Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escort Mk1/Mk2/Capri

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/escort-tec_Panels_W0QQcolZ4QQdirZ1QQfsubZ7537303QQftidZ2QQtZkm
    FOR ANY ESCORT PANEL, you name it, he will chop it. He has 3 complete backends for sale there.
    Anyhow, lets not turn this into a discussion on what you can/cant get for a ford.

I think the biggest issue this young lad will have is insurance so before he goes looking for any panels or mechanical bits he may sus that out first.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭The-Ry-Man06

Cheers for the info lads theres alot to be thinkin about. Im not sure abut the mk2 escort ive taken a look at a few in my price range but they all need a fair bit of work on trim/ slight welding etc. and i dont think that would leave enough in my budget to do all that. But in the capris ive found a fair few which dont need too much work. Problem is i could only go to a 1.6 and the capri has pretty heavy front end and no Power steering. Is it worth my while retro fitting power steering into it wat sort of price etc?? or is it just a matter of getting used to the extra weight????

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Problem is i could only go to a 1.6 and the capri has pretty heavy front end and no Power steering. Is it worth my while retro fitting power steering into it wat sort of price etc?? or is it just a matter of getting used to the extra weight????
    Its not too bad,you will get used to it,its the 2.8s that had the power steering as they would be a bit heavier,if you drive like this you will be grand:p;)(sorry for big pic..)
    DSC01845.jpg

Very Nice!! excellent picture too! that looks like serious fun. :D

well i got a quote on a Ford Capri 1.6 1985 from AXA for 2700e Comp. Still more than the value of a capri i have in mind but fairly compeditive. Does any1 have any suggestions on where to find cheaper insurance on a car of that age for an 18 yr old driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

i wouldnd let the lack of power steering put you off a capri, you'll get used to it quick and should only have a problem with if you have a pair tits.

no more ideas on insurance sorry...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Very Nice!! excellent picture too! that looks like serious fun. :D
    Oh it is,once pulled a tyre off the rim doing that in mine years back....and shes only 2Litre:p
    should only have a problem with if you have tits...

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

The Escort Pictured above is mine, there has been a lot of new parts fitted over the last year or so with receipts to prove, if anyone wants any more info on this car send me a mail or a pm anytime........

Thanks Corktina for putting the Escort up.
    Thanks Carchaeologist for the pic up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 panelb/sprayer

i want just on the internet to a web site called www.donedeal.ie and there was a mk11 escort 4 door for 2,500 euro good price fully restored go for it or if you have some elsething else to swap for the same price try go for it. its a very good site and reasonable prices . i was surprised it was going that cheap .

yea i think thats the same one as above its a great price and the car looks excellent but its just that bit too much out of my price range.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 STONE ISLAND

hi, do you still have the green tinted glass, very interested.thanks
    IVE HAD A FEW IN MY TIME 1600 SPORT 2 DOOR (ORIGINAL) AND 1.6 GHIA 4 DOOR

STILL HAVE BITS & PIECES SOMEWHERE N GARAGE

1.6 GEAR BOX , GLOVE BOX ,ADJUSTABLE DRIVER,S DOOR MIRROR
    1.6 BLOCK (711M6015BA ) HEAD F----D,:mad::mad:
    FULL SET GREEN TINTED GLASS FROM 2 DOOR 1.6 SPORT

THEM WERE THE GOOD OLD DAYS

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

OP are you any way mechanical?? A 1970's car could be a riddled with mechanical problems not to mention the rust lol.

If you cant do the relativly simple jobs like overhauling the brakes or changing shocks, your budget will be shot when you get a major mechanical problems that you have to pay someone for.

Although there is no better type of cars to break yourself in mechanically, if you are afraid to get your hands dirty there is no point owning a classic.

landyman wrote: »
    OP are you any way mechanical?? A 1970's car could be a riddled with mechanical problems not to mention the rust lol.

If you cant do the relativly simple jobs like overhauling the brakes or changing shocks, your budget will be shot when you get a major mechanical problems that you have to pay someone for.

Although there is no better type of cars to break yourself in mechanically, if you are afraid to get your hands dirty there is no point owning a classic.

Already took the plunge my friend i bought an 85 capri. Ive spent the last week with my head under the bonnet. Ive always loved doin this stuff and now i finally have decent car tinker with. Ive replaced loads of parts already and now it wont start.lol:p. all part of the experience.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Already took the plunge my friend i bought an 85 capri. Ive spent the last week with my head under the bonnet. Ive always loved doin this stuff and now i finally have decent car tinker with. Ive replaced loads of parts already and now it wont start.lol:p. all part of the experience.:)

What did you replace? Electrics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭SAABMAN

Was at a garage recently where a guy was working on an old yoke. The younger mechanics were fascinated watching him gapping points ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'll be gapping points this w/e (I hope).

What it's all about.......:D

• Registered Users Posts: 24 scooby the dog

hi, do you still have the green tinted glass, very interested.thanks
    tinted glass is sold as is the gearbox sorry