no flippin contact no.:rolleyes:
    Theres also a saloon for €2800

The 4 door Escort would not interest me. I think oily bits would be fine but body panels are scarce, especially rear 1/4 panels ;)

I like those Kadett C's, quality motor. I'd put a red top in it ! :cool:

the escort doesnt need 1/4 panels and is a superb original Irish car. Anyway, I never heard of panels beiong hard to get for an Escort....

corktina wrote: »
    the escort doesnt need 1/4 panels and is a superb original Irish car. Anyway, I never heard of panels beiong hard to get for an Escort....

...........thats interesting, I'll look for the add. I heard that 1/4 panels were virtually unobtainable due to the amount used on various rally cars. Is that not the case now ?

They are available, every panel is. However quarters and roof skins are expensive. For a resto you can get a wheelarch repair panel for about €20, the whole quarter panel will be ok 99% of the time but they are all available. Even chassis sections are available

I like those Kadett C's, quality motor. I'd put a red top in it ! :cool:
    Oh yeah,now thats the job!!Something like this,with extra turbo please...
    galerieOpel-Kadett-c-Turbo--28EDS-3-5-2B-29-hMYl.jpg

that would be 2 door 1/4 panels i guess...4 door ones should be easier i would think