Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Supercell wrote: »
    Took this at dawn this morning, sun was just peeping out below the clouds.

Very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

snow.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Ruddy Jimbo

At around 10pm...
    snow 021.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Ordinary camera and wrong datestamp but i aint really a photographer!

DSCI0172 - Copy.JPG

DSCI0173.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Query - we're trying to setup an inter-apartment snowball fight this evening, which I hope to take part in. Am I nuts to take my camera out as well? If I do take the camera, and can fit it around my neck, under my jacket, reckon that would be OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Heh, I got stuck at liffey valley lastnight, ended up staying the night in the Clarion hotel. Took 3/4 a feckin hour to get down the ramp off the motorway. MADENSS!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Get your cameras out its snowing again heavy in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

More from Tara all over-exposed by 1 and 2 thirds of a stop
    4BA5D82884AF4C338A50A953A62389FE-800.jpg

0666C869FBE04F24B1180C88C328E8A9-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

You're certainly getting out a lot to take these photos. I'm jealous - stuck in work.

I was out for around 3 hours today and going out again shortly, up around Tara is like a winter wonderland once you can avoid the loo-laa's in the Civic's :)

40822388C9244A6889264950B9516C19-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

I'm all snowed out with snow photographs!!
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Heh, I got stuck at liffey valley lastnight, ended up staying the night in the Clarion hotel. Took 3/4 a feckin hour to get down the ramp off the motorway. MADENSS!!

Should have given me a call - I'm about 5 minutes from there and have a spare room (if you're not an axe murderer). If you get stuck tonight let me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

More snow!
    3250102579_06cbd5ebb0.jpg

And i'll be heading into town now to get some more pics from the city!

Thoie wrote: »
    Should have given me a call - I'm about 5 minutes from there and have a spare room (if you're not an axe murderer). If you get stuck tonight let me know!

Nah I'm grand, home now :) Was just up seein' me dad. Cheers anyway :)

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭4sb

3250108573_09f2db94c7_o.jpg

All that remained early this morning.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Any tips for night shooting in the snow? I changed my image setting from jpg to RAW earlier and the quality difference is something else!

Im looking to take some soft pictures later, hopefully pick up some warm colours. Any tips?

Considering how stuck I was, Only pics I got lastnight:

3250866078_cb2eb71bb2.jpg

3250851402_d32f5fa9c0.jpg

(imagine the snow >_> )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

faceman wrote: »
    Any tips for night shooting in the snow?

Use a tripod. Over expose by around 1 stop (for snow). Then adjust the white balance, or your images will look tinted by the lights.

Killeen Castle on the way home
    AEFB436B875B475A833A1EE4362EFA3E-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

rovert wrote: »
    Get your cameras out its snowing again heavy in Dublin
    Hope that moves east back over here tonight, would like to get some shots of the campus here under snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

3250183793_c3e0d911e5.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭CasimiR

3250188065_6136255c24.jpg

oops sorry, forgot the location - Clondalkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

^^^ Where is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

3251057442_92343c52ac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Paulw wrote: »
    You're certainly getting out a lot to take these photos. I'm jealous - stuck in work.

You're jealous? I'm stuck in work in Bulgaria! I'm gonna miss all the feckin snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

3250869154_64c4f46246.jpg

Snowing heavy here now... just as it gets dark too. DAMN YOU!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Yeah but you've some flash gear, right? Go have fun. All we have here is rain. Should have brought the camera to work. We might have a bit of wind though.

yeah, but I don't really fancy trying to bring out a few stands, umbrellas and strobes into snow... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Flashgun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

A few today around home in wicklow just with my little hand camera so quality isn't great, linked to flickr!

3250389429_309430ea96.jpg

My favourite one...

3250398203_59f64f51cc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

Feck ye all with your snow!
    Nothing in Galway city, nothing at all...

Some great shots on this thread, some have really nailed the exposure to get nice white snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭SpongeBob2000

Photo was taken by my husband.
    A00A730377A349CFBCA0041825A6AF9C-800.jpg
    875B4088B047408E897604B296633346-800.jpg

yeah, but I don't really fancy trying to bring out a few stands, umbrellas and strobes into snow... :pac:

Where'd ya get all that? Looking for some umbrella swivels, umbrellas, stands and maybe a couple of those clampy doodads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

I call this set: "Snowy Trees". Took me a while to come up with that.
    3250052817_14e6ce8ebe_o.jpg
    3250054313_bcbde24e7c.jpg

Same one, different look:

3250881680_98f06bd018.jpg

3250053809_1bd9284c6f_o.jpg

3250880838_c537e5ac24.jpg

3250053369_99e21d825a.jpg

3250880698_9471c7e273.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bren2002

quilmore wrote: »

DSB_0734_800.jpg

Cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

^those are some really cool pics Overblood. Especially the last one!

Some i took with my all new nifty fifty!
    3251521276_08cd1bc6ef.jpg

3251524902_4190dc05dc.jpg

Snow!
    3250743787_4cc880d719.jpg

Rymus: Calumet in Belfast. I got their light kit :)

Splendid dear boy.. I shall procure one some weekend when I'm out for an extended drive.

I only just got a Dslr so go easy on me! Wish I had a better idea how to work it before the snow came!
    But anyway I took the advice to over expose for snow from the forum and it really works.
    Here are some I took
    P2020757.jpg

P2020785.jpg

P2030813.jpg

P2020747.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Like that first one a lot, blindjustice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

i only went out because i felt i had to, was effort tbh. im let down by myself for not wanting to take pics today. *shoulder shrug*

one
    two
    three
    four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

2nd one was here
    Love the 2nd one. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

deromalley wrote: »
    Dublin yesterday. Sorry dont know how to get image display directly into tread. Any help with this one?

You basically need to wrap them in IMG tags. If you take a look at the forum FAQ there is an excellent tutorial.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭what to do?

[IMG][/img]89051FD10A0E47B99C43E9A56C059F33-800.jpg

[IMG][/img]A893DFE1380D48F5803FB18976CDD8E5-800.jpg

[IMG][/img]26CB5085E5CF4B26B9A289C6E435B2A8-800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭superflyninja

The_Start_of_Spring_by_superflyninja.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

3842CE945DD248D4B5BFBBC2FDBE462C-500.jpg
    Film is200 (because it's cheap).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

3253633420_b0d46f2e7d.jpg

3253625652_c4e7efed47.jpg

3253608328_6735c453bd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I only just got a Dslr so go easy on me! Wish I had a better idea how to work it before the snow came!
    But anyway I took the advice to over expose for snow from the forum and it really works.

I think I saw you crossing the bridge with your tripod. Here's mine (first time shooting in RAW):
    3253795252_c59675fabd.jpg

3252968191_b6de8e5500.jpg

And a colour version of the last one (I like the lights in the building).
    3252969509_6d8897376d.jpg